Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 March 2015

Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter

So, this morning I got a stinker email from a group that wanted me to do something for them that I refused. I want to tell you guys what it is and you tell me if I was wrong. This is from me, Linda, by the way, and not a reader...lol.

You guys remember the airport cleaner Josephine Agwu, who found money inside one of the toilets at MMIA and returned it? (read here) Well, an NGO wrote to me and said they had opened a gofundme account for the lady for people to contribute money to her in appreciation of her honesty and wanted me to help them publicize the page and get you guys to donate. I told them no! Continue to read why I said no.

Now, you all know that I have used this platform to raise money for a lot of people. I have also personally contributed my own money to some of these people and to a few causes, so I'm really big on helping people and giving back but I have a problem with trying to raise money for someone just because they were honest. 

Are we not supposed to be honest? Don't get me wrong. If I see Josephine today face to face, I'd definitely give her money and a hug...but that's from me personally. Now, asking my readers to give her money when she's not sick and when she's gainfully employed and even had her salary increased recently, that one is a different matter. What was I supposed to tell you guys? Please dash money to this lady for returning money that doesn't belong to her?

Not only was her action recognized and appreciated, she was also rewarded by quite a few people and groups. And don't forget the thousands of prayers and well-wishes. Trying to raise money for her via gofundme is an overkill...I think! You don't have to agree with me.

This brings me to the question I asked those people when they sent me a mail insulting me (lol) for refusing to publicize the page. Was Josephine not supposed to return the money? Was it hers to keep? If you saw money that doesn't belong to you somewhere, would you keep it? Are we not supposed to return lost items we found? If you keep it, does that not make you a thief? If she'd taken the money and was later caught, would she not have been called a thief? Would she not have been sacked? If it was in public with uncivilized people, would she not have been lynched? Is returning lost property not the right thing to do? So why are some people glorifying this behavior so much like she did something unbelievably unheard of?

Has our society lost its morals so much that returning money that doesn't belong to you is now something that deserves to get you a gofundme page? *sigh*

I'm done. Let me move on to other things but what do you guys think?

1,024 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   601 – 800 of 1024   Newer›   Newest»

My dear Linda. Me dey your back gidigba.
If Na me still see that money, I would have returned it why because that's the right thing to do. No because I need to be rewarded. Now if am rewarded fine. But if not, I know my God who sees all saw me and will definitely reward me. And I still have a good standing with him. That's all that matters.
Abeg linda no mind those people. They wan use u take make money.

beembola said...

Hehe na wa o,so she's was honest ok,so after returning the money she turned handicapped or what? Some people don't even think before they act or talk.Abeg Linda no mind them,they should be a bunch of senseless people for even thinking that way.

JayJ said...

Linda it's very obvious that those pple are thieves. Trying to use the incident to get money from innocent pple. I am very sure that not a single kobo will be given to the lady... To even talk of insulting you shows how desperately frustrated they are, because you did not fall for their scam. Thumbs up Linda... you're very smart.
You're also very on point about pple being supposed to be normally honest, especially when it is done not because of any gain, but because it is the right thing to do.

J Johnson

Buqore said...

Linda well said jare.dnt mind those pple jare.gofundme ko,gofundem ni.giving back wat doesn't belong to u is a normal thing and I think receiving money from it is a bad and unsenseless thing to do.So anybdy dat return wat doesn't belong to dem shld be compensated abi,mtcheew.only God knows wen some pple in this country will start using dere brain to think

You're damn right for refusing. Kudos. And don't let whatever they say bug you! This issue isn't even something to talk about. They'll be alright.

i agree with u Linda, honesty doesn't always be rewarded with cash or gifts. Appreciating the person is enough

dozzy44 said...

as much as i visit here daily, i believe you should not have made this a personal issue. Don't bring it to the public. Just like the time you said you were happy with osbourne quitting fashion police for throwing giuliana rancic under the bus. Both should not be public. Keep doing your good work though. Udodi.

Oluwaseun Victor (Grace and Glory) said...

Well dpne Linda. I am 101% sure the lady in question is not part of this. This is pure scam.

Linda dear, what you did was right, by refusing to advertise that NGO here. I don't think they wanted to help the lady, they just wanted to use her good character to enrich their pockets. That's what most of these so called NGO do. If you raise money for someone for returning money that wasn't hers, then get ready to raise money for everybody, because this is what people do every time without news.

Titilayo said...

linda you are honestly right. would have returned the money if I were the one who saw it soo no big deal about it

Hey Linda,
I respect your opinion, but you seem not to acknowledge the fact that our society is sick. people get rewarded for bad behaviour. so I think you should post it and allow others to decide for themselves. There should not be a limit for such reward.even if she end up being rich through this. In a way you will be helping shape society. This is just my opinion. love you.

ogeee said...

Linda dnt mind them, d woman is supposed to return d money afterall she s a staff there

Spot on Lindiwe! i agree with you 100%

Buqore said...

Linda well said jare.dnt mind those pple jare.gofundme ko,gofundem ni.giving back wat doesn't belong to u is a normal thing and I think receiving money from it is a bad and unsenseless thing to do.So anybdy dat return wat doesn't belong to dem shld be compensated abi,mtcheew.only God knows wen some pple in this country will start using dere brain to think

People!!! LINDA YOU DID VERY WELL BY REFUSING!!!! They just want to enrich themselves, they are THIEVES!

MISS E said...

