Igbo Community Takes Cultural Festival To Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 April 2015

Igbo Community Takes Cultural Festival To Lagos

Sponsored post. Forget it – The Igbos are not leaving Lagos anytime soon. Threaten to drown or deport them, it’s clear these enterprising Nigerians are here; to stay for good.

Claiming their place in the most commercial state in Nigeria, last weekend as #AkioluGate was unraveling, the people of Arondizuogu, a popular Igbo community in Imo state Nigeria were celebrating their most significant festival- The Annual Ikeji Arondizuogu Festival at the National Stadium Surulere, Lagos.

The festival, which is normally celebrated in far away Okigwe town Imo state, attracted over 10,000 Igbo indigenes and their families and friends at the Lagos state monumental venue.  The Igbo community raised their flag as they took over the stadium with their cultural music, masquerades and other festivities all day long.

One of the high points of the festival was the sampling of Ace Roots drink, which had many attest to the low sugar content of the drink, ‘It is my first time tasting this drink and I am in love with it already. From the taste alone, I can tell it has low sugar, which is good for me’Pius Ihediem, one of the guests who sampled the drink said. 

Apart from the usual festival elements, this year a new common factor was noticed as almost all the guests were holding a cup of the new Ace Roots herbal mixed fruits drink. The drink, which is rich in herbal content of 14 African herbs and spices with only 6 per cent alcoholic content, was undoubtedly the drink of the day at this year’s festival.
Reacting to the sponsorship, President of the Movement for Arondizuogu Progress (MAP) Mazi Eric Ikoro, thanked Ace Roots for the sponsorship adding that the it was instrumental to the success of the festival, ‘We are very grateful to Ace Roots for this initiative. With this gesture, the drink has really proven to be truly African

The people of Arondizuogu have proven yet again that Nigerians are never reluctant to embrace their roots irrespective of their place of residence.

Arondizuogu is an annual socio-cultural and religious festival staged in different parts of the world to celebrate thanksgiving, propitiation and feasting. 

107 comments:

Jojo said...

Hehehe .......getting interesting

Linda pls keep ur mouth shut. Go back to your village nd stop overcrowding lagos for us. Go to your Imo state

Yesso!
We are not living lagos anytime soon.

This is nice, and great. Thumbs up to them, and more power to d Ndigbo.

Ndi Igbo kwenu!

Why will dey wanna leave,bunch of thieves,419, pple,they love sweet place naa, nonsense pple.

Ndi Igbo kwenu!

Na dem sabi

Ibos have come to stay not even threats from
the Oba can scare them away.
Ibos are fearless.

Nice, and great.

Abeg mek dem hold life jacket for hand incase oba send dem to dat lagoon without notice oo

Ok nice one... Lindiway bomb factory was discovered @ IMO State. Today try and get the update!

I dey sure say you grow up for village Linda.....U too talk! All that na past tense and we all don move on.

Idyllic Prince said...

Didn't see Perikoma, Ikeji is not complete without Perikoma
~Idyllic has Spoken~

LAGOS IS NOT IGBOS PEOPLE HOME... PLEase don't even get it twisted...

For their mind

Leave me! Lagos belongs to all of us cos na all of us join hand build am. Igbo kwenu! Linda take note!

laura oti said...

Interesting.

laura Oti said...

Interesting

Tendency oby said...

Good .tasted n trusted

Yes. Not living. Olodo

They can only hold it at the stadium when they don't have thier origin from here, The people of EKO are very welcoming and nice. I don't know why you will want to impose yourself on another mans land. Can I go to Anambra and have an EYO festival there? This is a clear case of not knowing your place when your host extends hospitality to you. They have invited you to come and eat but you not only want to claim ownership of the pot of soup, you want to claim the farm and the market where the ingredients came from as well.

