Photo: These white students are students of Yoruba Language at University of Wisconsin | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 13 March 2016

Photo: These white students are students of Yoruba Language at University of Wisconsin

According to Temitope Omotayo who shared the photo, the men and women pictured here are students of Yoruba language at University of Wisconsin, Madison, U.S.
"So if you are still ashamed of your culture and you feel reluctant to speak your language with your children then na you know o. If we don't teach our children our language. I am sure these new set of people who are passionate about learning the language will teach them. I am referring to Hausa, Yoruba  Igbo, Swahili & other African languages" he said

91 comments:

Sylvia said...

Funny oyibo people

Wow! Oyibo pple studing our language? Dts nice

That's really nice.

Wow that's amazing

Say what? Is she ok? Come to Nigerian schools and see Nigerians studying Nigerian languages,there's something called linguistics in our schools, abegi,in a bid to sound patriotic and modern, at least don't be misinformed!

Aww that's absolutely fantastic, proudly hausa,one language I enjoy speaking 247.

Kayode Odusanya said...

Hmm! This is interesting. They are even wearing Yoruba attire. I can't think of anything sexier than having a romantic conversation with a beautiful white girl in Yoruba. lol! But really, a lot of white people are fascinated by African languages and cultures.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Nice.

PEPSI ADDICT

Dem too try

Aproko Queen said...

That's powerful

Whoa! Dats beautiful. Linda take note!

I dont know why we black people feel aww whenever we see oyibo people doing "nonoyibo" things. We look at this people like they are god. When do we see oyibo go "aww" when black people speak their language, eat their food, wear their clothes?

...white students? What about 'these students' ?
Linda and colour inferiority!

Linda your sister is funny oh just cause I roasted her she blocked me
GOD_WINZY. CHILDISH

Beautiful

They will never speak it like the yorubas.. Their accent will be the biggest impediment. At least we go beta pass dem for our tin

Some retarded parents does that avoid their children speaking their native language by calling it vernacular. Fela the legendary has spoken on this year bck. "How many oyinbo sabi ur tongue de way u sabi oyinbo" .Be proud of your mother tongue .#egba bawa#

Fggg

Igbo for life

Roseberry said...

They resemble cartoon.

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

Abum nwa afo igbo

Umum ma asu igbo

Odiro ememu ifere.

Asusu anyi ga adiriri.

Otua ka odi

Onwero ife na eme.

Ihotago ????

The Secret of Being Successful and Great in Life

Nice one looking at them they look like yorubas.
No body is ashamed of his or her tribe?how will hausas be proud of there tribe when there tribe are all pedophiles and terrorist why yorubas are witches and wizard and bleaching bitches.
Linda post my angelic comment

Pls, are they dwarfs?

They use them in ambassies and airports to interview all these Yoruba people that can not speak English well in abroad, they have other dialects too

White ppl can study anything and still be employed in the labour market.

Nice .... #proudlyafrica ..

I love dis

Future 'analysts' at Langley aka CIA spooks, na dem go dey décode all ur phone convo and email in vernacular. Lol

Not for me..
Coz i speak ma language well.

hot nigerian jobs said...

Our local language and even our culture are really a big deal aboard. It's unfortunate our local languages are slowing fading out because of our attitude and i just hope and pray that in the future it won't be the white that would treat our children our language and culture

Engee said...

Impressive. Thumb up to them.

Sipping my hennessy

Yes oo! Abu m Onye Igbo, Umu mu ga na asu Igbo

The outfit looks good on them lol . I don talk my own o

Waoh

Wonderful... That's so nice

Wonder why they will want go study Yoruba. These whites self

Wow.... dis is touching

Am proud of my language,just imagine Yoruba language is now popular all over the world

Proud of my culture

So what. We live in a borderless world. I guess this is another example of how something black is special because it's blessed by whites. People should value their indigenous languages whether or not white people speak it.

Like that

Mr 47 said...

First, it was among the second language you got to learn if you wanna join UK police, Now it is a course learned by the white in one of American University.

Yoruba keeps going places and haters are hating.