Linda I think u did d right tyn by refusing. Gofundme is an over kill. Yes she did d right tyn. She has bin rewarded and dat shuld b enough. People need to know that being honest is not abnormal. No "international Award" should be given.

Linda dear you did the right thing. She's gotten enough recognition.

Mimi

Josephine Agwu is one in a million decent Nigerian that must be commended for her honesty and a good role model for all Nigerians to emulate. We are all aware that corruption is the cancerous diseases that is facing Nigeria and the perpetrators are dishonesty Nigerians amongst us whom have plunged the country to bankruptcy. However, I believe hope is not lost because we still have honesty Nigerian like Josephine Agwu that have shown what most decent humanity must aspired to be. As much as I support giving assistance to Josephine Agwu and her family to have better standard of living such as paying her decent wages with good terms of working conditions, scholarship or sponsorship for her children education and Josephine but not with free money using gofundme. God bless Nigerians

TY said...

That's so so annoying,what do they mean by raise money for her,awon ole jati jati,there are so many honest Nigerians and nobody is rewarding them or raising funds for them,abeg make gofundme or whatever they're called park well

It's so sad that is has come to this, that we have to look to being rewarded for doing the right thing, those people should be exposed to the fullest, they clearly are wanting the money for something else, I say it everytime,some Nigerians"emphasis on some"!!! Deserve the leaders thy get cos some Nigerians are really that dirty and corrupt. I'm so irritated and wish I can send a slap to them,nonsense! She returned the money is for her own good and the person who got his money back, can we move on please, there are still hungry people under the bridge and women begging at jakande roundabout and a lot more people with issues that need help,she even has a job and got salary increase, pls let me eat my beans and dodo, very annoying punks! Please keep your money Linda, if you need a cause there are a lot more you can invest in, lots of kids need help out there. Long throat people

yo!! with all due respect ! fuck you

Lady P said...

For me,I think the NGO jst want to use her name to make money for themselves.Linda,u made d right decision joor.

Hmmmmmmm Linda, to be honest am really short of words but to be frank u did the right thing.

#gbam said...

you should have made an inquest with your readers by throwing in the question if it were them that found the money what will the do and you go through their answers" Honesty is a rare commodity in our world these days and it should be rewarded and if need be celebrated just to the ultimate goal of preaching "honesty pays" #dassal

THEY WANTED TO USE THE PLATFORM, SMART GUYS NOT FOR THE REASON YOU WERE TOLD

Linda, you took the right decision, the group is just trying to get money from the public for their own selfish gain... pls don't ever succumb to such plea so that you don't end up shooting your self in the leg.

Buqore said...

I jst blive one thing,if u have d fear of God in u,you will always do things in a godly and right way and not expecting to be an overnight hero.I hav nver stolen anytin in my entire life and I always see God's favour.live d right way and God will bless u

I think she need to be celebrated and rewarded because she is honest and dedicated. Raising fund to better her life will encourage other Nigerians to be more honest and truthful.

Linda bike you did I the right thing. She's gotten enough recognition already

Mimi

thisisnotmyname said...

I totally agree with your perspective, Linda. I don't think her actions require a gofundme page. However, I do think well meaning support and random gifts made directly to her will be appreciated.

Coincidentally, I was just looking at the gofundme page of the burn victim, Seyi, who needs money for surgery after his face was burnt off by a faulty electric pole. He was not climbing the pole! He, like all of us do, was just sitting in his vehicle when he was electrocuted.

To date, only $8,260 of the $60,000 needed for surgery has been raised. NIGERIANS! Please take care of your own! If Seyi's story were publicized in the US, he will have the resources needed by now because American are some of the most empathetic people I have ever met. And they work even harder for every $ they have.

So, while this wonderful lady has done a really noble and praiseworthy thing, and while I acknowledge that her life may not be easy, if you have a $1, $20, $50 to donate today, please donate to Seyi's gofundme.

I don't know Seyi at all, I only read of his story here on LIB and since then I have thought and prayed about him every single day. I have returned to his page many times to check on the donation progress. He is around my age and I just cannot imagine going through the pain he is in.

In a culture where we claim to be our brother's keeper, where we constantly show off our recent expensive purchases, wouldn't it be great if we also reached out to someone- not just anyone- but our own brother in need?

Please click Seyi's gofundme page and donate

http://www.gofundme.com/mljo58

You have said it all to them dear..you need also to be careful as we hear of such so called charity on behalf of others and the money doesn't get to them. Don't get involved and yes.. They have got an advert already as you've put it up.

ebony said...

I think u should have just posted the story on ur blog so others wud learn from her action n also since other countries also visit ur blog it's a means to tell them that we are still honest people despite all wat some Nigerians portray outside.
But Linda wait oh, u know if d girl thief n was caught u for don post her here so people go dey insult her abi
My opinion

So madam Linda...I have a new found respect for you...I totally agree with you...honesty and intergrity is what we owe ourselves as individuals....No point raisin money over that

Is honesty not enough to be rewarded. (especially to such an extent $$$) I thought you were not convinced of the NGO's intent or you did not trust them.
However, i do not support them insulting you because its your business and you know how best to run it.
I brings many thoughts to mind but i will mention just two.
1. When you wanted to go into political adverts (which of course is a form of reward to politicians) you came up on your platform to ask your fans. Now you have rejected another form of reward and you seek opinion.
2. The Nigerian reward system is now in reverse: Youths go to school for years and are law abiding, they graduate and what is their reward from society? Whereas, other group of youths take arms, destroy public property, kidnap innocent citizens and the government is quick to reward them in form of AMNESTY. Even leaders steal public funds in Billions of $$$ and they get a petty fine and time already spent sentence, most recently a presidential pardon. Nice reward i guess.
Linda with your wealth of experience and exposure you know better. There is not enough reward for Honesty.
It is the little things that Saints did in great ways that make them saints, not writing a new Bible. cheers! I'm out!

