Court freezes businessman Sunny Odogwu's accounts in 19 banks over alleged N26b debt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 December 2014

Court freezes businessman Sunny Odogwu's accounts in 19 banks over alleged N26b debt

A Lagos Federal High Court, presided by Judge Saliu Seidu has ordered 19 commercial banks in Nigeria, to refrain top businessman Chief Sunny Odogwu, and his two companies: Robert Dyson & Diet Limited, and SIO Properties Limited, from making any withdrawal from their accounts.

The order of the court followed an order of Mareva injunction, Diamond Bank Plc, for alleged refusal of Chief Odogwu and his companies to offset the loan of N26,229,943,035.22, they obtained from the bank‪ (A Mareva injunction is a temporary injunction that freezes the assets of a party pending further order or final resolution by the Court).

The bank also sought for an order restraining Chief Odogwu and his two companies, their agents, privies, or assigns from disposing, selling, transferring, and or alienating any of its movable or immovable asset, money, share, stock and other negotiable instrument pending the determination of the substantive suit.‬

The bank in a sworn affidavit, claims that sometimes in 2007, SIO Properties Limited, and Chief Odogwu, on behalf of Robert Dyson & Diket Limited company, approached the bank and required huge finance to be applied and disbursed as at when due for their project called ‘Luxury Collection Hotels and Apartments’, formerly Le Meridian Grand Tower, to be constructed at 31-35, Ikoyi Crescent, Ikoyi, Lagos, in the name of SOI Properties Limited of which Chief Sonny Odogwu is the chairman and major owner.

The bank is also asking for an order granting leave to it to foreclose and sell the said property situated at 31-35 Ikoyi Crescent, Ikoyi, Lagos. The case has been adjourned till December 12 by the judge .

166 comments:

Sorry mehn!

Only U 19banks.........

nwadikedeb said...

na dem dem

Hmmmm na wa

fashion republic of pumpsberry said...

Okafors Mentor said...

cool fly_fire_fox@yahoo.com

good for him...

Omg!

He doesnt look like he owns a penny self

SANDRA said...

Wateva

Godheritage said...

Very good

Good for them. Crime is crime no matter who is involve and the same measure should be applied to them all. ««QU££NMA¥A»»~R£PORTING LIV£»»

Sammie Blacc said...

Too bad!

FOLARIN• said...

Chisos!!!
Over 20 billion Naira in debt
Feel free to freeze his life sef

ALL THESE MEN SEF...
DEM GO BORROW MONEY FOR BANK TO PAY BACK NA PROBLEM

Uhmm ook oooo

Atobatele said...

He only needs to know someone up there for the accounts to be released. This is Naija

May case be resolved amicably.

***ECHOMASS***

Just one person, all this money?

19 Banks? Only u? Nawa Ooo

Wow!

TINARDASHIAN said...

hmmmmm OK o.

Everything Rosham said...

Yepa... All that moneyy

Ok, ebonie5@yahoo.com

Sammie Blacc said...

Thank God. Sammieblacc77@gmail.com. Thanks Linda, God bless!

The Man looks scary..

jenyking comenting commenting via #Etisalat

Zombie huntress said...

Toooor ok

Yeye dey smell. Yet people go dey envy d's one in d name of big man, not knowing d quantum of debt wey him carry

God don catch am

all married men need to read this

Bold Kid said...

Wahala everywhr...na dia cross.

na so

LGM said...

Geez!

Na personal account peeps here dey wait to bulk up.

NiCk

okay

khemorah said...

(˘̯˘ )

Gud for him

corruption..iamadiume101@gmail.com

thats terrible

Oh my GOD see money oooooooooo

Chai. See one person debt.

Na wa ooo. See his face and he is even smilin

Too bad..

Nawa oo

so much money...smithjoyce113@gmail.com

Holy moses!!! 19 banks???

Na wa ooooo. See his face and he is even smiling

hilary said...

HMmmm

KIKIS said...

Who is he?

BONARIOS BABY said...

