Read Femi Adesina's powerful piece on the death of James Ocholi, his wife and son | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 13 March 2016

Read Femi Adesina's powerful piece on the death of James Ocholi, his wife and son

Read this powerful piece Special Adviser to President Buhari on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, wrote on the death of former Minister of State for Labor, James Ocholi, his wife Blessing and their son Joshua. Read below...
Let's be honest with ourselves. When some baffling things happen, we question God, if not verbally, at least, in our hearts. But we pretend that we are not querying the Almighty. We say to ourselves: well, no man can question God.
However, in the deep recesses of our inner man, we have questions. But since we don't want to appear as interrogating God, we then keep quiet, saying "no man can query God."
It is in the light of that pretension (as if God does not know our very thoughts, even before they are formed in our hearts), that I situate the death of Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Mr James Ocholi, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), his wife, Blessing, and their son, Joshua, in an auto crash last Sunday. It was a tragedy of monumental proportions, which brought up a lot of ifs: what if the family had decided against the fatal journey? What if the vehicle had refused to start, and they had aborted the trip? What if the Minister had developed a runny stomach, and so could not travel? What if the car key had got mysteriously missing? What if...? The questions would never really end, and we then lay them at the doorsteps of God: what if God had not allowed the crash to happen? And of course, He has the power to have prevented it. He is omnipotent. He has all powers. He is omniscient, knowing all things. When James Ocholi was born in November, 1960, God knew he would be recalled home on March 6, 2016. When he courted Blessing, married her, and they began to raise a family, God knew they would both die the same day, continuing their romance into eternity. Or did God not know? He must have known. But could He have stopped such tragedy from happening, thus saving us from sorrow, tears and blood? He could have. So, why didn't He? Baffling. Confounding. Astonishing.
Yes, I am asking questions, but let me pretend that they are questions of faith. The news of the decimation of the Ocholi family sent me into a very painful deja vu. Just last December, my sister, a professor of Dramatic Arts at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, had died in a gruesome accident on the Lagos/Ibadan Expressway. Foluke Ogunleye died along with her brother-in-law, who had visited from America, and was being ferried to the airport in Lagos to catch a flight later that evening. Rather, what he boarded was an eternal flight. He went on a journey of no return on a famished road.
When I heard about the Ocholis, I remembered the Adesinas, the Ogunleyes, and the pain we bore, and still bear. Don't I still shed a silent tear when nobody is looking? Don't I still sigh and shake my head mournfully whenever I remember my sister? Some broken hearts really never mend. And of course, the questions pop up again. What if...?
James Ocholi was no ordinary, inconsequential man before God. He was a devout, humble man. He served God in many ways. He was an ordained reverend of the Salem Family Church, though he did not flaunt the title like a badge of honour. He rather let his faith speak through his works. Yes, faith without works is dead. But Ocholi combined faith and works. Those who knew him saw piety in him. They saw humility. They saw the unobtrusive, self-effacing nature of a man who knew God. A man who had been national secretary of the Full Gospel Businessmen's Fellowship. When Ocholi was thrown out of his Sports Utility Vehicle on Kaduna-Abuja road last Sunday, and his body battered and mangled, it was no ordinary man that was being treated thus. It was a man of God, who was returning home to the God of man.
His time was up, we console ourselves. Yes, his time may have been up, but couldn't he have slept, and not woken up? If Heaven was so much in hurry to have Ocholi, his wife and son back, because they were needed to sing tenor, soprano and bass in the choir above, could they only have been recalled in such cruel circumstance?
Cruel! I must watch my words. On Wednesday, at the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting, a special session of tributes had been held for Ocholi. Minister after Minister had spoken, recalling good things about the deceased and their departed colleague. Very moving and poignant. But the words that continued to resonate in my ears and mind came from Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh. He ended his oration by giving thanks and praises to God. He then declared:"God is too kind to do anything cruel."
Profound. Thoughtful. Illuminating. God is too kind to do anything cruel. But who killed the Ocholis? The Devil? He was not supposed to have such latitude over the people of God. On that same road that day, armed robbers must have driven through safely. Assassins must have passed. All sorts of malefactors would have travelled safely, so why did a godly family perish? Does the world now belong to the Evil One? Is mankind now helpless before Satan? Only he could have brought such cruelty to the Ocholis and their loved ones, since cruelty is his stock-in-trade. But then, the question again (don't forget that it's a question asked in faith o, lest anybody accuse me of anything): why did God allow such cruelty to humanity, to the Ocholi family, to the government, to the church, the body of Jesus Christ, of which the late Minister was an ordained reverend gentleman? Why?
Who can claim to have all the answers? No man. The hidden things belong to God. In August 2013, my mother, and matriarch of the Adesina family had passed on, aged 75. Pastor Dayo Adewumi of my local church, Foursquare Gospel Church, had joined us to bid her a tearful farewell. All the seven Adesina children were inconsolable, but we nursed our wounds quietly. We were still trying to come to full terms with the loss of the woman we called Mama, when my sister died last December, aged 53. When Pastor Adewumi and his wife visited me in my Lagos home, where I was wailing like a wailing wailer, he prayed, and uttered something that was very instructive to me. He said:"Oh God, even as a pastor, this is rather too much for me to bear. Just about two years ago, I joined this family to bury their mother. All the children were there. Now, one of them has been taken away. This is rather shocking."
True. We go into shock when some unfathomable things happen to the people of God. We ask questions, not out of unbelief, not out of backsliding or lack of conviction. I now dub those posers as 'questions of faith.' When I ask them, I am not querying God or His omnipotence. I have seen Him at work in diverse ways, and can never doubt His power and presence. I am a captive of faith in God. A lawful captive. God has a right to hold me. I am His bondservant. I have seen His footprints in the storms, in the skies, on earth, everywhere. It is too late to stop believing. He is too kind to be cruel. Our Agric Minister, Chief Audu Ogbeh was right. Also right is the writer, Juliette Adam, who declared:"Death is the opening of a more subtle life. In the flower, it sets free the perfume;in the chrysalis, the butterfly; in man, the soul."
I mourn with the Ocholis. Only God can comfort them. As I condoled with President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday in his office, and he told me about the steadfastness and dedication of the departed, I could see his pains. He told me that when Ocholi had wanted to be governor of Kogi State on the platform of the then Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), "I joined him to campaign in almost all the local government areas in the state." Well, the strife is o'er, the battle done. James Ocholi is out of it all. I have questions. Questions of faith. But no matter what, I join the biblical Job in declaring:"Even if He slays me, I'll trust in Him."
What about you?

