Dino Melaye calls for the scrapping of "State of Origin" as a political requirement | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 June 2016

Dino Melaye calls for the scrapping of "State of Origin" as a political requirement

Senator Dino Melaye has called for the scrapping of the "State of Origin" requirement for political offices contestants in Nigeria. Speaking at a ceremony to unveil the logo/medal of the Peace Corps of Nigeria (PCN), in commemoration of its 18th anniversary, Melaye said state of residence of prospective political aspirants should be focused on.

According to him, this would promote peace and coexistence in Nigeria as anyone who has stayed in a place for more than a particular number of years can vie for any political office.

“Ethnic bigotry should be shunned. There should be a replacement of the state-of-origin to unite the country. Any responsible person that has lived in a particular place for a certain number of years can aspire to any political position, including that state’s governor seat. There is also the need for the review of the educational system so as to teach more morals, values and culture with a view to building falling walls.” Recall that the immediate past senate president, David Mark, while in office, canvassed for the scrapping of the state of origin requirement. According to David Mark, anyone who had stayed in a place for as long as 20 years should be able to contest election without any resistance as he has over the years contributed his quota to the development of his state of residence.

35 comments:

anonymous said...

Dino is right

Ya Dino, we could do that ... AFTER our nation is rid of people like you in sensitive political posts. Na who Dino dey fool sef? Kogi ur state nor fit quench d kain hunger wey dey bite you? Person wey no know better go be dey think say una get spirit of nationalism. Go change o cos God dey wella.

Not a valid point Dano milk

It's not possiblr...

He should as well say senators frm different regions should b as well scrapped.

Good call but it's a herculean task to achieve. This is a heterogeneous country with diverse culture. Take a look at Plateau state for instance, the crisis they've always faced is due to this settler /indigene differences.Some people are still yet to come to terms with this westlife lyrics "I don't care who you are, where you're from, as long as you love me". I don't see a Fulani man contesting a councillorship Election and winning in Langtan for instance or a hausaman contesting in Aba and winning and vice versa. This culture of indigene thing has been a problem for long.Its a good call sha
I'm happy my people broke the record of voting for Former senator Grace Jackson Bent, a Yoruba woman married to a Bachama man and she won. It's a feat.

I feel so too

Onye oshi! Linda take note!

Ogbeni calm down, don't be in a hurry, we should first remove state of Origin in employment applications and school admissions before political positions. I can't imagine someone like you representing me.

Most times I wonder wat kind of idiot this man is. How in d world would someone come up wit this?
Signed
#LibBadBoy

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

I reserve my comment

******************************well *as for me ********he isn't making sense

I totally agree.

For once, I think u are making sense.

Kolawole said...

Who is Dino Fooling ? Same words from the same set of Egregious Nigerian politicians? The same set of People who will come out and do otherwise close to 2019 general elections? Senator Dino
come up with any other menu you've got on your table plz.

RELATED >>> Comedian Okey Bakassi declares his interest to be the next president of Nigeria

As perfect as your comment seems. Please you don't use 'still yet' in English language. Endeavour to either remove the 'still or the 'yet'

This is a grand plan. It sole aim is to take over lagos state, as no other tribe can win elsewhere other than lagos. Guess what, they would eventually succeed with time.

The lyrics were by Backstreet Boys not Westlife, dumb ass!

Okkk

austin uzoma said...

Good one.a good start for the future.

Message passed co-dumbass

paul imaji said...

All these have happened before. Altine Mohammed was Mayor of Enugu, Onyeka Onwenu's father was Mayor in PH. We have had Igbo councillors in Kaduna and Kano. An Igbo man once won a local government election in the Local Government where Festac is situated. As recent as 2015, 3 non-indigenes won elections to the House of Reps and the fourth won to the House of Assembly. Our problem is that instead of celebrate these we celebrate those things that separate us

Nahima said...

You could have corrected her without the insult She isn't gonna make money from getting the name right you are the dumb ass

Franco said...

I was born in ilorin...grew up there..had primary, secondary and HSC education in d state...i even represented d state in sporting activities...yet i was regarded as a non-indigene of th state....I was denied many good things that came my way...what a country!!!

Diamond Princess said...

Hahhaaaaa Anonymous 7.17pm u re so funny

Welson said...

For a long time, I can say he is saying the right thing..........Residence is far better than state of origin. This can break a lot of barriers and can fix trabalism to a resonable extent.

Only true federalism can solve dat

Ms Humphrey said...

Lib Rep I propose the change of your name to 'I reserve my comment'...or remain silent.

OK

Dino sucks. So that lagos can become no man's land.

Welson said...

Tribalism*************

Why don't he call for the scrapping of Senate!

Vicky Thompson said...

So that one foolish Hausa man go come wish to become a Governor in South East or South South abi? Receive sense Mr Dino in Jesus Name... Amen

For the 1st time, Daniel melaye is making a point. But i trust him sha, he would not say all this if not that he is setting one job somewere

This is a very good idea, it will promote peace. Dino is now making sense...

Anon 6:40,our English teacher, the period before the 'Please'should be a coma,(','), to complement the sentence. U could us semi colon, (;), to validly fragmentalise them, though. You see? This is the reason why u should stop publicly embarrassing people on what u don't know much about; after all, English is not any of our native languages.