Photo: Meet the 42-year-old woman in JSS 1 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 December 2014

Photo: Meet the 42-year-old woman in JSS 1

A 42-year-old woman, Mrs. Juliana Godwin, despite all odds, has returned to school and is now a JSSI student of Junior Secondary School, Gosa, Abuja.

Mrs. Godwin, is from Riyom Local Government Area of Plateau State and had dropped out of school in 1983 due to lack of funds. According to her, 
“I had to leave for Jos in 1983, since my father could no longer sponsor my education to secondary school because he had no money. While I was with my cousin, I enrolled in a tailoring shop to learn  dress making. I completed it within a year and  six months. In 2003, I was able to save some money from water hawking. I started pepper and tomato business with N1,000 from the savings. I also went into corn roasting business, but my husband stopped me from the business in 2007,” she told Vanguard. 
In 2008, she decided to go into vocational training with a non-governmental organisation called Refocusing Nigerian Talents Organisation, RENITO, where she was trained in soap (liquid, medicated and bar), pomade and disinfectants production.
“Now I can produce and sell the products I was trained on, and I started with N1,500. I came to realise that the business was lucrative and helpful to me and my family. I decided to make savings towards going back to school after I dropped out in 1983. My husband was against my decision and quarrelled seriously with me. But I didn’t give up on my decision. In 2013, I went on to enrol at Junior Secondary School, Gosa, Airport Road, Abuja, where I started in JSS I F. I was able to raise N10, 000 to pay for admission expenses."
“Why I decided to start from JSSI was because I had never in my life stepped into the four walls of a secondary school. I told myself I will start from JSS I, as it will help me to have the foundation of secondary school education and to understand what I would be taught. My principal was surprised and asked me whether I could cope with secondary school education as an adult and a married woman. He and the staff also encouraged me to continue since I had made up my mind. But my husband continued making trouble to stop me”.
“I am the oldest person in the class of 80 students. I participate in every school activity, and I am happy with that. Even when I come late to school, the teachers do punish me just like other students, and I have no problem with that, but I do behave myself as an adult. I have seen great changes in my life, and I am coping seriously. My aim is to study marketing in the university after I would have completed my senior secondary education”, she added.

238 comments:

1 – 200 of 238   Newer›   Newest»

hehehehehe

fashion republic of pumpsberry said...

Lol. Bisflo2002@yahoo.com

Learning never stops

LGM said...

That's gud

Nyc one. Kudos to her

Very funny

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Everything Rosham said...

OMG!!

elovi said...

Lmao

Sammie Blacc said...

Thank God. Sammieblacc77@gmail.com. Thanks Linda, God bless!

elovi said...

Is good tho

DOS said...

She has made a wise decision

Sammie Blacc said...

Jesus is Lord. Sammieblacc77@gmail.com. Thanks Linda, God bless

well, Education is never too late........but dis her age is sumhow

Age is not a barrier to education.

Atobatele said...

Linda you're late on this

Re u kiddin me

SANDRA said...

Its neva too late

Eyah! God be with her. I don't think education has limits.. Get it if you want to. It is well. 2tim 2:15. BishopDammy#

becckyd said...

Education is not by age.

FOLARIN• said...

Wow!!!
This is amazing

You're never too old to learn

Good for her...as long their is life nothing is impossible in the hand of God

See What Tiwa Savage Did To A Popular Comedian

Pretty Wife Caught Cheating On Her Husband With The Houseboy

education is the key..easytravelsconnect@gmail.com...oluwalobunmi

Age doesn't matter in terms of education..I like her guts

towsynesouchie said...

Oh oh

khemorah said...

Lol. E dey happen.

Feyisetan said...

This is just a waste of resources,why can't she give her children the best education and mayb learn an hand work herself

Website Design | Website Development | Digital Marketing said...

Good for her!

Is that her son???

IT IS BETTER LATE THAN NEVER...

