Church responds to Solomon Akiyesi's disrupted wedding | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 14 April 2013

Church responds to Solomon Akiyesi's disrupted wedding

Overcomers World Outreach, the church where Nollywood actor, Solomon Akiyesi attempted to marry another while still legally married, has responded to the incident that happened yesterday. See their statement below, written by Chika Moses, who is a journalist and the daughter of Bishop N.E. Moses, the General Overseer of the Overcomers Church.
What was meant to be a day of celebration – the wedding ceremony of one of our members Uloma Agwu to Mr. Solomon Akiyesi at the Overcomers Church World Outreach in Aguda – was sullied by an ugly incident. Immediately following the praise and worship session and before the officiating commenced, a woman who claims to be the lawful wife of the groom disrupted the ceremony. She was accompanied by people who sought only to wreck havoc in the church. They were unruly and violent.
Continue...

We regret the ugly series of events that followed this brash display. At the Overcomers Church, we do our due diligence to ensure a couple set to wed is right in the eyes of the law and in the eyes of God. To the best of our knowledge, Mr. Akiyesi, was unmarried. The Overcomers Church World Outreach regrets that the woman who disrupted the wedding chose such a time to do so. There is no ideal situation here, but it would have been right that she bring the case before church officials in a manner befitting a house of worship. This was not the case.

The groom, Mr. Akiyesi, has apologized to the Church, his bride-to-be, Ms. Agwu, and family and friends that gathered for the wedding. “This happened because I tried to cut corners,” he said. He admits he did not properly dissolve his previous marriage to his first wife and says he is determined to do what is necessary to rectify the awful situation. We apologize for the ugly scene this caused at our Church and apologize to those who witnessed it. It is not exemplary behavior and not who we are as a Church.

The General Overseer of the Overcomers Church World Outreach, Bishop N.E. Moses, addressed the congregation after order was restored.

Bishop Moses prayed for the couple, Mr. Akiyesi and Ms. Agwu, but he did not legally wed them – no documents were signed so as not to disobey the law. Mr. Solomon Akiyesi and Ms Uloma Agwu will not be legally joined together until the matter is properly settled by lawful authorities.

Our Bishop has urged us to take a lesson from this and be careful of the decisions we make in life, so the consequences don’t hurt us in the future. It is a lesson we take well.
We stand by Ms. Agwu. She has been a dedicated member of the church and we will continue to support her and Mr. Akiyesi. It is our hope and prayer that in all of this, God is glorified and His house of worship above reproach.

Chika Moses
Media Representative,
Overcomers Church World Outreach

277 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 277 of 277

Wot a waste of sperm. Ur father shld av quietly dumped u in a condom sac,instead of releasing such disgusting nuisance. Get a life

Shut up u dis overcomer imbecile.ur church cannot claim ey dnt knw dat man is married.its obvious ok. Overcomers money givers rcognised church. Save ur breath cos wateva u say is utter rubbish and dnt insult linda u dis pig

NVCJDJCKCMDSNVCKJSDK NASNXZN,XZ NMSAMNXMNAMNASMN KWMDSKN

Once again, money do d talking! Yeah Rev. I bet you will cintinue to support ratchetness as it's obvious d naira support you. Dis world we live is cruel ppl.

Pls LIBers was does Lmao mean?

The church is so keen on strongly defending thier name, but then condem lilian for defending her marriage and home. If you feel this troubled about reputation of your church especially with a man who has admitted cutting coners. Then you can imagine the pain lilian and her family will be going thru. The church should have just quietly let sleeping dogs lie ..... As no one even paid attention to the name of their church up until now....

Susan u must be one of those clueless women who think women only exist to serve men. Wake up girl! The world has changed. No woman needs a man to survive so i dont understand d rubbish u r talking of. Fighting for her life and unborn childs indeed. I pity you.

Uloma is not pregnant,it's a pity,it was an oversight by the marriage committee,She is also a victim,and for those who say we stand by her,pls what do you have us do to her?tie her and flogg d devil out of her or sacrifice her in some manner?if she commits a crime shouldn't we show her love,counsel her and bring her back into the fold?do we strike her dead?

I was there life and direct. The money gotten from peeps in the church feeds Chika's dad n family (what is she sposed to say). Aparently, bishop nor wan loose big client as Uloma na correct donor for church. This incidence was God's way of showing us who d pastor was, they even went as far as tearing marriage certificate. Uloma is too old and desperate for a hubby, she nor mind thief another person own. As for Solomon, Nkita is ya name and as for legal wifey, u have a nyce heart...... I would have hired gunmen to kidnap em both and throw their asses off third mainland bridge (case closed).

yaro said...