103 comments:

Look at this one still blaming their death to the accident.. My friend it's day break, wake up. That death was planned by some members in the house of assembly. I will say this anywhere.

Hmmm , very deep... But who r we to question the maker? He never makes mistakes

Mimi12 said...

This write up touched my heart.
I will still trust in God, he knows better than I do.

miimi's diary  

SongsOfSUSSAN said...

Tough loss. RIP

ijeoma(DAVIDO'S P.A) said...

I was moved to tears..oh God this is painful..may God continue to protect me,family and every one of u amen

optimisticlady said...

Oga,we know your sister has died.
This ur article is reminding us more about your sister rather than the ocholis....

Abegiii...
See as you are licking Audu Ogbehs rather dirty ass..

Ka m nu Ife...

Continue to rest in peace till we all meet n part no more .

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

Very true words.... in the end God knows best

Hmmmm! Really powerful article. Linda take note!

May their souls continue to rest in peace.

There goes your myopic view. Even if it was planned by the CIA, if God does not allow it, it can never stand- Newyorker ( Linda let's get married )

yeyeoba3 said...

So touching

yeyeoba3 said...

So touching

Luciana Chinda said...

Touching.

Painful. But then again, God knows more than we do so be quiet.

Hmm.... Very interesting and touching. Father Lord, please make us die a happy and peaceful death. Grant d grace to see you before death. Amen. For those questioning, God has the final answers to what happy to the Ocholis.

So sad

TheRealAkon said...

