Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 March 2015

Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter

So, this morning I got a stinker email from a group that wanted me to do something for them that I refused. I want to tell you guys what it is and you tell me if I was wrong. This is from me, Linda, by the way, and not a reader...lol.

You guys remember the airport cleaner Josephine Agwu, who found money inside one of the toilets at MMIA and returned it? (read here) Well, an NGO wrote to me and said they had opened a gofundme account for the lady for people to contribute money to her in appreciation of her honesty and wanted me to help them publicize the page and get you guys to donate. I told them no! Continue to read why I said no.

Now, you all know that I have used this platform to raise money for a lot of people. I have also personally contributed my own money to some of these people and to a few causes, so I'm really big on helping people and giving back but I have a problem with trying to raise money for someone just because they were honest. 

Are we not supposed to be honest? Don't get me wrong. If I see Josephine today face to face, I'd definitely give her money and a hug...but that's from me personally. Now, asking my readers to give her money when she's not sick and when she's gainfully employed and even had her salary increased recently, that one is a different matter. What was I supposed to tell you guys? Please dash money to this lady for returning money that doesn't belong to her?

Not only was her action recognized and appreciated, she was also rewarded by quite a few people and groups. And don't forget the thousands of prayers and well-wishes. Trying to raise money for her via gofundme is an overkill...I think! You don't have to agree with me.

This brings me to the question I asked those people when they sent me a mail insulting me (lol) for refusing to publicize the page. Was Josephine not supposed to return the money? Was it hers to keep? If you saw money that doesn't belong to you somewhere, would you keep it? Are we not supposed to return lost items we found? If you keep it, does that not make you a thief? If she'd taken the money and was later caught, would she not have been called a thief? Would she not have been sacked? If it was in public with uncivilized people, would she not have been lynched? Is returning lost property not the right thing to do? So why are some people glorifying this behavior so much like she did something unbelievably unheard of?

Has our society lost its morals so much that returning money that doesn't belong to you is now something that deserves to get you a gofundme page? *sigh*

I'm done. Let me move on to other things but what do you guys think?

1,024 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   801 – 1000 of 1024   Newer›   Newest»

"If you saw money" what grammar from a self acclaimed Nigerian millionaire blogger.

Affiliating & Digital Marketer said...

Who knows if those people that claim to gofund here are scammers. To the extent of insulting you.. Nawa oooo!

I blame corruption!!

Sorry we won't waste our time commenting because our comments usually never published.

Jackigb said...

Linda, I completely agree with you on this. The whole idea is uncalled for. Are you surprise that you were insulted for not 'cooperating'? It is obvious they have personal interest.

I totally agree with you. Its time we begin to build our nation. The word thank you should be big enough.

Erege Chinonye said...

Abeg you did the right tin... why would pple give her money as if she performed a miracle.. mtcheww Abegi.. post oda tins abeg

I think that what you did was really okay..Because it's her integrity and she did very well by keeping it. She got a salary increase and she is being rewarded by other people. There is no need for a 'gofundme' account. I totally agree with you Lindodo!

Its cos of d high rate of corruption in d world now. Pple like ds r hard to find. Buh sha, u r right, she has been recognized. It haff do!.

Presh said...

Its really obvious the NGO wants to use this as an avenue to exploit the public.

Zizi said...

No mind them Linda they are looking for ways to make money of her sigh***

Actually I tink u ryt y d fuss!!!...she did sumtin ryt she has been regconizd so y rais money 4 ha again abi she don sick?abeg Linda if u xplaind 2 dem n de no agree wif u mak dem hug transforma na e de everywer

israel eyo said...

U'so so write aunty linda...ojukokoro no good..after all d 1day fame..they still want more,,

Linda I quite agree with you on this, you're right. This will show You the level of moral decadence in our society today. I shake my head in shame.mtschew.

You were right to do so. I also want to thank you for helping my family in a time of crisis.

Actually I tink u ryt y d fuss!!!...she did sumtin ryt she has been regconizd so y rais money 4 ha again abi she don sick?abeg Linda if u xplaind 2 dem n de no agree wif u mak dem hug transforma na e de everywer

Maye73 said...

Linda don't mind them ,they're looking for ways to rubbish you and your job,so be careful and prayerful.

She did d right tin nd she has been compensated,so wats d need for gofundme again when she's not handicap nd she is working.

Maye73 said...