Linda leave this topic already! You are over flogging the issue and clearly showing your bigot side to us. We already kno u r tribalistic but for the sake of peace let's just move on from these ethnic issues. We the young generation should teach our elders that we are better than them by not letting this issues divide us! The man made a mistake, both Yoruba, Igbo and other tribes condemned it. Forgive, forget and move on. PEACE to Nigeria

All these Lagos belongs to all of us is very insulting to the people who are traditionally from Lagos. I don't know how the ino people don't see this. You don't go to someone's land and claim ownership, nobody asked you to come here. This whole thing might just start another war, sad thing is, the Ibos will run back to thier land. I think peoe should before sensitive when they discuss this issue. It's easy for hatred to start building up. Let's be cautious.

Keep deceiving yourself. How if I may ask did u contribute to d growth of Lagos?

Linda there's an open letter blasting RMD that is trending on social media pls check it out

Thank you! That's just how igbo's are. They're like leeches. Very ungrateful and anti progress. They are also very inhospitable in their own place.
I hope they do something about them in Akure fast before they become a menace there too.

I hate d way these igbos are going about things. It's really disgusting. D yoruba ppl can't go to their states n claim ownership. Show some respect y'all.

Igbo kwenu!

We are deporting all of you back to where you came from. Especially Linda, u are going back to Imo since u are a Biafran. We 've turned u into a millionaire; so, it's time to go back. Linda go and pack your things u are leaving tonite.

Yoruba ppl tryn to claim lagos. Do you how many countless developments, institutions & estates wouldnt exist if not for non-indigenes. be fooling urself there.

Are u not a fool? Why did ur Omo onile collect money from me when I wanted to purchase a land? And I'm sure you're still a tenant in Lagos forming son of the soil. Eleribu

Juliet Iwuno which part of Lagos did u or any of your Ibo pple build?

Lol,ok o!

We should just becareful the way we flog this type of issue cos its very senditive.

The worst is its always the broke, lazy and bitter yoruba people that come here to be tribalistic, animals. Don't go and hustle to make money, I'm igbo and my father owns 3 houses in Lagos, I just got myself a piece of land in Festac, and y'all still busy coming on LIB to tell her and other IGBOS to go away from Lagos. Make una no go find work, na hunger go kill all of una.

Bastard

Dont know what is wrong with this igbo pple, bcos jimi agbaje is just usinh u to get votes, u think u can misbehave here, anyhow it goes tomorow neither jimi or ambode will leave their pple and support u mark my words, everwhere u go, u cause troble, china, uk, us, even small cotonu here, u should be ashamed of urselves.at the of the day for the lasgidi mata u are just beign used

JIMI AGBAJE **
You want to remove Lekki Toll Gate, Yet the Airport Toll Gate owned By FG Is milking Lagosians Dry. The Airport Toll Gate generates N19b yearly yet the road to the airport is a sad story!!** You also promised 150,000 housing units, yet Jonathan could only build 30,000 Nationally in 6years at a cost o N3 Trillion Naira. Where u wan see the money?Lagos budget is N467 billion yearly. ** You Promised to reduce taxes, Yet Jonathan set up tax review which suggested an upward increase in taxes(Moreover, Jaykay Pharmacy didn't even pay taxes?) ** You want to abolish Lastma, Kai, Lamata etc, Yet Ferma, Sure-P,Immigtation,all demanded money from people to get employment.Sure-P in Lagos recieved N27b what was the money used for?**Yet The PDP led Federal Tax force' demanded and took N5000 for Application forms and and so took N35,000 for uniforms,yet they didn't employ one single soul.Shame!!!You want to pay Lagos Workers Minimum wage, as "Governor to be" did you ask the workers if they are not already enjoying N18,760.00 In Lagos. ** You said you will stop the Public Private Partnership used to build the Ikoyi Link Road.You must be out of your mind.Which project did the PDP execute in Lagos in 6 yrs, not one project. Moreover, your PDP led Federal Government signed PPP agreement to build '2nd Niger bridge' for N129 Billion. Jimi Agbaje, why are you promising what you know you cannot make happen just to win votes? Jimi Agbaje, what do you really have for Lagosians? Jimi Agbaje, Why are you trying to pit the Igbos against Lagosians?The Igbos are Lagosians too!!Jimi Agbaje,PDP as a party has failed!!Jimi Agbaje why are you trying to 'discontinue' the best performing state?A Government/State that has survived despite all Odds!!The reason why Lagos is working is because the PDP have never and will never rule Lagos!!We need CONTINUITY in Lagos because it's the PRAGMATIC choice!!!......pls re bc if u are a concerned lagosian