Very very sad beyond Sadness. RIP

Even if death was planned lets be logical.Nigeria has bad roads and no traffic laws.This is an accident waiting to happen.If/when an accident happens no emergency services and ill equipped hospitals.Bad road + bad medical systems =death waiting to happen.Its simple math and logic.I pray none of us ever has an accident in naija...the prognosis is extremely bleak if it happens

Sad

Even if death was planned lets be logical.Nigeria has bad roads and no traffic laws.This is an accident waiting to happen.If/when an accident happens no emergency services and ill equipped hospitals.Bad road + bad medical systems =death waiting to happen.Its simple math and logic.I pray none of us ever has an accident in naija...the prognosis is extremely bleak if it happens

RIP to the dead...

Swash said...

Too long abeg R.I.P to the dead ...

Hmm

Hmm

Hmmmmmmmm! No 1 can question God!!God alone knows the best

May the departed souls rest in peace. I don talk my own o

Touching... May they find rest in the Lord.

Is it only the death of the minister and his wife and kid that is painful.... what about that of his driver?..... lives in Nigeria must bee treated equally.... even in death there is preferential treatment..... the driver's family r also mourrning... y not raise a voice for them too or Bcos he was a driver his life didn't matter???..... may God console all families that are mourning.... and may God also give voice to the voiceless in Nigeria..... #equalrights #injustice

What rubbish is this idiot writing?
You are the government, fix the roads and shut the hell up. If the roads are good the cars are designed to reach speeds of 200km/hr even without incident. Go to autobahn and see how the responsible German government put roads in place that can handle speed.
God has been protecting the masses on the same roads so God is not asleep, more of you and your family members must go for your acts of cruelty you fool!
FRSC is lying about tyre and lack of drivers licence, thats bullshit. I paid for drivers licence 3ce before getting one, i am not even sure it is real.
Jonathan did a fantastic job of lagos ibadan expressway but your government has not added 1 metre to it, rather it is deteriorating.
Just shut up!

Very deep, but Christianity is not about how many times we go to church or how well we read the Bible, it is about what we do when no one is watching. Who are you behind closed doors? God see's us you know? I hope this will teach you wicked politicians that no man lives forever, if Una like loot from now till tomorrow you all will die like the comon man. You can't bribe death with all your loot. R.I.P to the dead.

I trust Him too, my far-too-kind God

hrm paul ojeih said...

Shut uncouth mouth boy u cannt just hide behide a blog and vommit puke from ur mouth wat evidence do u av if u got any u best present it if not stfu

Bayo bakare said...

This is soul searching, May the departed soul rest in perfect peace.

Bayo said...

RIP Ocholis

Im not sure this STERN and the other thing called FREEBORN,were given birth with there brain functioning,imagine look at his comment on this tragedy.

APC did swallow dem d same way the big fish swallowed Jonah in d bible......what a loss!!

This is really a powerful piece. God is too good to do anything cruel. That will be my watch word. James Ocholi was a good man, humble to a fault and a good friend. I remember sitting with him doing the last APC primaries, and even though we didn't talk much, whenever he sent his PA to get refreshment he remembered to include those around. #Suz#

I wonder how this foolish Linda allows a great fool like you on this blog... this blog is getting stupid cos of fools like you

nello said...

Someone was using your brain as you wrote this..accept my sympathy

hmmmm, it is well. May we be found worthy on the last day.

joy2dworld said...

Unquestionable you are the Lord. ....continue to RIP to the dead

saddening...May GOD be with the children. Want To Naturally Reverse Type 2 Diabetes Click Here To Read
More

Sena Job said...

It is well

Mr Adeshina, d world lies in the hand of d evil one i.e Satan d devil. That's why we experience all dz tragedy

chommy said...

Crying already. Linda observe!

You this devil, watch your mouth.

He is a human being. Write your own.

Is quite painful to bear. But God is indeed too kind to do cruel things. I pray that all the souls of faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace

Soo sad!!

Aunty linda help me with 50k to start up a business na!

Am touched by this write up. Is really hard to deal with the loss of a loved one. The write up is a blessing to me. Thank you sir.

sandracruzzz said...

Rip

You appear an educated person. But I recall education alone doesn't bring sanity and decorum. I'd advise you read through d write-up again(if you are learned).
The write-up epitomises the vanity of life and the sanctity of the will of God.
Do not be overly political than the politicians and please when it is time to apply common sense, do so honourably!

