Read Bukola Saraki's comment on the rejected Gender and Equal Opportunity bill, says it will be re-presented to the senate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 16 March 2016

Read Bukola Saraki's comment on the rejected Gender and Equal Opportunity bill, says it will be re-presented to the senate

Senate President Bukola Saraki, says the Gender and Equal Opportunity Bill which was rejected by the senate yesterday March 15th, will be re-presented at the Senate by Senator Biodun Olujimi who introduced it.

In a statement signed by his Special Adviser on Gender issues, Fatima Kakuri, Saraki said the bill had some grey areas which many of the senators rejected due to religious and traditional belief. He said he had it on good authority that Senator Olujimi will be representing the bill once it is re-drafted.

His statement below
"Today, we discussed the Domestication of the Provisions of the United Nations Convention Eliminating all forms of discrimination against women under A Bill For An Act To Incorporate and Enforce Certain Provisions of The United Nations Convention On The Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women – the protocol to the African Charter on Human and People’s Rights on the Rights of Women in Africa, and Other Matters Connected Therewith. As I said during the International Womens Day last week, I am of the opinion that there are substantial parts of the bill that are crucial to the development of our nation such as the Equal Access to Education, strengthening of the laws on Violence against Women, Ending Abduction of girls, Sustenance and Promotion of Entrepreneurship opportunities, Gender Mainstreaming and Gender equality, female participation in governance, among others. Unfortunately, the bill suffered a slight set back because there were some parts of the Bill that some Senators disagreed with along the lines of religion and tradition. The beauty of democracy is that it gives us the opportunity to consider different opinions and this bill can still be represented and reconsidered on the floor of the Senate I have it on good authority that Senator Biodun Olujimi who introduced this bill will reintroduce it after re-drafting it to address some of the reservations that were expressed on the floor of the Senate".

45 comments:

I have lost faith long ago in this 8th Assembly headed by Afonja.
They are here to play, flaunt cars, accompany him to CCT trial and collect their money.
They are yet to show any sign of seriousness.

oluchi said...

Dats there business

Who else are against it if not world most dangerous wicked terrorist and pedophile religion call Muslim.
They hausas useless people will bring in religion in every thing that concern law i don't know why i will be answering Nigeria when hausas are there.
Linda i know that u will not post it but shame.

Shame - See What Secondary School Student Were Caught Doing In Class

hmmmmmm ok o

Babylawyer. said...

I saw this coming. This people that believe in child marriage and lack respect for women. I knew he will hinge on one rubbish and reject the bill. Imagine in 2016 we are still deliberating in human equality in Nigeria. So help us God.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Let's stop deceiving ourselves. It won't still pass second hearing.

Anything they like make them do..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

Let's see where it lead to before I throw jab on u people .

Is good

jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com

They don comot every every. Na blank sheet they wan her submit

Ife masiri fa, fa mewa#Lindangwanu#

Better

Chinedu said...

The power of the media

PRESIDENT's DAUGTHER said...

Becs d masses has blasted u so guys u better reconsider nd pass it

That it's tradition doesn't mean it is right and it cannot change. If not why are we fighting female genital mutilation, or why have we stopped killing twins.

Please, it's sad to see that in 2016 we still have to discuss a widow's right to her kids and property after her husband's death. And to think some of these men have daughters

We are waiting and watching. Linda take note!

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Very good Saraki!
Supported!

And I know that "Nay" mostly came from the hausa senators...pedophiles

The northern senators will never support the bill and even if they do,the president will neva sign it into law bcos it against the so called islam.a religion of bondage

*Sigh*

senators should understand our laws trump religous or traditional beliefs. the constitutional law is above sharia or canon law...religion is against pre marital sex but it will be wrong making fornication a crime under law, as everybody does not have the same religious beliefs, some dont have religious beliefs at all, and nigeria is a secular state and no one should be forced under any religion or its beliefs, by making such religion or belief law.. the bible and quran doesnt support gender equality as woman is the helper of the man and passages as Ephesians 3;21..the quran doesnt support gender equality as well but these principles should stop at religion and not law....our tradition and culture should have its limits to influencing law..traditions and cultures have programs such as oro festival,and cultures where people have to be kllled and buried alive when a king dies. do we make these practices legal? our senate should have common sense.

EheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeEeEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Just the beginning, we are waiting,

Lets not forget this is the second time the bill was rejected. Our senators our shameless. Let them point out exactly what parts of the bill they disagreed with. I have never been more ashamed to be nigerian.

TERRY said...

Ur such a deviant

TERRY said...

