Nigerian student facing life imprisonment in Ukraine released today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 April 2013

Nigerian student facing life imprisonment in Ukraine released today

Nigerian student, Olaolu Femi, who has been in detention in the Lungask district of Ukrain for about a year after being arrested for attempted murder has been released. He was released today.

Ukrainian police charged him with attempted murder, but according to eye witnesses, Olaolu was defending himself against six Ukrainian teenagers who attacked him at the entrance to his apartment block last year. Olaolu was said to have managed to get up and defended himself against the assailants with a glass from a broken bottle.
"It was while he was defending himself that police arrived at the scene and the Nigerian was subsequently arrested and charged with attempted murder of five people" a Nigerian embassy staff who had knowledge of the case said at the time.
You can read the full story HERE. Olaolu was facing life imprisonment if convicted. Thankfully, he's now a free man. See more photos after the cut...

116 comments:

CommeNTER said...

Linda you are so on point, how fast you upload news.....

CommeNTER said...

LINDA I WAS AT THE COURT LIVE, ANYWAYS YOU ARE THE FIRST TO PUBLISH IT

May G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅̊ §ε̲̣̣̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ him 2ru

Chiquitita said...

Thank God for His intervention!

Thank God for ur life olaolu trully Olaoluwakitan

Am happy for him.Justice atlast.

Oke Igbo said...

Happy for him...
Thank God, the handiwork of the surefire Airforce is over...

Skimpy said...

Oluwa Sheun º°˚˚°ºoo,congrats bro

Thank God he promise us dat we ll not die b4 our tm u ll live 4 him to fulfill his promises in ur life in Jesus name at last God ve put satan to shame

Thank God for him. First to comment.......

Ukrainian are the worst people on earth. Gosh God 4bid dat i will ever go 2 ukraine or any of my future generations going 2 dat hell on earth called ukraine...

Thank God , victory at last.

Amazing said...

One man to 5 men??? Wtf!!! Thank God is free now.

ibere said...

Ah Praise God o. So which one is Femi? the one in the light blue denim shirt?

Ha! Thank God O!

Chuka Bonna said...

Hmmmmm! Interesting!

He had better get out of dodge now he is free.

That is a 3rd world country oooo. Go home or go somewhere

DeeKofo said...

Congrats brother.Jesus Christ the greatest advocate.Thank you for delivering Olaolu.

Thank God for him!

But some pipo dey waka oh? Ukraine of all places? Me, I go just siddon for my papa compound dey bang local girls, while harassing our tenant for rent money!

Thank God for you

Attempted murder of five pple at d entrance of his block at d same time...cooommmmmmmon #frownsagainstracism#

Am so happy he used to b my schfather,thankGod olaolu a.k.a fogbadi

BRIGHTINO said...

How can people keep going to countries where they are not accepted as humanbeings?

he better get on d next flight and come back home before those guys finish him finally

they may not be happy wt d judgement as his conviction to 6ft wld v made them very happy

my 1p

HYBunny

Kabiyesi Ayeraye Olorun mi. So it is true that when there is life there is hope. I thank you so much Lord Jesus for the life of this young man and use him as a point of contact for everyone that is suffering for sins that they did not commit that you, the same unchangeable God, will deliver them by your power. Amen

xtianally said...

Thank God Fø̲̣̣я̅ U̶̲̥̅̊r life

Wahala dey everywhere oh

Thank God! Please he should come back to his country! Ukraine is still not a safe place for him! Did they arrest the Ukrainians that tried to kill him?????

Mtchewwwww, nd sum innocent pple wil kuku die lik dt....despite d fact dt dey r innocent. God wil help us ooo

Laolu please just get ur butts back home asap else they'd continue to target u till they nail u for some fictitious ish

God will surely fight for d innocent!All these oyinbo wey no wan use eyes see black ppl sef,nawa ooo!

Linda this is news becos?

Femi the son of Olaolu, congrats! Oya come back home sharp sharp

10k God!!!

Queen Bee said...

Ukraine?bloody rubbish place to go to school!
All ye 'I must school abroad' watch urselves,if u can't afford better countries,school in naija.
God has saved this guy,others might not be that lucky.
A word is enuf for the wise!

Finally,Thank God!!!

Hallelujah!

The charge didn't even make sense from the beginning. Attempted murder of FIVE people... With A GLASS BOTTLE. Really?

gistmode said...

How manage? This guys are damn lucky.. They should thank their stars.

They are mad, bcos he is a Nigerian that was why they did all that. Five ppl they fight one person them leave the five arrest they one wey dem dey fight

Yes Lindyway he was released today....all Adoration belongs to GOD the bobo don Free for life.Much love from Lugansk.

June said...

Oya Run back to ur country.....buy tubers of yam an a cock for thanksgiving! God saved γφυ !

Oh I wish he was jailed for life seriously cos its only in Nigeria that ppl fight with weapon and go free.in western world fighting with weapon is an attempted murder.

Opelenge said...

Thank God oooo! I felt soo much pity for him!! Abeg, he shud jus pack his load and come to naija.