SIMMIE said...

Imagine. Abeg Lindus esculentus am with you on this one. We shouldn't have to pay for honesty. You're lucky you didn't bring this up here o.LIBers for finish you sef.

I am typing this message directly to the people / group or charity organization that sent you that stinker email.

Please it is very important that I mention that I hardly ever comment on this blog. I am not one of those seemingly jobless or air headed commenters such as the 'warri aboki', or the extremely annoying girl that posts the same comment 100 times & says 'Linda take note'. She is probably a candidate for thorough psychological evaluation.

Back to the persons / group / charity organization who sent you the stinker email...

3 VERY IMPORTANT Facts that you urgently need to note, and which you must urgently take serious heed of. I know that you're reading this.

1) First of all, you are Idiots.

Let us not lose sight of this very crucial point. Okay moving on...

2) Secondly, I can NEVER understand why so many Nigerians are plagued with 'ENTITLEMENT MENTALITY!!' I am proudly Nigerian, but why do so many of us make ourselves believe that someone somewhere OWES us something??? If it's not the government, it's a successful uncle who did not hire us or give us money... How do I know that these persons/group/charity organization has this mentality you might ask? Because, as reported, she was SENT an IMPOLITE email bordering on insults - Simply for refusing. ON HER OWN BLOG?!?

Whatever reasons Linda has notwithstanding, why do you people believe that she OWES you granting your requests? If she refused, exercising her fundamental right of choice, WHY NOT just move on? Why not just look / try elsewhere? Is it now by force simply because she has a huge readership? This brings us back to our very important and crucial first point....

...You are idiots.

3) Thirdly, if you feel SO Strongly about the cause you have taken, I would recommend that you simply start up your own blog, or GO to the media houses, PURCHASE airtime on radio, tv, or space on print media, and place your requests on there!!

That would be a better idea than sitting your fat asses in your dingy offices, and sending spiteful, insultive emails through your bacteria infested keyboards.

Please let us not lose sight of point number 1.

Thank you.

If you can see her and would like to hug her and dash her money, so will others like to hug her and dash her money. Linda, you posted in ur blog that her salary was raised from 7k to 15k. This amount is too small to reward honesty especially when she also has the opportunity to steal the money. I think you should have allowed them to raise money for her through ur blog since you could have as well personally dashed her money plus a hug

Are you kidding me? Linda I can't believe your line of thought. This woman deserves plenty.be truthful. If you see that kinda of money and you where in the woman's condition won't you take the cash. I believe they are rewarding honesty and this will encourage other pple too. The pple you help to raise money. After they have been assisted they will go and buy prado jeep with our money. Mscheeeeeeeew. U deserve the stinker mail

don't mind them. They sound like 419ers.

I am absolutely with you. The world doesn't have to stop for everyone that does something right. Something they were supposed to do in the first place.

niffyt said...

You are on point babe. Gofundme ko fundmeback ni.

Joizzy Joel said...

I wander oo..Linda pls help me ask them oo...if there is anybody that need reward the woman I think they should be the one nt public..abeg let them pay her well if they re so disire to nd stop making d public look lyk they re fools

Joizzy Joel said...

I wander oo..Linda pls help me ask them oo...if there is anybody that needs to reward the woman I think they should be the one nt the public..abeg let them pay her well if they re so disire to nd stop making d public look lyk they re fools

Linda.......Honesty? Are you kidding me?

This country has no integrity whatsoever I mean...you are advertising for PDP and APC

I understand business etc but these people have ZERO INTEGRITY and yet you have been paid to advertise for them THESE LIARS! Lets not kid ourselves with these promises - (despite the disclaimer) you still poster them... for money at that.

So please spare the honesty story you should of just done it

I agree with U Linda!

Linda you have said it all.....they should go hug a transformer...

u r right Linda. moreover d ppl dat owns d moni suppose to reward her in a big way.

Nekky said...

Opening an account 4 wat???@ first d person the man dat lost his suit case was suppose 2 b d one 2 compensate her @ first 4 bring careless and secondly wat she did isn't extra ordinary av seen pple do more without den getting anyfin buh thank u.so no big deal..

Linda you are sad!

beauty said...

@ Linda u did the right thing jor, so what would dey den do for the thousands of persons that returned cash dey found dat wasn't dias, and we all remember when she found the bag she never knew what was in it, she took it straight to the security peeps who den opened up the bag to find out it was cash, who knows if she had opened it *lips sealed*.... to me, Linda did well.....

ELIZABETH O said...

I AM WITH YOU ON THIS LINDA. NIGERIA SOCIETY HAS LOST IT MORAL STANDARD. THE WOMAN REMEMBERED THE LAW OF GOD "THOU SHALL NOT STEAL" PRAISE THE LORD.

I think gofundme are criminals that's why, don't mind them they are fake people

They are jobless thieves they wanna milk the public in that woman's name but thank God linda still sane enough to identify criminals !

Hayjaybawa said...