Linda don't mind them ,they're looking for ways to rubbish you and your job,so be careful and prayerful.

agreed with miss Linda on her point of view. God bless ur knowledge.

Scam!!!!!

UR RESPONSE WAS IN ORDER! ME THINK THAT NGO IS BEING FRAUDULENT.

Y.A.M.SNIGERIA said...

i couldn't agree more dear. well articulated. Happy weekend

Olasegun said...

I would have said you should contact the woman herself because she might not have been aware of this n.g.o.
I am interested in dropping something for her.

Very impressed with your line of thought here Linda.Our morals are so so gone! Millions of Nigerians would have bolted with that money & have their relatives & friends hail them for being 'sharp'

Linda, you did the right thing. Leave those people alone. Their insults will not change a damn thing about you. Continue to stand tall.

That Function Gurl said...

I concur Linda!

I think you are right, Linda. She did what most people won't do probably me. Her honestly has opened doors for her, she has been appreciated, prayed for and compensated but starting a fund raising whatever that's going over the top. Who knows maybe someone is trying to make money from her story..This is Nigeria, anything is possible. These people should do something better with their lives and let God do the rest of the appreciation for her and her family

story story......Linda, berra make ur money and leave those yeye pple

I think you are on point n i believe those people have their personal interest in dis issue.

XTY said...

Kudos Linda!!! Great standpoint,am very sure the woman isn't even aware of this. So many dishonest clowns hide behind the name NGO to reap people off. If they can't take your NO, make them go jump from 3rd mainland (lol)

I feel if ppl want to donate for her let them do it to show her a sign of appreciation but I hope she gets all the donations

Nicely and lucidly written, I am even wondering if those people are genuine in the first instance.
She did the right thing period and that is what is expected of a good citizen.

U are without doubt absolutely right for not publicizing payment for a good thing that was done just because she found and returned the money gives her no platform to solicit for money for doing something Right.

Linda don't mind them oooo, ndi oshi, they want to make money with her name and picture. Its likely the women is not aware of these ooooo. Anyone that want to dash the woman money should go to airport and see her and give her money. Naija can use any means to make money. Lindo bone them,

mozoella said...

you did the right thing...so they should dash her money for returing something that is not hers? tschhhww

mozoella said...

you did the right thing...so they should dash her money for returing something that is not hers? tschhhww

you smart.. you loyal...

cutie na said...

I think u are right and thoughtful Linda. I still respect her decision to return the money, cos like u said it's the right thing to do.

Bless you for this post....Yes she did something right...but isn't she supposed to have done this?
Why should someone be rewarded for doing something right?
Does this mean that the so called guys raising funds wouldn't have done this if they were in her shoes? (cos it seems like a big deal to them apparently) and if so, should they now be trusted with whatever funds they raise?
I have seen people cheat on their partners and expect their partners to automatically forgive them because they were honest about it.

Honesty should never be rewarded by man....the only person who can ever reward honesty is God himself...

@linda your main reason should have been not knowing for sure if the lady would even receive the money in the end. Might have been a scam. How do you verify their authenticity? Tunde ooooooo

ANYA IKENGA said...

U did d right thing linda. And by d way who 4gets a hard earned $12k in toilet? D security agencies shld have investigated that money. That money must be someone's cut from a deal. May be vigilante drug kingpin who left it in d toilet to watch events. That lady did wht she was supposed to do or may be Failed to grab her cake.

You are so right jare no mind dem

AHH! The people opening the gofundme account are thieves!!!! Did she ask for more money?If they really wanted to appreciate her, why didn't they pay her out of their own money? Gofundme is to raise money for causes, for illnesses, for foundations and stuff like that, it's not just free cash for nothing. So when the money comes, they'll now take it, give her some and keep the rest? Some Nigerians just like to take advantage of things like this, it's too sad.

You did the right thing Linda! Gofundme indeed. They shldnt exxagerate the matter. She got rewarded already. Abeg next pls

You did well Linda. It seems like they needed the money that's y they stage that, who wud forget their in a toilet?

don't be a dickhead and just help.

I agree with you linda!

I totally agree with u Linda. No mind ppl and their wahala, I think they have an ulterior motive. She shouldn't allow ppl to use her ooooo. Wetin concern me to reward her???? Na pesin wey get d money she find suppose dash her sometin if they so wish. Finito.

