Finally! Governor Fashola slashes LASU school fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 June 2014

Finally! Governor Fashola slashes LASU school fees

A leader that listens. How nice! After much protest from students of the Lagos State University over hike in school fees, Lagos Governor, Babatunde Fashola has approved a reduction in their school fees by 34% and 60% across the different faculties and courses.

Announcing the reduction at a press conference yesterday in Alausa Ikeja, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Education, Fatai Olukoga said after much deliberations by the adhoc committee set up by the Governor to look into all the grey areas of the proposed new fees, the Governor yesterday adopted the committees recommendations and approved the reductions.
“Government agrees that with the subsidized tuition fees and appropriate moderation of incidental fees, a reduction ranging from 34% to 60% is possible across the different faculties and courses. Government has therefore approved the reductions and, in accordance with the law setting up the university, forwarded its approval to the institution’s Governing Council for implementation. The council will issue details of what is now payable by students in each department" Olukoga said
Olukoga also said the reduction in fees would not affect the state government's release of research fund, scholarship, bursary provisions and promised that the government's spending on infrastructure and physical development of LASU will continue.

120 comments:

Thank God, may God bless him,

Using this opportunity to say a happy birthday to pastor TB Joshua as he add one year to his age today. Happy birthday to you sir

Gud to knw this protest worked so it remain the #bringbackourgals protest....

See politics...hmmm nja!

Goodnews..... how nice of Fashola to av reasoned with the students........ no more cooking of beans at govt house gate.....

He is a leader dat listens.. Dats why I luv dis man.. Fashola is d man for d people..

Dats a good leader.hw I wish all other nigeria leaders listen to the voice of the masses.Thanks to all the vibrant comrades that stood for their right.Aluta continua Victoria acerta#Amala awetsu#nothing shall discourage us#

############GOD punish ####################devil

I have said it time and again, this guy deserves a shot at the presidency. He is a model leader.

emerald said...

good of him. But let him please do something about the ASUP strike ,i pray God helps him.

He has done well, wish Benue state Govt can take a cue from this and resolve the issue which has kept students at home for over 9months.
That of Polytechnics seems a forgotten issue.

Better O,a leader who has conscience unlike abba moroN*fashionista LeonorA*

SouthEastern said...

This is great. The job of a good leader is to listen to his people.
Kudos governor Fashola.

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

Men all this people wen dey comment within seconds..re u guys jobless or something

This is my candidate for the presidential election, I really love this man from day1, not that ode Mr Jona that sets up committee every now and then without results

Good to hear that

Airtel and Mtn Working Free Browsing Cheat On Android And Pc For June/julyDon't dull activate yours now

God will always be with u sir and help u

KriZo 01 said...

Leader that listens my black and yellow ass! Was he not aware of the increase In d first place? Why did he let it happen??? Cheap political point!

Good for them....@blissful_ja

DOBY DOBY said...

Yea.. love u fashola.. dis is d kind of news I wan to hear

BRF na ma man

More breathtaking photos from Kim & Kanye's Fairytale wedding

i love this man, he is down to earth, may God continue to bless him. He is a blessing to Lagos State government and the people involved

Emi Nelson said...

Y isnt this guy running for 2015 presidential election???? He is a good leader

I love the guy too but it took him a long time to listen (for all you praising him), shouldn't students or youths generally have the governor's ear? Destiny's have been delayed and probably altered due to time wasted.

I ♡ Fashola

QUEEN said...

He is a nice man. Well done Sir

Fvcking Hypocrites,,,yall wouldnt ask why the school fees were put up so high in the first place now yall clapping,,,when the price of fuel was hiked and reduced to 97 naira due to mass protest,,,did you people say Jonathan was a listening president? fucking hypocrites.

Ope Careem said...

Thank you dear Governor.

Eko O ni Baje o!

JO said...

Good one Gov Fashola. The percentage decrease will definitely affect the school fees.

Hmmm politics at its best

e do well....

C.E.O

e do well....

C.E.O

Is this reduction based on increased fees or is it based on the fees before it was increased?

The best governor since the nation Nigeria began to exist

Fashola is an amazing leader. More of him nd Nigeria becomes a better country. God bless you governor Fashola

Wow!!! That's the type of leaders we need in naija,God bless you sir.

Fashola is d man for the people,loving his ways

#King said...