They are mad....

linda i like your reasoning,they are thieves and criminal looking for a way to defraud people,what the lady did shows that we have some decent and truthful nigerians and her truthfullness has promoted her amongst her colleagues and that act of sincerity will open doors where ever she goes.ignore them am sure if they were in her shoes they will NEVER return the money.they should be arrested.

No big deal Linda? Because this is not going to make you money. U post a lot of news that don't make sense, so don't start with the morals B.S. U think you are sitting on top of the world. What is the big deal ? It is a gofund me page for her . Your readers will decide if they want to donate. I will personally donate if I know she is going to receive the money.

Hmmmm, Linda, I still think that woman should have been rewarded for being honest. That might encourage other people to do good too. People who did less have been rewarded via that sane GoFundMe page as well. She sure deserved that Too. But, its your blog, so what the hell! You decide what goes in or coming in.nevertheless, you are awesome.

linda the tin is. for a country like naija its very rare for u to find someone who discover 12milion naira and return it to the authorities without keepin it for his or her self. So becos this is very rare in our society- when u see some1 who manage to behave differently- we shld commend them and help them to use them as CHAMPIONS to help awaken pple perception to encourage others to behave that same way. Now if we have 100million nigerians behavin that way - public theft, govt stealin wil reduce. And linda ur name will be caved on gold that u help facilitate this. if i have a quarter of a milion i will dash the woman

Woow!! is dis suppose to be am issue? She did something dat is to be appreciated by d people dat owns d money if der deem it fit. What's other people's business in dis nah ? Abeg talk better. Ohh plz linda my cook made a very delicious meal for launch today plz u guys should appreciate her by donating at least 500k each .Tnx for Ur generosity

U made d right choice linda, thnk God for the wild u used 2 discharge dz yahoo boys looking for who to maga. I bet u if dey had succeded, not even a dime will gt to dt woman.

Lolz...she did a great thing by returning the money...but raising money for her...I dnt support it also!!! We craze for dis Country...Dats y our leaders re so freaking corrupt and we crying why.

It's good you refused. For those people tro have insulted you, I think they were/ are just trying to raise money for themselves.

Aunty linda no mind them day bi thief:::daz all

Aunty Linda u ar 101% rite, is d money hers 2 kip ws she nt suppose 2 return b4. Biko ignored d mumu pple jor hian.

You did right dear.....I think the NGO is trying to defraud Nigeria Citizens. Perphase the woman in question may not even know.

Linda make sure that doesn't happen.

well said!

You are on point my darling, God punish them

Pretty kay. said...

Linda luv,ur action is reasonable.she hv already bn awarded gifts,prayers n many more.so why gofundme again.Babes abeg chill for their mata jare.

Well said Linda,been honest shouldn't result to begging for money and it's so obvious what their motive is...using every medium to get money from people and that should be a shame why can't such people work honorably for their....mcheeeewwww so annoying!

I think you should agree to launch the fund/ raising platform to raise funds for the lady. Yes, ideally, we are supposed to espouse honesty and integrity and in a Utopian world, it would be that way but the reality is NOT many people do and so this woman should be commended for doing so. Her actions ate particularly noteworthy because of the hardships faced in Nigeria and extent of poverty which sadly makes it more profitable and rewarding to be dishonest, crooked and self- centered. For these reasons, the woman's actions should be highly rewarded because in as much as we preach biblical/ Koranic godly virtues of integrity and what not, truth is, a demonstration of such principles really is a RARITY in a society like Nigeria.

Moreover, her salary even with the increase is most likely grossly inadequate. She might be struggling to make ends. You know nothing about her life or the challenges she faces so if you must assume, assume the worst. Linda, be more empathetic. I hope you post this comment, I hardly leave comments but I felt very compelled to do so.

Bunny said...

Thieves! Are you sure this woman is aware of this sef?

Maudlyn Khan said...

I'm so in support of ds, seriously dt s**t Rili got me finkin. Dt is d normal tin we al r sopozd 2 do. To me puttin much importance on rewards 4 returnin smfin dt doeznt belong 2 is js nt it.

SWILL MARTIN said...

De would av soooooo scamed u shaaaa lindodo u were smart,besides did they work for your money??its yours u cn do whueva with dnt allow people pressure uu in2 smthng they want.bone d fuckers jare,coz d people she wrked 4 r d ones that r suppose to reward her not we,nrmal people.

Ori won o pee nii.awon oloriburuku sumboris.pls pls aunty Linda dnt publicised any stupid gofundme mak dem go open am for der dormot*c'est finir!

Juu Suppy fun Suppy joor!

Alexis said...

I barely post... am just an addict Fan of reading,lol...
You are VERY right in moving against d stupid group who for all we know is someone trying to reap where they v not sown believe d lady in question is not aware of said 'group'....
Linda,their insults to u will only turn into Blessings because even God himself is not Against You on ur decision.... <3

Naaaaaa...am with you on this one. Why would anyone DONATE money to some citizen who returned money she found?..what a sick JOKE!

UK Tog

*Linda. I agree with some things you wrote here and disagreed with some of your logic for not helping to raise money for her. The most important thing here is that only you can choose what cause to support or raise money for. You can not please everyone. This group that abused you forget that you can still help them in the future

You did the right thing Linda. If such pole actually wrote back to insult you, then they are scams. They shldnt spoil the lady's good work with their greed. Dalu!

