Wife of Ooni of Ife, Olori Wuraola speaks against gender equality, says men and women can never be equal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 June 2016

Wife of Ooni of Ife, Olori Wuraola speaks against gender equality, says men and women can never be equal

Wife of the Ooni of Ife, Olori Wuraola Ogunwusi has spoken against gender equality. While speaking at the Emerging Women's Forum in National Harbor, Maryland two days ago, Olori Wuraola said men and women can never be equal as both gender have their roles to play in life
"I am not a huge fan of gender equality because we can't be equal. We can't be men. We have our own role to play, a very pivotal one. And we keep going about doing this forums of gender equality, its like a dance, everyone is beginning to dance, what a man can do a woman can do better!
But how about if we think about it this way that we are limiting our potentials and where we could get to as women by us keep saying that we want to be equal. I don't think we can ever be equal"she said
Watch the video below...

135 comments:

Taaaaarrr! Get away from here! Kitchen wife! Linda take note!

This is what you get when you empower a professional runs girl otherwise how else will you explain that a woman who isnotorious for broken relationships will have the moral justification to speak on Gender equality in relation to failed marriages!

melisa said...

Stupid home wrecker....this is the reason you will forever remain a toy.....fool!

jimsking said...

This is very true all this gender equality is all crap can never work what women shld be fighting for shld be JUSTICE bcos GOD made us different

I am speechless! How is it that a whole Olori and all the people around her do not know the real meaning of Gender Equality!

This exactly what you get when you pick a girl of low virtues and exalt her to the position of Imperial Majesty!

Please do not insult her it is her choice and belief. I wish I had this kind of wife

Gold said...

This babe has no place in speaking to a women body! She has to go and first work on herself and pay emphasis in rebuilding her bartered image! I do certainly wish her luck!

End time is sure here! What else do you need to confirm it if people who are supposed to bury themselves in shame are the ones forming motivational speakers!

Dat's a bitter truth,we can never be equal!women are important in some areas and same as men.

I'm a woman a wife and a mother of 2.im against it two.we can't be equal,we have different roles.

Nk said...

I lack words to explain how dumb this woman sounds and how irritating this fake accent is!

True talk

And that's why she's gon' "like always" be a slave to ha husband....

Who is she please?
Who made her genda spokesperson?
WELL AM NOT SURPRISE WHAT DO U EXPECT FROM A HOUSE WIFE IF NOT THIS
Bitch better be following ur husband at the back as his bodyguard than ranting all this rubbish.
WOMEN ARE EVEN BETTER THAN MEN IN THIS 21 CENTURY THAT IS WHY WE HAVE WOMEN PRESIDENT SENATORS AND BILLIONAIRES.

She's right, everything about men and women makes them unequal so gender equality makes little sense.

What a man can do, why should a woman bother.

Yep, an ignorant wife of a king

I AM IN FULL & TOTAL SUPPORT OF THAT.

Madam Abeg go and sit down with your ugly white uniform and let those of us who believe in gender equality surge ahead

You are a disgrace to womanhood, so you are a second citizen you don't believe a woman can do wat a man can do.sorry for you journey Waka.

She's right thou

HMMMMMM

AUNTY LINDA....

Shocked!!! Queen Wurola, whilst you're performing your duties as queen, kindly enroll for Oral English classes. It sure will come in handy. Will be nice to listen to an articulate young queen.

Olodo.

Dts wot u expect from a retired runs girl

Firstly her make up is horrendous... secondly she is discussing the topic of gender equality like a market woman in very pedestrian terms. Olori Wuraola educate yourself then take an informed position.

Confirm

Well, u can't fault her for airing her views

You would not expect less,she's married to a king. Hypocrite

Too bad! The young woman has been brainwashed to worship her husband and other top leaders of their tribe.. It's a pity!
In a developed setting like in the western world, women come first before men in terms of value and all round importance...

Bia onu kpomo comot jare

Smile said...

