17 year old girl dies while trying to save a 14-year-old boy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 17 August 2015

17 year old girl dies while trying to save a 14-year-old boy

On Wednesday, August 13th, 17-year-old Stella Kambi (left) died while trying to drag 14-year-old Bonheur Musungay from a flooded pit at Thorpe Marshes on the outskirts of Norfolk, UK. Stella’s effort was a waste as Bonheur also died. Stella’s sister Claudine, 16, who was part of the attempted rescue, luckily survived.

Stella’s parents, who arrived in the UK as refugees from the Democratic Republic of Congo in 2008, are completely devastated at the loss of their daughter.

“We will miss her so much and hope our faith will get us through. But we are very proud of her”
Engele and Daniel Aketo also revealed their daughter had successfully rescued another boy a year ago. They said Stella and Claudine had not been swimming but sunbathing on the beach next to the boy. When Bonheur got into trouble, both girls, who were strong swimmers, dived in to save him. Claudine survived but Stella was dragged under.

Stella attended City College Norwich after leaving Thorpe St Andrew High School and was studying nursing at college and wanted to be a pediatrician.

Emergency services launched a major search and rescue operation to find the pair but were unable to save them. Police and firefighters are now investigating what happened.

Detective Sergeant Sarah Knights said people should take care around open water. “Without wanting to prejudge what has happened here, I would urge people to take the utmost care around water and to be aware of hidden dangers such as fast flowing currents and underwater obstacles and weeds,” she added.

Source: Daily Mirror

64 comments:

So sad. R.I.P

Awwwww so sad, at least she died a heroine RIP brave lady

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Rip

What a heroic act. May her soul rest in peace.

Eyaaaaaa. Is rather unfortunate for her. May her soul rest in peace.

mzmaris said...

RIP to them both.....she died doing something great

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Oh God! Bless her soul RIP.

A man's love or a woman's submission, which should come first?

Ayodele Jay said...

An act of bavery!! may she rest in peace!

#Blessed child

Ehyyyaaa Rip dear,

RIP.... #NowPlaying>> love will remember: selena gomez....

Heaven awaits u wit opened arms!

Ssad! RIP

Such a brave gal
Rip

So sad. RIP kids

Eya
May her soul rest in peace

If she died in christ, no need to worry as everlastIng life awaits her. John 3:16

Eya
May her soul rest in peace

Lord ppls grant her family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP to her.

Eeya...may their souls rest in peace. Brave girl.

Sad news
May their souls RIP

#HELL NO I can't keep CALM
BeCaUSe Am gRadUATinG TOday
*A CerTIfied AccOUnTanT*

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Rest in peace

good morning Linda...indeed you are very hardworking, please talk to your sister Hey!laura to situp...have a lovely week!!!

7F098C19 said...

Sacrifice this what love is all about. Engr Emy

That's so sad! RIP

Good morning Linda, indeed you are very hardworking...have a captivating posting week!!!

RIP...literally. I'm sure they are in the best place.
God knows best!

sad. May her soul rest in peace

Sorry for the loss,its a pity

HMMMM, EVN A WASTED EFFORT....RIP TO DEM....TOMJERRYSWIT

Eya. May their soul RIP

So sad...

Too bad, rip 2 her

Rip u dd well

Pro said...

This is bad news. Stella and Bonheur rest well in the hands of the creator, Stella u died trying to save someone may ur soul find peace where ever you are, and to think the little boy died also aawww. Linda this news sha making me feel bad

That vuvuzela P guy

May their Souls Rest in Perfect Peace amen.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Tragic!

Eeeeeeeeeyah! May their souls rest in peace. Linda take note!

Rip

judithekene said...

Rest in peace to them, Stella is a hero. God has a perfect place waiting for u.

mccoy said...

Awww. Good deeds. Definitely she is in a better place

Awww what a brave girl, may her soul rest in peace.

Awwwwwww...

Chaiiiiiii,so painful
Till resurrection day.
...NA ZO

Such a brave act! RIP....

oh! This is the kind of love Christ is talking about, "can you lay your life to save others?" I pray Almighty God grant her soul eternal rest in His bossom.

Mihearty said...

May their soul rest in peace Amen

U are an idiot.....wch one is if she died in Christ, u need sense lunatic bishop, no go find something reasonable do

Rush said...

so sad,,
hope God permit her to go through the heaven.

So so sad! I'm sure her soul will be so hurt to leave this world just like that. She seemed to have a lot she still wanted to accomplish! RIP. Mo-1

That is so sad, RIP brave girl.

R.I.P

bummyla said...

So Sad! RIP Girl! http://www.bummyla.com

RIP ,the heroin of our time. So sad.

She's not an idiot at all...be very careful with your words because she's only repeating and admonishing us all ( including herself) of all that Jesus said to us Himself...Repent and be saved.

TC said...

@ Henry Eze. No need for insult dear. If u read ur Bible, u should know that our good works without salvation through Jesus cannot take us to heaven.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Vry sad.may her beautiful soul resr in peace in Jesus name.amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade