Lebanese man arrested for kidnapping in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 May 2013

Lebanese man arrested for kidnapping in Lagos

A 23 year old Lebanese man has been arrested by police in Lagos for kidnapping his 61 year old aunt, Alhaja Essa Dannawi. Mohammed Dannawi (pictured above) conspired with a former employee of his aunt, Obi Kwentua, (pictured above) to kidnap the woman on May 2nd at her home in Ebute Meta, Lagos.

Mohammed, who later confessed to the crime, told police during interrogation that he didn't kidnap his aunt because of money but to punish her because she offended him and his wife. He said:
“My aunty did something very bad to my wife and I and so I decided to punish her. I met with Obi (Kwentua) and told him that I wanted my aunty kidnapped. I gave him the spare key to her house and he in turn hired some boys to do the work. On the day of the operation, I left the house and five guys stormed the place and took my aunty away. The plan was not to demand money from her, it was just punishment.”
Punish your own relation by kidnapping her? Wow! Continue reading...

After the kidnapping, the kidnappers demanded N100m ransom from the woman's family but later agreed to collect N4m. It was during negotiations with the kidnappers that Mohammed confessed to being behind the kidnap and with his co-operation the police were able to arrest one of the suspects, Obi Kwentua when he came to collect the N4million ransom from relatives of the victim at Rita Lori Hotel in Surulere.

Essa Dannawi was later released while Mohammed and Kwentua were arrested.

110 comments:

Ohk ooo

Oh! he's a fast learner.
His nationality notwithstanding,justice will take its due course.

Charge or deport his unscrupulous ass back home and adequate action for his Nigerian counterpart too.

Iyad dem people. Make una change oo

Cutenini said...

The devil does not live far from us,he lives within us.smh....

pat alex said...

Relatives are a set of scary people these days.

Oboi!!..naija don influence dz man o,c as im luk ignorant.maybe in no knw say wetin im be de do na kidnapping.

Debora chidume said...

Nnaa chi gi esigo na aka oyibo gbaa gi oto.hehehehe

Anonymousdon said...

Are U sure he confessed without any form of bullying, sounds strange to me. There are dots in the story ure yet to fill

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaha!!!!!!!

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Learned the trade from Nigerians!

they shud flog him vry well n leave him since his intentions waz not to collect money .

Why did they release him?

Y did dey hav to release him?? He brot up d whole plan

Ha haa ha!! Naija we hail. U don teach this one?

DavidooO,Sinarambo.....i See U B-red.

diz i quite electro-chemical.

Oh please someone get this to CNN & the BBC to air on prime time news, proof we(Nigerians) aren't the only people with issues, flaws etc. I'm tired of the genre of news headlines we make internationally.

tara said...

tnk God he has a conscience. others would have collected d money n maybe kill d old lady. but still, even thinking it and conspiring to kidnap someone is bad enough, one's aunt at that

SIMPLE BABY said...

this is ridiculous...impartial justice must be administered if such a thing exists in Nigeria

CAN YU IMAGINE D REASON FOR HIS ULGY ACT.....WICKEDNESS IN HIGH PLACES. Cassyamour says so.

ijay said...

Hmmm!teach ur aunt a lesson"a 61yrs old lady"u are very heartless ohh!like they say ppl shld b aware of their household enemies.1st 2 comment

hmmm....unfortunate oyinbo sef don join in the evil trend in 9ja,God catch am!

Dee said...

LINDA IKEJI I DONT UNDERSTAND DIS STORY OH *CONFUSEDFACE*

Wow!!!So speechless!

activist said...

What are the immigration officials doing. These lebanese are taking over lagos expecially apapa. House to house check should be done, those without valid papers should be sent back home.

Curvy said...

quite sad develoment.

things are happening

He's not serious, someone wronged you n u want to tell the person how he wronged you by kidnapping her. He's a fool. Wot if d woman had died of heartache?

Foolish nigerians.good for thm.all on top of greed.

Dat's how it all starts! May God 4giv u

Some home video tinz!

u people are just dry these days posting stupid uninteresting stories, am angry!

