UNILAG Medical Student Drowns at Elegushi Beach | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 April 2013

UNILAG Medical Student Drowns at Elegushi Beach

From PM News
A 200-level student of the Department of Dentistry, School of Medicine, University of Lagos, Unilag, Idi-Araba, Eniola Abiola has drowned.
The incident occurred at the Elegushi Beach, Ikate, in Eti-Osa Local Government Area, of Lagos, where the deceased was attending a friend’s birthday party.
Abiola was reported to have got to the party at 8:15 p.m. and later joined her friends a few meteres away from the shoreline to take photographs.
An eyewitness told P.M.NEWS that while they were posing for a snapshot, a heavy wave suddenly arose and rolled fiercely to the shore.

“The wave came the first time, but receded. It came a second time, and floored her. As she tried to escape like others, a third one came and swept her away,” she said.

However, rescue effort was impossible at the time, as the life guards at the beach were said to have closed at about 5 p.m. on the fateful day.

When P.M.NEWS visited Abiola’s school this morning, few of her classmates were seen discussing the incident.

Her class representative, simply identified as Seun, said her classmates were still in shock and that they would miss her.

The President, Unilag Students Union, Wale Peters, said: “The death was unfortunate, because the deceased was an easy-going, brilliant and lively girl.”

Effort to get the university to officially comment on the matter was abortive. But an official, who pleaded not to be named because he was not authorised to speak, said the university cannot bear responsibility for Abiola’s death since it occurred outside the school environment.
The deceased father, Dr. Eniola, an eye doctor and university staff was not available for comment at the time of this report.

224 comments:

1 – 200 of 224   Newer›   Newest»

So sad. RIP

Chibuike said...

May her soul rest in peace

What a painful loss.
may her soul rest in peace.

Na wah, God save us dis year oo. Oritseritse na him person dey hear dis yr. by d way am I last to comment ?

Oh such a pretty girl. Hmmm.

Like Why TF would u go to d beach at night not just going to beach at night but GO CLOSE TO the shoreline that late....... Lik serzly this behaviour is becoming irritating.... Its really sad... Her folks would be soo devastated.. Naza

idowu said...

So sad..RIP abiola

Dt moment wen nigerians turn beachs 2 nite club. WTF r dey doin @d beach @nite?Some pple even go as far as partin dere ova nite.Y wnt d life guards close?na dere dem wan slip.Nigerians jst v a way of turnin tins upside down,I weak o

Life guard at the beach closed at 5pm, then common sense should tell them not to give people access to the beach after 5pm, since 911 emergency line never works in Nigeria! As for the girl, why would you go near the waves to take picture if you don't know how to swim?? Just wasted your life because of stupidity! This should serve as a lesson to others! Stay away from water if you can't swim or don't own a life vest! If you think you can depend on Nigeria's emergency personnel to save you then consider yourself a dead person!

ella said...

Omg,dis is painful..may her soul RIP.

I'm a student at Medilag,its so sad...thank God her body was found and she has been buried...RIP Eniola Abiola.xx

Oluwadamilola said...

Sad!

Mi God! Dis is soo sad!!

The Glammonist said...

Very sad...

idowu said...

So sad..Rip abiola

They key issue is many Nigerians can't swim to save their lives. Swimming should mandatory with school curriculums. Yes I know I'm dreaming. RIP pretty lady.

R.I.P
First to comment. Yaaaay.
No insults pls.

But why host a beach party that late in the day? We all know the tides are stronger and higher at that time of the evening. RIP to the girl and my condolence to her family

RIP Abiola, may God give ur family n friends the fortitude to bear this! God have Mercy, it is well.

The lifeguards closed at 5pm. FUCK THIS COUNTRY.

birthday party at the beach by that time of night???? u got to be kiding me. people should learn to be at the right place at the right time to avoid awkard situations.

Yvonne said...

Father!

What a pity !RIP

How sad... May her young soul rest in peace, Amen!

What a beautiful waste. Cut down in her prime. May her soul rest in peace. I wonder whether the parents knew she was going for a beach picnic at night! Risky lifestyle.

Eya dats so sad....fun turned to sorrow. Hmmmmm may her gentle soul RIP. Amen

Poor gal! Dis will sound as a warning 2 all dose gals who are crazy abt beach outings. 2day oniru,2morow elegushi and d rest! @ least if dp's and instagram pics will be avoided such won't happen! RIP young lady

Eya so sad...fun turned to sorrow. Hummmmm may her gentle soul RIP.Amen

So unfortunate...

Duke Emeka said...

Hian, please pple should be more cautious. This one would be death after a brief groove.

may her soul rest in peace amen.pritihdivah

I need to learn how to swim.

rip. .......for the benefit of the living, you cant swim what d fuck are doing by the ocean at that time of the night, nigeria shame on u. why cant coast guard man that BITCH 2 4. somebody, everybody pls echo "misplaced prioritikolomiasis". that is one of the sickness naija must cure to move forward.

Emmanuel Ayeni said...

Very pathetic...! May her soul rest in perfect peace.. and may God comfort the deceased's family.. AMen

Who asked the University official to bear responsibility?

University officials are super fast in denying any tragedy

May her soul rest in peace. She suppose run from the shore after the first wave, me i love my life oh.

I'm so speechless.What kind of uncalled for death is this?A bright young girl.is this trully a real wave?I feel so pained at heart.God console her family.

Fine Lady so this is how death visit u RIP.

eya dint dey no d wave are always stonger and cum in more in d night tho d water looks calm dats y anytime i go 2 d beach in d night i stay far from d water and elegunshi is no d safest beach in 9ja,RIP poor girl

Oceanview said...

O̶̲̥̅̊ђ God! Wat a sad story! I always §♠Ę³ ds...why do people go near the sea shore to snap pix? Cant dey stay away frm d water area to snap pix or wat ehn?

And worst still its always Learners who dont knw how to swim in a Pool not to talk of ocean dat does dat all the time n always end up being victims of ds kind of sad happening!

In my own case i dnt go to beach as such n evn if i managed to go i'm always kilometers away frm the water area cos i knw my case....Mammy Water don dey pursue me since rit frm childhood til nw, its my Heavenly Father dat has bn saving me frm her hands...cos she's angry day i'd Denounced her connection Å“i̶̲̅Ļ„ me!

All this things exist n pple shld be vry careful extremely.....imagine d time dat dey were snapping pix @ 8:15pm n sadly near d waters for crying out loud....dats not a POOL dat one can do such a tin!

At such time, d Marine Militants are begining to come out to catch Preys...pls dnt think i'm being illogical or Unlearned here buh i'm speaking the Facts of which I KNW VERY WELL abt Marine Operadums!

Stay away frm Ocean Waters or River especially if ur case has somtin to do wt it....evn if u'v undergone deliverance, u stil need to be @ alert @ all times n be wise abt Ȋ̝̊†̥! Leave Western knowledge out of ds....this is AFRICA where DARKNESS is fully rested upon!

A word is a enof for the Wise who wldnt end up being a FOOL n a FOOL ĪŃ’o wants to be WISE! #Enofsaid#

RIP Enny!

Chidozie Mario said...

What a loss, people should learn how to listen to their inner voices. May her soul RIP.
The Balance Of Time

Jenny Amy Akums said...

Aaaww dats so bad. She was very unfortunate. RIP dear

Ooommg, i feel so pained, cos jez recently i went on a boat cruise, we got to the beach, everyone hving fun, going into the water, wave $ all, i was so scared doing wot dey were enjoying, they tried convincing me, buh i jez couldnt, cos of FEAR, i really wish i culd conquer my fear at dat point, buh it jez wuldnt let me... Rest in Peace Dear one, May heaven hve Mercy on u Enough to receive ur soul!

Eyaa! R.I:P gurl.. God loves you more... May God give the family fortitude to bear the loss..

bad news

Elegushi beach is not a place 2 be at night.. Very dangerous. RIP 2 Abiola

Eyaaa. Rest in peace gurl God loves you more... May God give the family the fortitude to bear this loss. Amen.

Ms bimbel said...

Hmmmm.......may her soul RIP

dats so sad....RIP

So sad! I remember that similar thing happened during a picnic to one of our senior medical students during our first year in Medilag (~1993)

tussledthoughts said...