The only ibos that won't get over the oba's comments are the ones that came/migrated fro the east. The ibos that were born in Lagos believe they are lagosians and understand perfectly the love, hospitality and care of the lagos yorubas. Only people who came from the east into lagos especially the fresh immigrants take this too personally. Linda is one of them and its a shame to see such happening, And before you slay me, I am talking from experience as a Delta boy born and bred in isolo, lagos

Thieves Mtcheew

Slave. You are ashamed to own that property in the East? Afraid of your hard working kidnappers and thieves in the East? Low lives. Proud to call another man's property your own. Ashamed of the land of your birth.

Am just happy am an igbo dude like really really happy i swear....

Olaide Davies. said...

Linda, i hate u

@Anon 6:53 the house he built in his dream with the blood of your moda shey? Fucking roaches. By the time government starts revoking your C/O you'll know where you stand. By the time you pple start taking corpses to your villages everyday, you will know that the lagoon drowning is not a physical threat.

Bastard! Who you help? Mumu

It's actually so funny because Jimi Agbaje who is a Yoruba man is just using the Igbo for his deceitful ambition.Lagos belongs to the Yoruba people:Even on Wikipedia it says Yoruba are the sole owners of Lagos

Orekelewa said...

Linda. You are just stupid.if the yoruba descend on you.you think you can pick your things.remember ghana must go.you better sit down and enjoy your little sucess.ask your grandma about boafra story ode
that is when you will know dt the socalled property you have does not belong to you.you think you have achieved and can start war.silly girl.you better go yo your village and dtart blogging there ode

And yet u still visit her Blog every second

So it is Ibo people that wants to claim Lagos? Do you know that Eko has its own culture and dialect (not the regular Yoruba everyone speaks) Yorubas have more claims to Eko than an Ibo man for sure, truth is All Ibos can leave Lagos and I DARE THEM to do so, Lagos will still exist in all its glory. I will never go to Ibo land and say because I have been there for long and worked there, then to hell with the indigenes. When you first arrived Lagos, the language and culture was Yoruba, if you liked it so much and decided to stay, why insult the people who are histing you? Why are you incensitive to the culture and rights of the people who have allowed you to prosper on thier land. If the SE WAS SO GREAT, what are you doing here then, carry your investment back to the SE then and let's see how prosperous you can make your land.

What exactly do u mean by "Something " u tribalistic fellow!

God bless you!

Onomiroro Dono Okeh said...

Lol! No shaking.
Kindly click
A People's Prayer
CHIC-Wedding Day Proposal
Questionable Questions Ladies Ask

So sad, the foolishness of the Ibo people will not let them see that Joni shake is using them. And I do think that the Ibos claiming Lagos is no mans land are very ungrateful indeed. Let's all be smart, embrace our various cultures and be proud, and if we move around this country for economic reasons or otherwise, respect the people who own the state you are in.

Nigerian Breweries has done it again AceRoots... Origin your elder brother has arrived. just strolling by

The build all that houses in Lagos , I guess there village is not good enough. Even there PDP EX president Just Finish he's house in Banana Island, etuko should not expect him

Clap for yourself, your father owns 3 houses in Lagos, you are buying as well, how many homes does your father have at home. I am Ibo, my family makes money in Lagos and take it back home. The day everyone willbe asked to answer thier fathers name, you will carry the land on your head back to the east. Ibo people do not learn, lessons from the civil war, Ibos incested everywhere but home, when the war came, they lost everything. I cry for my people when I see thier foolishness.

Linda can blog from Anambra, we will still read it, nobody hates Ibo people, we are just saying be respectful to the Yorubas and don't vlsim thier land as yours.

No one is changing the Igbos out of Lagos, we are only saying respect your host. Jimi is lying to u people to win. What he don't realize is he has alienate Yorubas. I know die hard Jimi fans work r now going for Ambode

Trust me darling, even their life Jacket is Fake.

