120 Anambra State Election Observers arrested and detained | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 November 2013

120 Anambra State Election Observers arrested and detained

According to a press release by lawyer and activist, Mr Festus Keyamo, the Commissioner of Police in Imo State, Mohammed Katsina, ordered the arrest and detention of 120 accredited independent national electoral commission observers who are to observe the Anambra State Governorship election taking place this Saturday. Find the press release below...

We have been briefed by the All Progressives Congress (APC) of the following facts:

1. That on Monday, 11th of November, 2013, and Tuesday, 12th of November, 2013, the International Foundation for Electoral Systems in collaboration with the Independent National Electoral Commission conducted training for accredited independent election observers who are to observe the Anambra State gubernatorial election scheduled for Saturday, 16th November, 2013.     

2.      That on Thursday, November 14th, 2013, the accredited observers who participated in the training above, met at Disyne Hotel located at Owerri, Imo State, for further training of their members ahead of the Anambra State gubernatorial election scheduled for Saturday, 16th November, 2013.        

3.      That to the utmost dismay of the innocent and patriotic election observers, at about 2:00pm, the hotel where they were undergoing training was surrounded by heavily armed police officers acting on the instruction of Mohammed Katsina, Commissioner of Police, Imo State, who arrested the entire 120 persons undergoing training.

5.      That the entire accredited observers are currently in detention at the Imo State Police Command for no offence.

We however, cannot fathom or comprehend the rationale behind the actions or decisions of Mohammed Katsina, Commissioner of Police, Imo State, mentioned above, as same are totally untenable in a civilized and democratic society.

We cannot imagine why accredited election observers, who were specifically trained by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems in collaboration with the Independent National Electoral Commission, to observe/monitor the Anambra State gubernatorial election, should be arrested and detained less than 24 hours to the election.   

We think that this is one of the grand plots to rig the Anambra State gubernatorial election scheduled for tomorrow by crippling genuine election observers and allowing fake observers to observe the process.   

In the light of the above, we call on the Inspector General of Police to order the immediate release of the 120 accredited independent election observers currently in detention at the Imo State Police Command so they can perform their patriotic duties tomorrow.

Thank you.   
FESTUS KEYAMO, ESQ.

60 comments:

Can't wait for tomorrow to come and go,seems like the world is coming to an end coz of their election.
Their election debate looked like Yo mama jokes. each trying to outdo the other at insults.

Na wa oh! Smh

Dis is sewious oh! ..... 1st 2comment

Oluwabibs said...

Nah wah oooo rigging tins
in other news .....today is my birthday my fellow libers

Nikapetrelli said...

Na for their pockets.I care less cos am not voting

KOKO said...

The credibility of d election is already at stake. May God help us.

Corruption eating deep into our society, i wonder when this will stop Tonto Dikeh acquires 250million mansion in lekki God help us

Mich said...

Nigeria,can it ever get batter?
Its every man for himself,you aren't sure what the intention of that policeman standing next to you is as you can't possibly trust those black(and now blue) wearing boys.
Government officials will use nearly every available agency of government to achieve their selfish interest(s).
A bloody revolution is imminent!

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

This election must be rigged jonathan have to win anambra at all cost

Excuse mıı,Wat was deır offence?,Thıs should b som means of rıggıng dah electıon..Plz ınspector release 'em or make known deır offence..das ol! #Mz_NenyeH

Plenty English. No action. Naija is in total chaos. No order anywhere!

Beautiful butterfly said...

Linlin abeg leave all this people jare, even if they release the detainees malprctice will still happen cos this Į̸̸̨§ Nigeria. By the way, A̶̲̥̅♍ ℓ̊ the 1st to comment** walking on air**

Nigeria politics is always funny to me like seriously or aint this story funny guys?
Top female singer performs with blood oozing out from her Panties – pics

Idiotic lawyer,what are the observers doing with 2 pumb action guns? moreover they are over 180 people..APC low brain lawyer should mind his charge and bail job..

If dis is 2ru I so weep 4 nigeria,can u imagine

sixtus said...

They have started again with election fraud

Like seriously who doesn't know that tommorrow's election in Anambra State will be won by the Smartest political party favoured by God cos he alone gives power whether rigged or not#DIZZY

This's just d Daya,by d time dey ll get to beu....dem go hear am...ummmm all thesoe young hoping o work as political tugs..hehe!!not this time around,make una collect d money enter nyt bus to lag ooo...@rexo

God pls raise for us a good leader
*will jes stay @ home nd enjoy myself...ehn abeg PHCN no fuck up oooooh

Ibekwe Mark said...

All this one na story. make them go with there wahala and allow the citizen breath fresh air abeg.

EbonyAma said...

All na wash ooo.

Chalres Irole said...

Hmm, Niaja we know how to play the monkey game. Abeg release these innocent persons

Ngige is soooooo desperate.

I wouldn't want to believe this, as I strongly subscribe to one of the cardinal principles of law "audi alterem partem," but really if this is true, then its ludicrous and utterly lugubrious totally untenable in a true democratic polity resting its supremacy on the grundnorm. We hear bizarre happenings daily. What are the citizens doing to allay the moribund and comatic ambience of things, we are also part of the governing process, ain't we? I strongly advise anambra youths and lovers of complete "extrication of dirigisme and morbid obsession of power" to investigate without delay into the matter, if positive, demand immediate release of those detained even if it means creating a state of imbroglio.

what are corp members doing their, is it money... abeg your live is more important oooo

Arrested, how come? Nigeria!

Click HERE to read celebrity news and sex scandal news

I tire.

The real film is about to start..... gbammmm gbabrs

Free and fair Ngige wins hands down. Anambra, a small state in land mark but still can't call any state before Anambra in this country.