The guy is just a clown

Hahahahahaaa,sharp guy alrdy practicing wat has become 9ja culture..starting wit his own family self, nat a bad idea shaaa. Well, like d saying goes, wen u get to Rome u behave like d Romans...we re sure living in a crazy world.but I strongly believe in God still.

bbdatouch said...

Oh My God Obi i kw dis guy wella linda ,we attend d same secondary Gosh he stay close to my mum house at ebute metta *Mouth wide open*

This guy is a clown...lol!

Janelicious said...

she offended you and your wife,so you
decided to kidnap her for 100m ransom which type of capital punishment be that.

wat insolence!!!

Candy said...

Stupidity has taken over..*Olamide's voice*

Blackberry said...

SMH.....all these pple.

Must dey exhibit their mallamish xter?

.....kidnapping for punishment? This aint lebanon bro....jus deport him

Sic cuntula!!!

BARBIE......... said...

msssssstttttttttttteeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwww.
next plz

Rita Lori a place were criminals and prostitute breed. Good for both men. Thou shall not kidnap!

Na wa o, they should have been a better way of punishing ur aunty and not to kidnap her nah but at least u̶̲̥̅̊ didn't let dam take d money. Go and beg for forgiveness o

Eziokwu?

Eziokwu?

Djebah said...

What is this world turning into? Hmm...

tima said...

Na waoh... Foolish lebannise man.

Now the Lebanese has learn how to kidnap in our own country! Naija we hail thee

Na goat!!!

naija ppl don teach am bad tin. Hehehe

mtchewwww....stupid question!

shai said...

Na real wah.... Nxt pls

TheShoeClub said...

Wonders shall never end! 9ja r y'all ready for the one n only shoe club? Coming June 1st! Yaaaay!

Thank God say no be only 9ja dey kidnap

Cherykoko said...

Implication toh badt. Ntoor to the Naija guys who allowed themselves into this kinda mess.

mz emeraldz said...

But wait oo hw can a 23yr old guy be married ...8-|
<▽> ђм̅м̅м̅....
_/ \_

This one is a clown..lol!

Rita lori in abj is same. Very demonic place.

--Teeteelahyo--

Daz cool biz. Free the poor boy joor.

U know bcos u are always there.and dat makes u d second part of ur description

Deep

this wont be publicised as a terror act bt if it were Nigerian. it had made d headlines

Hehehe! What was he thinking?that hed contract an original naija man to kidnap "oyibo" and they wuldnt demand for money?
Linda,pls continue beauty/hottie of d day nah,bikozienu! Some of us literally live for that segment of ur blog! It wil bring u massive traffic (and massive cash...*wink*)

The guys looks liek he should be in a nativity play. No one is safe o, if ur family member can arrange for u to be kidnapped

Dis world self

NecFix said...

Dude just had to hire an I*BO 'Consultant kidnapper'...Good choice :)

RuBbish albino,Next' Lol!

The Nigerian DNA in him at work.....he he he he. I just fear!

Mad man..............

Honestly somethin should be donr about this rita lori the amount of criminals and prostitutes they harbour in that hotel is way too much even 419 and drug dealers use it as meeting point now kidnappers the worst is they hav police their but they end up connevin wit the criminals to carry out operations.

Like really 100million?#lmao#linda biko biko biko nxt!

All this no good Lebanese wen full Nigeria. The guy is just a criminal..

SomebodySpecial said...

When you are in Rome you behave as the Romans.

Ty said...

He was not released, it's d aunt that was released. Man wey no get liver dey kidnap person? Stupid boy.

So they let him go cause of what??? Cause he Is lebanese??? Conspiracy to commit a crime is still a crime. Bet if he was black he would still be in police custody.. Now foreigners r above the law in our own country.. *Nonsense and Ingredient*

punishing your aunt with kidnapping? una no try at all! if she vex you 2 much, u for apply the 'no greetings dosage" datz all!

Bloomandgrownaija said...