Rightly said.... We keep trusting in thy lord, notwithstanding...

I will still trust God, close to tears

Mr Adesina I like ur write up and is true but one thing we CHRISTIANS are forgetting is that we can't be greater than our master and most times we don't use The GOSPEL STANDARD TO JUDGE the meaning of a happy death,let's just check it out, how did Jesus died, the apostles, early Christians,the prophet?
It's remind me of holy week liturgy in the Catholic Church, from the Thursday thru Easter Sunday reading especially the one that says O happy death that the death of Christ on the Cross but for we human beings we need faith as you said to accept it and not use it to glorified the evils ones

Some people just talk trash here...lets be reasonable sometimes, ds goes to those of you making silly comments.

Marie said...

God knows best & may He comfort the bereaved & rest the souls of the departed through His mercy. Amen.

I sympathise with all those who lost their lives. Sir let's leave emotions, tell those in charge of our roads to enforce a compulsory national speed limit on this roads, put speeding camera's to ensure compliance. Put road markings on the roads to show sharp bends and traffic calming measures. Use our public funds to sponsor road safety officials to travel out and see how other countries deal with traffic. We have a long way to go , most of this deaths could be avoided but you see death does not respect offices. When you all sit and eat public funds without having the required knowledge and expertise to function in your role, you all end up wasting our citizens time by writing all this articles, throwing seats at each other in the House of Assembly and abusing yourselves up and down. Tired of the bull shit. Please go on google , download the DVSA app on your computers and learn how other countries ensure the road is safe for all users. There are lots of jobs in Nigeria but our leaders lack vision. All cars should pass a yearly road safety test, when you see a bus with one headlight, no interior mirror, broken side mirrors , do you then expect a miracle. Yes his was bullet proof and perfect but the state of our roads are not. Stop wasting human lives, do the right thing first then you can question or not question God later.

What an idiot you are @ Un-optimistic girl, ur never a lady.

Buchi Jakes said...

A very heart touching piece, i also feel like asking those "questions of faith" most time. Yet "even if He slays me, i will trust in Him". RIP to d lost ones.

Nina said...

Do you have a heart??

Some pple are not just in their right senses, dey feel like talking trash.

Nice article, Femi Adesina

Him said...

You are extremely shallow. And believe me, I'm not trying to insult you.

Buchi Jakes said...

A very heart touching piece. I also feel like asking "those questions of faith" most times. Yet "even if He slays me, i shall trust in him". RIP to the lost ones.

U must need attention so badly

Common man die....nobody go make noise.......Ocholis family aint d first...so all dis rant on social media na wash

Jesus...optimisticlady..may God forgive you...your heart is so dark...did you read the article atall?

news in grief!!! can nigerians whose relatives are dying of hunger due to inaction pen a piece about their quagmire? it will beat any of femis reflections.

blaq said...

E be like say u dey there wen them they plan the death.....ur sense remain small to complete

See stern o

Hmmn ... Sad ..

The most painful tragedy that can happen to anyone it's well

Annonymous said...

James 1:13
13 When under trial, let no one say: “I am being tried by God.” For with evil things God cannot be tried, nor does he himself try anyone.
1 John 5:19
19 We know that we originate with God, but the whole world is lying in the power of the wicked one.

Annonymous said...

1 John 5:19
19 We know that we originate with God, but the whole world is lying in the power of the wicked one.

No one can question God. Just dt is painful to loss sum1

Hmmm... Deep!... SPOKER

I supoort u stern..i suspect foul play in this their death....its not ordinary..

Hmmmmm!I ask them same question on the 20th feb 2016 when l lost a dearest one but who are we to question GOD.
May their soul rest in peace.

You couldn't talk about the state of our roads even when you have lost people dear to you because of our bad roads. Let be sincere to ourselves Nigerians roads are death traps.

@Stern pperson way die no go die again,mindful of what u comment even dou I aware of what u are targeting but if GOD says u won,t get it,u won,t.

God knows better.

May their soul continue to rest in perfect peace

sectechnologiesnigeria said...

@Stern, Stop saying bullshit. Although the accident was planned it has nothing to do with the NASS, maybe you may want to look at the Igala tribe for a start then others.

moss said...