Festus Keyamo should do his findings properly b4 coming out to mk noise! how can 120 election observers be in a hotel in Imo state while elections wuld be Anambra. Besides I listen to their interogations and they were all talking nonsense,they didn't even know the name of their co ordinator. I strongly believe that Festus Keyamo has been bought over.

It's a fat lie!!!!
They are APC thugs being imported from Osun State to come and rig and disrupt Anambra election. what are election "observers" doing with voters cards registered in Anambra they were arrested with? Mind you Festus Keyemo is now highly partisan bcos he is a member of APC.

Read the true story about the incident here.http://newafricanpress.com/2013/11/15/osun-apc-thugs-arrested-in-imo-en-route-to-anambra-police/
APC is a party of liars! APGA all the way!!!
Ndi Igbo, nke anyi bu nkeanyi!!! Vote APGA!!!

What kind of election observers will be caught with pump action guns with live cartridges, Festus Keyamo should try another one, the people caught were APC thugs from Osun state...now the Hen has come home to roost..

Na government camp dem 2 dat Hotel, Olosi, oloriburuku, wanka, onyoshi. linda post amoooooooooooooo

work of evil men in Anambra

pom pom said...

Lobatan,my state gonna be bloody 2moro. Na siddon dey look I dey.

Keyamo, u and ur APC men re liars, ur plans of rigging has been thwarted. I used to respect u before but not anymore. Election observers for Anambra u called them? What were they doing in owerri? So Anambra no longer have hotels? What were they doing with Anambra registered cards with guns? Why has Jega not ordered for their release if they re working for INEC? Why did Jega and INEC didn't inform the IMO commissioner of police that such people would be staying in owerri or better still why were there no police from INEC with them or INEC vehicles with them? Why must all of them come from Osun state? Why did they confess of working for a particular candidate? Why did One ayodele amongst them confessed that they were paid 10k each? Keyamo u re a big disgrace.

Okikiola

ANYA IKENGA said...

APC thugs! Are there no hotels in Anambra? Why did they not report at INEC office in Anambra. Why do they want to sneek into Anambra tru owerri and what where they doing with pump action rifle. Rochas hired them from the west. Period.

Slimy said...

Its gon b bloody 2morow, i dey ma house dey watch

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

that is Anambra for you!!! may God save my state....

Rigging election? Wats new? Its lyk our nature or way of life in nigga so am wondering y dey re suprised dis is happening....mtcheeew

Dat is d one work of PDP dey kno how to play dere game well

Nawa........which way Nigeria........

amaka uba said...

Vote 4 dr patric ifeanyi uba

Wat wuld election observers be doin in a hotel at imo state?? No hotels in anambra state?? Ngige is a criminal am sure he is d brain behind dis nd he will b d one to report d case... Propaganda! Plsssss vote APGA!!!

Politics!!!!. I hope the least corrupt candidate wins

Keyamo should be ashamed of himself. In another some APC officials called it justice and equity initiative, you you call international foundation for electoral system. For a well known lawyer to stoop so low as to blindly siding election rigging is just appalling and shows the state of this country.

I've said it before a party being headed by thiefnubu, what do u expect, they are as bad as pdp, right from lagos spending 320million per megawatts to build a power station when bauchi spent 230million per megawatt to build theirs to the great lekki ponzi scheme.

If election observers can be caught with to two guns and fake voters card, then what will the real riggers carry, weapons of mass destruction?

Shake my head for this country.
Keyamo you are done in Nigeria.

Itunmo?

www.channelstv.com/home/2013/11/15/police-arrests-181-fake-election-observers-in-owerri/

Linda ikeji, that is another news that you won't post, if you like don't pass my comment, you can't hide the truth forever.

Nah wa ooooooo.....

Igor said...

The peole in question are thugs imported from Osun state to rig the elections for APC.I wonder what election observers were doing with guns and fake ballot papers.Keyamo we are too sophiscated for your white lies.

Make una vote Dr Ifeanyi Uba.. He is d right man 4 us

Festus keyamo contested the last delta senatorial election under APC. He is not in a position to talk. What are they doing in imo state. In a state govt owned hotel of an APC govt. If festus could say this, there is no hope for nigeria. Am highly ashamed of him. He used to be my model. Good work from Police commisioner

Hbd Dε̲̣̣̣̥a̲̅ ̶̥̊я̅. Hpe U̶̲̥̅̊ had fun?

Lady Fola said...

Lord,control tomorrow's election ooo,let no evil happen τ̅☺ M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ people I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Onitsha (amen) *afraid *

Rosie Said.......Anambra election observers indeed,and they are being trained in owerri abi?.......cook and bull story. Eebbee ka edu Igbo Eje?.......APGA all the way.Nke anyi bu nke anyi,Period.

I pray ma boss wins...me dey house dey observe

Tomorrow go bloody! Politics is a dirty, dirty game.

Hey,listen Keyamo keep off our issues in this country because while this APC shits demolish our hops without alternative you keep quiet.keep quiet forever!.This democrazy is not beffiting for this our semi-civilized society.We cry out islamization from oosun state nd keyamo kep quiet.keep quiet forever.Those observer are enjoying in cell.Leave them and keep quiet

Hey,listen Keyamo keep off our issues in this country because while this APC shits demolish our hops without alternative you keep quiet.keep quiet forever!.This democrazy is not beffiting for this our semi-civilized society.We cry out islamization from oosun state nd keyamo kep quiet.keep quiet forever.Those observer are enjoying in cell.Leave them and keep quiet.Keyamo,you are a big disgrace

I don't realy understand anambra state,a small state wit a big nd idiotic brain.wat where they doing in imo state?is dea d place of d election?I guess ngige knows about these