The way this Idiots are sounding, u will think they all own a house in Lagos SMH. Every Land Lord in Lagos now know once an Igbo tenants pays the 1st 2yrs, he will enjoy your house for 3years free lol.

Miss Bakes said...

Any which way, ive learnt swimming

Please all this nonsense has to stop.The Igbos know who owns Lagos without a doubt.
As no Yoruba man can dare clain ownership of Anambra,Imo,Aba , so can no Igbo claim ownership of Lagos.The hospitality of the Yoruba race should not be taken for granted.

Linda, my advice to you is to stop fueling discord because I can assure you if this yawa start na nylon bag you go take carry your load comot for that place wey you na dey claim.Go and ask what happened in Kaduna to the Igbos.That will be small compared to what could happen in Lagos if you don't preach peace.

Miss Bakes said...

Take am easy. Buh I sure say Ur vex na fit kill Ant...lol

And the funny thing is that, Igbo people are not very welcoming. Try holding a festival of this nature in the east for another tribe and see how they will react. After all is Onitsha not a commercial centre but I have never heard any Igbo person say it is no man's land.

IGBO, THE MOST GREEDY AND ANNOYING TRIBE IN NIGERIA. THAT IS WHY THE NDI HAUSA DISLIKE YOU PEOPLE WITH PASSION

Lolo iyawo obasanjo toh lenu bi ibon said...

Anon 7:52 shut the fuck up! You're not igbo, and if you are you're a bastard! Very soon we'll move our Oriji festival here, and there's nothing, I repeat NOTHING y'all can do about it. Igbos are successful anywhere and everywhere in the world it's only Yoruba that can't stand it and feel intimidated, all of you should GO and DIE! Linda don't even need to talk much about this Lagoon stuff the Oba spoke for the Yorubas, that how they feel deep down inside their black stomachs, Eti ya wérè. Ko si ikan ti babanla baba yin le she!

Signed: Omo Nna 1 of obodo Ndi ofe mmanu
Ele lo pa ara yin danu, wahala le ko ara yin si
As u can see I can type n speak your language too kill yourselves

linaluv said...

It some how that the igbo's are trying to claim ownership in lagos while in their state a yoruba man can never acquire a land property cos they even kill them selves talk more of a stranger, evn if u own a business there they will make sure they dupe u. Go to ur fathers land nd invest their liv lagos alone 419

Shut the fuckup....i hav a frnd who's father own a house in enugu....so shut ur mouth other yeruba pple are struggling and makin money here in d east...the man is a proud landlord and I heard he is nw building hostel..tak a several seat

Olufunmi said...

I thought I was the only one who noticed how they have started flooding Akure. Like you, I find them rude, repugnant and ungrateful.
If care is not taken, they will become a full blown nuisance ball especially at Oja oba.
Evil people.

We are Igbos and not ibos. Please have it in mind even as you keep loving Ndi Igbo. Dalu

That's the problem of we African dragging over nothing...dts y we are not progressing...jealousy and hatred live amongs us all why? Take 4 instance in america most celebritie there are not realy American stil dey accommodate them...as far as u got somfin 2 offer the wil allow u 2 progress....the kadashian are not Americans by origin,..pierce brosman(007) is not an American anold schwarzenegger is not an American buh dey all live in peace and harmony...not minding whr u are from...they accommodate talents from any country.....buh we are here proving right over who own lagos...am an igbo guy we all knw it belong 2 the yeruba...nobody is dragging it....am just disapointed seeing the new generation who are educated arguing about tinz lik dis...everybody has the ryt 2 own a land anywhr in dis country so why all dis argument? I hav yeruba pple as course mate here in enugu we all act like brothers....we shud be thinking on how 2 move this country forward 2geda than fight over who owns lagos...the genesis of all this ws bcos of wat d OBA said...tryin 2 force pple 2 vote 4 his candidate.....com 2 think of it not all yeruba support ambode..shud they also drown in lagoon!!?

Hahahahah!linda don suffer oooo

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

Mumu biafran story u said...both the hausa and yeruba fought ibo....so u beta shut ya mouth...can u fight?

