UNILAG undergraduates build eco-friendly car (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 August 2015

UNILAG undergraduates build eco-friendly car (photos)

A team of students in the University of Lagos built an eco-friendly car. They say the car doesn't emit gas doesn't utilize fossil fuel. They built the car under the Project Dove Initiative and have successfully completed their first model, Dove P1, utilizing locally sourced materials and building it right here in the university of Lagos. Well done to them. See more photos after the cut...

102 comments:

Wow! Talk of ingenuity, such innovation deserves commendation.

Pro said...

Wow lol this is soo sweet. Thank God oh we Naija people too we rock jor go guys. Wonderful spirit of creativity kudos to them, may they be heard.

That vuvuzela P guy

Great effort guys. Over to the Venture Capitalists and acclaimed billionaires to invest in these guys/project.

Gud one guys

D1 said...

That's what am talking about... Keep it up, boys!!!... erm, could u guys help me n build a spaceship; 9ja dn tire me (LOL)

well done to unilag students.

Waoooo nigeria youth with creative mind.the useless politicians in nigeria,we not find this as creative rather as jobless,because there useless,wayward children are in westhern country schooling.

this is nice guys wow am impressed with a big back up financial you going way to the top putting Nigeria on the map of automobile and employing youths Uvie

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Good for him, mk he use am take propose to him babe, if nor be mud he go see himself...

Great stuff. At last some positive news from our universities. This is the kind of things that should be coming out of our schools. Initiative, creativity, inventions and solutions to challenges of our nation. Less time for partying and cultism and false 'religiousness'. The the potentials of the mind should be exploited and expanded in scientific and spiritual research and development. - by Ehis

Who go drive this one?! Hehehe nice move by them all the same.

Don`t ever under estimate the power of a guy who finished from the university of lagos (unilag). I see u.

ONI 1 said...

Nice one guys, keep it up and don't let the search for white-collar jobs after school kill your vision.

Waooooooow!

Waooooooow!

Wow
Welldone

Wao am amazed

Nice one,,,thumbs up to them

Future mechanics..... Thats what they going to be bcos as far as this dead country is concern no hope for them......

The car is fine. Kudos to them. Nice Job. One day this country will get to its height. Amen.

Wow that's cool, imagine what they can achieve with the right materials

a vehicle without head lamp/light!

bee said...

Wow! the car is really cute, 9ice one from the team

Thanks to God, our campuses are not breeding grounds for cultist after all. Good to hear this but this type of thing is not new to some of us. last time it was Uniben, other times it was xy University, the government should encourage them and not let foreign competitors see them as threats to their car import business.

Awwww! Super cool. Congrats to them

oguike Emmanuel Obiora said...

Infact government need to do something about this sector so that in few years to come our country wil be counted among car producing countries and some other technologycal creativities.

Nigerin Patriot said...

Kudos to them. They need to be encouraged to take this to the next level.

Wooooow!!!! Well done guys,thumbs up

kudos to them

If the car does not use fuel then what does it use, you did not say linda, does it use electricity to charge its batteries or the engine is powered by solar energy, anyway I commend their effort, more grace to do more!!!

Willy B said...

Well done guys. This will take us to the promise land. Technology should be encouraged not only music sort of promotion in the form of Nigeria Idol, Project Fame etc. Let's support these guys - individual, corporate bodies & government.

God saves Nija!

wolex said...

Kudos guys

Oya watch them being poached by foreign countries. Congratulations to them!

Kachi said...

Lolz...nice 1 though

Wow! Dis shows we r already...

I wish them all d best and God bless them abundantly. Thumbs up and more power to their elbows.

well done guys..........

Very Nice!! Well done!

Stan Alone! said...

Gifted.. let's see what becomes of them after now...

Nigeria is backward in everything, just look at car

What then powers it? Is it mechanical or electrical or solar? Somethings gotta give na. I'm not celebrating mediocrity till they give me the 411. They should release a white paper too sef. Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

congrat to them!!! See creativity

joy Egbunu said...

Way to go guyz! Thumbs up to ya'll

Funny look buh dey tried

Awww....I love seeing innovative youths. Big ups to them. Keep it up!!

Wow! Good job....

