'Women empowerment is not a threat' - Uche Jombo reacts to Senators vote against Gender Equality bill | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 16 March 2016

'Women empowerment is not a threat' - Uche Jombo reacts to Senators vote against Gender Equality bill

Yesterday members of the Nigerian Senate voted against the Gender and Equal Opportunity Bill. Uche Jombo-Rodriguez took to her Instagram page to react to this sad development. What she wrote after the cut...

56 comments:

APC is just bullshit

Obviously Northern want women to remain as house wives

Na them sabi! * it's well*

Uche not to worry when God makes a way for any woman nothing can't stop it. She will become a Governor and a president. So forget all these silly politicians that don't want to do the right thing

I support d senators. Yes, call me anything. That's my take on it

Aproko Queen said...

It mostly d Hausas that spoke against the bill.. COWS,AKUYAS but they want underage marriage? May thunder fire them

Stil in primitive or should I say rude society since our society don't want to be civilized like rest of the world

PEPSI ADDICT

#reeshahr

No eyes to read dis.

Abi o

Nigeria need to have a stronger security in the land before signing that
woman right bills,do you know how long its take oyibo people to sign such bill?
nigeria want to copy every thing oyibo doing,,,some men can be secretly killing
there wifes if such bill are pass cos some nigerians woman insults powers alots.
in nigeria can a woman beating by the husband call a police and the police
come in next 10mins after the call?can they answer the call?some oyibo woman dont care
to get married boyfriend is ok by her,but every nigerian woman above 40years
thats still single and doing boyfriend is a shame to her village,
so you needs to works on those mentality first,creat jobs for those woman first
like the way linda is empowering some girls as i read from her.....
...a woman once call a police that de husband is beating her,the police man told her
,,madam even this ur voice i dey hear right now go make a man beat you much and
he off the phone

its obvious to understand that Nigeria needs serious restructuring. the North will always have their way.... if u watched that debate you will see where the same yarima that marry a 14years
old girl was telling us that sharia Law is in Nigeria constitution and its not acceptable in sharia Law, secondly that women will be misusing such right.
i wounder where we are going to from here.
Madam Tinbu knows quite well that Nigerians will accuse her and avoided yesterday debate.

Nigeria need to have a stronger security in the land before signing that
woman right bills,do you know how long its take oyibo people to sign such bill?
nigeria want to copy every thing oyibo doing,,,some men can be secretly killing
there wifes if such bill are pass cos some nigerians woman insults powers alots.
in nigeria can a woman beating by the husband call a police and the police
come in next 10mins after the call?can they answer the call?some oyibo woman dont care
to get married boyfriend is ok by her,but every nigerian woman above 40years
thats still single and doing boyfriend is a shame to her village,
so you needs to works on those mentality first,creat jobs for those woman first
like the way linda is empowering some girls as i read from her.....
...a woman once call a police that de husband is beating her,the police man told her
,,madam even this ur voice i dey hear right now go make a man beat you much and
he off the phone

Nigeria men better not go an pass this stupid bill, you have not passed it, nigeria women r already over powering their husbands at home

What can I say? Uche already colonized her husband.

Terrific said...

Education urself

Passmark04 said...

Nigerians shuld have a rethink,if a small country like Belize can operate on gender equity basis,where everyone including their prime minister have the same right. I dont see anything wrong in the bill.....#genderequalitybillmusthold. #Genderequalitybillisnotathreat.

No be only she dey there. Linda take note!

Is true!! Sha! Na malos full the senate

jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com

Well spoken

eka said...

Not surprised anyway about d outcome of d bill
And sincerely don't believe it will ever be PASSED in this present adminstration
Just like FOI won't have been passed if it was proposed in this current administration ...

lydia said...

Na now you wake up,because Stella Damasuc Don challenge una.Its a shame that Nollywood has only empty brains like Oge Okoye, Ebube and co.Talk about different sizes of prick,shoes,bags,you go see them.Olodos!!!

lydia said...

Na now you wake up,because Stella Damasuc Don challenge una.Its a shame that Nollywood has only empty brains like Oge Okoye, Ebube and co.Talk about different sizes of prick,shoes,bags,you go see them.Olodos!!!

TRUE

Its not a threat at all. They are just being selfish and economical with the truth

creativezminds said...

pleases shout the fuck up bitch. am totally in support of what the senate didd, and its definitely good for the country. lets take for this is africa when you mistakenly give your wife a chance over you she then start to feel like the boss. am afraid to say that women will just drawn the men down if the being given such opportunity

Well...