Some ppl here pass side comments at the site of a foreigner in naija, some ppl dont (dere is an epitom of racism in every individual dat is including we Nigerians)Everybody should calm down and stop making comments like ukraine is the worst place in the world. Send your kids to schools you can afford, if Ukraine happens to be one of them, tell them to face their primary goal and no harm will befall them but if they dont, then stories like dis will repeat itself. LOL to killing internationals like rat, so not true.

fucking racist 'attempted murder of five people' with a broken glass? 5 people!!!.. only him! Is he James Bond? I hate that Country.. Not like they even have anything important.. If only Nigeria could be better with her resources, why the hell will any Nigerian think of going to Ukraine to live or study? God will help us. Amen

Praise the Lord! That's very good news! I pray Nnena Edu's safe return home will follow soon.

Omas992 said...

@Anon 10:46 PM. You spoke my mind.

Our God Ans Prayers,I'm sure all His Well-wishes Had Sleeples nyte prayin 4Him...He should go 4 ThnksGivin.

As someone once alluded the Oyinbo people to me are those in the USA..UK..France..Those in the Mediterranean..the rest can't even touch 9ja if things were the way they supposed to be!!
Imagine the Leader of a country giving amnesty to terrorists!!..why wouldn't our people run to this forsaken places!!

confessor said...

Life sentence 4 attemted murder?
Is it stated in der constitution?
Stupid ass racist
See wat Gej is suppose 2 face here
"Committee of immigrants"

ThankGod for him. Imagine d useless country 1 against 5 with broken bottle not real naa. All the blame stil falls on corruption in dis country. Longhiss.

thank God!!!Abeg come back home to continue your education oooooo

god na go punish ukraine police men, murder attempt on 5 persons d guy dey act america film be dat na.

Bros enter the next available plane back to niaja please

Tank God 4 him ooo

I work with ukrainians occasionally (ship things). One thing I know is that they envy our huge resources & can't understand why our nation is poor. The end product of 3 decades of military misapproprtn.Imagine abacha has over 3 thrillion naira sitting in swiss bank, and our budget is like...uhn 4-5 thrillion...like duh!!! Mtcsheewww

Thank GOD for u olaolu..

bimsoty said...

Oh yaa pack ur bag n return home,once biten twice shy,trust me they will continue to frustate him,congrats sha

JacQue said...

You know about nnenna edu?Amen to that

Thank God for ur life but can't they thnk how will a person will committe a suicide within 6 teenagers they just wish to descipline this guy but I thank God for ur life guy most are there gone nd they re innocent to d crime they said they committed

JacQue said...

How can one person attack 5 ppl and dey charge him for attempted murder? Pure racism. Well happy he is free!

omotayo said...

Praise God

I agree wit u if only we manage our resources properly.Y wuld any Nigerian tink of goin to Ukraine wit dere xtremely cold weather.I blame our govt more.

at least Ukraine of all countries tried him within months, if he was tried in Nigeria, he would have waited 20 years in prison before final Judgement.

Nawa

this mofo just fking niggaz up in this damn country we still got lotta niggaz in jail here smting shuld be done to free dem too God bless happy my bro is out we would kip defending ourselves here and with God by our side we would crossover ....paka

Racist! Its the same all over the so called white man's land.

Mi thoughts exactly!

he spent a year there?i remember reading this news and i was so sad.thank God he is free now!

Sam Oracle said...

Thank God for him, at least him don taste am for one year.
Linda please get an android app for your blog. I said something about it on twitter, you acted like you didn't see it. I'll keep disturbing you ooh.

Is Ukraine a place to live, I rather stay my ass in my father's land hiann

Fool.unless I don't serve a living God u will see wat ur comment will amt to.

Gela said...

Honestly speaking I jst hate all these white pple....they will come to 9ja make money nd get rich, live nd do anyhw in our country bt when u get to their country, jst a little blunder ends u in jail or if u r caught tryin to defend urself, they'll jst shove u into jail without investigating. Olaolu has been in jail for a whole year for smthn he did not do jst cos he wz defending himself bt caught at d wrong time...smh. Thank God he has been released bt what about still in jail for what they did nt do??? May God see them thru in Jesus name, Amen!!!

chuma said...

My broda or sis nah only Abacha. What about these cunts that continue to embezzel. Nah wah ohhhhhhh

Thank God that he is now free

Kaycee said...

Linda Abeg find out from Embassy say they must fight for compensation..He has lost big time staying in prison for a year....these teenagers got what they deserve for attacking defenceless man...

happy for him..finally he as a God he call on...Congrats brother

baby sykes said...

Ob1 so u dey reach LIB too?lol

U r soooooooo stupid. Re read ur comment 2 urself n c if it makes sense. Every country has a self defense law dat allows u 2 use harmful force in ur defense if u fear 4 ur lyf or d lyf of others arnd u @ dat point in tym. Ode. Google is ur frnd. Stop comin here 2 expose ur stupidity.

Imagine o! How can 1 man attempt murder on five boyz!!!!! ThankGod u escapped dat trap.

Oluwadamilola said...

I don't know what Nigerians are looking for I swear..Ukraine of all the countries in the world, iranu!