*yoruba sigh* she did a good we all know that and those that felt like rewarding which was not compulsory did. and by the way she did what was the right thing to do and any gofundme stuff i think is not necessary. many people have done what she did but because it was not in a public place or somewhere like the airport they were not recognized like her. so for me, Linda any gofundme staff or worker who try insulting you abeg no hesitate wire them your own insult ooo. #idonvex. linda abeg no mind them. as you de find sometin to do, make i go find food chop

Linda, away with the sanctimony...
These people are fraudsters, obviously
But you yourself are playing to the gallery.

I'm sure many political organisations, churches, gossips send you news and you refuse to post it, dey come with the usual rebound insults.

So, why now? Why are you trying to cut this moral upstanding citizen image?
Lmao. Don't make us laugh biko

**BonaParte NN

barrister said...

Linda you are absolutely right. Word for word, that is what is expected,infact some will even return the reward monies and seek God s favor instead if not for our bad economy.

AtlBaby said...

Linda, you don't have to worry about the insults. You did the exact right ting to do and your line of thoughts in making your decision couldn't have been better, I am giving you an hi-five on this one. Gofundme is absolutely an overkill (overkill is almost an understatement sef) next!!!!

Blog with Fury said...

......as a blogger too, what u said is ok by me. The lady in question is not sick or in any condition critical. She is still gainfully employed,she got salary increment from her employer...to she is an honest lady..as the saying goes...honesty is the best policy.

Mr. T.E.A said...

Good decision Linda and good points raised. Not always in tandem with your decisions/approach to societal situations but, I agree with you this time.

Linda you lost your sense of morality when you decided to skew your posts in favour of APC (their post is never sponsored but PDP is, always). This is just the beginning of millions of rubbish you would soon start getting from people. This one self na small insult.

I support you Linda.

Achietho said...

I think the people who started the go fund me page recognized how small her salary is, even after the raise, and felt compelled to improve her life even further. Lets be honest, how many of us would find free money of that amount and return it? Not many! Joyce deserves any extra compassion and money she can get, because she is a great woman. However, it is your blog and noone should try to make you feel bad for not posting something that you didn't feel was necessary. At the same time, do you lose anything by posting it? No..

Linda I have not commented on ur blog for a longtime but I always read stories n comment here,pls forget those people cos they say opportunity comes but once,God gave her opportunity to b rich n she returned it,the woman na mumu,end of story

Jiggy said...

Great. i Love you Linda! Keep doing you. jiggygist.blogspot.com

Shevy said...

@lindaikeji, You fucking did the right thing, For crying out loud, I have no words for the People who asked u to raise money, I think they are trying to take advantage of the situation, its not a Legit NGO, Being honest is not meant to be a Cause for fundraising, They are a Weak NGO or whatever, They are an emotional NGO. Its just too much happening in the world. Her returning the money doesnt make her a honest person generally, she was just honest at that moment. It happens all the time, she had thoughts running in her mind, it could have been an involuntary action. She could steal the next time lol. Linda u did the right thing.

lady KK said...

There's nothing wrong with rewarding someone for doing the right thing. This will encourage others to do same.

Linda just unknowingly publicise the page! Unintended linda or market strategy? Everybody will just head to the page right now n donate! How did u not think this through linda?

Linda u're very correct!!!!!this is how bad our country is,to be honest now is a big deal!let the idiots that insulted u hide their heads in shame(that's if they are not even using the gofundme page for their own interest)!the lady deserves an applause Buh opening a gofundme page?haba!she's not ill for heaven's sake!if u want to reward her from ur pocket,fine.dont force people to start contributing!!!i'm tired of this country abeg!

south ockendon said...

Na scam. Gofundscam

Ral said...

You have a solid point there Linda..She has been recognised and appreciated for doing d right thing. I ve returned expensive lost items though not up to the amount she returned,and I know so many other Nigerians in one way or d other must have done similar act. Those group r just looking for a way to make money out from people with d aim of enriching their own purses..

ogloria149@yahoo.com said...

Linda I'm proud of you,you did the right thing.God bless you

Who is is even sure its not yahoo boys?maybe the woman doesn't even know about this.

I support you Linda. That is the same question I ask wen super eagles gets monetary gift for winning a match. I'm like we pay them salary to play and win........why make it look like they did a favor by winning the match

cynthia said...

Mixed feelings, but I understand your sentiments
Our society has gone so bad that the right tins are seen as heroic

Kemisola said...

You are right Linda, God will continue to strengthen you

Linda are u not in Nigeria?........