Yes, she should have returned it. No, most people would not have done that. Unfortunately, we live in a country where dishonesty is rewarded so what do you expect people to do? Of course, they join the crowd and get money through whatever ways. If you were earning 15k Linda, would you think that was Ok? It's even still below the minimum wage. As long as those people were genuine, I see no reason why you should have refused them. Yes she should be rewarded for her honesty. She's someone that has nothing and in the face of it all, did the right. It will encourage people to do the right thing as well. You're probably thinking from your own cushy sofa on your first class flight and you forget other people still need help. At the end of the day, you're not forcing people to donate so keep your money and let other people do what they will with their money. You might not know this but everyone isn't as lucky as you.

You did the right thing babe! Don't answer them.

You did the right thing. It shouldn't bother you at all.

Well said Linda. I see 100% reasoning in ur statement

Lukman said...

U ar absolutely right Linda

Linda, i understand your view on this issue. I also agree with you that everyone is expected to be honest but come to think of it that "How many people in Nigeria living and earning the little money this woman earns will turn away from opportunities brought their way to steal?" In my opinion raising money for her is just for her to be able to get something productive to do for herself. She may decide to start her own business and stop earning $36 a month.

I remembered i send you an email as well sometimes last year about how Arik airline agent in the UK tried to scam my sister but you never wrote anything about the story despite the fact that i sent you the alleged website developed by the so called agent. It's your blog and you can write whatever you feel deem. I am a regular visitor of your blog and your views won't change that.

U did well linda......the world has lost its morals....there is no better reward for her than the peace her heart got from her action.
God also has ways of rewarding good deeds.

vote for change,we need a presidenv that would sanitise our thinking.that would be no big deal in a Buhari regime

You did the right thing, I'm happy to see some pple know where to draw the line. Keep it up!!!

Na Nigeria we dey.dey want 2 use dat platform 2 raise money 4 ha n 4 dere pocket.I think u did well linda,it is wrong n moreova y begging money 4 ha wen she is nt sick

i dont undstand..raise money for her..seriously..linda u did d right thing and everytin u said on this article is true..for christ sake she was rewarded and her salary was even increased..she better leave d rest for God before God himself change his mind

Simply ignore them!

First of all GOFUNDme doesn't work in Nigeria. I know cos I tried to use it for my school fees You need to be registered in the US UK or some countries in EU. So scam i guess. Soooo Linlin U did nothing wrong by saying NO. Scammers plus she has been rewarded come on people

AMMY said...

Linda u r correct 100%.

Darlinton said...

Hi Linda, I'm sorry to say you were wrong in many aspects.

1. Such deed is rare and deserves every commendation it could get. I once picked an envelop filled with money and letters, returned it to the owner but all I got was "thank you". That was ok but could have been better if a little more appreciation was shown. I expected more like a huge and maybe getting to know me better as an encouragement to do more next time. Out of 160,000,000 Nigerians, people who could do what the woman did are less than 100. You may probably no do it if you where in her position? Or can you give me example of similar deed when you were poor?

2. You'd have turn them down with a better explanation rather than " was she not supposed to return it" slogan. You are in millions today but if you know what a woman who earns N7,500 monthly go through to survive, you'd know it's truly a big deal to return N4.5 million when no one is looking.

3. People go funding for many reasons. In fact reasons like this is why Crowdfunding exist. So, it's not out of place for them to go funding on behalf of the woman.

It's absolutely bad of them calling you names because of this - but then, shits happens. Cheers!

U did d rite tin my dear.

Na format

You did d right thing jor.

Linda, you are supposed to help by posting it on your page to encourage others not to claim what doesn't belong to them and to show Nigerians that being honest has its rewards.

You did d right tin jare

jenybrooks said...

wow.....d tins nija's do....#ovasabi

Naomi said...

I agree with you!!

Dobzi fingers said...

I totally agree with you Linda.

On another note, please publicize my makeup blog, I need the help, xx
http://dobzifingers.blogspot.com/?m=1

you are right Linda. This should be on a cooperative /dialogue basis and not advocacy or dialogue. That woman must have thought about the potential consequences and rewards of her action before she made her decision to return the money. what she did was good and the rewards will come,; it does not have to be from or through you.Finally, it sounds like those NGOs have something up their sleeve;i hope its not filthy lucre.

I think it's your choice wether or not to put a gofundme link on the lady's behalf. Even If she was sick and you say no, it doesn't mean you are wrong. It's your blog and you should do as you please. That said! A lot of people will not do what she she did esp from where she's coming from but that's becos most people who are seemingly Christians do not have the fear of God. I don't think anyone should be made to give Tho...but if you feel moved to give, then by all means do.

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

I totally agree with u on this one Linda..its a gud thing u refused

What she needs is a better job not donations

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

I totally agree with u on this one Linda..its a gud thing u refused

You are right but at the same time appreciating her the more will motivate people. Our society is getting extremely bad people no longer have morals. Insulting you was wrong. It's your right to say yes to them or no its not by force. Are they trying to make money for themselves.

In a morally bereft society, she deserves everything for her honesty. Put it into perspective; corrupt politicians, corrupt police and custom officers, corrupt doctors, corrupt teachers and lecturers, corrupt civil servants, the idea behind starting NAFDAC and what late Dora did, I can go on. Even some bloggers/journalists are corrup. They publish stories, betray people, ask for money and the story disappears (note, I'm not specific here.) Betraying people by using stories and asking for money as bait is a form of stealing.