Can imagine what 26b can do 4 dis country. But this pot bellied mman decided 2swallow it all. Shady2link@yahoo.com

This is a serious iSsue.

Na wa

SO THE RICH BORROW ............Hmmmmmmmmmmm

elovi said...

Tor na dem sabi

See Gobe.

No wonder Grand Hotel is losing shape. Business men be being so greedy.

Nawao 26b debt?
Faceoflib

mamma mia luv said...

Baby agba.....

Iykestiflar@yahoo. com

Dats bad....lili am waiting ooooooo

19 banks? Hmmmmm

Austine ihechukwu said...

Wait! This old man get accnt 4 19 banks? Na wa ooooo, this country hmmm

26billion? 1 man, chai God is a merciful God...

chinnydera said...

This is d hard truth: 1 naija will always get to the finals so Bigbrother can get more money 2. Nigeria will not win anytime soon so long as this 1 country votes is still in play 3.Nigerians contributes 76% of Bigbrother's revenue 4 Nigerians are hated by most African countries and are seen as threats in d game no matter how pure a Nigerian contestant will be 5 Bigbrother will still use Nigerians next year and they will still fall 4 it. Am out....

Feyisetan said...

Fire on the mountain

Lol, leta dem go dy intimidate us hehehe

Way to go!

Na serious debt o ajibken@gmail.com

mamma mia luv said...

Baba
Iykestiflar@yahoo.com

Hmmm...am speechless

See What Tiwa Savage Did To A Popular Comedian

Pretty Wife Caught Cheating On Her Husband With The Houseboy

elovi said...

Tor

Aphrodite said...

19banks? WTF is he doing avn money in 19 banks, kai! All this 419ers

When will I be first to comment.

NICK

This people mean business

I HATE TO OWE! weda big or small amount... it's repercaution tomorrow is always not a good thing.... i pray He settles erthing and loose nothing.

THAFINEXX

Big man big wahala. All these big big money they are calling.

(twitter/ig)

Ted. said...

This is serious shit

Mfonobongsmn82@gmail.com

asap dhammy said...

itt-----international tif tif

Bold Kid said...

Linda wats ups wit my comments na??

ASHANKA said...

OLE

lami said...

There was a time he was bastardly rich, any way nothing last forever.

HA! I PITY THE STAFF OF THESE COMPANIES, NO DECEMBER SALARY, NO 13TH MONTH ETC..

ogeee said...

Na only u waka dis contry, 19 banks...

What's wrong with all thiz big men! They shud chill nau.

Too bad

Okay sunny. Money no dey tire u?

favourite girlfriend said...

Only u 19banks...n u can sleep at night

19 accounts Hmmmm can't offset loan

Jesus! Ona nor dey allow Linda post finish before Ona Comment sef... ah!

19 accounts Hmmmm can't offset loan

Nawa oooh

Na Waoh oo. Sentangel2040@yahoo.com

God don catch am...naso all of dem go hear m

Lmao!!! How do rich pple look?

i hear later we no go know how eh take end......bt d man get mouth ohh 19 banks chia.

suasmy said...

Hmm...I no fit talk

Mischievous said...

Proverb 10:22 'The blessing of the LORD, it maketh rich, and he addeth no sorrow with it'.

This was the man who built a 'wonder house' in Asaba many years ago worth over N25 million when the value of the naira was very good.
I have said it before and I am saying it again, these so called rich men in Nigeria are poor, in the sense they are living on borrowed bank money, with interest piling up. Take their liabilities from they assets, they don't have nothing.
And for the politicians who steal, thinking they are rich, the Spirit of God will seize that money and will go broke sooner or later.
They are many former 'Rich' politicians who are so broke now, they now find it difficult to feed, they are all over the place, hustling for contracts.
It is only God that gives true wealth.

That is a huge sum of money

Hmmm 19 banks, oh lord change my story to glory. Amen

Agrrement is agreement. Mega4dave@gmail.com

Mr Bravo said...

Money man. He is the 1st blackman to wed in the vatican.