Imagine those idiots!How can 1 person attempt to kill five people all by himself?and with just a piece of broken bottle.Ori yin o pe rara.Thank God for his release!KD

Oluwadamilola said...

Lol, I'm telling u, you are your own boss naa,way better than being an underclass citizen in a country like Ukraine, abi oti kraine ni..

Olaolu I'm happy for u!! God is on ur side.

Oluwadamilola said...

E tire me

Oluwadamilola said...

Osu mi oo!

Oluwadamilola said...

Better tell him to come bk home..

Oluwadamilola said...

E tire me

Oluwadamilola said...

I don't know what Nigerians are looking for I swear..Ukraine of all the countries in the world, iranu!

Dlapikin said...

He better get out of that country fast!!!

I don't see this as justices. The only time i will accept this stupid justices is when those racist are jailed or made to pay for damages including the Ukraine govt as well and it's police inclusive,he was denied this justice,he was forced to accept the condition they placed him in. As for my sick and weak govt also embassies inclusive you all have to get your brain's checked and boost your low life esteem,a citizen of america or silly Ukrainian or whatever citizen will not be allowed to be treated like this in Africa by their embassy but yet you take this rubbish,wish i was in Ukraine i would have gone on a killing spray,but since am not am sure one is born to fulfill this mission. Take note silly racist all over the Europe, Asian and the rest watch out for this prophesy. Linda post my comment cos Malaysia and Indian and doing the same as we speak.

Lmfaoooo

Shut up you jealous idiots, racism is everywhere see their stupid mouth as if they had the opportunity to study there they will say no am a student in ukraine infact in my third year but i will tell i have the best roommates they are whites and very friendly even my group mates very nice people see their mouth, no be solomon leave him wife marry another woman? or no man man kill him wife, are they not nigerians? thank GOD he is free i notice most people here are just jealous because una father no get money to send una abroad to study mtchewwwww shut up as if nigeria is any better mtcheww

You did not make an iota of sense. Next please

Idiot, the guy was clearly defending himself and we know its racism that put him in jail, nothing else.

U wish? i cnt bliv d way pple talk. U knw dt cud happen to anybody ryt? Even u

happyhausabunny said...

Did you even read the story? He was attacked by a group of racist, hated filled boys, so he should have allowed them to kill him abi, and not defend himself? Really? TF iis wrong with you?

MYTURN said...

We thank God better take the next flight home

So happy for u Bro, People are just saying what they like, nigeria is d worst nation ever , at least there are few opportunity in Ukraine , Stay there d lord id your strenght

nnkkie said...

I tire ooh,Abeg is 9ja dat bad eh?

zee said...

ukraine of all countries..bloody white racists..thank God he's finally out

Come linda where is my comment? the ones i insulted this ranting shit but if the opportunity come am sure they will not say no berra post my comment b4 i vex

You wey dey say ukraine of all places, is nigeria better than ukraine? you better shut up, have you visited any part of europe in your life? mtchewww i smell jealousy all this poor people because una papa no get money to send una abroad to study abeg stop condemning your country is not better either lozz jealousy whether you like it or not ukraine is eastern europe you can never compare someone who studied in europe to one ho studied in nigeria we wil always get more respect than you deal with it Linda berra post my comment oooo,racism is everywhere.

I never said what they did was right either am only saying those who are condemning the country should shut up we should all be happy he is free instead of sounding as if ukraine is the worst place racism is everywhere take it or leave it Thank GOD he is free stop condemning nigeria is not better deal with it

You could fool every one else not me.Ukrain and russia is the wrongest place for blacks to study or reside. Their racist attiute is way tooooo extreme.Besides this,any academic certificate acquired there is a waste of time and finance,their certificate is severly unrecognized globally. What are Nigerians doing there.

What are they doing there self? Come home jo! Wetin kin suffer head carry people commot Naija go Ukraine. please please please come home I beg. Nonsense.

Shut up slave house negro

I am proud of studying in ukraine... to hell with all u jealous peeps who cant afford it..

May almighty God be praised for useing all the person He used to vendicate for the young Nigrian especially the eye witness who testified the truth,as for this caucasians who don't look before they leep, I don't blame them,I blame the govt. Of our nation naija ,who have refused to create enabling everonment for its indegens to succeed in what ever field of endevour they want to get into be it education or entreprinurship.

Miley said...

Oluwadamilola s obviously now PRINCESS Charming....comment for evry post,reply 2 every comment...#whew#

am a student of Unilag d very bst uni in naija n i av friends studying in ukraine as well...D truth is wit comparisons av made ukrainian education (especially in medicine) is far ahead of us so i dnt kno why ignorant fellas sud b condemning ppl studying ova dere...all we sud do is pray n work hard 2 mak sure naija gts 2 dt level or even higher level of developments...lyk ova dere dey use mannikins 4 medical practicals whyl in naija here we still based on Cardava...

ukraine is sure good 4 studying...dey got beta standard n facilities dan naija unis

Don't come to Ukraine, we are racist and we don't like newcomers. Consider yourself warned.

jobs said...

!!! did not know Ukrainians are racist!

thank you for sharing australia jobs