Professor Chinua Achebe goes home | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 23 May 2013

Professor Chinua Achebe goes home

Prof. Chinua Achebe was buried this afternoon at his country home in Ogidi, Idemili North LGA of Anambra state. His burial was attended by president Goodluck Jonathan, Ghana’s President John Mahama, all governors of Eastern states (minus Sullivan Chime of Enugu state), governor Emmanuel Iduaghan of Delta state and members of the international community of writers.

See more photos after the cut...

The son and wife of late Prof Achebe

89 comments:

florence said...

RIP Prof.Chinua....a legend is gone

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

RIP.

He was?

The king has rested..love u ma hero

Rip papa

Wow! May his soul rest in peace.

Janelicious said...

Rest in peace

Rest in peace prof.

An Icon is gone! Go and rest with the lord sir! Amen!

DADDYSWIFE said...

Adieu prof.may his soul continue to rest in d bossom of thy Lord.amen

Rosy said...

May his soul rest in peace!

rest in peace great hero

usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.sg

Fitting burial

Naa nke oma,nwa amuru gbaa egbe.

Adanna said...

wow wat a befitting burial 4 our hero even d gr8 ijele(masquerede) was dere.

Awww! y did i miss it!

Linda dis is my first time of commenting on ur post. For the past 4years my boyfriend has introduced half of my school to reading ur blog. I wish you can just help him connect him coz u r his role model. He owns www.ghanacrunch.com. Www.edulinkghana.com. We school in koforidua eastern region in ghana. But he is a nigerian. His email is info@edulink.com

BUTTERCUP said...

Wow! What a benifiting way to bury an iroko....Adieu sir. The sons head tho.

An Icon is gone! May his soul rest in peace . Amen

LOOSE THAT UGLY FAT NOW. CLICK HERE said...

Sleep well Icon

miss.M said...

Achebe's life and after life tallies with the saying that "the renown that beauties and riches confer is fleeting and frail;mental excellence is a splendid and lasting possession". His intelligence has commanded nations to his feet.see how they gathered.he indeed left an undying legacy and he was truly a man of the people.RIP sir.

RIP SIR! Grtest of all.....

Ga nke oma!!!Dee Chinua!!!

IkechukwuOnyemeziri said...

RIP Proff. Chinua Achebe...May ur blossom soul rest in Peace.My prayer is dat all de achievment &legacy u left in our great country NIGERIA &de whole Universe will still remains.

ADIEU PROFF...........!!!

IkechukwuOnyemeziri said...

RIP Proff. Chinua Achebe...May ur blossom soul rest in Peace.My prayer is dat all de achievment &legacy u left in our great country NIGERIA &de whole Universe will still remains.

ADIEU PROFF.........!!!

RIP great one bt pls one last favour 4rm nigerians...Dear ACHEBE
please if u see Ojukwu,tell him dat his
brothers and sisters are expecting another
pogrom in kano.Tell Awolowo dat nigeria is
preparing for another war.Tell Zik dat
those things dat made him cross d ocean 50
times
seeking 4 peace are coming again.Tell
Yar'Adua dat d amnesty he granted is
causing
wahala.Tell Tafawa Bellewa dat his
scions are carring guns against
nigeria.Obvious ly u
will
not see Abacha, but if u see anyone dat sees
him,tell him dat Almustapha is still in
kirikiri
prison,tell him dat Alemeyesieha has been
realsed. Tell MKO Abiola dat another june
12 is
looming,and tell him dat nigerian officials
has
extended to convicted criminals who are
looting d nation dry. Dont be disappointed in
nigeria dear Achebe,its just dat THINGS
HAS
FALLEN APART, nigeria is NO LONGER
AT EASE
and d ARROW OF GOD is now pointing
seriously at nigeria because of THE
TROUBLE
WITH NIGERIA, even though we've had MAN
OF D
PEOPLE like u,INDEED THERE WAS A
COUNTRY......
So Help Us God!!!

Things has final fall apart...RIP

Things has final fall apart........RIP

Oby Azike said...

Chinua Achebe, jee nke oma

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

Fanucci said...

Gnyt prof...R.I.P

My inspiration,and legend..La NkE oma!!

just wondering how they got there because the roads are quite bad

RIP our hero.

TWITS said...

Prof. Achebe, we are proud you left Africa better than you met it. You were a trailblazer; you gave Africa and Africans a voice and 'brought us to the world'. Because of you, the world got to know we can also conjugate words that make profound meaning. Your good and great words and works will continue to speak for you long after this day. RIP, my hero! RIP.

umeh michael said...

u lived a life of purpose.hope 2 meet u sumday bt nt yet.RIP

Idiot. If you stopped sucking white Scottish dick you'd know, dumb prick

RIP sir.

Chinua Achebe's Memorial In London said...

Correct Igbo man, may he rest in peace.

RIP my literary legend..tanks for telling our stories to d world.you will b forever remembered..Ann#

Am not suprise u asking,kids like u should be watching disney channel and not allowed 2 b on dis blog.rat!

Rip

AdanmaREJ said...

Yea hope dats ijele the great masquerade. RIP prof. Chinua Achebe.

What do you mean 'he was'?' It's becoming more and more evident how ignorant you can be. They say if you want to hide information from a fool, put it a book. It's clear you never opened a book in your jobless life. Ode! Can't believe this!!!

Gaa ije gi nke oma Chinua.... U're indeed a rare gem!

Uche Ohia said...

THE FLUTE IS SILENT

(For Chinua Achebe)

The eagle has flown away
From the Iroko
Away from poisoned arrows
Of blind hunters
That shoot at every sound.