I support her 100% we limit ourselves when we say we want to be equal to men, been equal is limiting oneself, what if In the real sense we are superior to men not equal.... We should play our roles as women and not fight for power equalization.... If we as women mind our business and play our roles as who we are we can even be more superior and powerful than men and not equal. Why will I want to be equal to a man no way, women are powerful we are strong in our own way no need to compare powers.

she is right I don't even understand this equality ting in nigeria unless it prevents women from being a president if not I can't see anything that a woman wanted to do and get prevented.

Blessing said...

True talk but your fellow women unfortunately do not understand the context of your speech. Shame!!!

DeeD25 said...

She sounds so dumb! Gender equality is basically saying women shouldn't be treated as lesser individuals than men. Women should be given equal respect, opportunities, and treatments. Women shouldn't be looked down on as weak and less important. This is coming from a guy by the way. She just sounds dumb, that's why she got 2 - 3 claps from her aides probably!!

Next time they will not give her Visa to come and say this nonsense.

I thought this woman is a second wife who was married after the king was crowned. She really has a shabby understanding of what gender equality is about. What a shame. Madam, get informed before you decide to spew nonsense!

Who dash monkey banana. wetin she know se. Ewu!

I get her point but that's not what gender equality is about . The gender equality agenda is to prevent discrimination based on gender .

Hmmmmmmmmm

obi said...

Equity and equality shouldn't be confused. Women can ask for equity in work place, position n promotion. Equality is reduction of that thing that makes you a woman which a man can never have like ability to be extremely multi tasking is a gift only women have and men dont have. Now you wanna drop that for eg to be equal to a man? You reduce who you re and your femininity if you do. Equity for women in all places is cool than equality.

This is what happens when a bummer and a fool is given a pedestal to talk... She should go and say this to a committee of international organizations and captains of industries. As a man , I am ashamed of your backward thought process and people like you -men and women can never be leaders in my areas of operations but since you represent a good chunk of the Nigerian populace I will also blame you for not being able to make a difference with your position

Lube-section said...

LOL. She said that in US.

Is the Monarch and head of the crown in England not a Queen... Don't get it twisted girl , you are not the queen but the wife of the King... The two are different

Why de insult? Are u any better? She made her own point. U make urs.

Thank you for this comment. I am a Lady, and I do not support gender equality. God made us women for the reason. Men's abilities begin where ours end.

Very funny but true comment

Olori! Speak for yourself, because women have lady gardens, it doesn't mean they should stay in the kitchen.

She is the kind of person who helps us understand Stern better . They sort of sound and look learned and exposed but are in real life have very shallow in thinking abilities . Hian !

Stern you gay chauvinist nothing cones from your gutter mouth. Bastard

Flavia said...

She needs to educate herself and understanding what gender equality us about

This woman clearly doesn't understand the meaning of gender equality. I am so dissapointed but then again, you cannot expect more from a woman who worships her husband (the king).

Best comment I'm reading here. Thanks anon 7:16.

H S C said...

She should have just kept quiet. Opening her mouth to attempt a speech has reduced her rep considerably. First, she's clearly not in charge of her public speaking abilities; then her points are so weak. Then the poor attempt at phoene; before she opened her mouth, in my head she was a quiet, mysterious pretty regal persona. Clearly the topic is bigger than her.

Her opinion

Pathetic husband pleaser

She has a Sweet point n have spoken well

This should be my wife, she has said the right thing but a lot of women will abuse her for saying the truth.. if we are equal then God would have made us the same..

Stupid comment

I blame the organization that invited her to speak . She be olodo

Gbamm

You will definitely get one from your yeye village.

Oh my God. For once freeborn made some sense. Am so pleasantly surprised.

She has to please her master after all he kindly picked and took her away from the street.

