Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 March 2015

Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter

So, this morning I got a stinker email from a group that wanted me to do something for them that I refused. I want to tell you guys what it is and you tell me if I was wrong. This is from me, Linda, by the way, and not a reader...lol.

You guys remember the airport cleaner Josephine Agwu, who found money inside one of the toilets at MMIA and returned it? (read here) Well, an NGO wrote to me and said they had opened a gofundme account for the lady for people to contribute money to her in appreciation of her honesty and wanted me to help them publicize the page and get you guys to donate. I told them no! Continue to read why I said no.

Now, you all know that I have used this platform to raise money for a lot of people. I have also personally contributed my own money to some of these people and to a few causes, so I'm really big on helping people and giving back but I have a problem with trying to raise money for someone just because they were honest. 

Are we not supposed to be honest? Don't get me wrong. If I see Josephine today face to face, I'd definitely give her money and a hug...but that's from me personally. Now, asking my readers to give her money when she's not sick and when she's gainfully employed and even had her salary increased recently, that one is a different matter. What was I supposed to tell you guys? Please dash money to this lady for returning money that doesn't belong to her?

Not only was her action recognized and appreciated, she was also rewarded by quite a few people and groups. And don't forget the thousands of prayers and well-wishes. Trying to raise money for her via gofundme is an overkill...I think! You don't have to agree with me.

This brings me to the question I asked those people when they sent me a mail insulting me (lol) for refusing to publicize the page. Was Josephine not supposed to return the money? Was it hers to keep? If you saw money that doesn't belong to you somewhere, would you keep it? Are we not supposed to return lost items we found? If you keep it, does that not make you a thief? If she'd taken the money and was later caught, would she not have been called a thief? Would she not have been sacked? If it was in public with uncivilized people, would she not have been lynched? Is returning lost property not the right thing to do? So why are some people glorifying this behavior so much like she did something unbelievably unheard of?

Has our society lost its morals so much that returning money that doesn't belong to you is now something that deserves to get you a gofundme page? *sigh*

I'm done. Let me move on to other things but what do you guys think?

1,024 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   1001 – 1024 of 1024

#smh - u don't need to post this, it's your opinion. Others have theirs.

#smh If we didn’t have weapons to fight BH, what if Cameroun or Chad or Benin, or any other country, had invaded us?

#smh - UK Ministry of Defense says it has information about the missing Chibok girls but cannot share it with Nigeria because according to them, revealing details of what it found about the whereabouts of the abducted girls would clearly damage its relationship with Nigeria and other allies. WONDERING WHY GEJ’s GOVERNMENT DOESN’T WANT THE UK TO RELEASE THE INFORMATION NOW.

Lhami said...

She's a great hero, there isn't a crime in what the NGO planned doing, it would change her story, she can get away with such money and would still work at same place disguising to be same broker woman, it would be a great thing if those who want to appreciate her can do through what the NGO intended doing.

She took the bag to FAAN security without opening it ( who said she is not afraid of bomb and wants to live longer). And who also told u dat if she knows what's in d bag she will return it. Chance and time. Not trying to paint her black but asking for whatever is totally insane. She's being recognised n appreciated. Pls wat again. My prayer for u Linda is dat God grant u wisdom in all u do. U did well.

Nigerians are just a bunch of uncivilized set of people, in other countries, in mean sane countries like white man's land, doing that is an obligation and not an option, so why praising that act as she just brought a dead soul back to life.. Rubbish

Don't sweat it you are right

Dear Linda, i am not happy that you did not publish it, in a Country like Nigeria where youths no longer believe in hard work, but yahoo, yahoo. her action deserves commendation..pls let ask you this question... if she had gone to work half naked wouldn't you have published it? please encourage good morals as well. thanks.

I support ur response Linda. Dey ar Fraudster

Oba254 said...

Are you actually seeking objective opinions on this matter? From my own perspective, people on this site worship you, "aunty Linda this...aunty Linda that"..., so I know whatever your stance is they will agree. In my opinion, your reasons are good, but you are coming from an elitist mindset using such excuses such as, she is gainfully employed, she was promoted, etc. So earning 7500 that was increased to 15,000 naira is now gainfully employed. Come on now! I live in the United States, Washington DC to be exact, and what she did is commendable.