"Equality gender n rights" in Nigeria has NOT been in vogue,yet men are being disrespected by women at home and public places.So what's gonna happen if d so called BILL is passed?..Abeg,this is Black man's country with an African mentality settings.. Even d Bible says men has every right over his wife especially in decision making even though two heads are better than one..Buh most of these women's "ego,pride n disrespectfulness" would only be increased with d bill passed..F*** d bill mehn!!!

Yes we have seen what they (Women) can do. We haven't forgotten Madam Ette, Stella Odua etc

stop agitating for gender equality cos the genders are not equal!!!the Senators did well

This 8th National Assembly are bunch of jokers

Nawa fr dis senators o! dis bill hs to b voted fr bcuz women hs to b empowered in dis country Nigeria

It's high time our elected representatives start living in the real world and 21st century. Gender equality is what is obtainable in the advanced world and i think Nigeria should not be left behind. I don talk my own o

Women dont even understand the meaning of this in the first place... Saying only 8 women are in the house is inconsequential , did anyone stop them from contesting??? The ones that won, did they not contest?

True talk

Biko, which one is "education yourself?"

Chinwendu said...

WHAT CAN WOMEN DO IF NOT CAUSE CONFUSION EVERYWHERE AND ALLOW THERE EMOTIONS THINK FOR THEM. GOD HAS A REASON FOR CREATING A MAN FIRST, THEN WOMAN.

Bill or no bill we will succeed ..uche you are an excellent example of that.foolish senators

They dont want woman to have equal right with d man.Sad nation...

He created the masterpiece last. Silly man

Nice touch,

JohnBull said...

Many Nigerian women are dumb! How can you pursue gender equality without first fighting polygamy??? How?? Better do your home work properly before shedding tears!

And by the way, even American has been unable to achieve gender equality despite their level of education.

I wish you folks luck.

uju juliet said...

They are scared of what women would if the given those rights. They say women are weak yet they are afraid of them,lol

Are u familiar with dis phrase "Better is d end Dan d beginning""???...If NO, now u can

this is rather a very stupid bill, we're having serious issues in the country and all the women behind this freaking bill could think of is gender equality. im a woman and im tired of this equality bullshit. what do these loud mouth women want, a bill that would order us to carry the kind of weight men carry or split the house rent equally i dont understand. Women are already doing what men do and vice versa we dont need a bill to prove that we are tough, we dont need a bill to prove that we run the world because we are, directly or indirectly. women can be what they want without tagging themselves 'feminist'or the normal bullshit tags these women give themselves. the truth is that we can't be equal, we compliment each other and that's the beauty of life.i think these women just have low self esteem by trying to prove a point. I love being a woman and i can do and be whatever i want to be. No need for this madness. #appreciatebeingawoman #focusonrelevantissues #makewehearwordabeg

I was frowning while reading ur comment...ur such a retarded she goat..wtf?and u call ur stupid self a female...its ur type dat will let a man punch her for twenty years and still have d hots for him..its ur type dat will let ur 5year old child be married off to a 69year old man..its ur type that will waste away at home and later be married of as a 50th wife to one baba simply because ur comfortable with it..u don't av to comment..keep ur piece of shit of an opinion to itself and may u die in a man's hand...olodo

There's nothing like gender equality, Uche Jumbo go and take several seats at the stadium, you and your colleague Stella Damasus and stop making noise.God created men above women, and told the women to be submissive to their husbands, and their husbands to love them like christ loves the church. All these gender equality rubbish is what destroyed the western world today, so many divorces everywhere, raising children out of wedlock because husband and wife are struggling who's head and who's tail. Yes I'm a woman but I don't support that rubbish, that's why we still have a good family system today in Africa. Our women who embraced this so called gender equality when they come to the US, they find it difficult to keep a home, hence all these men shooting their wives and wives killing their husbands and bitter divorces every time, because two captains are leading a ship.Please I applaud the Nigerian senate for this. Please channel your energy in stopping child bride, rape, domestic violence etc. These are the major problem not gender equality.

Linda well done for the IMBSM, more grease to your elbow.

Alaspecial said...

Obviously, the men are scared of their wives challenging them at home.
But come to think of it, is this bill not in contrast to what the bible says about the man been the head of the family? Or is the bill not including the affairs of the home (husband been the head and wife been submissive to her husband)?
Although, i haven't read it.
I'm just curious.

Idiot read the bill first

Did you read the Bill ???

Olodo if you read through the bill you will know rape,violence, child bride and all crime against women is covered by the bill.

You're just a fool sexist

You're just a real idiot read the bill first mumu

Daval8 said...

That is what the bill is for. To correct the ills in the society.

Daval8 said...

Anon 3.09 you are lazy