SHE HAS SAID NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH. ANY WOMAN WHO RAINS INSULT ON HER BECAUSE OF THE SIMPLE WORDS SHE HAS SAID CAN NEVER BE A SUBMISSIVE AND HUMBLE WIFE TO HER HUSBAND (WOMEN HAVE THERE ROLES LIKEWISE MEN BUT WOMEN CAN'T BE MEN AND MEN CAN'T BE WOMEN). THIS IS PART OF THE RECENT BREAKAGE IN YOUNG MARRIAGES THIS DAYS. WOMEN CLAIMING TO BE MEN IN THERE HUSBANDS HOME.

When people make comments, reactions to the comments should address the comments not the person.

I do not believe in gender equality at all. I only believe in gender equity and fairness

It is u that is dumb!! Equity is different from equality. Equality is bull shit!!! We are not equals can never be. You can't have a Ying Ying or a yang yang, you will always have a Ying yang #lifebinary# is based on two opposing forces

She can't even pronounce words properly.wow! She needs oral english lessons big time.didnt she rehearse in front of her husband?people will just keep laughing at d Oni. Let down!

She is so ugly even with all the money, she looks like a ghost.who even gave this waste of a brain mic to show her big teeth

She's very correct

Genny's Blog said...

I agree with her.but that shouldn't make men stupid and useless.

Gender equality differs from gender equity. Be educated.

As far as am concerned, people lik stren r not men but boys who hav refuse to get sense and grow up.

This whole equality thing is why many sister r still single, it challenges our culture, which in return lead to societal break down.

When our leaders should hav focused more on protecting our culture and blocking western culture, they were busy stealin like idiots.

where r the real men, let stand up and set this thing straight once and for all, let put kathensaw and uche jumbo in their place, men and women can never b equal.

My Natural law, which I feel is what every human shud leave by, men and women r diffrent in looks and role

Kay said...

disgrace to womanhood.

As far as am concerned, people lik stren r not men but boys who hav refuse to get sense and grow up.

This whole equality thing is why many sister r still single, it challenges our culture, which in return lead to societal break down.

When our leaders should hav focused more on protecting our culture and blocking western culture, they were busy stealin like idiots.

where r the real men, let stand up and set this thing straight once and for all, let put kathensaw and uche jumbo in their place, men and women can never b equal.

My Natural law, which I feel is what every human shud leave by, men and women r diffrent in looks and role

Lil'lian said...

Tell me Anonymous, will u b happy t be paid less for a job u did while a man gets paid more for the same job? Educate urself my dear. Gender equality is different from gender roles and responsibility.

All i could see is her big fat mouth moving, when she was supposed to stay in school and get an education she was on her back, fucking any man that will advance her. what a shame.

Mr Obi, what nonsense did you just say. That is your own understanding, but that is not what gender equality is. Google is your friend

When I was young, I use to like everything about the white man, now that have grown into a man, I now understand why our fore father made things the way the did in our culture. A society that does not respect he foundation will collapse.

If you leave many of these women, they will scrap the royal position that hold our society and say everyone is free, that is a woman for u, they fickle, this minute they r happy, the other minute they r not , you cannot leave society in their care.

One cannot look at this kind of issue from the religion point o view, not everyone is a Christian or muslim. But only from the law that guilds us all, which is Natural Law.

Naturally, men and women do not hav the same physical look, so Is in role and activities. Why look f equality, when the natural l already protects u, it is bcos u women r mixing the white man view that is cosing the high rate of women being single , over 30

Olori, spot on, we must fight this america freedomism out o our society, along wit dstv

I pity her indeed. She will ever be a slave to the king thats why she will never support gender equality and want other women to follow her.

Olori Wuraola, you are right

When I was young, I use to like everything about the white man, now that have grown into a man, I now understand why our fore father made things the way the did in our culture. A society that does not respect he foundation will collapse.

If you leave many of these women, they will scrap the royal position that hold our society and say everyone is free, that is a woman for u, they fickle, this minute they r happy, the other minute they r not , you cannot leave society in their care.