Inspector stern let's know those that planned the death na since u already know.

moss said...

He is unquestionable. Asap

emeka4rl said...

Sad I resonate with this... loss is the worst emotion to deal with. more questions lead to more questions

It's so easy for Nigerians to attribute everything to faith, a simple yet effective measures could have been put in place to prevent not just this mans death but countless of preventable and avoidable accidents that happens on Nigerian roads and highways everyday.

The government should introduce a national speed limits in our highways enforced by highway patrols and cameras, vehicle safely checks should be carried out every so often.

Every road users should be educated on the implications of over speeding and how to be a responsible road users.

The tyre that busted didn't just burst on that highway, I'm not hearing anything about the actual cause of the accident but spiritual this and God that. We need to wake up and take practical measures and not bring God to every avoidable tragedies that happens.

Just my thoughts sha....if the tyre had bursted and 60-70 miles/hour speed there's a change they could have survived with little or no injury but who knows how fast they were travelling.

Anyway may their souls rest in peace and may the ones they left behind be comforted. But education and simple practical meadures could have prevented this.

Touching stories, but nobody questions Almighty god, he know why

God knows all ,rip

jamil said...

You may want to ask where God was when His only Son, Jesus Christ of Nazareth was killed on the cross, when Stephen was stoned to death, apostles beheaded, Christians killed in the north and Middle East. Did you not read in the bible where He stated that the earth hath He given to the sons of men? God will never do anything on earth without our permit. Going to church doesn't make you a christian, take note.

jamil said...

You may want to ask where God was when His only begotten son, Jesus, was hung on the cross, Stephen was stoned to death, early apostles murdered some fed to lions, when Christians were killed in the North and Middle East. Haven't you read in the bible where God said the earth hath He given to the sons of men? God can not do anything on earth without our permission. Mind you, going to church doesn't make a man a chrstian.

Whoever u r anon, God bless u. When tragic incidents like this occur we need to seek out measures to prevent such incidents from reoccurring. Thank you so much u said it all.may God give our leaders d wisdom to make good choices for our country.

In all this God is still God

Continue to rip
Nice article
U got it alright sir

#spritual

Mtcheeeeeeeqwwwww. We don't need this long story. Repair the roads or build new ones.. More Instagram followers for you

God ıs God. He saıd we shd WATCH and PRAY and my pple are ruined bcos they lack knowledge.I leav outsıde Nıgerıa not even a developed country over 3 yrs now trust me automobile accident that actually claımed lıfe ıs less than 10. what ıs Nıgerıan govt doıng? mismanagement and all sort is the order of d day, where pple see corruption as a way of life.....

Jesus Christ is coming back again to rapture the Saints.. said...

Jesus Christ our Lord and Saviour in the Holy Bible say 'Watch and pray....'(Mark 14:38, He also say 'Men ought always to pray (luke 18:1) and when he was praying the Lord's prayer He said 'lead us not into temptation and deliver us from evil' the world is full of wickedness, consciously do what the Lord himself did (and is asking us to do) while on earth and God who cannot lie will fulfill his promises.

These days we are so busy with making money, material things, social event etc but we forget to consciously make out time to wait on God, to hear specifically from Him, to fast and pray, to praise him in the beauty of His Holiness.

I pray the Holy Spirit comforts all His children that are mourning, and may God be will the remaining Children and family of the late Minister, James Ocholi, in Jesus Name I pray, Amen.

Workaholic said...

This is so touching, I was moved to tears...He couldn't have written this better..

RIP to the departed.And GOD continue to protect Living.

Shepherd Staff said...

May the souls of the departed rest in peace and may God comfort all the families involved. Let us understand that God can never be blamed. God will not do for man what he has empowered man to do. The state of the roads, our traffic regulations and how we enforce them, the condition of the vehicle used and the competence of the driver are within the limits of man to control. If man controls these to his benefit, he will be safe. Believe me, man made disasters happens when man refuses to take collective and individual responsibility. This is a really painful loss and a wake up call to take individual and collective responsibility. Let us question ourselves first before we begin to question God.

yle said...

Even if He slays me, I will trust in Him.

God know best