Due diligence? How una take do am. Na lie. U people were in such a hurry to get ur aging sister married off and claim anoda testimony. All dis born again churches, she is already pregnant 4 a married man and you guys are not ashamed of urselfs. Now tell me where Jesus in de bible approved of divorce except on grounds of infidelity. Can dat stupid actor prove his wife was unfaithful. Yet you guys are still talking of wedding them after the divorce. God's judgement awaits U guys. I have spoken.

Linda plz post ma comment

men of these days are wicked, we ladies just have 2 be careful of them,if they are tired of one woman,they can drop her and go 4 another,God'll help us 2 be watchful

So u're back
Tot u committed suicide
Wit d@ Eczema kingdom u call a skin
Omo ale jati jati
***JANTA***

Some thing is wrong with this Moses of a Man, I have know Lilian and her husband for years now, she has been faithful to him, even in his most difficult times, why do this to her, that Pastor shuld be Happy this happened, it shows how well he knows his members supporting whoever comes from anywhere to wed.

Mistress?, Lillian?,Original first wife Ezinne? WTF? Are there 2 first wives ni? O ma ga o. Btw, I think you are wrong about the pregnancy thingy. I saw d pictures na. All d parties involved are heavily pregnant.

update:
u guys do not even know that the man had another woman he had promied marriage in london.he actually told the l ady that he was having a heart attack and needed money for hospital.the lady sent him 2,ooo pounds abnd that is the money he sent to lillian in port harcourt(1st wife)on the 12th.

linda,u need to find out about the lady in london he had been deceiving and had seen her people already.he only this week took 2,000 from her claiming he was very ill in hospital.the lady sent him the money to buy his ticket and come to london for treatment.And now this is happnening.the man i is a sick man

The church should not see the legitimate wife as the common enemy. The church should be angry with the man and maybe the girl he wanted to marry too for deceiving them because she must have known. If the girl knew and then went ahead , what then do they preach in their church since she is their committed member. They should have done only traditional marriage. Greedy people.The man got what he asked for. He knows how Nigerians love a show and he went ahead and tried to fool the wife . Make church dey behave and talk like church o make dem nor fall our hand. Shuo.

I read someone comment on this blog saying Christ Embassy, Winners Chapel and Redeemed are the best church to worship and get married. while i agreed on winners chapel and redeemed, i doubt christ embassy. why? was it not christ embassy mercy johnson got wedded even when it was shown in the news papers that her hussy Odi is married to another lady with 2 kids or lets assume that Odi did actually divorce his wife, which i suppose no by the way! God hate divorce according to the bible. there is no reason why christ embassy should allow that wedding to hold. it all bugge down to money money money issues in d church.... now mercy will say she is happily married with another woman's hussy.... Akiyesi nearly did thesame.... Lilian i pray that you will have the strenght to bear the moment... take heart and fight the fool and the foolish cow Bishop in the court of law and pray to God to protect you from other evils. be very careful of this witch before she goes native on u... i rest my case

Yet divorce rates in the west are through the roof.
Bitch, you never make sense

This church! Abeg na hustle the pastor dey. No essence of Christianity.

M nt sayin suspension is right ooo,bt in ma church,u wud nt get married if u'r preg,u wud b given suspension,wat happened to d laws of d bible...wat happened to adultery and fornication..wat happened to all ds nd wat is ds man preachin to his congregation...m nt condemnin him sha,bt I don't doubt wen dey say many men of God will go to hell..(Each d ppl d right thing,y shud a woman wt preg come b4 u nd want to wed nd u agrEe to join dem..haba God nids to visit d church

There are too many fake churches in Nigeria!
They are playing with God's name.

All dis baby churches! Its a shame dat ur so cald dedicated member is a husband snatcher.nxt time u guys shld ask questions nd verify b4 joining man nd woman in holy matrimony

I tot a church ws supposed to allow a marriage counsellin class whr u get to know d ppl involved,den u wud v called for his own relatives,from der u wud v know a lil abt his past...wat if lilian was a member in ur church,wat wud b ur reactions,if u guys don't v any think to say dn defend ds unjust aattitude,den don't speak

...Following the comments about this story and the previous 2 i'm reminded of the pharisees...
i think everyone should watch this clip.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1IAhDGYlpqY (It has its flaws but take out the msg)

We judge, hate and curse but are we without sin?
If you r not guilty then pick up a stone but, i guess we already did...
I don't condone what he did... but u blame the church, the woman, the 1st wife and the man..
If any of THE PLAYERS were a member of your family, wud u say different?
Have u ever done sth u thot u cud never do?
We are acting like the "church"... and demonizing every other doctrine that isn't ours or that we don't quite agree with... (wedding some1 who is pregnant) The deed was done & she wants to make it right from whatever point.. shud she go to a Shrine?