Nice one..Fashola for president.....................#KingOfKings

Very gud.

abeg make i hear word... APC dont want to loose lagos state... Since 2011 dat he increased the school from 25000- 350000.... Becos election is next year abi... All politican are thieves.... When they win next year they will increase d school fees back... Stupid and useless party......

Hmmmmm, poliTRICKS. Say NO to APC

Awwwwww he's such a good man.... God bless him

Olukoga pls d road of d estate(Igboluwo estate ikrd ) u live in is an eyesore,pls why not help d people in ur community

Y hin increase am at first

I just love the guy, what a gud leader to emulate

Will really wish to have dis guy as Mr president... nice 1 fashola....

Via BlackBerry z10

I just Love d guy, what a gud leader to emulate

My thoughts exactly, if only he would run for presidency

*yinmu* y did he increase d fee @Ist?? If it was 250-350 in dose dayz would fashola had gone to school??? Abeg leave sentiment. Dey r all corrupt leaders.

Plssssss Fashola shld come out 4 presidency he's a great leader...... Kudos

APC dont want to loose lagos state.... Playin politics with people's life.... Why didnt he reduce the school fees since 2011:... Okkkk he reduced it becos election is next year... So that people will vote for them... Nigerians are so easy to deceive.... When they win next year... They will increase the school fees.... Rubbish.....

gallant chic said...

God bless u sir. Sometimes its nt about d political party but d individuals

sharonj said...

I love this man so much!Fashola 4 presidency!!!

Good man may God bless u

Gov. Fashola has a good heart, unlike Gov. T. A. Orji of Abia state that asked Police to throw tear gas on us when our school fees was increased, and we went to Protest at Govt. House Umuahia. That was in my 2nd at ABSU, we saw hell that day....lol. And he still increased the fees again, after then. May God help Abia state.

Best among the rest. Thank you ur Excellency.

Debbieva said...

Wow what a great guy.

Good news. Congrat!!!!!!!!!! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

This is a reall leader

Jade said...

God bless Fashola. You've got to hand it to the man. Plus he's my bday mate! #famzing tins

Good one

# FASHOLA IS THE MAN
#FASHOLA FOR PRESIDENT
#FASHOLA ,LISTENING LEADER
#FASHOLA THE PEOPLES CHOICE
#FASHOLA FOR PRESIDENT

Best governor award goes 2 BRB. Eko o ni baje ooooo

So far so good, one of the best leaders dis country has produced. #Luscious

lolly said...

Yaaay!!! Alhamdulillah

Aww! Lng live Fashola Lng Live Lagos State! GEJ shud jst emulate dis man's character

pricelessprincess said...

it bin long i drop a comment....my love for this man nd his office keeps increasing every day..

dear GEJ swallow ur pride and learn from fashola..stop chasing shadows,leave SLS AND bringbackourgirls.

Much love to Fashola. I will vote for you again and again.

damilola fambegbe said...

Stupid idiot..why increase it b4...

Etsako Pearl said...

Yes o! BRF 4 presidency buh not apc party sha ooo.Lol! Eko oni Baje oo!!

Much better than Remi Tinubu's response that school fees are high abroad and that's why they have students loans. She didn't think it would make more sense if the student loan was made available first before the outrageous increase in fees. Good job BRF

this man should be our president .he will change this country pls people lets us start a movement
FASHOLA FOR PRESIDENT

nene said...

fashola should be our next president

KOSBI said...

this man will do better than jonathan ? i think he will bring nigeria back to its feet

BEST GOVENOR WE HAVE EVER HAD AND THE BEST PRESIDENT NIGERIA WILL BE FORTUNATE TO HAVE

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Man of the people.. Kudos to you sir !!

1000likes...

What if the raise was intentional made so that the governor takes credit for reducing it later on... Hmmmm Campaign tins, just saying

Hmm... nice one.

KOSBI said...

this man will do better than jonathan ? i think he will bring nigeria back to its feet

BEST GOVENOR WE HAVE EVER HAD AND THE BEST PRESIDENT NIGERIA WILL BE FORTUNATE TO HAVE

Now dats wat am talkin bout..a tru selfless leader.unlike dis monkey look alike Jonathan..dumb ass president.luv me sum Fashola

April 14 to june 11 is how long it took him to come to a conclusion. Hmmmm n didn't give an actual figure. All I can say is this is all for ekiti elections coming up in ten days & also to still kip lagos in apc. A listening leader gbaa

So mr governor how long wud it take governing council to release d new school fee.

