Read OLX response to Orekoya boys kidnapping | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 April 2015

Read OLX response to Orekoya boys kidnapping

The parents of the three boys who were kidnapped from their home in Surulere by a nanny said they'd found the woman on OLX after she responded to an ad they placed on the site. The boys have since been found. OLX is now responding to the claim. Read below...

This is an unfortunate situation and our sympathies go out to the victim and their family.  OLX is an online classifieds site that brings buyers and sellers together to promote trade.  We take steps to moderate and review all ads but we do not participate in the negotiations between buyers and sellers. Transactions are performed directly between both parties. In all our marketing campaign, we continuously urge our users to take necessary precautionary checks when using OLX. 

We continue to innovate and improve our review process with tighter measures that would help to minimize future occurrence of negative incidents. We also need our users to help us kick out bad players and ask them to report any dubious activity or user on the site for immediate action.  Our customer support team can be reached at 0700-CALL-OLX (0700-22-55-659) or at support-ng@olx.com.

We sincerely hope that the 3 kids are returned safely to their loved ones. Our thoughts and prayers are with the family and we will provide all help within our capacity to facilitate the quick reunion of the 3 children with their family. 

Lola Masha
Country Manager 
OLX Nigeria

93 comments:

Seen!

Con men everywhere.

Thank God the kids have been found.

Those kidnappers want to put OLX
In trouble.
Am so happy those kids are back.

And why are they just responding

Olx thieves, I don't know why people patronise than its very wrong, go to ur village and look for a known maid

Lady B said...

Thank God the kids are back home....we all need to be security conscious everywhr and in everyfin..

Oriflame offers best beauty products and great business opportunity..add me on 52DA6FA6 for more information.

I thank God the kids are back hale and hearty.

the Lord b praise

IF I VE POWER TO SHUT DWN DS SITE I WIL..R U PPLE JST RESPONDIN NOW?? ENUF OF U GUYS SCAM ABEG TO BUY THNGS ON OLX NA CASE...TOMJERRYSWIT

The are too many scammers on olx.. pls the public should be very careful with dealing with fake sellers...
The management of Olx can do better by screening as many ads as possible..

Okay seen!

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Have they found the children now? the woman should better pls sit down at home and care for her properties,omo odo on top OLX with no background checks, aye oyinbo inside africa.

Everything Rosham said...

They'v gat notin to do with it

Dave Mide said...

Its bad for their market as well. So many fraudsters on OLX anywayz ...i will not and can never buy anything from there. I know there are some ppl who have bought things successfully , count urselves lucky.

Is not the fault of the site.
Is the responsibility of the person using it to be cautious.

OLX is a big scam site.

They are right! Leaked: Video of a slim Warri babe in hot sexcapade with three guys (Download)

All the while, they just deemed it necessary to show concern. Oshisco. Triple S

don't get it, OLX posted an add and the kidnapper responded?!

Na now den jst gt tym 2 talk abt it? Yeye pple.

They are right! Leaked: Video of a slim Warri babe in hot sexcapade with three guys (Download)

Well written piece from OLX, its not their fault in any way. Na d woman I blame. Linda take note!

Thank God the kids have been found thats the most important thing....

They are right

Leaked: Video of a slim Warri babe in hot sexcapade with three guys (Download)

Permit me to say but I think OLX hasn't done well or better still didn't do well, they can't come up now to say negotiations exist between buyers and sellers without reviewing what goes on in their site, after all it's their brand and shouldn't leave it up to anyone. They should be more responsible for their acts.

Of Course... what else do U want them to write. The fault of this whole thing lay with the kids mother....getting a maid from OLX and not INVESTIGATING HER BACKGROUND.....who does that. Again common sense should have made her take time out from work to observe the budding relationship between her kids and the maid....Madam..this is the height of carelessness... U WERE CARELESS.

This is coming in very late... Why didn't the statement come before the kids were found? They are just trying to protect themselves... That's very bad. No integrity at all

ALL THANKS TO GOD ALMIGHTY FOR GUDING AND PROTECTING THEM....MADAM OLS TAKE THEM TO THE HOSPITAL AND CHURCH FOR PRAYERS, BECAUSE PEOPLE CAN BE SO WICKED

I almost fell for a scammer on OLX,dey displayed a set of sofa dat caught my attention got d scammer no on OLX
Afta negotiations it' was supposed to be pay on delivery,he argued dat he has bin stranded several times wen he gets to destination of buyer d buyers fone wld be switched off.
To cut long story short we agreed i pay 15k to certain Ecobank acc.wat saved me was dat ecobank experienced network issue dat day,afta abt 5hrs of paying d moni i called d guy to know his location guess wat i heard kids crying @ d background he quickly ended d call. Had to call bck & he told me dey r in benin. Owo to Benin is not a long distances
I raced bck to d bank as God may ve it my transaction ve not bin posted. OLX na scammer zone Pls be careful

Gheez thank God they found them

Tnk God d kids Hv bin found,pls people using Olx be very careful pls

Folashade Idowu said...