RIP. When parents advise to stay in sch&read book,itsnt just cos dey want good grades,its also cos of safety.

RIP.

Jeez....... May she RIP

May she R.I.P AMEN!

OluSammie said...

May her soul rest in peace.
If you are not an expert swimmer, please for the sake of those who will mourn your sorry ass in case you are swept off, DON'T GO NEAR THE OCEAN.
A word is enough for the wise. Even expert swimmers are known to have been swept off by the YEMOJAS in these oceans, so why go near the ocean. WHY? WHY? WHY?
There was a time when a student union leader in this same medical school (an expert swimmer born and bred in a riverine area) was swept off on this same beach probably by the same YEMOJAS.
Why even go to a beach when life guards are not on duty? And in the night? Nothing but a recipe for disaster.
May God give the parents the ability to over come their loss.

water no get enemy at all, but this is a pathetic incident, rip my dear....

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

OMG! This pretty Girl. RIP

NEVAEH said...

I'm so shocked in fear and sad for her,I mean y did the wave take her like that?rip abiola

Mama...one creative babe I knw..I knw she dey alright with baba God.

JESUS, so sad. RIP dearie

R.I.P

kidodo said...

Wat a waste. I hope her parents will get d fortitude to bear d loss.

RIP dear baby girl and may your family have the strenght to overcome this tragedy............ And Linda, UNILAG no get SUG therefore the Mr Wale WHO! is an impersonator.

May her soul rest in peace, its such a pity the rate at which young people die these days.

Rip...ife gurl 32e90bcc

Chai....wot a pity.may her soul rest in peace!

Cat said...

wot a sad loss,R.I.P,n e b lyk say her people no no say she go d party

Dis is very unfortunate...dia s no date here as to wen d incident occurred tho I knw t must hv happened on d 12th of April(last wk friday) bc I ws dia @ d beach @ d tym t did...no life guard ws on sight n d tides wia jst so fierce...we wia all scared. poor eniola. RIP dear

God why is it dat its the good and briliant once that die early and sadly . God replace this gaLs life and take away all this parole gals that are spoiling the soecity esp the 1ce dah have bleached. Linda post my comment pls

Eeeya!!!...ehn..you too wat kind of birthday party are you going that you are arriving at 8pm...nawa oo...after all d warnings....nd as for dose stupid lifeguards...y shld u av a closing tym..cant u do shifts or sumfn...nawa oo..smh..

diidy said...

May she rest in peace. But why snap by the shore by that time of the night?

So so unfortunate.....

Dis is rather unfortunate. I hope dis will serve as a lesson 2 those who prefer 2 go to d beach late @ night. Am sure d situation wouldn't av bin dis bad if it happened during d day#so sad#

This is so so terrible. May she rest in d bossom of our Lord.amen. My condolences to het family n friends

Oh dear! What a way to lose a life. RIP. But I dare say that wave was mysterious. As tho it was hell bent on taking a life that night. Terrible! IAI

anonymous said...

Omg!this is so sad, may her gentle soul rest in peace

Mab said...

Her future cut off, it is well

Aymii said...

Sad, Sad ,Sad So so so Sad........and she's so young......Sad mehn.

Disheartening news!! 8.15pm at night which means the party might be all night. Pls let us all be carefful, anything could happen in such places it is not safe in d day talklesss of the night.May God give the family to bear the loss

This is really a sad one. May her soul RIP.

This is sad. RIP Eni!!

Cynthus said...

Children of now adays, they want to do is to have mad fun... I jst pray for you to rest in peace.

This is partetic, may her gentle soul rest in peace. What a waste

Sad

Ah,dis is tragic..rip

So sad, may she rest in peace

Ahhhhh. Sad news may her soul RIP

A beautiful life cut short, hmmm RIP

Jeeeez,wat a lovely lady...infact dat elegushi beach or wateva its called must b a diety. It jus wntd a sacrificial lamb. May her soul RIP. But too much party no good ooooo

So unfortunate!

Oh no! Holy Jesus! Why???

Lambast said...

Haa! May her soul rest in peace. why wud she get too close to d shoreline. All,be very careful wen catching fun o! I no fit cry!

Sean said...