I agree it's an overkill but that woman is one in a million,

@ijseraphie said...

LINDA YOU DID THE RIGHT THING!!! NIGERIAN LOSING OUR MORALS,BTW THAT DONATIONS MIGHT BE A SCAM,TO ENRICH THEMSELVES IN THE NAME OF HONESTY BEING THE BEST POLICY AND THE WOMAN! LINDA YOU ARE SMART BY TURNING IT DOWN,AS FOR THE WOMAN,SHE ISN'T COMPLAINING,EVEN IF SHE IS,HER REWARD WILL BE IN HEAVEN AND EARTH,GOD BLESS YOU MA'AM

The NGO na thieves they should raise money for her on there own.they want to use the opportunity to collect money from public.am sure the guys went tru comments , saw number of people that comment called 100.00 atleast by the number and they felt is a good deal and fast way to steal from people

I agree with you linda. Nigeria has become such a mess that we expend our energy on the wrong things. Our priorities are totally skewed. Yes I totally applaud her for what she did which is the right thing and she has been compensated for it. I agree with you that it's an over kill.

Haba which kind package b dat? Thnks Love*Linda* for not accpting ; dz pple ar 419 ; when no b say u get kidney or breast cancer ???? Hahahaha den don turn we LIB Readers to Mumu abie thank God say our oga @d Top no grant dm dir requst kudos my love*Linda* abeg mak dz pple pack well ooooo we get bettr tinz to handel for here

jin said...

I think it's an overkill like you said. Nigerians are very smart with taking advantage of situations for their personal benefit. They obviously want to get publicity for their platform. Don't mind them jor, I stand with you on this

Don't mind them jare,dats d saying whch goes.D rich gets richer while d poor gets poorer.its actually God who rewards honesty not man because its our obligation to b honest

Oreuan said...

Me thinks those NGO people are scam and want to take advantage of the situation. They would have done a fifty-fifty mou or agreement with the girl back door so they can cash in on it... No-Good Organisation

Pls is a big NO to me. I support ur decision Linda

mzmaris said...

Her reward is in heaven..shikena.....she might not even be aware of the gofundme thingy......have u even considered "u+us" were trying to get scammed?

Ola's one and only said...

Honestly I wouldn't have return it.. Times are too tough nowadays to return money found in a public toilets. And to answer your question, yes she deserves to be praised... Not everyone would do that

Ok said...

I totally agree with you .

those guys are criminals she melt not be aware of what they are asking u to do, they jst want to use that medium to collect money from the public they are 419's what is it? is she now a beggar or what?

Linda no mind dem jare. I'm sure they want to raise the money for themselves; I don't trust them. If this was done in good cause they probably should have set examples by donating anonymously.

Bounteous said...

I never looked at it that way but u're right Linda

Pearls said...

I support u linda

I think for saying this rubbish no manners you no sabi talk just delete it cause it faggot talk

You did the right thing jare ... am sure those people are looking to make money for their pockets.

True talk when other people need the money seriously. Linda i respect you on this

My dear Linda, you are very right. It only goes to show us glorifying the rarity of honesty in our society

Linda do ur tin and 4get dose cheap tin dat want 2use josephine 2 make money

Aces said...

I agree with you linda

Hiiiaaan!!! It's uncalled for abeg! So much has been done already...Nigerians and their ways of stealing,u ll be surprised that the money may not even get to her if eventually contributed...mtchshewww

UJ Cool said...

Why are you worried about fraudsters? I agree with your position 1001%. You did the right thing girl.

You dey craze...like if ur in the position,u'd return it when u living on 15k per month...ode

Linda you sound so pained that this woman was honoured for her actions. This is not all about returning the money. Somebody of her level, earning a peanut in a country like Nigeria, saw such amount of money that would have changed her life forever, returned it and you call it normal. Nne it's not normal it's 'rare'. She deserved what she got Linda ewu. Laura would have used that money for bleaching her vains rather.

With all the meaningless stuff that you post on here (they are entertaining though I no go lie), why would you refuse to put something on here that would impact someone's life? If you no way donate that one na your choice but you do not need to deprive the lady from her blessing. Someone else may wish to donate.Please do the right thing and put up the link if na N100 I go donate.

LINDA ,YOU ARE A VERY WISE WOMAN. I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU.

ANDY

Nne updatie nu comments!o gi Na achu ndi Mmadu oso!

Linda I swear for the first time you made the right choice!

udezeobumneme@gmail.com said...