Of course is not their fault na. Thank God the kids has been found. How could you resought to getting a maid on OLX na phone abi na motor? The maids you know their relatives are not trustworthy not to talk of the one without trace. Mrs Orekoya thank God your kids are with you now but what you did was very bad and on call for. This should stand as a lesson to every family despirate to get a maid. Becareful!

Mobola said...

OLX is only concerned about the money they make from transactions. This is totally unacceptable as it proves they have no buyer protection in place. NEVER PATRONIZE OLX. They are as fraudulent and as guilty as the kidnappers themselves!

How on earth will a woman, even trust an online nanny without proper investigation.
Nothing compares to Children on earth, you should make them you priority, to protect and care for them.
A nanny should be someone you know to well, or you trace her to were she come from.
I hope she learn her lesson doh.

Abeg. Too much drama over a sham. The mother knows where are kids were from the beginninh. Who goes to facebook
account to solicit for money when her kids were missing? Please should see through the holes in this wan story. Not buying her bull story

Abeg. Too much drama over a sham. The mother knows where are kids were from the beginninh. Who goes to facebook
account to solicit for money when her kids were missing? Please should see through the holes in this wan story. Not buying her bull story

This story is a big fraud

thatgirlyouwant said...

The mother really shouldn't have gone online for a maid...with the stories we hear, we all have to be careful ooo...thank goodness the kids are back home......olx for still help dem pay small part of the ransom money na...lol

Flora said...

Y are dey just releasing dis statement? Y didn't dey do dat since?? Mtchew

Its not OLX fault oh!

biijay said...

Its really not your fault jare, the mum should have been more careful

i heard they r found...how true is dis?

Everything about OLX is wack. Even those advertising to sell cars, rubbish !

I concur

Maid on olx, nawa o

Hey!!! Beadlovers,
Ever heard of Cellini Peyote spiral, click on this link for details and tutorial.
cellini

Hell to the damn NO! Why the Pretense? The kidnapping is a hot topic, why use this unfortunate incident to promote your silly business? Get real lagbaja!

OLX have not been doing a good job in terms of proper scrutiny of the clients they give access to place adverts.

I have had the same incidence with a client on OLX who dubbed me of #55k and was even asking for an extra #400k for a car that never existed and he was tagged anonymous.

Shame on OLX

Can u just imagine on olx Nigerians don't really joke with d site dats where u met evil desperate people

Linda shey u won't post my comment. Triple S

U re a formal fool Ifeoma

Thank God d children are back to there parents

Sylvanus said...

Negative incident can never be totally eradicated from site's of this nature. It is people who need to be extra careful. As for the family of Orekoya; i thank God for them that the children has been found, but if i have the power i would have punished them for their recklessness. How can some post a request for Nanny on social media and just accept someone without proper investigation. No. Not good enough.

Househelp frm OLX seriously

Do dey mean dat d boys were negotiated for on deir site? I no understand o

It's not the site's fault, they are just a bridge, the mother should have been more careful in choosing who will be in charge of her kids. I'm sure she didn't even test the house help for diseases.

aurabytiti.blogspot.com

Useless website

John said...

I know they will be found. There is nothing prayers and God can not do. I have confidence in that.

OLX should be kicked out of this country. This is the second time a nanny from their platform will kidnap the children of their employer.

gdys said...

The boys have be found thank God oh!!!!!!!! That is the most important thing. Am happy to hear this. Mothers be careful of whom u leave ur kids with

Na dem sabi. 10k God d kids ar home nd save

Why will u even get a made on OLX, for what?

After they have been found abi? Rubbish

Olx una too dey get fake things

Make una change

Unto the kidnapped kids....I don't blame olx in any way...though olx sef na mini fraud

Wale Adeniran said...

Normal practice.One should take appropriate precautions to every transactions

SMURF said...