Here's is the joke of the day, "the life guards had closed for work by 5pm". Am impressed

Jeez! i cnt even imagine her struggles. So sad. Life guards close by 5pm yet dey allow pple in beach as late as possible with no security. Pple shouldn't b allowed anywhr close to d shores when deres no life guard on duty. i feel lik cryin.Hav dey found her body?May her soul rest in Peace

Linda is an optician or an opthamologist not an eye doctor o. Were dey waiting for the school to bear d loss... Its not possible. @ Elegushi beach by past 8pm when d tides are usually high. Dey are all lucky d tides didn't swip all d attendants of the bday.
May her soul rest in peace and strength for the family to bear the loss.

1st 2 comment,mami wota tins

*sigh* May G♡̷̬̩̃̊D̶̲̥̅̊ forgive d dead!condolence Ļ„̅☺ d young deceased family!! S̶̲̥̅Ę ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ Sad!!!!

SUNSHINE said...

Linda, i'm happy you posted this news.
This is the reason i'v been off here here for a while.
Still in bitter tears.
Can't believe this angel is gone.
She was so brilliant, easy going.
I wouldn't have been this touched if i didn't know her.
She was my very close friend.
We both finished from Tunyo comprehensive College.
Friends are still mourning her.
If this is how people die, then i don't wanna die;(.
Just can't stop crying.

RIP! We student hav to be very careful in places we go...he who has ear let him hear.

What will they call this?I really don't understand,having a beach party at NIGHT hello!
Its the family's luck they should deal with it.

Very sad...an innocent gal who wnt 2 av fun,getz her life snuffed out by d cold handz of death...lord help us...*kelechi*

dis is a sad story but she let de enemy to remote her finish make her family bear de lost.... steadyman say so

I knw her it happen last week friday very sad incident cos both parent are so devasted she will be missed in church as well RIP ABIODUN

Taking pictures in the sea? At 8.15pm? Seriously, what are these people thinking? Despite all the repeated warnings about venturing away from the beach? Why this fascination with danger? Why this blatant disregard and disrespect of societal values by this generation? Now a promising young lady has died needlessly. What a pity. Hope the so-called friends are happy now. SMH for this bunch of stupid airheads.

Jesus!May her soul rest in peace.:(

So sad,if only she knew dis wud be her last day on earth,she won't have joined in taking a snapshop with her frnds close to d water,cuz d tide is higher @ dat time of d Night,dis shud also serve as a warning to girls dat are picture freaks,takin pics everywhere even Wen its not safe.RIP Eniola,may God console her Family Amen!

So sad RIP to her

RIP to the deceased but why did they have to go so close to the shoreline at that time ?! The best caution we can give ourselves is precaution !! There's nothing bad in having fun but why go having fun that could odawise prove fatal?!

RIP.

imagine such a promising young lady.God knws the best dear go nd rest in paradise.

RIP .but seriously 8.15pm @ d beach.no comment then

Abiola said...

So sad..may her soul RIP.

tadewusi said...

Unilag students get drown almost every year, when i was still there, we heard different cases like that, still they never learn. may her soul rest in peace.

Eya wat a pity really cute girl,if only u knew u wudnt have gone 4 d party.R.I.P

This is soooooooooooooo depressing

May her soul RIP. She's gone and there's nothing that can be done to bring her back weather unilag takes responsibility or not. I pray God giver her family the fortitude to bear this irepairable loss, sad that such a Promising Nigerian had to die this way.

sheroliciouz said...

May her soul rst in Peace...

Ebere said...

so sad rip girl

Uhummmm,pls post my comment pls,the lady is a very good girl,which the father is an easy goin staff @ the GEC eye clinic in luth idiaraba and a very good father dat spend a lot on his family.God pls have great mercy...omowhummie

Elegushi beach loading...rip

Ada Nnewi said...

R.I.P Abiola!.....so none of her "friends" attempted to save her...lifeguards koo lifeguards niii...Lesson: pick friends that won't watch you drown...

LoveyDovey said...

Lord have mercy!!!!!

I still dont get the gist : Abiola was reported to have got to the party at 8:15 p.m. and
However, rescue effort was impossible at the time, as the life guards at the beach were said to have closed at about 5 p.m. on the fateful day.