Wow! Kudos 2 dem

All UNILAG haters out there, keep hating then come back and say something when your school creates something close to this...

Nigeria is bless with bundles of talented peoples,What we need is support from govt. backing

Good creativity

well done and keep up the good work

What a genius idea! Nigeria is richly blessed in human and natural resources. Good people! Great nation!

I really think some pple know what to do when they see opportunity, our government should really invest in pple like this...
God help them.
Congratulation to a successful project.

Well done guys

He should be encouraged.

Ok. Bitter truth time. I guess it's better than nothing but we should be beyond this in a tertiary institution by now. building a battery powered go-cart with store bought batteries? no obvious cooling system so it's obviously not designed to go more than a few miles at a time. This is would be an achievement for gifted secondary school students. For uni students to boast of this is a bit embarrassing for an emerging economy.

Your English has compound fracture. I pity you.

NICE JOB

Very creative, and worthy of commendation. I wish they can be supported so they will do more.

chalzz said...

The car is an electric vehicle, built solely to be very light and fast...Chasis and construction is different from regular vehicles it attains top speed with just 3HP and cost of construction was just over 700k (all materials were sourced locally). It wasn't an undergraduate project but a team of young innovators who decided to create something that had never been done before. its sad the founder of D0VE initaitive- Olukoya Olusanya lost his dear mum just before construction could be completed as she was the chief sponsor, certain industry bigwigs couldn't show support like Sen. Murray Bruce who has been talking about electric vehicles in Nigeria and Innoson even after they tried contacting them. The team is currently working on the next model P2 which they said should include a fingerprint ignition startup engine.

Nothing here, seems like a battery powered vehicle hence the small size. Battery is inside the dock at the top

Dt cud be u,bt all u do is live in ds blog & comment on evry post!

Amazing

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

You are mad!! Can you even build a toy car

These guys need to be encouraged!!!.... I hope they didn't forget to include the reverse gear in the car.

Idiots

Well done. Formula 2 racing car

Brilliant!

Are you a makeup artist, caterer, web designer? Start earning today

Yea, kudos they built a toy car. They should have fixed the lights.. I think Nigerian Engineers should be engaged, encouraged and channel their mental and physical energies to design and built things that would meet the needs of the nation. We've had a lot of school projects that haven't added any real value to society as they end up as junks in university workshops after graduation.

This comment killed me! 😂😂😂😂

When I was in Japan, the Automobile department in my school developed a car that can compete with any I4 engine motor. We are still far far behind in this country.
Ndewo nu.

Renaissance said...

Very much encouraging to hear, one is not surprised though. The our greatest challenge as a nation is the inability of our political elite to come up with support policies that will take our dear country to the next level. We sure have the brains and indeed the resources, just the political will is what is lacking. God help our dear country Nigeria.

Renaissance said...

All ADCs started this way. The state must as a matter of necessity encourage researches through proper funding.

Lol....

Unizik engineering students I think did something better years back...so shut up. No1 is hating. What makes you better is when people criticize your work. The work is not perfect but it's a very good start.

At least they did something, appreciate it. What have you ever done?

Lmao..this person don finish bonario..@blissful_jay #king_jaye

Hahahaha..Epic! (the poster above me is not smiling)

Hahahaha..Epic reply!

Jeremiah Wesley said...

Wonderful technology presented here.

Tell Bona agn plz! Biko!

This is really great. Our government need to help all this talented youth with all this great project. This is to promote Nigeria. It is high time that we start making stuff and use them in Nigeria. Keep up d good work guys.

i rep unilag,a complete school in all facets of life

Wow... good innovation... i will like to meet them... have a similar project in mind.... can be reached gfactornu@gmail.com

Wow..that's a wonderful invention...
I pray they get recognized and projected on a larger platform

Ur English might be used to murder shekau

Seriously IM proud to be an akokites...bea

Anu ofia who r u calling idiots

We're heading somewhere.. Na small small. Smart kids👍

Sharap,stop hating

Nice one, keep it up

What about you anonymous. Could it not have been you too, abeg mind your business

Lol, power of Unilag indeed... hw many students gathered brain to produce dis toy... #Nofeelings #Justsaying

Lmao!

Wow... congratulations koya

NICE 1 koya.... i wish u success upon success

Greatest akokite