ADAOBI said...

so touching Education has no age.... as far as u are alive ...u will continue to learn....

Its never too late to better yourselve. Kudos! Cause it takes courage.

KWEEN said...

Well, learning should only end when one is dead :)

Na wa o.
NiCk

easytravelsconnect@gmail.com...oluwalobunmi

Hmmmmmm.it stil boils down to the fact that education respects no one,no matter the age.tke a look at Obasanjo going back to school.hers nd dat of Obj which is worse?

Linda. This is old news joor!

One and Only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

bbm 7F098C19 said...

this a prove that education has no age. I will go back to the nursery soon. Engr Emy

ya is very common in plateau state

O ga o. She shld ve opt for adult edu.

FRUITILICIOUS said...

You are never too old for school...love your courage tho

FOLARIN• said...

Did u read the article at all

Haba na wah ooo

BONARIOS BABY said...

Eyah, I really feel 4 her. But education is 4 everybody nobody is above it. I rem when I was in JSS1 we had a clasmate that was 26yrs old.she had very big breast and den we used 2laugh. We were kids sha we didn't know.lol shady2link@yahoo.com

Hmmmm. Education is not a waste.
Faceoflib

Determination datz al dat mataz

Wowza!!!! Now dis is inspiring!! She's going after her dream of being educated despite her age!!! Lovely

Better late than never ... lol... Coolbiggs@gmail.com

lollssss

Age doesn't matter in terms of education..I like her guts

Age is just a number. So funny though.

EyaAa she wants to go toschool....mama nkechi goes to school

favourite girlfriend said...

She tried ohhh..mi I no fit ohhh

Wow! 9c one ma

Its motivating, so encouraging.... Learning is a continuous process

Lol.okay dats gud for her

OK nah. I hear.

Ok ajibken@gmail.com

Timi Da Uyi said...

Its never too late to dream dreams... God will bring all your dreams to reality ma'm!

Eyah!! she die??????

funny

It's never 2 late 2 be educated

Interesting...

(twitter/ig)

Hmmm jss1 @ 42
Damseldebby96@yahoo.com

LMAO. Chaii!!! This is funny o. #no educationisawaste# ««QU££NMA¥A»»~R£PORTING LIV£»»

mamma mia luv said...

Ambition.....
Iykestiflar@yahoo.com

This is a joke, right?

Na wa ooooo

She is determined like kanu ajibken@gmail.com

nice 1 smithjoyce@gmail.com

mamma mia luv said...

Iykestiflar@yahoo.com

Determination is key.........

Good

no be small tin ohhh

There is always hope

Oboy when this one wan graduate..... This shows that school is very important....

Oboy ehhhh...see competition,everybody wan win money

See u, u were saying some Pple dey para 2 comment earlier, the time on this post is 11.20am, ur comment reads 11.19.... loool. u follow dem para na

Hmmmmmm.I pray she copes sha

Dia iz no age limit in Education!

ogeee said...

Dats gud

O di egwu . Mega4dave@gmail.com

education is a continuous process...iamadiume101@gmail.com

lami said...

I guess better late than never.

She doesn't look it tho, ebonie5@yahoo.com

Hahahahaha funny

Wow. That's huge.

Nice, Sentangel2040@yahoo.com

It's never too late to learn

Dis is serious

woww...she is so damn determined

DOBY DOBY said...

Its calld determination. . Bt 42yrs is a bit old oo if u ask me

LMAO brother annoymous 11:25.
No be my fault o.. I never chop today... So huger dey worry omo boy

See determination at work

Gist Naija said...

age is no barrier to education

Dere is nting wrong wit it

hilary said...

Dear libers how do u do it..a minute ago dere was no post jes for mi to refresh nd c a new post wt 90 sumtin comments...I nId to know how

Good for her

wow! education is veryyy important!

its not too late to learn

tallest_8@yahoo.com

mzmaris said...