My opinion; we, Nigerians criticize and judge way too much.

Forgive a lil' more.

"Those who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stone"

In conclusion, we like to talk including me

Dis solomon is just a useless dog. It wil b surprise to knw dt Lilian is actually d second wife and not d first we all taught she is.Dis solomon third attempt in marriage.

Marriage is for better for worst, the church should advise this man to go back to his wife,rather than encourage him to divorce her properly. they are disgrace to Christianity

M nt sayin suspension is right ooo,bt in ma church,u wud nt get married if u'r preg,u wud b given suspension,wat happened to d laws of d bible...wat happened to adultery and fornication..wat happened to all ds nd wat is ds man preachin to his congregation...m nt condemnin him sha,bt I don't doubt wen dey say many men of God will go to hell..(Each d ppl d right thing,y shud a woman wt preg come b4 u nd want to wed nd u agrEe to join dem..haba God nids to visit d church

Na solo i blame. E no see 2face wey carry him wedding go dubai! Or if na 2 wives dey hungry am, make him be muslim.

Aishurr said...

What kind of church is that for God's sake !

Who are u to condem a church or its pastors.see as all of una de run mouth like say una de there wen d show happened.linda wey de write second hand story she de there when the drama happen?lilian wey come church come act the script wey she and her husband write won come tell pple say she no know the business wey her husband solomon de do? She come church wit press people act small drama take draw sympaty from pple like una through linda and then una begin talk nonsense.linda self no say she no be first wife, the man sabi play women well well. He looks for d wealthy ones and tell them the story of how he was married and lost everything he had to the woman who almost took his life and he had to run away. Solomon wey tell uloma say he don seperate from his wife six years ago and even de repite thesame statement in front of all the guest wey de the church una think say he no know wetin he de do? The man go decieve girls to d extend of marriage and at dat point him wife go appear wit press pple and police come rescue him husband. When they got to d police station on dat day police see say inside lilian phone a text massage de wey solomon send lilian money d day b4 d wedding,and on d day of d wedding solomon send lilian love message asking after their baby and assuring her say him no go disapoint her and her family.where he get d money wey he de send to him wife all d time? Lilian and her sister say them no say solomon de plan to marry another woman all this while and them decide to keep quite till d man do traditional marriage still dem keep quite de waite till them print card for wedding.why d woman no go tell her pastor for living faith ph wey wedd she and solomon so dat them go look for way to stop d marriage. She dey lagos since 5 days de do survey of d church and she no fit go tell d pastor of d church say him husband won marry another woman from dat church,if to say she tell dat pastor 5days wey she dey lagos and the church no do anything b4 dat day then she for act the drama wey she act dat day. The thing be say lilian kmow say him husband just de shop dat lady money wit am and she and her husband solomon no believe say the thing go lead to marriage and so she and her family quickly use dat drama take save solomon. When solomon de beg uloma and d church dat day after d drama he say him only try to cut corners but unfortunately d the business backfire.he also said he has his life to live and finally him come say make nobody blame him wife for wetin she do and make nobody blame uloma too bcos she no know.so now why una de call d pastor and d church name.many of una wey de cause d church even as I de write dis text,de Sleep wit married men wey una know their wives and even sef most of una de beg to become 2nd wives,pple don judge una finish. Is it d duty of the pastor to go and make investigation about solomon or marriage committe? The pastor wey una de cause no even wedd ulo and solomon bcos the wedding was cancelled dat day.una go talk tire ooo bcos solomon go soon catch another lady maybe this time from ur own church or from una families sef.lilian get ready for more dramas ooo bcos ur husband say another wedding bell go ring soon but na God know who be next. Thank God uloma is free from u.

Linda the church just put out a second statement. I guess they realized that the first statement was bad PR.

yuwantknow said...

Hmmmm....naija men!!

Funmi, its "Tithe" not tight...

The church stands by a liar and a fornicator at the expense of a legally married wife. This is barbaric.