What a FOOL! Stupid fool.I mean the ibo boy. So he thought he could make fast cash by breaching an agreement you had his client? The motif was to just get the aunt sober, that's all. So how did he think the story was gonna end. I recommend movies like criminal minds and hawaii 5-O such ppl. Bloody amateur! LOL

wemimo said...

Lolz..

Ugly boi, shut up

Jay said...

It won't work cos they will twist d story and say he wasn,t d one dat brought up d idea.dat he was forced by d other people to do it.they shld deport him back to his country,where he is a nobody.

www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com said...

See what the quest for fast money can lead one to.

Please visit this Christian blog. www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com
You will be blessed.

Hehehe. Sharp guy.

Nigerians no dey deport ooo...lol

The REDigion Blog said...

Even 'foreigners' have joined the business... na wa o! The only safe place is in Christ.

#TheRedigionBlog

Linda, I promised myself not to comment on posts since most times I can't find mine....well for the sake of this story I just had to.......I live in Ebute-metta and Obi is someone I know well, his senoir brothers are responsible hardworking men living abroad, but the problem is most young guys in Ebute-metta are so lazy and greedy. They don't like to strugle...thought there are few that are hardworking....the story is not new to us in the areas cos, they arrested lots of these stupid guys in the area....the Lebanese guy is not innocent at all like people are speculating, he was the master mind behind these, he was able to pull it through of the laziness and greed of the likes of Obi and co....I feel for his family espcially his Dad and Brothers....its a big lesson for the other guys, I hope they all learn from these and stop their new craze for quick money....Busslady signing out...I hope Linda post this.

Please note, in Ebute-metta, we dont discriminate, Obi is of Igbo Origin but he is one of us, everybody despite there tribe relate well with eachother. No segregation or discrimination....therefore, shame to you all that are are tagging and referring to the Igbo tribe...enough of these shit already....Busslady.

Aryah said...

Idiots.
Pseu!

I beg park well jare....who ever said any country (or people) is devoid of crime? You're comparing this one incident to our epidemic...just bcos cancer and typhoid are both illnesses doesn't mean they are the same...

U obviously have no idea what lebanese people r capable of!

Sayo said...

STFU!

Like your dad. I'm sure he masterminded a few kidnappings before he married you mom for papers and he was finally able to get that security guard job over @ primark

Define "unscrupulous"

*Learnt*

OLUWA , OLORUN , OLODUMARE . GBAMI(SAVE ME)!!! HEHEHE ...WOW...lazy ass go find work.

Imagine this guy oh! You came from Lebanese come dey kidnap for Nija? Nija Kidnappers never chop finish you wan collect their chop lmaoo..make dem catch you join you go sabi..lmaoo... No matter what she has done..Just move on men...Except she did 419n to you , then press charges in court MUMU..

dudette said...

Why was the whitey released???? He's an accomplice! We can fall our hand for naija eh...we're our own enemy(slave trade)

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

OMG! Haha! Please go to school! Learnt = British English.
Learned = American English.

I chose the latter! All you fucking illiterates trying to correct me! Haha fuck off!

He could be nigerian...hello!

Sean O said...

hmm u guyz calling for his deportation......don't be surprised if this dude was born and raised in naija like u all.

PC and Bonario,all these ur critics and haters are really making u popular on Lindodo Blog u guys are so lucky...cos if nobody talks about u,u ar nobody...Haters live and let live!

I'm American u mexican rice and pinto beans eating border crossing lowlife lookalike..and even I say "Learnt". Its just correct english ya fucking tool

Queen Bee said...

Lol @consultant kidnapper!
Naija sha,there will always be a willing citizen to conspire in a crime!
Nigerians una too much.

Are u sure u are okay?

Prince jobless its "learnt" you fucking retard

Make dem deport am lol

Stupid unscrupulous element.. Should be severely punish..make I go romance

Mosquito hearts and at the same time stupid.

So sad indeed!!! I know Obi, his family is well known in ebute-metta, infact, we all went 2 U.I even his sis too. I just cant start 2 reason as 2 why & how he got himself into this mess. I feel 4 his parents, what a shame. It is well, we all must be careful o.