Uche Emma said...

This man.
ALl of our big men live on loan

Na wa o!!!!!19 banks for only you...ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

nkiru said...

uhmmmm only one person! njkalu@yahoo.com

Face the law... Ilobiasika@gmail.com

Back to nothing again!!!!! ...not my portion

Chaii

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

CELEB said...

Choi! Oga u don enter, they will collect even the one wey no bi there own join!

dj chukky said...

big man, big wahala

but a loan of N26billion+ !!! to do wat nah???

hmmmm...this is a man who does not pay salaries until middle of the next month. the project he kuku borrowed the money for no get head or tail. i wonder what is there to sell anyway. He is a fucking broke man living on past glory.

AQO said...

Hehehehehe. The rich also cry. Better put, rich man dey mess too.

Mischievous said...

Financially, he is dead and buried.

The are many more like him!

Them go hear wen!

I feel sorry for young men who are desperate to marry the daughters of these so rich men. And young girls who give their bodies to them for money. No matter how bad your state is, God will make a way for you. He is God that specializes in things that are impossible with men.
After fucking these so called rich men, they come on the internet and flaunt their cars and houses, and say 'Hard work pays'. Hard work indeed!
I dey laugh, and I am still laughing.
People do the things they do, because they don't fear the Lord God Almighty, the creator of the Universe.
There is a big price to pay for messing about with God's law! DEATH!!!

moni..Obianuju4anita@gmail.com

I don't understand why some of these rich men think they can use their influences to dodge loans given to them. They forget the money actually belong to the poor masses.

Ok..obianuju4anita@gmail.com

Hmmmm na waooo

Abeg help me ask am. Whether dem dey write account balance for person forehead.

linda ikeji's boo said...

when money reaches the B volume,any allegations around it is just asking for it own share.i rest my case

The rich also cry,I guess.
This chief Sunny Odogwu, the Ide of Asaba. He is CEO of SIO Industries. He was once thought to be the richest man in Nigeria. 26 Billion isn't 26 kobo,I pity anyone who owes that much.

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

Okay then, guess assurance no cover am again!

Finance Graduate said...

You are all saying rubbish. This is business. Just because he's not trading petty cash like your father's doesn't mean he broke. With the magnitude of his business, of course he needed to get a loan from the bank. Where would he get N25billion from? And before it sounds unfathomable, that's just about $14million. It's not as massive as it sounds. Chief Odogwu is worth over $100m, but he's not stupid enough to use his own money to pay for the project. That's how business works. A good example is in Hollywood. As rich as actors are, why do you think it's rare to see them finance their own films? They don't want to bare the brunt of that liability if the film fails so they get loans and investors. Education is essential.

Ahhh!!!

#Gan gan# greed only swallows u up *in davido's voice* see gobe

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

Oga Abeg ooo, no only waka com?

How only you go dey owe bank that kin money Eh?
I wasn't there when it started, so am definitely not gonna be there when it'll end.
So, no comments.

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

Finally..the ass of the chicken has been exposed. He&his family must know that all the families they owe some form of severance package or gratuity are praying hard. This is just the beginning.he has allowed many to languish in penury after years of service to his nonsense companies...no salary no gratuity
...vengeance is of the Lord.....Emeka,Ken,Uche,even u Violet Odogwu& the rest of u, be warned. Better seek restitution fast and pay those you&your family owe. We serve a living God.

destinysweet said...

Rich debtors everywhere

----#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#

Nonny said...

Let him pay his debt nw

Na them sabi.....non of my business tho

#abbytohxoft

Money is good I won't deny,but don't kill yourself for it,delfad2011@yahoo.com

chai1 na wa oh

Chai the Greed delfad2011@yahoo.com

Okafors Mentor said...

sad,bad,mad fly_fire_fox@yahoo.com

Grand Hotel Asaba is one of his numerous assets. This nigga ain't getting broke anytime soon. Sorry peeps

You don't understand the business environment. These banks are shylock lenders and terrible. You can't be quick to judge. He should have taken them to court first.

diz big men r d biggest oni gbese

Na Babangida's inlaw...Miriam's bro

Nigerian big men can owe.