If the news here reported that a janitor making $8 per hour at McDonalds with five children discovered a huge pile of money and returned it, I can assure you Oyinbo people would have initiated a gofundme account for him already. So yes, honesty is important and it is the right thing to do, but I don't know any Nigerians in her situation that would have done what she did. Yes, good behavior should be rewarded; it's called positive reinforcement. I would reward my child for receiving an A in class because I want to see that behavior continued.

In addition, I am a bit confused on how posting about a gofundmeaccount is somehow forcing your readers to pay this lady. I simply see this as an opportunity to disseminate information that I may not have been privy to if I had not come here, but I don't see it as force, Unless a different definition of force is used in Nigeria.

Lastly, I don't know how gofundme works in Nigeria, but here they are efficient. I would be leery of providing my money to Nigeria NGO unless they have been verified as reputable, so I understand your hesitation on that matter, but everything else is nonsense.

skenky2g1 said...

I respect your opinion Linda.Why should they raise money for her.What can be done is the federal and state government should recognize her and give her an award.Monetary recognition is not the best form of recognition

Daniel said...

Good thinking babe! Case closed!

Linda, why ask for our opinion when you have made up your mind vehemently ?

barrister said...

Whhhaaat? Linda where is my comment.

Most people that are saying what is the big deal that she return the money, most of u will not return the money. She should really be rewarded for what she has done but not compelling people to donate for her

Aviky said...

She might not get a dime from the found me acct. that's what they do. Avikyphoenix.blogspot.com

I don't know o. They seem not to be involved n this is very ungrateful of them

Linda pls dont mind them ....donate for honesty....really

Linda no mind dem they are crazy mofos and they're mad scammers "my thoughts"

linda, if a celebrity steals for example, it will be on your blogg. a lady taking nud pictures or silicon exploding while having sex, it will definatly be on you blog. i read so many irrelivant post from you. ##no offences.

this would have been a channel/platform to create a notion that people can do good and get nation wide support. anyways, it's your blog.

"Now, you all know that I have used this platform to raise money for a lot of people. I have also personally contributed my own money to some of these people and to a few causes, so I'm really big on helping people and giving back but I have a problem with trying to raise money for someone just because they were honest".... so you claim but it's yet to be seen.

To the crux of the matter in this society PEOPLE HAVE INDEED LOST their values and what she did is A BIG DEAL and must be celebrated. She was on Jimi Disu's programm the discourse, he gave out her bank details and i personally paid money into it. LINDA see yourself grateful to be a part of this ( well coming from someone who has two very corrupt people as her wall paper i know why you cannot see why a moral person should be celebrated)

Gofundme is a platform for raising funds ( a reputable platform which verifies before allowing anyone use them so ignorant people here saying they want to use it to HAMMER need their brains examined)right now there is A BABY WITH EYE CANCER WHO NEEDS 32MN (AIREN EDOSA JANICE) her mum works in Ecobank and her friends have used the gofundme platform to try to raise money. If you wouldn't do it don't like i told Ali baba today we have lost our morales and values ( if you had any) so acts like these are brushed off. Infact people insult the woman for returning the money calling her mumu.

You are wright my swit sugar and milo, is your decision that makes you a unique person also gives you the ability to be whom you are; as DIRECTOR/OWNER of this very blog!

So don't be distracted by any background noise; move on my dear.

AK
stephen.akpan@atlanticfluids.net

Taiwo said...

You are quite right Linda. I wonder if they didn't have an ulterior motive for opening such account. Nigerians should stop being fraudulent.

beemaxx said...

dont be fooled lindana 419 boys a legit ngo will not insult u or even think of doing dat go fund me stg. na God save u them for pack u for roger with fraudsters dem.loool

Bukas said...

Wise decision Linda. Brillant you!!

«Oldest ‹Older   1001 – 1024 of 1024   Newer› Newest»