Meet Gogowe - The new voice of Afro-Pop music debuts with 'Waka' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 November 2013

Meet Gogowe - The new voice of Afro-Pop music debuts with 'Waka'

New music from singer Gogowé titled Waka. Listen to it below and read more about her after the cut.

Gogowé is a nineteen-year-old singer/songwriter from Nigeria. She is currently a student at Emory University. Her passion for music started at the age of seven, when she started playing the piano. She says that her singing and dancing kicked off from that. Although Gogowé always knew she would eventually become an entertainer, she was too shy to tell anyone but her siblings.  

Gogowé’s outspokenness is masked by her gentle, reserved and seemingly shy demeanor. In fact, people are usually taken unawares when they realize that she can be extremely tough at times. Nevertheless, when she is on stage, her sassiness and boldness aren’t masked at all. Her performances are electrifying and she really is a strong wave of fresh air! 
Confident women inspired her first single “WAKA” which she singlehandedly wrote. It was produced with the help of music crooner SLAM and producer, George Nathaniel. It is intended to make women feel empowered.

Gogowé’s music style generally has a blend of R&B and Afro Pop and usually includes themes around female power, love and inspiration. She intends on making people feel good with her music. She gets her inspiration from her family and friends and her musical influences come from Tina Turner, Beyonce, Michael Jackson, Tiwa Savage, Omawumi, and Donjazzy to name a few.
Gogowe is undoubtedly ready to take the industry to a whole new level and thank God she broke out of her shell because she is obviously the next big thing!

53 comments:

SLEEKREEK said...

Nice meeting u Gogowe........next pls,,

Noted......... aye po gan

Yawn

Nice... Hope she makes it in d industry... Next pls... Just as my guy said...

Gogowe.... Waitin 2 hear somebody pronounce the name.... Goodluck girl...

Owk

swdy keep it up

Nice meet you too Gogowa

Rabiya said...

Not bad....not too good either...nice try...

Gogowe,welcum 2 d game of music

Nice meet you too Gogowa

oliver twist twisted. better give that don his credit too o. A tweet is calling. lmao

Pls someone shud help me and define her name!!*waitin wit paper and pen*

Nice. Linda post my comment oo

Afro-pop huh?,ıssorıte!..#Noted,ah'l lısten n c ıf ıt can secure a place on ma playlıst...BTW,she lookz olda dan 19..*Jussayın. #Mz_NenyeH

Can't remember the last time I heard the word "yanga". lol!

ada dimma said...

D gul is pweety bt i doubt 19yrs

She's pretty sha.

Wow pretty and fresh

Nice one! Next!!

she looks £0yrs !9 ke.....smh

Kinda dull

Chai.... This babe is so beautiful...

THE GIRL WITH NO VAGINA: Teenager
Girl Can't Have SËX [PHOTO]

shut up you above

The song is really nice.
Listened to it three times already...
Nice!

Nice!!!

Oh...welcome...nice name tho'..

Dat hair.....#bbm lovestruck#

Seriously????,?,

PHOTOS: Welcome to the Fabulous, Mega Rich Life of Emmanue Adebayor

mrs me said...

Sleek reel na fight?lmao

So good! So proud of her!

Boring.... #myOpinion though

wummy said...

aunty linda, re u sure dis lady is 19? Cus she luks way older dan dat age.

ok oooo Gogowe u try geh geh geh.

She is beautful.. Nam sounds smh!

What does that have to do with the music. You like the music? Yes or no? Like your mom told you, if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all. No need for age trash talk. If she is 50 yrs old, what does that have to do with her singing? Good God!

That name sounds like a witch doctor `s name
she`s pretty tho

Me likey!

She is actually 19!!!!She was in my school tbh and she graduated 2 years ago so!!!!!!!And this is a really great song .......so all the haters can die

She is 19

yeba! Nice 1 girl! :D Good dance music. Kiler beat

isnt she d babe taht did dat beautiful cover of beneath your beautiful by Labrynth?

Everybody sha wants to enter d entertainment industry...Goodluck ooo

Isn't this the pretty girl who did a cover for Emenli Sande? Please Hun if you are reading this, stick to your original sound....this pop sound does nothing for you

love this song and shes so gorgeous. wow

On point! Love the beat! beautiful voice and more beautiful girl! Goodluck sha Lin Lin post my comment ooh

what is she saying in her song? must the words in the song be broken englisj and youruba,.
lin.

I know her. She is actually 19

I know her. She is 19!

increase your volume or change your music playing device if you can't hear what she's saying... I heard her loud and clear..

Linlin, where is this beautiful babe from? I dont tink she's from naija o