You did well linda, its an act you do without expecting anything in return just like the good samaritan did...if any thank you should come either from the owner of the money returned and other well wishers.. gofundme its another drama all together, more like fraud to me. All we should do is pray for her. This is not the first time someone has done such a good act why is this one so special.. her reward is in heaven

udezeobumneme@gmail.com said...

You did well linda, its an act you do without expecting anything in return just like the good samaritan did...if any thank you should come either from the owner of the money returned and other well wishers.. gofundme its another drama all together, more like fraud to me. All we should do is pray for her. This is not the first time someone has done such a good act why is this one so special.. her reward is in heaven

Linda, u are so right jor!dnt mind them,am sure the woman is not even aware of this...

U r so right! No mind dem jor!!!

Linda you are absolutely right and you touched on the issues that are relevant. The lady already got a deserving recognition and that is enough. Nigeria need more people like you.

$MG said...

Lol, y are you surprised, this is NIGERIA naaa....

Luvly4luv said...

I think you replied them appropriately because what she did did not warrant that. U are really wise my Lily as a true daughter of Anambra!

LIB chairlady said...

Linda wuna do well Jare, in Adeola Fayehun's voice. We dey wan over do things in 9ja

uche lois said...

my dear don't mind them they want to tarnish the woman honesty to something else in fact they want to be thieves now

Ayaoba said...

Seriously Linda, you took the words out of my mouth. Are we not supposed to be honest? Gofundme ko, goraiseme ni.....mscheeeew.

That is d kind of environment where we find our self. We want to monetize every help/favour done to others. We hv lost our sense of moral.

Money makes you fuck lots of women without stress said...

You are 100 percent right.

In a land of abnormality, common sense seems to be a big deal

Thank God u didn't answer,what if they are fraudsters?

jessy deremi said...

If you do good, your business and only yours. If you do otherwise still your business. No one deserves a special gratification for a common good deed.

duchess_ella said...

Tomorrow now another person will come and say his brother found money and has returned it so let the whole of Nigeria begin to contribute money for him, hmmm another way for 419, me sef go talk say I don return money way I find so mk una begin contribute money for me jor,. Aunt Linda I support you jor no mind dem.

Linda you did the right things jare...values and morals have been eroded from our society to the extent that people don't even know what is right or wrong anymore.
How do you even know if they are not trying to raise money for their pockets, in disguise that it is for the woman. lg1702@gmail.com

nekkyville said...

She has bin ap8ted wetin again dem wnt.person even tif ma Sista fone dis evenin n I called him,he picked n started askin for d code of d fone..hmmm I tire..

Linda you are right, but if those people choose to gofund her it's also okay. and yes, our society is very corrupt so it's okay to appreciate the few good ones. It's a thing of choice and a way to encourage people to do good. you also have a right to decline, but exposing the issue here with the woman's pics to me is somehow sha. i don't know how the woman or her family will feel reading this.

Pple using an oppurtunity to extort money 4 their selfish interest. Ur rite Linda biko

The truth is that I don't trust the NGOS. Everything sounds suspicious. People will contribute money into an account opened by them. Then, they disappear or give the woman a part of the money and take the lion share. You spoilt their chances of making good money that's why they are attacking you.

Goodluck Till2019 said...

I think you are right. We shouldn't over glorify this honest honest gestures. It is everybody responsibility to be honest.

Linda I have come to believe u only publicise fund raising for cases dat wud bring u more fame.i have been writing u emails abt a doctor who became quadriplegic(cant use his hands and legs) and needs help but till date I haven't gotten any reply from u.i sent u emails,facebook msgs and twitter msgs n u have done nothing.so pardon me if I don't really believe u r big on helping pple.i m a very huge fan of urs but I have honestly lost faith in u. B4 now u cud do no wrong in my eyes cos I thought u were wonderful.

Linda I think u're right,is good to be honest,what if dis pple asking for d gofundme are scam?

I'm with you on this one honey pot. So sayest me royal prickhood hater. It's a glaring pointer to the fact that our society has lost whatever is left of ita values. Lost and found has become an exceptional act. It used to be so common in my days back in state grammar school.

I don't think people should be rewarded for returning someone's lost item, unless the person who's property is found decides to show appreciation. Countless times I have refund money to my buyers who over paid me and didn't receive any thanks or any kind of appreciation. It is for God to jugde us all, So I don't think she needs the page or whatever.