NA WA O, NA CHURCH BE THAT. they have the nerve to say that they stand by a mistress who has just destroyed another woman's joy. no wahala, when God comes for all of them, i'll just grab popcorn and watch.

chai but i'm so ashamed for Nigeria..They worship money and use God as cover..why in the world is this church standing by a pregnant home wrecker..and why are they saying "they'll wait till it's legally rectified" so basically they are supporting divorce. God will deal with all of you that are dragging his name in the mud..every SINGLE one of you!

See this church peeps o, pot calling kettle black. They know when a situation is write and wrong but they cannot tell that its wrong to wed a pregnant lady due to such reasons as fornication! Shio!
Church my a*s*!!
Sparkle speaking!

This Chika must be a fool. so she supporting a pregnant woman getting married in their church. More so why didn't her father ask for Solomon divioce certificate? I am very sure Uloma has being giving them good offering so they don't mind disobeying the word of God. God has a lot to judge on that day. Nonsense

Linda,you have refused to post my comments, but you will posy Prince Jobless own abi? Thank you. Busslady

Beautiful Nigerian said...

"Where 2 or 3 are gathered churches"- best comment ever :-D

Mrs toluwalashe!! U shuld win a grammy for unrivaled stupidity..u deserve it, U retard!! And shut dat infected abyss u call a mouth..Ewu!!

What the hell?
And rumour had it that his 1st wife is Ezinne, then Lilian, now Ulona and now this Jand woman.
Somebody please castrate him o!

Abeg Linda, any news on wetin happen to de rice n chicken for reception*wink*

Hmm.. to think that the person that wrote this is a woman..hmm..Madam , may this happen to you, your daughters, and your sisters. AMEN!

My thoughts exactly on the Mercy Johnson case. It has been tried the meek way Ms Chika Moses by informing church leadership but they still went ahead and wedded the couple. I bet Lillian was not going to take that chance. This is what is good for these bigamists, husband snatcers and fake churches.

In times like this, the founder of this church and other officiating ministers of the church need a special retreat to seek for God's guidance and forgiveness.

Recently, there are revelations on churches that God intend to close down as a result of souls crying in Hell to close down such churches.

reasons....pastors are no longer telling congregation the truth about God's word.

the foundation of the ministry is faulty,it is built on strife, contention and bigamy.

pray for forgiveness.

Gbam!!!.that woman is rich i am sure she is one of those who donates well in dat church

Solomon for bible marry reach 700 na. The guy never start.
This bishop and church na wa oh.
Na true.. End time don come. Soon we go dey hear say the bishop see vision for night make him marry the disgraced couple at all costs.
Lilian please take heart the scales have fallen from your eyes. Give them your blessing and await God's guidance.

Yep, like they did mago mago with Lovelyn when she contacted church officials on her husband and Mercy Johnson.

Susan 2:15pm, tell Toluwalashe's boo o! Omokomo!

In the meantime, I'd like to know what happened to the rice at the reception venue!

Linda, please we need more gist!

Pls does this church use bible at all..why will a single woman reduce herself to steal another woman's husband..what makes her think she will be a better wife for this man..she's simply a homebreaker that all..

This church response is really annoying and ungodly, it also shows that the writer might be slightly mentally derailed. She wrote that the lawfully wedded wife was supposed to have come to their church and discuss with the ministers. please when? is it after the fake n ew marriage. However the lady whom the church is about to join in marriage is already pregnant. OMG, are they not ashamed as a congregation. Will Jesus do that? Is the church saying that they don't know the so called nollywood actor (Solomon Akiyesi) is legally married or did their member(Uloma Agwu) lie that her proposed man-friend is a bachelor?
Chika Moses, wisdom is profitable to direct. Reason properly before you put ur pen on paper. With what you wrote, it shows that your assembly is interested in dissolving Solomon's marriage.
This lady is supposed to sue Solomon, Overcomers Church and Uloma Agwu. Even the entire immediate family of this Agwu. Yes
Its so sad that this Solomon is inhuman, is this how his father treated his mother?. If he does this in movies, this is reality mehn.
He needs to go before God, his wife and the entire nation for forgiveness. I just hope this wedding can be healed. Uloma Agwu go and find yourself another man. Your rib is not from Solomon Akiyesi. Don't do "i'll die there...lol", if you are rich then Solomon is just interested in your change.

Victor said...

Its simple , opening eyes , lots of fake prophets , this is the end time , where on earth does a pregnant woman gets married in the Church of God , abomination , haba , did the Lord really call this So called Pastor . Hmmmmm .

Senera said...