You all shld go home and ask ur old man if he has an uncleared debt before sum1 come knock on ur door

Rich debtors Lool

Ceemij said...

This one na gobe. Original gone. How does he intend to offset all these bills. All these big men sef.

Thats too much. benotekcomputers@gmail.com

You are the one talking rubbish!

Hmmmm, Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Mischievous said...

@Financial graduate. You have been miseducated, just like many others. Are you his accountant to know he is worth over 100 million dollars? Individuals trying to live like nations. USA prides itself as the richest nation (now overtaken by China) but largely on borrowed money from financial institutions, they have the means to service the debts, even the UK. Financial theory is different from reality, apply the rubbish you've been thought to your life and see where it will land you. Fela Anikulapo advised us in his hit song Follow Follow' not follow book all the time, read it and apply your sense. Reeducate yourself!

Oi everyone Should Google The Man's Networth And Add The Fact That He Is Currently One Of The Highest Property Owners In the Entire World, Take 20billion From Him And He Would Still Wipe His Ass With 100 Dollar Bills Till He Dies, Meaning On A Bad Day The Boss would be Richer Than Your Generations To Come. Over $350Million In Networth (accounted For) Bow down Bitches! (runs)

See this one! Is this what you live for?

Nigerians Can Be Daft, Which Crime Did You Read Him Commit? He is owing and he has collateral, if he didn't which bank would loan him that insane amount of money. After una go say una go school. Gbo Gbo Broke People! (runs)

And u know his worth COs ur his chief financial officer!. I commented earlier above&called out his kids&sis. Odogwu is worth nada!.!i mean absolute nada!He should pay the families he owes. Which of his businesses do you knw exist today.GOD remains on the throne.He should pay the families he owes fast.

Na xoooo

Boss C said...

These debtors and their liver

@anoymous 2:49pm Babangid's inlaw is Okogwu, not Odogwu.
Odogwu aka Ide of Ahaba is very wealthy and has been for a long time. The man is worth hundreds of millions of dollars, this ain't going to wreck him. His assets are just too vast and diversified, even outside Nigeria. This ain't new money.

better pay ur debt here before u can be chased to pay it in hereafter. nobody should go unpurnished.

mjabdulk@gmail.com

sleek9ja said...

Ordinary 19 accounts

Ordinary 19 accounts.... 26billion naira when people are wallowing in poverty, its sad and disheartening.

Oritse femi gets attacked by robbers causing major accident.
http://sleek9ja.blogspot.nl/2014/12/musician-oritsefemi-gets-attacked-by.html?m=1
Log on to sleek9ja.blogspot.com for more info

Gbankor Gbi said...

ummmm

All of you guys are just bitter. Do you know this man? He built his business since the 40's going door to door selling insurance. He was able to acquire properties all over the world and became the man he is through hard work.

In business, you don't use your money for big projects like this, you borrow from the bank.

Also, he didn't borrow 26 billion naira from the bank. 80% of it is all interest. Of course he can pay it if he wants to but he has a problem with the interest.

Don-Corleone said...

Na wa 4 9jirians...una wahala too much sha! Here we are "gossiping" about <<>> Sunny Odogwu's alleged N26B debt, when the big boss is somewhere in Europe chilling with a big bottle of Champagne and asking his accountants why he's still not on the top 10 riches men in the world. Guys, listen up...this big boss is stinkingly rich! He's been getting big bucks long before most of you broke ass fools were even born. N26B debt??? Una don dey mad abi...???

I know him!!! I use to work for him in Asaba in Grand Hotel and worked close to him. He is mean but a very successful hard working man that has built a huge empire. I find this report very strange. Sure it will be resolved.

D guy is 10x richer than dat. Still very rich... Bulk of his investments aren't here. Only his real estate in SA can sort dis out& mind u, these are people runnings dis country from the shadows. Its a game, don't be deceived. I know d man, even till this morning.