Trying to use this to fund there on pocket, ask if they are registered charity or organisation, NO! This women's reward awaits her from God and its what money can never buy, maybe good health from God you never know. The good you do today the reward comes in thousand fold, If they want to raise funds let them raise money for north east Nigeria were Bokoharam has displace families who surely needs the help and support, They are 419 Linda and i see no reason why they should be angry because you didn't do what they wanted, Abeg make then go open there own blog raise the money there. Criminal everywhere which way Nigeria which way to Go!

Well its no different from trying to reward GEJ by reelecting him for doing his job.

I totally agree with you....next

Cutejennie4eva said...

Woo....I am with u on this Linda

Linda you're a big darling. A very wise woman as well. Please ignore them. Foolish request.

Linda,i stand by you. i really support you. that woman did the right thing and has been rewarded. This people demanding for people to donate to this woman might be scammers hiding under an NGO. please don't allow them paint this blog black

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Lindy Ʊ are right jare, contribute money for what? Just ignore them joor, Nigerians looking for ways to extort money from people, abeg, its better they keep quiet before d woman lost the glory and good names she has now cos of this.. All is well

Naija Yankee Boy said...

But you just did the publicity. Any LIBer can go and find her on gofundme and donate. You should have ignored them totally. Posting it is publicity on its own. An average of 2M people come here everyday. Some people won't agree with you and go ahead to donate to the fraudulent NGO.

U swallowed some comments here old woman!!!

Review and Revert

@ Anon 07:57pm,
Try Stella Dimoko Korkus blog!
Linda na entertainment blogger but Stella's blog really does give back once she's done her background check.
It is well...

Etsako Pearl said...

Lol.Naija sha....

Linda can't find my comments oh y na

Linda, God Almighty the Alfa and Omega, will continue to bless you, and increase your wisdom in doing this blogging business in Jesus name. Amen.

Am not a regular commenter, I always read and get updated on this blog, but with issues like this can not just go by without commenting. This is how gullible, petty and stupid this society have become. Some are so desperate, that they expect to get VERY rich in whatever way possible. For God sake, how can raising money for a honest person be compulsory.

This show that, she is not naturally honest anyway, its a conditional honesty, the trick many of this so called lowly workers (cleaner, drivers, house help, office assistance, etc) do this days to gain recognition, and get themselves to some height with the notion that, people will see them as being a good person.

We are yearning for good leaders, how about our moral senses? An NGO for that matter, those that should know better. God help us all. Amen.

You are just a bastard and a thief. Its people like you that spoil this country. I wish i have your full name and address, u deserve a dirty slap. Bastard thief.

You are very correct,linda is very selfish and cares only about money. It is well sha it's her blog she can do what she likes

ColdFlame said...

No need to explain nothing. You did the right thing Linda and I believe in so doing you have helped to scuttle a criminal racket in the making. That woman would've seen little if any of whatever these people planned on raising. Plus, the fact of them sending you an insult laden email says plenty... People with noble intentions don't go raising hell against any who disagrees with their viewpoint.

A lot of people might not tell u dis but u r wrong. If u don't want to associate with the NGO don't! But Pls don't condemn their actions, in a society as decayed as ours,we should encourage honesty, it has become very rare and u of all people should know that. I have been on ds blog for years and I v a soft spot for you because u can be unbelievably real sometimes but Linda, you are cunny, you like to paint yourself good anytime u know u v messed up. I can give several examples where u v portrayed this attribute. You are wrong! Honesty in a very corrupt country like our's should be encouraged and celebrated. Don't pass the wrong message, if Toke Makinwa says u r not a role model now, u would start writing an epistle.

Linda,i love u.you are a principled lady.

she don be celeb...GODWIN

m3star said...

Linda, I applaud your decision, please ignore any abuse from these People. In life you will succeed if honesty is a pivotal part of your personality. I've returned several items that were found in Public and does not belong to me; made me feel 12 feet on each occasion.

CELEB said...

Linda, when i wanted to comment on this post, you had 419 comments already.

Linda, thanks for even telling her story. That's enough. If somebody helps the owner of a lost item to find it, the person should expect nothing but gratitude and praise in return. If not, if someone returns 500,000 naira, the person would expect the owner to give him or her 250,000 naira first, then others will use goodwill to make it up to 1 million.

Mrs DTO said...

If they needed contributors, they could have created a website for it or asked the government to compensate her more..