Linda, I am Igbo and I do not like the way you are over flogging this issue. Leave it and my Igbo brothers, happunu okwua abeg. Everybody including the Yorubas condemned the oba's speech.
Linda put your blog to good use and stop stirring up hate. It does nobody any good. Rise above tribalism

Innocentia Annie said...

So many shitty commentaries on here
People are being so tribalitc
Both the ibos $ yorubas
Too alarming for my liking

We should have left the Ibos in the east when they were starving to death over there. We would not have these problems today. No, bcos we( Yorubas) are kind hearted, we brought them here and now they want to claim our land as their own. Bunch of ingrates. We are deporting all of u.

Noon o! Leave Linda let her continue to stoke the fire.When they begin yo kill people's children she'll know what she's done.This is exactly what stoked the hatred that led to the northern anti Igbo progrom before the civil war.Linda continue.We will know if you will carry your range & camry on your head to your village? I am igbo & I am sad at what you are doing cos of your PDP friends.

Linda,havent you over flogged this issue of the Oba''s threat. You need to get a grip, everyone is over it and and all you can do is to fans the embers of hatred, How are you different from the Oba who made the statement.Nobody asked Igbos to leave Lagos so what is your point. Therre are seroious issues out there for instance the kidnapping of 3 young children, please grow up and learn when to let go

They can only do this in Lagos because of Yorubas tolerance and social maturity. If they try it at home, they will be kidnapped by their own brothers. Linda is an Ethnic Biggot. This is what the did in Kano and Kaduna that ultimately led to the infamous Biafran war. After the election we shall know who owns Lagos.

Yoruba ppl smh at u ppl, didn't y'all ask urselves why comments are just few here, it's bcos igbos are fearless ppl,so that's why they dnt wanna comment on dis cos dis matter na beans, and y'all can't do shit, if u want title or celebrations like dis pls go to south east Nigeria and live or dwell there for long and u will be conferred an honorary titles or if possible buy some lands too, sorry u guys can't push igbos outta lagos,we are the pillar of lagos

Bastardz

Come to igbo villages and see houses naw.
U think it's those backward witchcraft infested Yoruba villages where they sit in mud houses? How many of them can even go home to their dead villages to plant cocoa and chew kpako.
Now all lowlife Yoruba touts are telling igbos 2 leave Lagos. Even the ones from ijebuigbo, ogbomosho and those backward and local areas. After helping ur Lag rise to this height... don't even dream.
Where I served in Yoruba land, d level of depravity, illiteracy, poverty and dirtiness ehn. Only gud tin was that leaves and vegetables were cheap. Guess who had the biggest provision shop there? An igbo man. Yorubas don't know a thing about business, this is why igbos come to ur land and prosper. Stop talking shit about being accommodating. This is a federation, we pay heavy tax too and work very hard. Don't act like you do shit 'cept 4 bleat while we make money

This being said. I love my Yoruba friends.
Cos I grew up among educated lot
But the semi literate Yorubas keep giving the tribe a bad name. Just like our dear Oba.
I attend the Eyo festival and other nice Yoruba activities. if Egungun is done in Anambra and the igbo people and Yoruba community attends, it will be great...igbos can't stop people from expressing themselves. I visit amala joints in Enugu and Pasuma music on the blast. Nobody notices or complains.
You Yorubas live in Abuja and Portharcourt and no body discusses thier issue despite the cacophony of many of them. So make una free. Think of urselves and family, you don chow?