Good for her

Hehe really inspiring lmao. Chai

Lol. Oga fire on. Hustle must pay oooo

Newz Aggregator said...

Age is not a factor anymore, I salute her

Onye homo

it is funny oooo

Eastner said...

I HAVE A DREAM!!!
IT'S POSSIBLE TO ACHIEVE ANYTHING WHEN YOU PUT YOUR MIND TO IT! congratulations ma'am.

This is wonderful in fact words can't describe her bravery. I pray that God grant her the grace to finish what she has started, its suprising but a challenge to we the youth & the elderly ones

It is not too late.

kismet kiddies ENTZ said...

Nice step nice decision,may the lord see u tru

Commenting via www.jumia.com.ng

nkiru said...

there is nothing wrong with that she is a fighter, i love her courage.

Why are this nincompoos laughing..is everything hilarious to u..can u take such bold step..@ Times I wonder why brain was given to some people..spongebob would do better with a brain like urs

Uche Emma said...

KK

dami said...

Really, age is no barrier to education. God will give u wisdom and understanding and I pray that you'll become successful in all u do.

Good one, she's a courageous woman. Greater height for u madam

CELEB said...

Wish she achieves her dreams!

good for her

There's no night school? Enrolling in a program for adults will be more worthwhile. She can move at a faster pace instead of making up for every lost year. Imagine the pedophiles this kind of practice will attract if it takes hold. Perverts will get themselves back to school to take advantage of the kids.

Barbara said...

I like this woman! I applaud her, very soon she will finish and also enter the university.I love how she humbled herself and I'm sure that she will be uplifted. For who so ever e xalts himself who be humbled and those who humble themselves before the lord will be exalted" so say the Lord.

Nice ohh... Ilobiasika@ymail.com

You guys are funny ..onwere onye achoghi ihe awufu??

dj chukky said...

hold on to your dreams lady, u will surely get dia

abujakenneth said...

That is the spirit woman

i like her courage

Guess it's the acceptable time God wants for her.....wish her strength n grace.

Geeezzzzzzz! Some people are sleeping here o! I have to win o, I need this money!

Schozze@gmail. com

Berryblast said...

Age is no barrier to education if one is serious. Nice one madam

Ok..obianuju4anita@gmail.com

Better late than never going. I admire her courage and determination

As u has made up ur mind to go back to school, may God give u alternative memory

openlatest said...

That is good of her... I think she want to exercise her brain

Eeya I wish u all dat is gud in life it's well may God give understanding nd wisdom amen

vanessa said...

it s well

Ds is srz,i can't blve it
Gracenot2001

Wow. Its never too late to achieve your dreams. Thanks a lot Linda, for the encouraging post.

ehyaa..Obianuju4anita@gmail.com

Not too late

Awww so proud of you woman ginika2nwa@yahoo.com

AQO said...

Well, age is just a number.

heytheredelilah said...

Mehn... that's some courage right there.

Learn an handwork? She's going to school bcos of deadly gbaguans like dis!! Haba!!

LOVELY!!!

that's VISION UNBREAKABLE!
DIE HARD DREAMER!

IT MAY LOOK HARD BUT NOT IMPOSSIBLE!

I love you woman! Go Ma'am Go!!!

#TeamMrsGodwin #GodYourStrenght

LOVELY!!!

DIE HARD DREAMER!

LOVELY!!!

DIE HARD DREAMER!

win said...

Determination in action. Good luck to you.

Tonia.........You won't regret going back to school at all. God be with you all the way.

linda ikeji's boo said...

learning has no age

Good 4 her, Linda am not seeing my comment o

Bunmi said...

This is what i call determination

The rush 2 Comment 4 give away.... Lwkmd!

This is so nice. A man once told me that education doesn't have an age limit and that we continue to learn till the day we die!

She is absolutely determine ..that's good...hi Linda ..I hope I be among ur lucky winner { wink} thumps up 2 u 4 ur good work. My email is :.sweetmob2002@gmail.com /.please add me if am one of ur lucky winner . Thanks

Zoë said...

