Nigerian becomes first African to win International Tennis player of the year award | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 7 January 2015

Nigerian becomes first African to win International Tennis player of the year award

26 year old Nigerian international tennis player, Quadri Aruna has won the 2014 International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) player of the year award, making him the first African to win the coveted prize. At an award ceremony held at the Armani Hotel in Dubai today Jan. 7th, Aruna beat Portugal's Marcos Freitas and Chinese pair Fan Zhendong and Xu Xin to land the coveted prize. He is ranked 30th best tennis player in the world. Big congrats to him.

111 comments:

Petterson said...

Great one!!!!! Happy for you guy.

If we can focus on sports like this we would excel l, let leave football alone

Petterson said...

Great one!!!!! Happy for you guy.

Princess G said...

Wow. Thank God. Congrats

Congrats n bigger him I pray

Awww datz my brother,BIG congrats to em

Big congrats brother

#SabiMan we hail u.

Congrats Aruna. That's a big plus!

Congrats my Broda. Linda take note!

Congrats to him... Good news like this is wot I want to be hearing!

Congrats to him man! Next stop the Olympics

Wow.....congratulations

Congrats quadri

Jide Maya said...

The guy is good no doubt. I've watched him played several times and I think he deserves the award.

Doing 9ja great

KSmith said...

princess said...

This is very good, atleast we have sport pple bringing glory to our obodo naija ' last time it was okagbare

princess said...

This is very good, atleast we have sport pple bringing glory to our obodo naija ' last time it was okagbare

Nna tolu ugo.

Visit www.blessinghammed.com

That's how we ball man
--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

alorlondon said...

Congrats Bro. From an amateur tennis player

kudos man, make us proud!

but he looks like goalie vincent enyeama!!

Wow..nice one..GEJ will invite him over and bask in his glory claiming to be the source of his strength

menh congrant to him .....

Good one

GR8BABE said...

WOW!!! NICE ONE...

GR8BABE said...

WOW!!! NICE ONE...

****Bbjac**** said...

Congrats to him

He is #30 in the world, thought a top 10 should at least get the award. Oh well. Maybe he went from #100 to #30

LA' SUNSHINE said...

I celebrate you sir.Congratulations #MIZB#

LA' SUNSHINE said...

Yeah kind of

Jochebed Nuel said...

This is what should be happening. We ought to be represented well. Not just for yahoo yahoo, kidnapping, drug dealing.. Blah blah..
Congrats sir.. More grease to your elbow.

Nigeria has had great talents like atanda musa, sunny eboh, and many other international table tennis chsmpions in the 70s and 80s. Congratulations to him though.

when i watched the way he played..i came to a conclusion that deserves the world best!

An amazing performance!

He has been pretty confident all along. He said he was looking forward to winning. I'm glad for him.

...THE ARCHITECT....

NON PROFIT ORGANISATION said...

congrat

Congrats to him

Nice one brov

gidis said...

9c 1....atleast a gud news 4 nigeria

congratulation
am proud of you

Congrats**EMZEALLOU§**

mike_will said...

Congratz bro, kip makin momma proud. We luv yhu

felicious said...

Congrats man. You deserve it

He was marvelous! Deserve that! A youth leader & a lesson to emulate! Hard work pays! Congratulations Aruna!

Congrats bros.

A very big congratulations to him, you make me proud man

Dis is wat we want to b getting frm Nigerians,Mi bro congrats

Nice one. Congrats.

Nice achievement

Linda Tennis and Table Tennis are totally different sports. See me getting excited! Congrats all the same brother!

mxt4real said...

Wow that's a good one, thumbs up

Congratulations to him. More grease to his elbow.

AMIJEZ said...

This is good news.

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Congratulations Quadri

GEJ till 2019

.👏BIG BROTHER SAYS SO.👏

Congrats to him
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Everything Rosham said...

U need to see how he returned all d shots frm dah Chinese guy.. D guy make brain die...

Reno will say 'under GEJ Quadri won d coveted ITTF prize, #canyourcandidatesaythesame'

congrats dude.... Keep the flag flying

Cngrats_to him#repNaija

9ja for life

Ugochukwuka said...

Congratulations bro

* * commenting live from river ethiope **

Gentletee said...

Congrats. You are the man!

@Maxwell the less you dice GEJ the best for you. Congratz Mr Quadri you have us proud #onelovefromsnow#

Lol all this GEJ haters

Congrats o

But does dis guy look 26? He looks older to me

Wow!that's really nice

Wow this a big thing 4 us in nigeria tennis,we are proud of u man.

Wow!that's really nice

But Linda today isn't January 1st

Graet one!! More award still on ur way.. The jorney has been Long.. No be today..

becckyd said...

Congratulations

Lewis said...

God bless you for making Nigeria proud

nunulicious said...

proud of you Aruna Quadri. Thank you for putting us on the world map for something positive. keep it up!

PRETTY GIRL said...

Big Congrats to him.....But he's 26? Oga ooooooooo!

great man...he's a unilag graduate. Unilag always producing stars
- baby face

Great news...congrats to him
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Congratulations to him.....up Nigeria.

Wow, total cool, that's progress. Congrats man.

Congrats Man

Neks said...

>>>> Wow Wow Wow, I'm happy for him, congrats. <<<<

Wow..naijas baby boy

Maxwell I know you're tryingto be relevant here. Its okay! But can you be reasonable? Must everything be tailored to GEJ?

What a foolish statement mamaxwell

Uche Emma said...

Congrats!

If he didn't win he won't be ur broda

There's no need for take note na, she will still recognize you for lib giveaway

Gud job aruna he's a gr8 guy i know him very well...

Inside Out said...

Congrats dear

Congrats!

gbemsco said...

Good thank God

He went from 234 to 30 within 10 months

this kinda people make me proud to be nigerian

He won d award for the male table tennis star from the ITTF last night 7th January. What trills me is his phenomenal rise 207 places in the world rankings from 237 to 30 in the world. Nice one for Quadri. I wish him well. He dressed well for the occasion. Hope the people in the glo caf awards will do the same in terms of the dressing for the occasion especially for the women

thats huge! congratulations to him. proud of ya

Yeah...He's come a long way. Big congrats Quadri #Cheers

I love table tennis **DOPEY SAID SO**

CONGRAT HARUNA QUADRI..... I WISH TO SAY A VERY BIG THANKS TO BARR. ENITAN OSHODI AND ALL THE NTTF STAFF.KEEP REPERESENTING NIGERIA !!

Oskirin said...

9ce 1 quadri 4 u n ur team.u really did us proud @ d jus concluded Glasgow games.we r proud of u guys.pls kip it up...

Maybe Talent will take Nigeria name somewhere someday...Maybe

Good man. Congrats!

See this fools trailing behind my comment cos I gave them a medium to voice out their unthought foolish words..imbeciles..Amadioha strike whoever mentions my name again

someone should please tell me who kemi omololu olunloyo is..I mean she just keep bullying people on Facebook all in the name of been a blogger..I think she need urgent attention before she start biting of herself...seriously she is so saucy,rude,proud and in fact a great enemy of this great country...try me and I'll make you feel the taste of ya own venom..saddist#GiftedDiva#

Christina typearls said...

thumbs up Nigeria

egowein said...

Ehennnn nunu. .... This is d kind of news mchori to be hearing abt nigeria.....