Mehn it's shld jex b a liberal kind of thing......dz guls shldnt play exactly equal wif us

mycheezee.blogspot.com said...

First time u are making sense with ur comment

Obi Tega said...

Saraki Playing POLITICS with Nigerians *LoL #UncleTeeSaysSO

Chi chi said...

I totally agree with your comment Mr Bonario. Bukola is full of lies and only makes out to align with the public. Very selfish man with a selfish agenda.

True talk. Every culture either evolves to a better one or is discarded. Some cultures are embarassing tbh...like killing twins cos they are evil. I'm sure when Mary slessor was fighting to abolish it, they fought against her with all their blood...not every culture/tradition is a keeper.

God help nigeria

Infertility issues? Call or whatsapp 07066681022 You will be glad you did#recommend

I was surprised that that senator stood up and all he had to say was that women would do what they like, etc. Lame, lame, lame excuse. It is better to keep quiet and when the time comes, shout NAY with all his strength.

Oyin said...

I dislike when religion or tradition is brought into the choices our so called leaders make. Nigeria is a secular country and therefore our beliefs should have nothing to do with the law. It is really annoying that at this stage the "leaders" still belief that women are less than men because they are Christians or Muslims, Igbo, Yoruba, Hausa or what not. The law should not be based on any of that, it should be based on doing the right thing, and ensuring everyone is treated in a just manner. Until we stop bringing sentiments into our decisions Nigeria will never move forward. It might take some time but I assure you, we women will fight and we will win. We are not meant to be your slaves, we are humans just like men and we deserve to be treated as such, not as property.
Oyin

well spoken.

uju juliet said...

By redrafting, he means changing it to suit their own egocentric views. Backward law-makers. They should better embrace becos it's coming whether they like it or not

It is ur business too. If only u can read what d bill is about. Idiot girl. For ur own protection mumu

I support a bill to give women the deserved rights but it should be done by applying wisdom. Truth be told, if the bill that was presented be signed, the divorce rate would increase, violence against men would skyrocket. because come to think of it, women have their excessess. I have had both male and female bosses but d female one always tend to very uptight all in d name of 'is it bcos i am a woman'. I recall two different incidents of love gone sour in the news. D so called women rights activists made sure the man dat stabbed his wife was sentenced to death but when the tables turned in d incident of a wife killing the husband in Ibadan, Dr Joe Odumakin is nowhere to be found. Pls who fights for men's rights? I love women and i have a daughter but this so called bill should be redrafted before it is passed. God has made the man the head, women pls dont try to change it. A woman deserves a lot of rights but it should be done with a lot of caution. Lastly, I want to ask the women here a very simple question; How many of you would would wish for your sons to marry a woman just like you? I need sincere answers. I leave you with the fact that women in the western world after ruining men with divorces then ask their sons wives to sign a prenuptial agreement before their wedding all in the name of protecting their own children. My people, only the barbaric laws against women should be abolished.

Hmmmm. Strange. And I thought Dis could be part of that "CHANGE" we want. They act like they ain't civilised all because of tradition/beliefs. Its a Pity.

There is more to gender equality. We shouldn't compare women right to public affers, economical growth support nd other major contribution women can be part of in our country with religion and cultural influences. This are completely different things.

You are a self centered fool. Only the laws that are barbaric to wowen should be ablished right? While the other injustice should continue.

Davida said...

Senate president who lied under oath, and is currently being investigated.... What lie will he not tell the Nigerian people???
Redrafting indeed, yet they are still trying to sneak the social media bill in.

Under their watch different girls have been kidnapped and women (infant people ) are suffering, and his response is to import luxury cars for him and his followers.
Just thinking about this 8th senate raises bile in me. What a tragedy and a disaster for Nigerians. We must have really sinned to end up with leaders like these.

Madam fool. I think you need to buy a dictionary since you don't know the meaning of barbaric. Simply put, the bill should be redrafted to knock off all the barbaric laws that affect women. From the way u speak, i presume ur husband is a house husband who cooks, washes and cleans your home as well. Don't get me wrong, a husband needs to help out with the chores of the home on the grounds that the wife shares part of the bills. U women want to eat ur cake and have it. Look a woman is created to be a help mate and companion. At least religion existed before all this laws. It was because of man's hardheartedness that the 10 commandments was given. Pls fool be real. Nobody hates women. Women are important. I've had them everywhere. I've had female teachers, lecturers and above all, i have a lot of sisters as well. And i hold them all in high esteem. Men and women need to tolerate eachother in order to coexist peacefully.