Its either she went to the beach by 8:15 am and rescue effort was called off by 5pm or she went to the beach by 8:15pm and recue effort was called off by 5am. Please set ur records staright

bimia said...

may her soul rest in peace. but really what were they doing at the beach side at 8:15pm.

tutove said...

May GOD give her parent d fortitude to bear d loss..so sad

Eiyah...may her soul rest in peace amen.

this is really unfortunate and sad,if she had known she would have ran the second time the wave came,what will be of her parents?it is well o

Machete said...

sad! this is not the 1st time its happening to a unilag student tho! Lesson; sea waves are strong at night... don't go close to the water! RIP!

What an unfortunate situation......Wow ladies & gents lets be careful. Rest In Peace Abiola.
Joy

lola said...

Wow, wat a sad sad story... May her soul rest in peace

Eeyah...rip

All of u dat cant do without going to mark register at elegushi every weekend,this is a warning!All dem elegushi loading,elegushi on check,elegushi is too live,y'all beta be careful

We do not av student union in UNILAG, so ow can we av a President? All d same, RIP gal. 1st tym 2 comment

Sad story!May God grant her family the fortitude to bear the loss.RIP Eniola Abiola

May her soul rest in peace, may her family and friends find comfort

Hmmmmmm God hv mercy

May her soul rest in peace, may her family and friends find comfort

Is quite unfortunate,for the demise of these young promising lady.May her soul lay to rest in peace. Now, why is it that every system in this country is not working,i mean is very painful and shameful that the coast guard are off duty @ 5ive o clock wat nonsense is that, can they av a nite shifts personnel. Now, i know our government don't give a damn about it's citizens,we r going down the drain lets awake oh nation our leaders are eating up our flesh in disguise.

hmmmmmm.....may her soul rest in peace, bt unilag student sha dey do go xtra mile. is dat wot she is sent to do in school? anyway let dem hear sha coz today many of dem are already on dia way to do dsame all d name of catching FUN

Linda, I thought your a graduate of Unilag, so how come you don't know that unilag don't have any central Student union government again? or what could be the problem?

Nilla said...

Rest in Peace!

But why have a party at that time of the night in a beach!
Hmmmm! RIP

R.I.P, her parents would feel it bad :( :( :(.. Sleep well dear

Ahwuu,nne ndo RIP

wow...Sas news..May her soul rest in peace. Amen.

RIP to her!!!
may God help us all!!!

Ashanka said...

First to comment :(, R.I.P

it is well. may the lord give the parent the fortitude to bear the loss.

people no dey fear? beach by 8pm? na wah oh. God take control and give us wisdom, speak to our hearts.

wow..I actually wanted to go for one night party too with my friends at elegushi and told my mum but she insisted that i stayed back complaining about the time and the same thing that led to this girl's death;the strong waves and all.Thank God for out mothers o..what if i had gone and same thing happened to me?! My young life go end be that..with my virginity on top....God forbid...ah Death! It's a pity oooooo. RIP sis.

So sad,RIP

joyce said...

So sad!may her soul rest in peace#bbm sad face#

joyce said...

So sad!may her soul rest in peace#bbm sad face#

Chei!! This is really sad. Being @ the wrong place @ the wrong time. Plus RIP!

Very sad! If I say I no dey go beach, dey say am local nd am nt tush! Can't imagine wat r parents wil b goin tru rit now, RIP

May her soul rest in peace!

Slimy said...

Wot a loss... RIP dear Abiola.

missthang said...

May her soul rest in peace! Amen

This is very sad!! May she continue to rest in d bossom of God....another Gem is gone 4eva....

TUNDE TIJANI'S BLOG said...

what a loss to students in general. a warning to all.

RIP beloved. This is a sad news.........I can't be caught dead in that elegushi anymore,I stopped going since the beginin of last year, not even @ night. May God console her family

Its unfortunate. God rest her soul & be with her family. I talk say my people no go dey go that beach again. E get evil spirit wey dey follow d water.

SO SAD...THAT'S WHY I NEVER GO TOO CLOSE TO THE WATER. RIP GIRL

Damilola Aina said...