Come to igbo villages and see houses naw.
U think it's those backward witchcraft infested Yoruba villages where they sit in mud houses? How many of them can even go home to their dead villages to plant cocoa and chew kpako.
Now all lowlife Yoruba touts are telling igbos 2 leave Lagos. Even the ones from ijebuigbo, ogbomosho and those backward and local areas. After helping ur Lag rise to this height... don't even dream.
Where I served in Yoruba land, d level of depravity, illiteracy, poverty and dirtiness ehn. Only gud tin was that leaves and vegetables were cheap. Guess who had the biggest provision shop there? An igbo man. Yorubas don't know a thing about business, this is why igbos come to ur land and prosper. Stop talking shit about being accommodating. This is a federation, we pay heavy tax too and work very hard. Don't act like you do shit 'cept 4 bleat while we make money

This being said. I love my Yoruba friends.
Cos I grew up among educated lot
But the semi literate Yorubas keep giving the tribe a bad name. Just like our dear Oba.
I attend the Eyo festival and other nice Yoruba activities. if Egungun is done in Anambra and the igbo people and Yoruba community attends, it will be great...igbos can't stop people from expressing themselves. I visit amala joints in Enugu and Pasuma music on the blast. Nobody notices or complains.
You Yorubas live in Abuja and Portharcourt and no body discusses thier issue despite the cacophony of many of them. So make una free. Think of urselves and family, you don chow?

@lindaikeji I'm waiting for u to post "bitter truth about igbos" by FFK

They will collect money cos u don't know the way back to ur village to buy land and instead want to die in anoda man's land. Didinrin. Land, pperties or not, u don't belong here. Ure welcome though...

Sensible post

No be only elder brother. ....everybody for em Lane. .........# No limitation

Disappointed in this Blog is an understatement.Maturity is indeed not by age. We should preach peace not violence
If Linda knew how many followers she has lost in d last one week she will adjust. # One love. Ada

Damochedxb said...

Anon 8 : 22 Just see the hate emitting from your comment? I am pretty sure this hate didnt start post Obas speech, you been hating from the womb cos the Ibo hate for the Yoruba tribe is simply genetics. May God have mercy on you tribalist. ..

Awon omo ale jatijati, olori ibu, all you cursing igbos are just big fools, igbos are free minded and libral that's why God keeps blessing and prospering us any where we go, we don't have an evil mind that's why despite what the hausa's did to us we are still in the north prospering. We invest and build anywhere we like, afterall we didn't force you lazy ass lots to sell your lands to us, and mind you we all have houses in our villages, that's where we go to every Christmas to flex, the kind of houses you won't see in lagos talkless of your wretched yoruba villages that look like pigs sty. Igbos should leave lagos abi, but whenever we travel for Christmas lagos is always so dry,no business booms, even market women and bus drivers will be complaining and praying for the holidays to come to an end so that lagos can function again and they can make a living. Smh. Curse me and die! Ndi ala

Damochedxb said...

Dont even dare praise a people after you have devalued , degraded their essense and existence like you did in your first paragraph. Thats exactly how you feel... Just look at you degrading another tribe and praising yours, typical of you people, its in your blood. May God have mercy on you tribalistic and entitled bunch.

Hahaha nneva patronizes ibos .all their products are fake.

Trust ondo state people. They Will massacre them

I usually don't comment but 'u are d pillar of lagos'?????????pls don't push ur luck...we all condemned what d oba said but u igbo pple are really going too far and I'm extremely disappointed in linda...used to be a fan but u are obviously a bigot

@ anon8:01 listen to urself, pay for 2yrs n stay for 3 yrs, so yhu trying to say dat ibos r fraudulent ppl

We know lagos z your lifeline. Shame on u forest animals.

If u r not careful yall igbos...u will CRY like in d 60z.....u seems to be confident Yorubaz cant be violent na....u r decieved. Mine z a still truthful voice...

Jaja said...

If Ibo people are so successful why can't they take all this money and go and develop their states and villages?

The truth is that Ibo people have this disgusting trait of misbehaving and arrogance in other people's lands. Here in Chad, an Ibo man married a Chadian. The man beats his wife everyday, doesn't pay his rent and drinks. People have been warning him everybody to stop beating his wife he doesn't listen.

Unfortunately he is not the only Ibo man behaving this way. It's a shame and disgrace!

Their business

Thank you.
Linda you too rest on top the matter

Abi oh.
after the whole insults.
choose one side.

Oaky nah, ndi igbo weldone

Ibos cannot try this in the North of Nigeria. I think the Oba has made a comment, but we should be careful the ways in which this is flogged. To be forewarned is to be fore-armed.