It's a shitty country we live in, where ppl always wants stipend 4 services rendered d@ dey are being paid 4, it's sooo soo exasperating when I go 2 d PH spar erday and 4 d door security hu cheks ur items 2 d car security marshals hu direct on where 2 park and so on always " do smtin 4 ur boy" d@s our mentality here... so it doesn't surprise me when d illiterates u(linda) hv continually allowed 2 post rubbish day in day out still go ahead and support such insane and dumb act, or tell me y I have 2 gv a stipend 2 a security @ an eatery where I have eaten and cleared my bills...., d@ d oda of d day in our 9ja now, d@s y ppl have now chose 2 take up d lady's case 2 open an office 4 dem selves and her, in d name of donations 4 doing her job as a Nigerian.... it's so pissing me of this issue... seriously it's sooo insane.... am so angry Gosh...

VecturnMedia said...

Seconded

Kindly click my profile name for creative and affordable Logo Design, Brand Creation, Website design and Development.
Email: info@vecturnmedia.com.
Twitter: @VecturnMedia
Facebook: Vecturn Media
www.vecturnmedia.com

Goat

PRETTY GIRL said...

Linda the idiots just wanted to exploit your readers,they're mad because you didn't let them...Just ignore them,they're very irrelevant. ..And Yes,you did the right thing dear

I agree with you my. The society has nearly lost all its moral fabrics and for linda to say this woman has done what is normal is an ABERRATION. What this woman did takes somebody who is Holy ghost filled to do. In a nation of EXTREME POVERTY in d MIDST of plenty, this Woman deserve more than crumbs. I am not saying Linda should support d gofundme org., they strike me as 419 but is somebody Linda should assist secretly without d public knowing if she really claim to be generous rather than doling out money every month to Libers many who don't deserve it

Royal Priestfool said...

Your hustle for the 100k end of the year giveaway is real. Motherfucker.

Royal Priestfool said...

His good deeds indeed.

You're actually daft

Is 7500 salary turned 15k ur idea of well paid. Smh stupid!

Rightly said

mimi said...

Linda u re publishing all d comments now bcos it concerns u, mtcheeeeeew! U replied well shaaa...

THE ACT OF SEX said...

Go and sit down, the millions different organizations gave her ain't enough ?

Anty Lin were is my own comment na..
I will fight u oo..

the woman returned the money she find in the toilet because of her church mind and God will reward her.
My question is how much did the own of the money gave to her after he/she lost the bag contain the money? honest is from heart desire. I think she need God reward not men reward, people always like to gain from such matter by coming up with NGO to help her.liars

So some group of people now want to use this platform to enrich their own pockets. For the love of God, she did the right thing by returning the money. I understand in Nigeria of today, she would have kept the money but what if it was a trap? What if she got caught and was truly lynched? Would she have been celebrated this much? God bless her for returning the money but then she did the right and normal thing and she has been rewarded already. I know some group of people will try and make some money off her. If Linda has refused to help them, they should go from door to door or office to office and start to beg for money on her behalf. Nigerians will raise money for the needy, sick and now the righteous? Go save Nigeria.

why don't they open account to people sleeping rough under the bridge and homeless. Linda, thank you for not go ahead and publish the selfish and liars NGO. the woman honest right from her mind because she fear God. the prayers and the gift from some people is more then anything in her life.

I must say you have the right to accept whatever you want to feature on your blog. But hearing you say "is she not supposed to return what is not hers" just marvels me. I read so many comments and am very dissapointed and just accepts it when people tell us that we get the leaders that we deserve in this country. In this country where we celebrate riches; either crucked one or pure. We leave those doing what is right and just assume they are doing what they ought to do. This is a woman that befre she saw this money was being paid (7800);an amount that is not enough for some of you to spend in a club; far below the minimum wage. this means she is to spend an average of 250 naira per day. Please ask yourself if you'll do same in your own case. The first day I heard this story; and especially because the lady was doing this for the third time (some lazy kid saying she didn't know it was money that was inside and that's why she returned it)my heart was touched and was praying for a means where I could drop something for such person even from the little I have. Our problem in this country is that we praise those who ought to be condemned and do little or nothing for those who ought to be praised. Nothing is an overkill in this situation. Dear linda, I feel you should av instead investigated the offer instead of just give these kind of excuses. Meanwhile they ought not to abuse you for ur position.

NGO for where?linda na scam o,dnt even try it.naija pple @ wrk again.