At anon 12.34. It is obvious u attend that church and you hav snatched another woman's man. May u rot in hell with ur church. Rubbish

Dlapikin said...

This Church is dubious: What Christian church is marrying an obviously pregnant woman. The PR lady says the groom was unmarried according to their "due dilligence" What is unmarried? Single or divorced? Aren't people asked to provide their marriage certificate before the church marries them? An then why cast negative judgement on the legal wife? Ridiculous!

People can curse on this blog sha.O ga oooo!

Solomon,u no do well oooo!U abandoned ur wife of 7years?
I support the real wife jor.What rubbish?U guys dated for 6 years ,so altogether u were together for 13 years.
Honestly,u re more deadly than a snake!You'll surely reap what u have sown one day.U no fear God?Dont u know u cant keep such a secret forever?You have to ask God for forgiveness and sincerely beg ur real wife.
"Womanising"married men.....hope u re learning from this.Men can cheat.......

I am glad to be Catholic. Church these days are all about money. I guess the woman must have contributed enormously for the so called Bishop to say such! What good Christian Church permits divorce? Na wa for our modern generation churches. Who even made the man a Bishop? Nigeria! SMH

U must be a disgrace to all humankind for supporting this act. Close ur mouth if u have nothing good to I.

How can the Church make that kind of comment after knowing the truth on ground? Its a big shame and members of that church or social gathering are being misguided their so called Pastor. Its a pity..I HOPE THIS IS NOT A SCENE FROM A NOLLYWOOD MOVIE?

What a pathetic response. And to think that it came from a "pastor" make it even worse. Plain DAFT if you ask me.

Church indeed.

so if the man lawfully divorces the 1st wife, your church will go ahead to wed them....hmm what a church

What sort of press release is this? Is this a church or a club house? Solomon himself agreed that he tried to cut corners yet the church said investigation showed he was unmarried.Mtsheww. So what purpose did the prayer serve? Another woman's hubby and his mistress! Wonders shall never end. the church is even in support of divorce and husband snatching. May God punish the bishop and the ministers in the church.

Now you all know why Tuface went to Dubai to get married: so he won't have this kind of drama on his wedding day...lol

nah their life nah, wetin u expect nollywood!!! wayward pple

wahala de!

SAPPHIRE said...

I only see things like this in nollywood,seeing this happening in real life is really funny,DIS WILL BE TITLED WEDDING DISASTER PART 1

How could't they have known he is married. That guy is the gaddem devil, wt a heavy wife?

Gosh! Hw a church write such a statement n I knw dis Pastor. How cld u marry a pregnant woman on d pulpit of God n u call urself a servant of God? God hates divorce n dey didn't do any investigations at all. God deliberately allowed dis to happen to expose the misdeamnors of this church n its leadership. They must have been doing dis for a while n God jst allowed dis exposure. So other churches shld pls take heed and be warned as God is not mocked oh.

becckyd said...

stupid man!!!

Well from the look of things it looks as if people don't read bible anymore. How can a married man impregnant a woman and your church decided to wed them. It is a thing of shame that a church will stand beside a man that is a cheater. Why did he impregnant a woman before wedding her if ur doctrine is real. Agwu Nnem think twice how sure are u that this man will not cheat on u after wedding him. It takes the grace of God, he doesn't fear God there is no sign of sincerity in this relationship. I advice you my sister to keep to yourself and take care of your baby cos u will never have peace of mind in this marriage from the angle i am seeing it.Imagine a woman well known in a church to be disgrace by a cheater,it didn't worth it. Just ask God for forgiveness build another life.Church will not lead u to heaven. You better leave that man. He now belongs to another woman marrying him u will be committing adultery/fornication. Go and read ur bible very well don't turn bible upside down for it to favor you. Read it very well, at least for a man to divorce his wife is when he catches her committing adultery which she didn't commit either. If u have fear of God stick to yourself, turn a new life for if Solomon/church will make u go to hell fire it is better u cut them off.Protect you imagine and that of your family.Above all your salvation first before any other thing please. May God bless you

Fabulous Iny said...

I bet the so called nollywood actor thinks he is acting a movie, he must be living in a non existent world of fantasy(probably on dope) to think he can wed another woman in a so called' CHURCH'

Am I the only one that noticed the comment about having to take an HIV test before you are wed? That is just ridiculous. What does your health status have to do with your wedding or the church?

In my culture, if ur child is getting married representatives of your family must go to the intended groom or brides family house. They will see where there daughter is marrying into and ask around about the grooms family from neighbors.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 277 of 277   Newer› Newest»