Deal with it, you live in a corrupt society where dishonesty rules the day. Even people steal in church. When you go to a function can you leave your mobile phone on the table and walk away? No.

I appreciate your view and you not wanting to raise money but I really wonder if a post like this is necessary to whine about it.

you are right Linda. This should be on a cooperative /dialogue basis and not advocacy or coercion. That woman must have thought about the potential consequences and rewards of her action before she made her decision to return the money. what she did was good and the rewards will come,; it does not have to be from or through you.Finally, it sounds like those NGOs have something up their sleeve;i hope its not filthy lucre.

plss i need ur help my no 08060508476 i ned to talk to u pls.

Nice reasons.

Slimy said...

I tink ur right dear, no mind dem

Linda dear, u absolutely did d right thing. Anyone who thinks otherwise is high!
Honesty is a virtue expected from everyone. And she's bn recognised and rewarded already. R u sure d money would be given to her sef if you had agreed?

I personally think that this is over stretching the situation. Yes she did a good by returning the money but then again, is this not where integrity comes to play in our jobs?

If anyone should show gratitude, I think it's her company and anyone who feels touched by her good character. It should never be a case of trust fund cuz she's not handicapped or having any troubles that require money.

So Linda you re right in your decision. This is my opinion tho.

U are right dear...

MlleP said...

I totally agree with you Linda. Of course good behavior should be encouraged and praised but one should not always expect monetary rewards for that. Your reward will definitely come and it might be with something even better than cash.

Supported!!!, the money's owner should reward her money-wise. The NGO group has something to benefit from the money.

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Y open a fund raising account for her, she did wht a morally, God fearing, upright person ll do. I bless her, I honour her, but won't donate moni. Wht is d cause? For what purpose? Linda, just keep bein urself nd continue to say No, yo stuffs u don't blv in.

U have said it all Lindsay.our society has lost its values a long time ago. Why shld we celebrate honesty when its supposed to be a part of us. SMH

Linda dont mind them.Its because honest is strange to many of them even though they go to church and mosque. In developed world there is nothing strange in what she did because honesty is most people lifestyle there. I have returned big money to people before and all I wanted from them is THANK you. Shikena

TEEMAHDEE said...

I support you . else people will start expecting honesty to come with a price which is not supposed to be so

Linda dont mind them.Its because honest is strange to many of them even though they go to church and mosque. In developed world there is nothing strange in what she did because honesty is most people lifestyle there. I have returned big money to people before and all I wanted from them is THANK you. Shikena

Linda my love u are so right I dunno what this society is turning into. .. am not sure those people that wrote u are the real people am sure one yahooboy want to use this medium to scam people of their money. Linda forget them they are bafoons

She tried for returning sm1's money buh that's not why a fundraising page should be created for her ..
For crying out loud, she just did as a christian she is
Meanwhile she has a good job, αи∂ I heard they'v promoted her..
So what's d hype all about?

docslicky@gmail.com said...

Personally, I think you Linda are deliberately glossing over the real reasons behind your refusal. Methinks they are, though not limited to two namely: 1, You don't want to help them advertise their page. The reasons are not far fetched to a quick thinking, rational mind. 2, You probably are suspicious of their genuineness cum afraid of associating with them . Because, any backlash from the gesture could leave you worse than better. We all know how people who are into like ventures are wary of their opposite.....The above reasons may suffice for now. On the whole, in as much as it's your write to choose what you publish, don't negate the fact that Nigeria in particular and the world as a whole are officially messed up! Being honest these days is a dying pastime. By default, humans easily tend to negativity than positivity hence, don't say it's a given that one should be honest. If everyone was honest, things would have been as bad as they are now.

Even more hard I find it; which is distinguishing between the said woman's reward and your funny postulations here. Gauging which is more ridiculous is beyond me. To me she hasn't even being adequately rewarded. A REWARD SHOULD MAKE ONE PROUD TO REPEAT SUCH ACTIONS MANY TIMES OVER! Whether the paltry salary increment of 15000 naira and other petty promises peculiar to our authorities in such instances are enough to promote such actions is left for the imaginations. Nice of you to have turned them down anyway, but don't make it seem like those explanations you put up above were really the reasons. Thank you!

You did well, it's just unfortunate cos of the way we glorify stealing that is what is making it look as if she did something out of the ordinary. She is working for Christ sake, even if she is not working is not better to look for job for her than giving her money? How are we sure that this people are geniue and not trying to use her for self aggrandizement.

abeg no mind them. Alot of people do same gestures and are unheard of. they hv other motives maybe

Sincerely speaking,u are right to some extent,but i would totally agreed with you.Though the said money was nt hers, but she actually deserved to be plentifully rewarded.Infact,if i were the president or Governor of a state,this are the kind of tractable and complacent people I would like in my cabinet.I could remember i read about her story,I almost cried b'cos she is a rare gem to;despite how old she is(havin myriad expenses).Out of billions of people we have on eath,just a few can release that huge sum from thier juridiction.However,I would not support any NGO trying to devise one awkward means to get money for themselves oooo.Ilove that woman though,sheis old,i would have love to marry her*winks*

You've absolutely done the right thing Linda. We are all meant to be honest so what she did shouldn't be glorified more than it already has! If not because of the rubbish society we live in that honesty is so hard to come by. In an ideal society what she did should be no big deal at all..