One cannot look at this kind of issue from the religion point o view, not everyone is a Christian or muslim. But only from the law that guilds us all, which is Natural Law.

Naturally, men and women do not hav the same physical look, so Is in role and activities. Why look f equality, when the natural l already protects u, it is bcos u women r mixing the white man view that is cosing the high rate of women being single , over 30

Olori, spot on, we must fight this america freedomism out o our society, along wit dstv

Bitter, Envious bitches that think they too are women, opening their gutter mouths to insult a queen. Don't go and get married and build an empire with your husbands. If you want to copy, copy good things, not broken divorcees.

Wuraola Sophia Zainab of three husbands infamy's opinion is not only irrelevant, she displays utter ignorance. Who gave this professional runs girl that looks like a black magic stupefied zombie a microphone? The Gender Equality And Opportunity Bill is concerned with guaranteeing fair and equitable opportunity for socio-economic realisation for every citizen, of every gender, age, creed, colour, condition and faith. It is not aimed at governing private social relationships between men and women, or fraudulent "royal" idiots and their hastily packaged concubines. Unqueenly Wura should first embrace the authentic handbags freedom opportunity and stop fooling herself with the cardboard lined fakerkins and fakellys she's confusing her ratchedly bleached self with. Disgraceful woman

Gender equality is not about equality with men or morons. It is the lawful affirmation that all humans are born equal, under God and under the constitution, and should have equal opportunities.

That's her opinion though

Her opinion though

This OKPO again ?

Olori seems to be confused. GENDER EQUALITY IS DIFFERENT FROM GENDER ROLES! HAVING DIFFERENT ROLES DOESN'T MEAN THAT ONE ROLE SHOULD BE SUPERIOR. MEN NEED WOMEN AND WOMEN NEED MEN IN DIFFERENT WAYS. IT DOESN'T MEAN THAT ONE SHOULD BE A SLAVE AND THE OTHER A MASTER. IF OTHER WOMEN DIDN'T SPEAK UP IN THE PAST BELIEVE ME IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IMPOSSIBLE FOR YOU TO EVEN BE ABLE TO STAND UP IN PUBLIC AND MAKE THIS SPEECH. STOP BEING CONFUSED!

God created us man and woman for a purpose...men have theirs (i.e purpose and roles) and women have theirs...why then do we wanna tell our God that we don't like that he created us as a man or as a woman...it's a free world though..God gave us free will to follow His ways or not...but if you are a christian then you have the lifestyle set for you by God please read 1st Corithians 11: 3-12 Numbers 30: 1-8 Proverbs 31: 10-31 ...may these words edify you...remember (be you man or woman) you allowed to chase all your full potentials but your true potential and reason/purpose is to follow God's leading in ALL things...ALL...God bless

Jesseballs said...

Every1 sure has an opinion about gender equality or inequality. Y do women crave for equality dis bad and what r d male folks afraid of? Well na joke me wan take define my own o. All d babes wey dey yab olori I beg any of una to stand attention piss and make sure say u no piss for body o. If any babe fit do am, den she fit dey equal to any man.

GTFOH u gay mofo that fucks mans ass

Women in this world is a mistake...they brought upon us the first problem in this world and will bring upon us the reason y this world will end soon...wonen and the devil work hand in hand since the creation of eve... They now challenge God our creator into thinking that we must be equal...women are a curse to this world

I agree with u

Man and woman are never equal

O Golden said...

Lmao. Some useless girls that lack respect will start insulting her for saying the truth. She is even educated morethan those fools. When ever a woman earn little money or believe she can feed herself she will start looking down on men. It's evil.

I think the queen should have taken time to research this topic before flying all the way to US to make Africa look so ignorant. Hope she is not paying her aides money for her speeches o , if so she needs to hire better workers. she heard gender-equality and she took the word 'equality' literally.

According to my quick research on the topic,"gender equality is the measurable equal representation of women and men. Gender equality does not imply that women and men are the same, but that they have equal value and should be accorded equal treatment. The United Nations regards gender equality as a human right".