They can't blame OLX oh, they interviewed her and saw that she was fit to be a nanny, i'm sure they met others too and chose her.

yarinya on the 13th of april 2015, at 10.29pm, I joined my faith with yours that before d end of this week, d orekoya boys will be found. with tears in my eyes I told God I want to comment on ds blog and tell yarinya I joined my faith with hers. and bless God he proved himself. halleluyah

whr is my comment, LinLin?

Why is my comment nt posted? Well am sure d woman has learnt her lessons,she will be more careful nxt tym

Some ppl are not just informed even with all d news ard,@Titi Fashola,d maid took d children a day after she resumed duties,d mother of the boys had already made arrangements to finalise her papers with d "relatives" she presented and this was to be done later in d week, as for disease testing,this is not something u do on day one.more concern goes to OLX as a brand,when u av such ppl on ur platform it spoils business for u,and I personally feel this statement should av come out earlier,better still get details of d transaction and try to c how u can assist d authorities,am very happy this little ones have been rescued. I av transacted on OLX and my experience wasn't bad(probably cos I was d seller) but OLX has tried to provide a safe platform I sincerely believe we should all implore the sense of good reasoning to be able to decipher a fraudulent transaction.Thank u God that the boys came back safely

raza mouf said...

To that anonymous fool on the video post of this mother that kept saying the mother was being fraudulent and no one should trust her, I hope this lets you know she did indeed obtain the services of the maid from OLX and it was just an error on her part leaving her kids with a stranger and not that she was playing games. At least OLX did not deny she used their services. Ode. Acting like some detective. Heartless worthless subhuman. Anyways thank God they found this children. I have been so worried as if they were mine

Spanishlantern said...

You mean a known witch? It doesn't matter where you get the help from. Don't be quick to leave your kids with strangers, make sure you study them very well before leaving your kids with them.

Thks be to God

Why should they look for a maid online? Thank God d children have been found though.

oak said...

That's why in their adverts they specifically warned that you meet your sellers/customers face to face and in an open environment to avoid stories that touch. So many people place advert on the site its left to u to use your discretion.

I am always of the opinion that CAC sanctions this company called OLX.
If they cannot take full responsibility of buyers n sellers den of what credibility are they portraying?

Jumia and Konga are d biggest thieves, a lot of shady deals going on their sites. For me OLX has been good for me in terms of shopping.

Classified my ass..olx is jst for 419ers. Fake sellers have tried to deceive me twice but failed.

I sincerely do not understand OLX response. Are you saying that advert on OLX was what brought back the children and those running OLX are you confirming that? Then count me out of any business on OLX. since the first day this woman made the purported report of her missing children, i have always see it as arrangement to get sympathizers to donate money to her to secure the children's release. The mother of the missing children wanted the thirteen million, they all arrange the kidnap. People arrange their kidnap to get money from their fathers or relatives, that is exactly what this woman has just done. Thieves!

OLX is a platform. And are not in anyway involved in transactions. Just as you can be scammed on the open market, you can be ripped off on OLX.
Why am I surprised people are so ignorant? When the only thing the feel the Internet is useful for us Facebooking and googling their dumbness!

***mynameisSkelewu ***

Tola Balogun said...

I don't think you people read this piece well before commenting. The children are yet to be back home. Read very well to the end.

Am lukn 2 day I will c dis parent bn arrai in court 4 child abuse odawise oda parent will still do same tin. Thk God 4 dei safety

Thank God that the children are back to the arms of their parents. But one thing how on earth can a mother search for housemaid online she buying a commodity under 24hrs leaving the children under her care I believe she must have learned her lessons May God alone be praise.

Thank you lord. For the ones dat were in doubt wait make e bi u r turn

Very true..The fake sellers nearly robbed my son,thank God I was home & had to move fast on my son's behalf ,bcs my son was speaking to d seller on speaker..They failed woefully! It was an eye opener honestly.

OLX! should do a background check on any product they have. as far as i am concerned.

e45 said...

Apparently from most of the comments i'm reading Nigerians are very ignorant. OLX is a site where anyone can post anything to sell, OLX does not make a dime of any transaction, OLX is just a platform. OLX cannot verify the millions of people who use their platform to sell, it is up to you to be cautious when dealing with strangers (OLX tells you this). OLX is totally not to blame. If you are not careful you can get scammed on OLX, Facebook, Badoo e.t.c. (still find it astonishing that people are THIS ignorant)

Thank God these kids are safe. But why in God's name would you get a help on OLX with the evil society we live in.

Mothers should be more alert. this is a typical learning point and im sorry she got served this way.

I never knew olx they give housemaid too.