Sincerely speaking,u are right to some extent,but i would totally agreed with you.Though the said money was nt hers, but she actually deserved to be plentifully rewarded.Infact,if i were the president or Governor of a state,this are the kind of tractable and complacent people I would like in my cabinet.I could remember i read about her story,I almost cried b'cos she is a rare gem to;despite how old she is(havin myriad expenses).Out of billions of people we have on eath,just a few can release that huge sum from thier juridiction.However,I would not support any NGO trying to devise one awkward means to get money for themselves oooo.Ilove that woman though,sheis old,i would have love to marry her*winks*

favourite girlfriend said...

I agree with u tho..y open an account to give her money when she has been compensated ...she did the right thing by returning the money

I totally agree with u lily babes

Lol....linda dis is 9ja and it's very difficult for someone to return dat amount of money,i feel they've not really done enough for her sef...

Tony said...

Linda i need to suck your toto heard you have no clitoris but i want to clean your pussy with my tongue and pound it hard

In a sane environment, we do not need to sing about her. However, in a corrupt society like ours there is a need to bring all the drums out for her. There is no end to the hands of help we can stretch to her not only for her benefits but also to encourage other people that might find themselves in such a situation again. Let us not only preach about honesty but let us also demonstrate the rewards of honesty. That is my opinion. God bless Nigeria.

fifi fierce said...

U did d rite thing linda

Linda, you feed and you're well fed ! You're right but there's nothing wrong in celebrating honesty when we openly condemn dishonesty; especially in a corrupt society like ours.

OJIMAN said...

Your position is impeccable, Linda. If they needed publicity, they can pick on a more worthwhile venture.

YOU MAKE SENSE FOR ONCE LINDA...

I agree with you here Linda, donations should be saved for those who really need the money like people who are too sick to work!

linda,she did the right thing and shouldn't expect anything in return from humans but from GOD. most Nigerians feels its an opportunity to be rich, but trust me honesty is d best policy.

U r right

Linda ask ur president those questions in ur second to last paragraph

I totally agree with you Linda on this one. She has got the recognition she deserves as well as prayers already. Moving on....................

Go and sit down,if it's all these naked people and stupid things you will start putting them up,Something of this social relevance you can not.Sorry I donnt see your point.

linda,she did the right thing and shouldn't expect anything in return from humans but from GOD. most Nigerians feels its an opportunity to be rich, but trust me honesty is d best policy.

Dan Borno said...

Hey Linda,

I stand by the decision you took. There's no point in funding an already self-sufficient person.
After all, people should have the fear of God and return what does not belong to them.

On the contrary, I see no reason why with the permission of the honest lady use her name
to get funds that can then be donated to a charity.

Helping people in need could be a win-win situation.

Totally agree with you Linda. Too many people are abusing this gofundme thing. We can't be donating for every single issue. Like you said, she's been rewarded and that's good enough.

Lol,aunty Linda ! I can see this thing really vexed u. U owe nobody nothing. Let them go and die. And good work with the l'd rather be self made program . I attended d first meet from Enugu. Keep up the good work and ignore these jobless losers. God bless u

Dan Borno said...

Hey Linda,

I stand by the decision you took. There's no point in funding an already self-sufficient person.
After all, people should have the fear of God and return what does not belong to them.

On the contrary, I see no reason why with the permission of the honest lady use her name
to get funds that can then be donated to a charity.

Helping people in need could be a win-win situation.

Mr. Dreamcast said...

i thank God for this wisdom

Aggree wif u lindda

Linda......u've done d right thing dere is no more comment.

linda you answered well........God bless you....and again...your site is not a site for raising money just for anything.

It is wrong for them to insult you.....very very wrong....

I don't think money should be donated to her again. I think something else is behind the donation.

linda i think they want to use this opportunity to raise money for themselves and not the lady......even if u do agres the money will never get to her.good to hear u declined

Glowrite said...

This is already enough publicity on it's own (just Googled gofundme)

Only difference is that I will not be donating to dm - how wee dey be insulting our one and only linda?

I think your reasons are sincere. They are a bit idealistic though.

Honesty is not an easy road to ply - trust me as a 23 year old gay man, i know.

I feel you feel this people shouldn't try to exploit the opportunity.

Regardless, its your blog, your rules. You don't owe the world a freaking explaination

Your virtues shine. We can see it through this blog.

You are Awesome.

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

rubbish writing...honey in Nigeria honesty is very uncommon and rare. so get off here with this...if you someone wants to appreciate her for kindness there is nothing wrong....

Nne Linda, well said. I second your stance. The said gesture is becoming unnecessarily exaggerated which doesn't augur well with me. Honesty is suppose to be the norm. Moreover she was appreciated substantially so this funding bruhaha is a tad uncalled for. That's my 1 Kobo thought.

I doubt if this NGO group is a sincere one. Why insult you when you refused to publicise if they don't have other motives. Na ontop our head them wan build mansion. Mschewwww

miz bonita said...

well said Linda well said, im sure a thief thank wanted to bank on good hearted Nigerians created this GFM acct to rip people off. Nice move

Yes babe. You're right.only say the salary still small, even after it has been increased.

www.idokajane.blogspot.com

Lmao

Absolutely spot on Linda, you did the right thing. They is no justification for a go fund me account.......if you start doing that for every honest act, that would automatically De-sensitize people to genuine need.

Lmao

who ever thought of go found me is out of their mind. nonsense. Linda you asked them the right questions. why should people raise money for her? was she sacked after she returned the money? nonsense thats why i taya for some these so called NGOs they dont even know what they are supposed to be doing.

dansignature said...

the are looking for where ti make money from people all in the name of the woman...

