Full text of Enugu State Governor's speech at the burial mass of victims of herdsmen attack at Nimbo Community | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 June 2016

Full text of Enugu State Governor's speech at the burial mass of victims of herdsmen attack at Nimbo Community

Enugu State Gov. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi addressed people and family members of the victims murdered by Fulani Herdsmen at Nimbo Community, present at the burial mass which took place on Thursday. What he said below... Monday, the 25th of April, 2016, will ever remain a dark, sad and solemn day in the memory of the people of Enugu State and indeed Nigerians at large.

It was on that day that our brothers and sisters, whose remains are lying here before us, were ambushed and murdered in cold blood and in their own land.

Having done all that was needful including attending to the injured and the displaced, we have assembled here, in tears and in grief, to bury the dead and bid their innocent souls a final farewell.

Though our emotions cannot restore them to life, we find solace in the fact that the whole world had stood by us and offered us sympathy and solidarity, ever since the incident that took their lives, occurred.

We make bold to declare that their deaths can never be in vain and we pledge to do all that is within our legitimate means, to give them justice. Like the martyrs they have become, the spilling of their innocent blood is already saving souls as it has aroused in our people and indeed the whole nation, a burning impulse to do all that is necessary to prevent the future occurrence of similar incidents anywhere in the country.

Shortly after the attack, we had called for fasting and prayers and we must declare that the God of Abraham, God of Isaac, God of Jacob, and awesome God of David, has not failed us but has continued to show us His mercies. For, even as we await the outcome of the judicial panel of Inquiry that we have constituted to unravel the circumstances surrounding the incident, we received news that five people, who are suspected to have participated in the attack, had been arrested by the police and paraded before the whole world.

We use this occasion therefore to once again, express our gratitude to the generality of Nigerians who put aside religious, ethnic and political differences, to offer us their hands of support and sympathy after the killings. We thank the Federal Government and the security agencies for the steps they are taking to prevent future occurrences and address the issues that led to the incident.

We thank the people of Enugu State for their restraint and for the confidence they placed in our ability as a Government to deal with the matter in a mature and responsible manner.

Finally, we wish to thank the elders and stakeholders of Enugu State, Traditional Rulers, Members of the State and National Assemblies, members of the clergy and indeed everyone who found time to be here today as we send forth our brothers and sisters, to eternity and immortality. May their souls rest in the peace. Amen.

Thank you all and God bless.

Video Credit: Facebook - Louis Amoke

40 comments:

May their souls continue to rest in peace

May the souls of the dead continue to rest in peace

BLISS said...

Fasting and Prayer? May their souls rest in the boss on of the lord Okay. #lindaobserve!!!

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

I reserve my comment

May their souls rest in peace

Stop the long speech and arm ur citizens to fight back the bastard herdsmen. Enough already.

The evil called Fulani herdsmen. RIP to the dead

lioness said...

Na wa o....so PMB cant do nuttn concerning his blood sucking brothers...wat a shame!Lord have mercy on us!Rip

It is well

Hmmmmmmmmm it is well

May the souls of the dead continue to rest in peace

May the souls of the departed RIP. Linda take note!

May the souls of the departed rest in perfect peace.

Really sad!

Weak governor. Can't you emulate Orji Uzor Kalu & Fayose in times like this?

JAGABAN said...

Fat coward...cause trouble,cause trouble,you no hear

So sad

........... Tears..... God pls rest their souls

................ Jesus can never fail.. ......

Joseph ita said...

May their souls rest in perfect peace" Amen
We should guard against re occurrence please

This man is not worthy to be called a governor of any state! RIP to their souls.

HE BETTER DO SOMETHING QUICKER THAN THAT SPEECH.

AUNTY LINDA....

May dia souls rest in peace amen.

Jude Akinwole said...

So sad! God rest their souls!

This man is a colossal mistake to the people of enugu state,fatpig

I no wan read anything that fat man write

************************************may dey cont Rip

Gov Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi you sound like a Slave who is under cage.

Sad
May your souls found favours in the sight of the almighty God jeenu nke Oma

Crush said...

Well said,he is not even qualified to be a local government chairman

The worst governor ever

Is this the speech this man that calls himself a governor can give,I can't comprehend how he became a governor truly.coward and buhari apologist,not even once did this fat misfit mention fulani herds men that murdered our people

I weep for the people of enugu state,cos it's even more tragic that they have a stooge n a dummy for a governor

No mention of fulani herdsmen as the perpetrators because this man doesn't want to lead,ass licker.I'm still suprised he hasn't defected to APC yet.useless fat Alphonso

I cry for nigeria

May the soul of the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace. Amen

God bless you for speaking the truth.
👍

The governor on those shoulder the state power rests has done nothing so what do you expect Buhari to do when the culprits are his brothers