Nigerian lady cries out on FB, says her dad got her husband arrested because he doesn't approve of him | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 17 March 2016

Nigerian lady cries out on FB, says her dad got her husband arrested because he doesn't approve of him

According to Facebook user, Nono Orji, her father had her husband arrested because he married her with the father's consent. The man is currently being held at Dolphin Estate police station though I hear the commissioner of police has gotten involved. But why are some parents like this...? See the rest of what she wrote after the cut...

53 comments:

This is serious

Linda u knw say I no dey like involve myself for family wahala. Ama just stay back and observe

#LibBadBoy

Me I don't need any parents consent to marry anybody. Once I don time you already. .no body can stop that ..even your parents.. They can kiss my ass. All these people living in the old century. Welcome to the modern world mummy and daddy. Your kids have the right to marry whoever they love. YOU CAN'T DICTATE FOR THEM! You enjoyed your life already when you were young with who you love so let them enjoy theirs too.

Choi. .
Nawa oo
At dis present century

I don't believe this story is all that has transpired,let her from the Parents side and Ugo side.Or Nono should tell us more.

Esther Dangana said...

How can you marry without your father's consent? You be American? But that shouldn't be a criminal offense. Go and beg your parents you need their blessings sweet heart. The bible says honor your father and mother so that your days will be long. Kinji.

Hmmm is she under spell or what.
That is yorubas for u they are using there daughter for money venture business so am not surprise at all yoruba hmmm shame.

PrettyChi said...

Why don't you obey ur father

Chai rich man poor man saga

Linda, would you marry without your parents consent? We are Africans, let's not allow foreign culture to overtake ours. Instead going ahead with the wedding, they should've looked for a way to get her parents to see what she sees in him. Outside influence on our culture is hurting badly.

He married her with the father's consent or without the father's consent. Linda Biko correct yourself and don't mislead us with your quack grammar..😂😂😂

But madam parent advice is important in marriage? Let God see u through.

Hope u didn't marry without your father's consent?Sometin is fishy since no member of ur family supported u.

MCC said...

Chai!

The can do that to whimps only. The can to that to a realman

Hian dis kind of father, parents fail to realize that dey won't be d ones to stay with whoever dey don't want their child to marry.. State ur plight nd rest ur case, not tryna force an adult to do what u want *sighs

OMALICHA TONIA said...

some African parents shaa
omalicha4lindaikeji

Stupid girl! why marry a man without your parent consent.

I can't deal, I hope dey resolve it amicably. Linda take note!

To answer ur question I think some parents are protective of their daughters and especially when the daughter is the one feeding the hubby.....but arresting him won't change anything since they're married.

MumiAdasom said...

Yes arrest them.where were they when he was training his daughter? I'm from Anambra , if you want to marry and your father refused to accept bride price after much begging just cos he doesn't like your hubby and you're of age,any of his brother or the eldest man in his family will stand in ,in the presence of umunna and accept the bride price and give you away, your father can't do shit. Who did they pay bride price to? Bride price is more important than registry marriage, my dear, you're not married yet,cos even if it's church, the church usually ask the bride family if all marriage rites has been performed , since non was done for you. Your his whole hearted daughter and your husband a kidnapper.

Mrs E said...

There must be a reason why your parents are objecting. Look inwards cos marriage no be beans o. Dear parents, you've done your part, if she insists,kindly leave her to her fate

chyyy said...

Bcos u train ur daughter to become a medical doctor u now expect her to marry a Richer guy than d one working in d ministry. Leave her & her husband alone is her choose.

Nigeria parents, should allow their children to marry der bestfriend(s) and stop this madness of choosing some pyscho for dem as hubby.....

Amaka said...

Both sides are wrong. She should have insisted that she will marry the man she loves. Then wait until her parents succumb. After all she's 28, her parents will eventually change their mind b4 she turns 30. Instead she foolishly went n married the man in court. This is still Africa no matter what. By the way I don't think any reasonable man will marry a woman without her people's consent. Papa abeg withdraw let her do what she wants. Agalasha must back.

mel20 said...

And why dint she get her father's blessings??,,you think an igbo man will forego bride price? , never!!!,,, its a tradition you must fulfill can't be escaped, except u make them understand and reason with you if ur man is still struggling which in this case might be the very crucial pain in the dad's heart, but either ways, ,,go beg ur parents!

Bad parents

Go nd beg ur parents asap.

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

When IBO man never chop bride price, him go just allow person carry him hard trained daughter for free....I pray o

stephnny said...

Beg ur parents nne,dia blessings will go a long way in ur marriage

DAREY MOSES said...

smh for d folks

DAREY MOSES said...

SMH FOR D PARENTS

DAREY MOSES said...

@LINDA DIS PARENT AINT SEEING D FUTURE

This ridiculous scenario further highlights the importance of the gender equality bill. A father does not own his daughter's life and her destiny cannot be dictated by him. This is not an Igbo thing
My father would never do this. At the most he would express his displeasure at choice of spouse but would still support me emotionally and financially if need be.