As for gender equity, "it is the process of allocating resources, programs and decision-making fairly to both males and females. This requires ensuring that everyone has access to a full range of opportunities to achieve the social, psychological and physical benefits that come from participating and leading in sport and physical activity. It does not necessarily mean making the same programs and facilities available to both males and females. Gender equity requires that girls and women be provided with a full range of activity and program choices that meet their needs, interests and experiences".

See the links below for more info on the topic;
http://www.caaws.ca/gender-equity-101/what-is-gender-equity/
http://www.ippf.org/static/GenderReport/index.html

Ontario said...

@ Helen, the person merely expressed her opinion and you insulted her.

Gbam! Spot on!

Freeborn ALWAYS makes a whole lot of sense. I always watch out for comments by Freeborn. #fan

Your stupidity is on a very high frequency!
Linda, pls post my comment.

Sunshine said...

This Zainab should go back to school. See bad English ke. Pls na only runz she sabi fa. Shame oh shame.

Sunshine said...

Which a whole Olori?? Who dash monkey. No be runz gal wey dem carry go palace? Abi una don forget ni? Biko she's a school drop out dat can't even spk good English. She just disgraced herself n d Ooni.

Sunshine said...

Oshey!!!!!

Sunshine said...

Kikikikikiki. I juat dey laff!! D person dat put her up for this is bad sha

Sunshine said...

Kikikiki Oshey!! Olori of Gbagaun

Anon, u harsh o!All I see is a woman properly trained to manipulate her husband.
Then again u can't blame her, without him, she's just d next runs girl.

Sunshine said...

Pshew u know dis baybay!! Na u define her pass. Dull ashana

Sunshine said...

Fuck outta here. Which nonsense queen?? Envious of an Olodo with 62 ugly set of teeth? Mumu

Sunshine said...

Mogbe modaran Kikikiki

franka said...

I am a woman and proud of it . I don't believe in this rubbish gender equality issue
Let the men play their roles as bread winners, and the women as home makers
The world will be a better place. This equality nonsense has made some men less caring, led to broken
homes, wayward children and a lot more rubbish. Why? Because the women have forgotten their duties
Women go back to the homes and groom good kids and husbands, take less demanding jobs so that men can be gainfully employed. You can work either b4 or after grooming your kids, who probably live on fast foods
Abeg if you give me chance talk haters go many but I say NO TO GENDER EQUALITY WE ARE HELPERS NOT LEADERS SO THE BIBLE TELLS ME LIVE WORK FOR MEN AND REDUCE UNEMPLOYMENT SHINE AT HOME AND THE WORLD WILL SMILE AT YOU
FYI I have an mba worked in one of the leading banks in Nigeria so I know my stuff currently own my own business so my time is mine for hubby and kids not for useless gallivanting
HATERS GO DIE TRUTH IS BITTER. OLORI CARRY GO NO MIND THEM
Proudly there for my family
Franka
Ip

What is special about her that she's getting a platform to speak about something that requires intellect? Is this not a woman whose only achievement is her ability to catch rich men? Does she seems like someone who can be bothered enough to think through and understand what a discussion is really about? Abeg let her shut up there. I blame the Ooni for marrying a certified slut.

Please in future, these discussions should be left for intelligent women.

It's not an issue of equality because they cannot be compared due to their differences since they were made to serve different purposes. Man and woman are not and cannot be the same in the make up both physically and spiritually and as such, the issue of equality doesn't arise.

They are different and they serve different purposes

The people claiming she's a good woman because of what she said, have they thought at all. If she really was a epitome of what she claimed, would she have had to go through four men. Her marriages would have lasted long enough if she practiced what she preached. The Ooni himself is a low life, otherwise no other African royal will pick a woman after 3 certified husbands to occupy such an exalted position.