Okey said...

They're studying Yoruba as an international language Linda; Allow us study English, French, Italian etc as our own international language too

Odee like you

You know learn English? They must have there reasons

niny said...

Y wnt they study yoruba?u is English ur own language?

chommy said...

Datz good to knw. Linda observe!

Everything just dey touch u...lekki gardens touch u...ocholi accident touch u...kimK naked pics touch u...trump presidency touch u...Liverpool beat ManU touch u...oya cum make me sef touch u...

Oluwaseyi Dara said...

Whaoo, this is lovely. If I had know this when i was in UW stout menomonie I will have come visiting.

For research or relief purposes maybe.

Smilin......vry proud! Rilly! Unlik some Igbos, all dey do is to speak English to der kidz. Smilin......vry pround of dem!

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Lol..
See as dem b esp that one with gele yayaya hahaha

Yes o. That's why I wonder at people who give their children English names. Brian, Sean etc. It's called...loosing your identity

Are they ones infront dwarfs?

Luciana Chinda said...

Busted... Lol.. Richard u MST be a comedian

Wow!loving D's,but wait...what could be their motives,who knows maybe they stylishly want to know about Yoruba idol.isssh.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahah..... I can't fit laugh

Nigeria has got rich culture...Want To Naturally Reverse Type 2 Diabetes Click Here To Read
More

I'm an American, went to Nigeria to marry my Nigerian wife 5 months ago and she is igbo and they speak igbo to their children as well as English, their children know how to speak Igbo and English.

@Richard u no well oooo laugh wan kill me here

What makes the Yorubas so celebrated around the world, is our ability to assimilate and share our cultural pride.

As an ancient people, or rich culture has long fascinated the world. We have grace, class and a strong identity.

Yoruba is not just an ethnicity, it's a way of life. The Igbos will never know, nor have this.

So proud...

Lol for dose of u wondering why dey study yoruba.. Dey study so dey can catch nigerian gangs or intelligence agency in dere airports nd country who communicate with yoruba. Lol no b today yarnsh dey back

lolzzzz

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

Nice one...

Funny!

Funny!

Sooooo proud of them. Now they know how difficult it is for me (Nigerian) to learn the English language and also comprehend my various undergrad subjects (science and all) in English language.

I go to this school. We have the largest African Studies program in the US and one of the biggest scholars of Yoruba was a professor here.

They should also study edo language

Nice..

The simple truth is that every where in the world, people are learning the popular Nigerian languages to be able to understand when people from the country communicate because of terrorism. A lot of European countries like Uk and Germany are already into this. It is not only Nigeria but places where terrorism has reared it ugly head. Let's not critize or rejoice that countries or people are studying our language, they do have a plan.

See rhymes!!! I wan touch too.

Impressed

JAO

Teetylolar said...

Whatever it is... This definitely shows that the whole world will one day be united n we"r getting closer each day!

Lyk seriously

#spritual

sisi_ Shalewa said...

Yea, we have Linguistics in our schls and am a graduate of Linguistics n Nigeria languages but guess what, Base on research, Nigeria languages especially yoruba is gradually going into extinction and what this writer said is true, in few years to come, there is 80% assurance dt this ppl will be the ones teaching our kids yet unborn their mother tongue...go to Linguistics department of university of Ibadan n see the number of foreigners studying our indigenous languages..moral of d story: we should not forget our root all in d name of civilisation n modernisation. Cheers!!

Agatha said...

They are planning some mischief. No be oyibo people?

U are such a big goat. Bitterness will soon kill u. Idiot

What makes the Yorubas so celebrated around the world, is our ability to assimilate and share our cultural pride.

As an ancient people, or rich culture has long fascinated the world. We have grace, class and a strong identity.

Yoruba is not just an ethnicity, it's a way of life. The Igbos will never know, nor have this.

well said, O ya freeborn go die

Its wonderful

This is how foreign countries infiltrate in to Nigeria. With ignorance we see whit people and assume they wouldn't understand the language. Meanwhile as you queue at the airport or while being interviewed by a government official they can translate and catch you out.