Settled yourself joor

Us army said...

Stern God bless you ..I dey always gbadun your comments ooooo

Some Nigerian parents are sick in the head... This happens all the time, especially in the north. Awon animals

Dilichukwu said...

I feel her pain because i am equally going through same too. My parents said i can't marry my best friend because the part of Anambra state he is from my people have not gone there to marry before and he won't be a good husband. IMAGINE is there not a first time for everything.. and he is not an OSU o
I have been with this case since 2015 and they even said he has bewitched me etc... Truth is Most igbo parents are very old school and primitive. I am disappointed in his brothers/siblings. When you are of age.... ie when you are already in the university, no parents can tell you who to marry.. but they can counsel you on marriage and bless both of you. It is your decision and on the day of your wedding, they will bless you and your husband and not your parents. it is covenant you ( husband & wife) have with GOD

Linda, I have first class information on this family drama...all i can say is that a full grown 28years Igbo girl knows exactly what it means to get married. Every single story this girl has said, the FB posts she left is exactly what she wanted Nigerians to react to..She is a blatant liar and the earlier she seeks her parents and siblings forgiveness for this outright embarrassment she has caused them, the better. A man who loves you will wait patiently till he gets ur family's (parents especially) blessing. Dr. Nono, tell the world the real story and not the side that u want them to react to. Tell them how u used this your two habds and legs and introduced them to a man, got engaged and allowed him pay ur bride price just to turn around follow another who totally turned you from the sweet good Dr to a rascal. tell the world(since u re now a story teller) the truth. Nigerians deserve to know that you are the most selfish and ungrateful child ever born to earth.. I am indeed disappointed in what you have become overnight. BTW, Nono's parents are the most humble, nice and accomodating, down to earth people I know and not in anyway the picture she has painted them to be. If you know the real story, U will jail that fake husband and his stupid/senseless 28 years old bride for life self.

@freeborn bamislam zinalima ugo madugba and nono orji are NOT yoruba names. get your tribalistic head out of your own ass. silly cow

i know Ugo as a quiet guy and good christian and pray he get's out of this mess also disappointed how he will marry a woman without parental consent sadly this is the country we live in. Greedy parents. Her father went to far arresting him, highest disown both of them not arrest him and everyone who is close to them. so sad.

This is serious oh,babe go beg them,you need their blessings oh!

It's unfair......she is old enough to decide who to marry....parents should stop putting mouth into this...she is 28 yrs old for Christmas sake...let her be.....arresting the mad won't make any different.

Children obey your parents so that your days may be long". Our parents are not perfect and shouldn't dictate to anyone whom to marry. He/she who finds a good thing will obtain favour from the Lord. Her parents should state their worry and trash it out in a peaceful way.

Uju's World said...

You lie. I know nono very well. She is nothing you have described above. She has a right to marry whoever she chooses and her parents cannot make that choice for her. If the parents refuse to give their blessings and she has tried all she could to get their blessings for years then her acting in this case can be justified with regards to the court wedding. Let her parents respect her wish. That poor Ugo can be the richest man tomorrow. Happiness is the key in marriage.

Uju's World said...

Shut up and talk like a educated person that is if you are one. She is an adult and where she has begged her parents for years to get their blessings and they refused then her actions will be justified. The law of the land protects her.

Tochi den u are a babaric fool in dis tym and age. Biko wat has ur umunna eva done 4 u anyway yr life

Story leave s gurl to marry whosoeva she wants to besides u face ur life how is it ur business useless anonymous mtcheees

Rita said...

I respect her courage, She has been trying to curtail these from social media until her parents took a step of effecting an arrest of her husband. Nono as she is fondly called is a Christian. All attempts have been made to resolve this issue peacefully (trust me) even from the religious end but her parents are bent on her marrying some other guy who is more influential. I bet that if you were in Nono's shoes you won't be bold enough to face the public you will rather commit suicide. In as much as the bible tells us to Honour our father and mother, we only pray that our parents will not lead us astray.Our parent should be able to support our dreams. What matters most in a marriage is the joy it brings. She cannot be compelled into marrying a man who has even told her that he is not interested in the marriage. She is an adult and can make decisions on her own. Lest we forget she is a medical doctor and lives have been entrusted to her, how much more will she pay less attention to her's. This is simply an infringement of her fundamental rights as well as that of her husband. As for me love is all that matters.

Your father spend all his resources to train you, what you will use to thank him isto get married without his consent, all you need is to go and apologized to your family for insulting them in this manner,

Let the Father wait till she's 38, I bet then he will approve ANY man that comes forward lol

Andy Snoop

She's an adult ...a 28years old.woman

If her parents were dead will she go and wake them up to get their blessings? Think!

Too bad