The great Iroko tree
That sheltered birds of all sizes
Has collapsed
Uprooted from the roots
By a whirlwind from the past

The diviner is gone
That one that divined for the deaf
In the land of evil dancers
Where to remain still
Is seen as madness

The Great Sea
That washed away layers
Of white smokescreen
To unmask the beauty
Of our gleaming blackness

Ijele has taken the last dance
And left the stage
The arena is clear
For small masquerades
With shrill voices

A great tragedy has come upon us
The flutist is no more
The flute is silent
But the sound of the flute
Is still floating in the wind.

(culled from SHE TOUCHED MY FACE - A Collection of Poems)

degoz said...

RIP prof

Great man gone,am next!

herrik said...

If Achebe were watching his casket covered with green-white-green, how would he handle it?

RIP sir.

RIP great one.
If you never read any of his works and you are busy writing RIP and commenting, bow your head in shame this minute

Goodnight to a true Nigerian. Indeed one of d leaders Nigeria never had

make we rest with chinua achebe shit nau, na him go first die???

RIP papa

Kenturky said...

Rest in peace Prof. Achebe. You were a great icon.

RIP sir

Dike Anaaaaa RIP Nwokeoma. But seriously something is wrong with whoever GEJ Fashion designer is, all the time they will always wear him over size things. did u see his red cap?? or did Ayim (SGF) borrow him his own cap?

An Hero is gone.RIP Prof

Legal said...

He truly deserve this honour..
Honestly, I felt his impact in the literary circle than the much acclaimed prof. Wole soyinka
Achebe deserved the nobel prize clinched by soyinka... I really have not seen any notable work or achievement by soyinka to endear him a Nobel laureate..he merely make comments to get publicity to himself...

Make tons of cash on the internet...
www.grabthisinformation.blogspot.com

RIP d great one!

there was a country,then d arrow of God struck,nw things hv fallen apart n the country is no longer at ease....Rip ma hero

Priscy said...

sleep well, hero!

Not a politician, never a Governor....A HERO he is..U live on papa Prof. Achebe.

RIP sir, greet ♍Æ” sweet mum

The only true respects these leaders can pay Achebe is to address and attempt resolving the issues he raised for rejecting Nigeria's highest national honours twice. They should all stop being hypocrites.

"That's all!"- copyright acknowledgement to Mr '...my Oga @ the top'.

Nice weekend people

Neni said...

Rest in peace, sir. A true literary legend!!

nenisnaija.blogspot.com/2013/05/mango-camwood-glowing-skin.html

ijay said...

An icon and legend has died;will b greatly missed! RIP SIR

biko said...

farewell baby !!!! God be with you

I salute you my Great Prof, Chinualumogu Albert Achebe ! Nnam ukwu, you lived well, you fulfilled Destiny ! I am extremely proud of you, my Hero ! Daddy, naa n'udo. Your Legacy lives forever !

Nyc one!

Gbagaun!

Learn English den i ll ask him

Private jet tins

Gbagaun!

Hi linda

Juliet Igboekwe, the air head, the main Onitsha to Enugu road had one side patched up just before Christmas. Probably for the season. The other side was undergoing rehabilitation and the old road is still fairly passable and may have been repaired for the burial. That would be the least the state could have done for the great Professor.
Kena,
Lake Forest.

Wen was d last time u went dere...dear d roads r quite good.

Ezi nna ka ora nma, u hav left dis wicked world bt u'l b greatly missed. U re a rare gem and ur impact wil be felt among generations to come. Sleep well.

Dike, ALA!

THE EXIT OF A LEGEND RIP SIR

Rip sir * crying* u lived a good life. We miss u.

RIP my hero,we luv U̶̲̥̅̊ but God luvs U̶̲̥̅̊ most.ADIEU Nnukwu Nwoke,ADIEU PAPA,ADIEU d great iroko.

Umana The Oracle said...

@Victor Osakwe. Was it too hard for you to just pay tribute to Pa Achebe and leave Wole Soyinka out of it?

Rest in peace Pa Achebe.

The Truth said...

Mr Victor Osakwe. Life is not a competition. Chinua Achebe was a great story teller, Wole Soyinka is a great poet. There is really no need to feel bad if he won the noble prize and Achebe did not. It does not in any way diminish Achebe's achievement as a writer.

''Some of us poets are not exactly poets. We live sometimes beyond that''.
-Wole Soyinka.

Nna anyi gaa nke oma, You will be greatly missed by all. Adieu Sir, Chinua Achebe

Dnt let sentiments cloud ur judgment,bid him farewell nd rest your case.

I so loooooove this!! Lmao!

LawAbidingCitizen said...

Dear Achebe, Plz, If you see Ojukwu, tell him that his brothers and sisters are experiencing another Pogrom in Kano. Tell Awolowo that Nigeria is preparing for another war. Tell Zik that those things that made him cross the ocean 50 times seeking for peace is looming again. Tell Yar'Adua that the amnesty he granted is causing wahala. Tell Tafewa Balewa that his scions are carrying weapons against Nigeria. Obviously you may not see Abacha, but if you see any one that will see him, tell him that Almustapha is still in kirikiri prison and of course Alameyesieha has been released. Tell MKO Abiola that another June 12 is looming and tell him that Nigeria's officials have extended to be convicted criminals who are looting the nation dry. Don't be disappointed on Nigeria dear Achebe just that THINGS HAVE FALLEN APART, Nigeria is NO LONGER AT EASE and THE ARROW OF GOD IS NOW POINTING at NIGERIA. Because of out troubles, though we have had A MAN OF THE PEOPLE like U; all we can say is dat once; THERE WAS A COUNTRY.

@ Law A.C I realy luv ur write up.....good work...nice one.R.I.P.Achebe....

Nice weblog right here! Additionally your website so much
up very fast! What host are you using? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink for your host?
I desire my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

Feel free to surf to my webpage: New LeBron Shoes