Its a Pity! Safety first and always! That should be our watch-word.

Dts how most party conscious students celebrate birthday in LUTH, evn club allnight especially Friday to Monday. Youths pls let's b careful of all our doings.

Diza said...

OMG!! W@ Ī± tragic loss! May r gentle soul rest i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ perfect peace & may God grant r family members †Ń’Ī¾ fortitude 2 bear dia loss

Sad

Unilag/Luth: Party too much.

May her soul RIP.

RIP Eniola

celloy said...

I support u anonymous. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

Rip , pls let us keep away frm late nite parties. 8:30 at d beech, dats late.

How can life guards close 5pm on a beach that practically opens five pm...what kiind of Country is this pleeeeeaaaasssee??????????????RIP unfortunateone this is jus tooo sad

Dis is so sad. May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

Dis shd serve as a deterrent 2 al 'party crazy freaks.' wot kind party in heaven's sake shd still b on @ abt 8:30 in d evening in a beach? Hmmm... Youths, enjoy ur youthful days bt b sure d@ u'l give account of ur deeds. 2 d family nd loved ones, may God grant u d fortitude 2 bear d loss, 2 d deceased, RIP!!!

RIP!

Gbabe said...

You are not sensitive at all.

wale said...

we shouldn't go to the beach at night. And by the way global warming is more pronounced, sea level is rising, and the tides are heavier at night and by the way it is rainy season. The lifeguards has to go home, so no one is to blame
taking pictures at the shoreline at night is one of the most dangerous things. Apart from water, there are also wild sea animals. To me it was just a cheap way of dying and its really sad because we did diploma together. may her soul rest in perfect peace

LOLO said...

Such a beautiful girl, may U̶̲̥̅̊я̲̅ soul rest in perfect peace Amen... LOLO

What a painful lose. May God give her family d fortitude to bear d lose.

Ghiniautos said...

May her soul rest in peace...this is indeed sad.

RiP ENNY!!!

RiP ENNY!!!

This is just very sad.very very sad.elegushi practically opens by 5pm.sometimes I wonder wat pple do @ the beach till late.a friend once told me he was there @ abt 12.30am..jeez!pple won't learn from this.we never learn in ds country.dts jst the truth

RIP Biola... That's all I can say dear... I'm going to miss your beautiful smile and your wonderful person. I'm crying for the first time today since I heard the news, this is because I couldn't bring myself to believe you were gone... I wish I had taken your number that day and called you, but how would I have thought that it'd be the last time I'd see your lovely face again. I'll forever miss you dear

Fool,.person die u dey do first to comment.. U must be an I sensitive bastard

True talk my dear ,who get ear make him hear .

8:15 nt 8:30.thank me later.

True talk my dear ,who get ear make him hear .

wale said...

its really sad. Taking pictures at the shoreline at the beach in the night is one of the most dangerous things. Because the sea level is rising, sea-tides are heavier at night, and it is rainy season, there are also wild sea animals.It really sad because we did diploma together. may her soul rest in perfect peace

@OCEANVIEW nah true you talk oh. RIP lady

Noble said...

May her soul rest in peace but I hope we are learning from this
www.christianavenue.blogspot.com

soladunn said...

oh dear! God rest her soul

Get your 'stripe'swag on. More on my style blog www.soladunn.blogspot.com

Theres nuthn wrong with beach partyz @ nite... Que sera sera, Wateva will be will be.
RIP Ennie

So sad.

ehh, at all those asking why life guards close at 5pm; it's because the beach is closed at that hour, usually because the tide starts to rise when the sun goes down. Even in the United States here, Life Guards close between 6-7pm. There are usually warning signs everywhere that people should stay off the beach when the life guards are not there, and if you chose to stay then it is at your own risk.

That being said, we all know how reluctant we are to follow simple rules and regulations in Nigeria so all the signs in the world would have made no difference to idiots who think it is OK to have a party on the beach at 8pm!!!! If your common sense aint working, then no government sign or life guard can help you!. RIP lady.
-BabyDee

So so sad. Girls learn 2 say know @ times, it is not all parties we attend. With or without u d party will still hold. Wonder what her mum is going through now.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 224   Newer› Newest»