It doesn't mean that women and men should be equal at home, it means in the society for instance a woman should be able to take up some roles, let me ask you women speaking against it I believe you don't really understand what it means, if we ask you to become president of Nigeria is it not with rush you will accept the position? Or will you say that since you are not a man you are not fit for the position? Nobody is saying a woman should not respect her husband in their home and no one is saying a woman is same as man. Please do research on the topic before contributing, that madam went and fuck up in US that is why they call us names, no proper research, I believe she does not read books.

Don't mind her, she is a mumu instead of her to read before going to address public, she was sleeping and slaving, I pray she receive sense

Thank you freeborn

Do you think she understands what it means, I wonder who made her to talk.

Is this olori not the wife of former governor saminu Turaki and then Abdul Ningi and then the lebanese. Will ooni be her last bus stop.Time will tell

All I see is her big lips and big teeth. Why is ooni exposing the olori shortcomings? Whoever it was that gave her the microphone is to blame. See yourself olori , when others were in class you were running upndown with men for cash.

The same women that complain of gender inequality are the same ones complaining of stingy men, men not taking care of their women, men fighting women. Sorry to say, equality is equality. If a man can fight another man, he should be able to gracefully fight a woman. Women should start proposing to men comfortably. Women should start taking care of men too. Because equality engenders no discrimination in assuming responsibilities. But not women. They want to cherry pick and treat equality like a buffet line where they pick the ones they want. I am in support of full on gender equality.

What is this girl saying, women and men can't be equal but women now take the roles of men in the house, paying bills together and working from 8-5 or even more and one man will expect that his wife to come back home at the same time he did, to do other things for him. If you men don't want equality, then we should really go back to the days were you only will work to fend for the family and it will be the woman's duty to cook, clean and raise the kids. But you men will be shouting, I don't want a woman to be a liability, yet you don't want equal roles in the kitchen. Trophy wife!

Brightness said...

She doesn't know what gender equality is.. But let's just go with what she is saying... If women should stay in the kitchen.. Then she should please help encourage her husband to pay back all the loans from the various women he has refused to pay. Since they can't be equal why did he collect money from them ....

empress ojukwu said...

Especially yoruba men will support this woman abeg auntie ga nodu odu.women now are becoming bread winner of the home and a man who is suppose to provide will sit on her head

Official Tboss said...

i can see haters everywhere!!! Ladies can be so jealous ehn!!! u all should swear if u dont wanna be in her position!! You all should go and do runs and catch a King as well!! Gerrrrrrraaaaaaaaaoooouttttthereeeee

I dey my lane... #PassingBy

The queen has spoken well, from the time of creation a woman was not created to be the same or equal to the man. A woman was made to be a help meet....not equal or be at the same level with the man. God even further reduced the status of a woman when she disobeyed God and lured the husband to sin Gen 3 v 16.

My thoughts exactly!

I don't think most of the ladies here under Gender Equality nor it's complications...they are unknowingly proving why it maybe meaningless to support it by trolling on this lady who isn't known to me - Bane

The queen have spoken well and so have all those who expressed their opinions. We should clearly understand what the queen is standing for. Women should not see men as their competitors but as co - laborers in the vineyard called the earth. In every work place every one has his or her assigned roles. People can be paid the same salaries but their assignments can differ significantly. It does not mean one is superior to the other. However it is clear that men naturally have a higher responsibility of directing, managing and controlling affairs than the women. In the bible we have the 5-fold ministries. The apostles, prophets and evangelists have a more glamorous calling in the eyes of man than the pastors and teachers. However they are all equal parts of the ministry of Christ. So in the words of the queen let the man and woman face their God assigned gifted roles so that they can achieve their fullest potencials.

now I see why most of Nigerian ladies cant last in marriages, y'all dont want to be obedient , u want to control too, u want to control the house, u even want to control your husband, maybe u women should be paying grooms price instead. go and read you Quran and Bible on what is said about MAN and WOMAN before u come here and talk rubbish.