Etsako Pearl said...

Wat rubbish! naija no dey carry last.....oloriburuku people,awon alapa plastic.....Thumbs up 2 u linda....

All I see here is SCAM! Wats dat suppose 2 mean, linda u are so ryt! So do they expect us 2 Start donating the few we hav 2 sum1 dat is full fleshed and healthy, and is evn on a monthy slarary? Pls dis s jst a way sum sick fools hav decided 2 mak quick money! Scam is all I se here!

macxz said...

What she did was commendable cuz in dis present Naija & her condition or level, I believe only few in a thousand will do dat... even me wouldn't do dat.

Linda ur decision was d best...

IT'S A sHAME!! We ve lost our morals so much so that a normal and acceptable social behaviour is now abnormal. You did right Linda! Should have accepted ;(naonekainigodehlooku). Suffice it to say you are already raising uncomfortable emotions on your PDP sponsored post lol. Seems you were sponsored by APC to always portray PDP as such.... Whatever!

You did the right thing linda by not publicising their request, honesty should not be for peoples personal gain. To hell with them.

Linda dont mind dem, u gave dem a gud answer.if the lady ws unemployed or poor, it wud hv bn a diff case buh since shes gainfully employd,i dnt tink d contribution tin is neccesary, she might not evn need it.

I agree with you jaree, true honesty is when it is done without expecting anything in return.

Don't think it's necessary Linda! @duni

Ms Air said...

It's shows the decay in our society. 'Corruption is not stealing' that is what comes to mind😝

I support ur stand linda. Don't do it. It can even be fraudulent.

You did great linda

Kerie said...

See deserves the recognition and thanks that she has been getting because we live in a society where the average person would not have returned the money. It also serves as good example for others, especially children that honesty is the right thing to do. The guys from gofundme make it seem like the woman is disadvantaged in some way. That woman is clearly content and thankful to God for her current situation - regardless of what we on the outside may think of her salary. Individuals who decide to encourage this woman's behaviour by giving her a hug, handshake or money if they see her in person are great but a fundraiser for her is unnecessary, even insulting. Unless she has some issue these folks know about that we don't.

Na hustle them wan turn am to. Don't do it before you know Nigerians will turn it to business. Ask their friend to drop something and they return it it becomes donation parade. I don't know how this became news anyway. Growing up there used to be lost and found centres where you go and drop anything someone misplaced and where you can also go and check if what you lost is there but nowadays if someone returns your handset they are expecting 10 Percent of what the phone is worth as thank you.
DON'T DO IT NA 419 lol

Odugbesan Sunday Adetayo said...

I think if the group want to help her, they should credit her. Account and not to ask anyone to do so on their behalf.

adebayomedinat085 said...

u did well linda

Linda you just dodged a bullet....that was a request to participate in a 419 scam...!

iyke cindy said...

My dear....u did d exact tin u were supposed to do....she was duly rewarded 4 her gesture nd d prayers nd well wishes wil kip her goin.WTF is #gofundme.....for being honest,like serzly?has 9ja lost all its moral values?excuse u dat NGO.

globaldeji said...

Almost all Nigerians are dishonest. That's why what she did seem very great. I don't mean to make light of it but I don't think you did wrong jare

Chijiakwu Awele said...

U're right Linda, there are a lotta honest peops out there forget say things are really bad, I swear on my dad's grave I couldn't take someone's money because of fear.

our morals have become so low. what do you expect when everybody wants to be bribed to do the job they are paid for. I was discussing with my friends recently and we said even if by a miracle all our politicians are wiped out, Nigeria might still not move forward cos corruption has eaten deep into us. honesty is not a virtue in Nigeria anymore. im sure this wouldn't have made news in some countries. you did well, I wouldn't have donated for such a cause.

NovenaIcon said...

There is no point madam Linda...those ppl shld check themselves well...no be only gofundme account..its nice 2 be honest bt expecting reward is another thing...it shld come naturaly

"If you saw money" what grammar from a self acclaimed Nigerian millionaire blogger.

@Linda,abeg don't mind the people that sent u the stinker,m sure they're just trying to capitalize on the attention the lady got,I won't be surprised if the fund won't get to her in the long run. U did the right thing dear

Linda don't mind them abeg...She did the right thing by returning the money but mehn her reward is not from the masses but from God and the man that owns the cash.

Pope said...

Linda i think you were right at that. secondly is the fact that i suspect their forwardness in this issue; to the extent of even insulting you for asking intelligent questions. Funny enough, that money if raised may never get to Madam Josephine at the end of the day. so i think you did the right thing. This scenario is similar to the one i see almost on a daily basis along Nyanya Express Way Abuja, where a group of persons will be carrying what looks like an offering bag and asking for alms on behalf of a physically challenged person. The worst of it is that they keep bringing different physically challenged persons with different challenge everyday and exposing these set of physically challenged persons to harsh weather condition. Now the question is; what amount of the money realized goes to this physically challenged persons or are they just using the person to make money for themselves. In a nut shell. i think you did the right thing.

Emdos Supernova said...

That's a very valid point from u aunty linda, our society I've really gone so low that we now see doing the right thing as Heroic. God save us. #emdossupernova

You did d right thing linda! Since wn did been honest equals need?

«Oldest ‹Older   601 – 800 of 1024   Newer› Newest»