Linda is absolutely right.must she be paid for returning what is not hers?.it is only on nigeria, we hear of a person doing what is required of her and she should be celebrated for doing it

Truthly, she has been rewarded but did the owner of the money give her anything as a form of appreciation. As for me, Linda does not need to raise any fund for her. Recently, I called a company to stop paying my telephone bill after I had resigned from the company, at least I should have kept queit and keep on enjoying it for life. I believe, honesty should normally be part of our life.

Anonymous, please read Linda's story very well. She said that she can give money to Josephine if she meets her anywhere, but she is not supporting fund raising stuff.

Lmao

JJ said...

Must you use such colorful language? I must commend you for your choice of words.

Damola Gbadegesin said...

They are on their own.

Go found ko, go lost ni.

Abdul Adepetu said...

On point. Linda, you on point.

Exactly my point. Its not in her place to decide who gets money or not. Let the potential donors decide. Believe it or not honesty like hers is not common in naija so yea she did something worth recognizing in every way possible

I commend the lady for her honesty. However you are right to refuse to give the NGO publicity. Meanwhile it appears strange that such a large sum was found at the airport! I don't think people are allowed to carry such huge sums abroad or bring such sums into Nigeria. If you do that in the UK or USA you will be arrested. The money will be seized until the authorities confirm that it is not derived from criminal activities or used to finance crimes. Perhaps that is why the "owner" did not give her a reward. She may have inadvertently discovered illicit funds.

Linda, I hv already made a comment. Pls let me add this. All these people that r saying she don't deserve anything that she is working n being paid. Let me say, whether u like it or not, receiving 7,500.Naira a month is someone in my estimation living in ABJECT POVERTY. Rich Nigerians can see that kind of money n return it but how many Nigerians living in Abject Poverty can do what this woman did. Simpletons just come on your blog without thinking b4 they voice how stupid they are n start to castigate this SAINTLY LADY. Linda, can you survive on 7,500 Naira a month? I am not saying you should assist this woman if you don't want to but defend her dignity n don't let people use this platform to denigrate her. Any right thinking nigerian should celebrate her n if you hv d resources assist her secretly without publicity.

Linda you are too much. Thats the best decision.

Dollar said...

Linda, you are right.Nigeria has reached such a demented stage that we glorify every act of good deed which one should have normally done as a patriotic citizen. We are so corrupt that one honest person is such a big deal. It is not out of place for her to have returned a lost item. It is her duty to her country and above all, to GOD. We have a long way to go in Nigeria. www.mystudionews.com

She has been recognized and appreciated. What else? Linda is right on this.

Yyy

woman said...

I agree with what linda said.....when reading the story I realized that the woman didn't even know that there was money in the bag cos she didn't check it. I commend her for her honesty but if she had checked what would we be saying now...my own opinion.

Let all good things be rewarded. This lady deserves to be given some money even though she did the right. I know for a fact thousands of people don't have the courage to return such amount of money if they were the people that found it. I swear if I was the lady that saw such money at a job where most of the customers are mean and rude I will not return the money to the rightful owner. No one is asking you to donate millions of dollars to her but as a fellow human have sympathy and give this lady some money even if the amount is $50. Remember if you help this lady you are making a difference in Nigeria.

You are just a fool. Its a pitty

Gbemi said...

I think you are right. But we are all different. I think you should not ask ppl to donate but you can give those ppl audience and coin things in such a way that anybody that feels like appreciating her would have the opportunity.
But dont outrightly ask for a donation for her...

Scammers, will not contribute a dime my self.

You did the right thing. Forget about those criminals looking for a way to raise money for themselves.

My take on this is She needs to be rewarded to encourage others to do same. At least a sign of appreciation. I was once in sure situation, years back 350k, only #500 was given to me, so I regretted returning it because I was badly looking for the owner for weeks and wasn't appreciated the way I expected it so I guess, appreciating encourages others to do same

All I could read here is : Linda n Cylinder....
Buhahahahahahahahaa...oyibo

i usually just read and pass, plenty chores to leave a comment but this issue is seen everywhere and everyday around me. children want favours for performing simple task.i took a broom from an elderly man sweeping. he was so shocked he prayed for me. a page is an overkill but there must be a way to remember what she has done so she becomes a point of reference.

Good response, this is real 419 they want to raise money for themselves

«Oldest ‹Older   801 – 1000 of 1024   Newer› Newest»