This is so good and nice of her, but she could have started adult education, evening class.

This is a woman with goals, age culd nt stop her nd her eagerness nd determination to acheieve that goal is amazing

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

Wow!
She deserves to be applauded for placing such value on education at her age. I wish BB, FB, TWITTER, LIB, WHATSAPP, LINKEDIN, VIBER... and the likes of them could allow our teenagers to focus on their education, using this woman as a role model. No but it can't, and won't.

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

Heeeeee, wonders shall neva end (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

It's never too late to get educated but she for don do evening class or private class nah!!! Proud of her oh.Not easy to decide on such and actually do it

Nonny said...

Learning is a continuous process, no age limit, but d problm is doin d right ting at d wrong time, wish her luck, guess she is just having d opportunity nw

wow.... datz good and inspiring

U are a great woman. ..

Kudos Mama. Ride on

I love her encouragement o with her age .may God help u so as to be able to achieve ur aim in jesus name

destinysweet said...

Education is power

----#Auntylindagoddaughter#

Anon11:33. I'm sure u r his partner.

That's humility and a reminder that learning never ends. I must surprise last two years when my dad who already has a masters degree was registering for another Masters degree in another discipline and hopes to finish and apply for his PhD! A man of almost 70years! He said, as long as you are alive, continue to read!!!

You go dear. Wishing all the best.

That's humility and a reminder that learning never ends. I must surprise last two years when my dad who already has a masters degree was registering for another Masters degree in another discipline and hopes to finish and apply for his PhD! A man of almost 70years! He said, as long as you are alive, continue to read!!!

School has no age limit..

John Collins said...

I see some fellas here laughing and making jokes at this woman and her great step into attaining some good for herself, honestly Some People are some shallow and small minded... If to say some of una face half of d situation wen she face, some of una for don either dey street dey hawk una yansh or for don dey Prison or worst still Kpeme.. Crazy Fools...

Special Greetinx to those who respect this woman's courage, ain't easy at all.

Linda have not been posting my coment all dis y bcus u hav not ben publishing it,but ds one,i must comment..dis is really a bold step achieve educational goal..may GOD see her tru..education is indeed insatiable...frm birth 2 death..

It's Never too late!!

Indeed education has no age. Bold decision by her. But there should be a concrete plan to make it worthwhile.

Ponzy4love5@gmail.com

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

woa! dat's cool

Lol the hustle is real

COURAGE, VISION AND HUMILITY. GOD BLESS YOU, WOMAN. YOU ARE VERY INSPIRING AND I AM VERY PROUD OF YOU. GOD BLESS YOUR HUSTLE AND MAY ALL YOUR DREAMS COME TRUE.

#she's brave...elizabethnwankwo45@yahoo.com

Dubem said...

You're feeling like a super star on lib now abi,correct him or bypass,skinny tin

ug said...

with determination you can get any where in life and be who you want to be.you are inspiring ma'am.

ug said...

God see you through

welldone ma'am! God will surely see you through.

Lwkmd the return of mama bisi in school. I no encourage dis kind 1 ooooo 41 years old ke. She don turn celebrity oo

dis is great motivation to so many ppl out dere. am really moved by dis.

Okafors Mentor said...

more grease gammy fly_fire_fox@yahoo.com

Okafors Mentor said...

Leeely Clinton said...

Not a good decision, when will she finish? she would have enrolled for GCE lessons, sit for GCE and JAMB exams

Feyisetan said...

Hand work is a work produced by hand labour,bead making,hand embroidery,catering etc.falls in this category

what a bold step! NICE ONE maam

R.M. said...

Wow, such a great attitude. The sky's her limit.... bunmirita@yahoo.ca

peekay said...

dias no age limit to education ride on Ma'am
zyashim@gmail.com

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 238   Newer› Newest»