Benue state should learn from Lagos State. You have DAVID MARK, ABBA MORO and so many top Benue leaders but they are not bothered about the people. Their is God ooooooooo

Good to hear that..

~EDO BOY~ says so via WWW.Facebook.com/eddywhiz

trendycubicle.com said...

Good to know the protest worked. Nigerians should always stand for their right.

Gov.Fashola,may God bless u for this & every good thing u hav done.thank u sir

This is lovely. I am happy for the students. Lindyway paste my comment o. Shuoo!!! U dey beef me?

Fashola has got the quality of an excellent leader. Good one!

Remi Tinubu's statement was quite shameful.

I weep 4 hypocrites like Linda and her co supporters on dis blog. Listening governor indeed y him increase ham in d first place imagine state school paying 250k as schl fees hw much was fashola paying during his days. I'm sure some fools commenting here dat he shld go 4 presidency dnt even read news beyond wat Linda post here.

Kudos to him....

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

A true leader. Come get the presidential ticket from me already

Good for d lasu students,linda pls pls help the poly students but hammering to hear of the masses that asup as been on strike 4 d past eleven months,destinies are wasting away. Media should help us fedgovt nd asup are not considering we d student @ all.

Akwaugo said...

At last thank God

Because ppl don't want a Muslim-Muslim ticket.....they'd rather vote for an incompetent ignoramus as long as he/she's from their tribe or religion

When GEJ is working linda says "no need to praise him that is what he was voted for"
now BRF increase n decrease school fee he is being praised
why the hailing?

Now this is news. Am happy for LASU students.

This is the kind of leader we need in Nigeria. Fashola is a reformist, a man of substance and a leader that apparently listens! If Fashola was president Boko Haram does not stand a chance! Fashola for PRESIDENT!!!!! I just respect this man so much!

FASHOLA FOR PRESIDENT!!!!!!

For increasing tuition fees without consideration of the economic realities of the country,now as gullible as we are,we are now clamoring for his presidency.these is why the nation is captive by the political class its a shame!!!

You must be the jobless one that is counting d seconds! Idiot!!!!

Sandy said...

Abeg all you social-media adept people help me start a twitter handle or sth saying #fashola4president2015. We need intelligent strategic people running this country biko

Please I want to ask, how much in exact figures? You increased something several times then after a long time reduced the astronomical fees by a fraction... and dumb nigerians are here having orgasms over bullshit.., smh... things will never get better. Small statistustics and dem don confuse una... u guys lost! Lasg wins!

I love my governor...dats what i love abt my yoruba governor we look for peace not chaos. EKO O NI BAJE SIR...EPE FUNWA

HOT-STEPER said...

Why was d sch fees inconsiderably increased in d first place . Fashola dt was a very clever political move, a very intelligent one at dt .

Oluwasheunfunmi Adekoya said...

Lagos state university was established in order to serve the education needs of Lagosians. That is why the admission quota is 70% Lagosians, 30% other states. It was non residential in order to minimise running cost since most students were expected to be Lagosians. The founding fathers envisioned a university that would produce ALL the professionals needed to develop the state. The university trained students at little cost to make it affordable for everyone. It was expected that subsequent governments would increase investments in the university in order to maintain high standards. They felt that training civil engineers to construct our roads was better than utilising foreign companies. They felt training medical doctors was better than travelling abroad for medicals. After intense agitations by staff/students of the university in 2010, a visition panel was constituted. The visitation panel was to look into how the quality of education offered at LASU could be improved. The panel as part of its findings decried the poor state of infrastructures at the university.The panel recommended an increase in budgetary allocation to the UNESCO recommended 26% Followed by an increase in tuition fees in order to meet up with funding required at the university. The LASG responded by increasing subventions by 33% and tuition fees between 700%-1200%. The actions of the government negates the idea of the founders of the university. If LASG wants a university for the rich, They should establish one. LASU was established for the poor! #SaveLASU #bringlasufeesdownnow

Oluwasheunfunmi Adekoya said...

Lagos state university was established in order to serve the education needs of Lagosians. That is why the admission quota is 70% Lagosians, 30% other states. It was non residential in order to minimise running cost since most students were expected to be Lagosians. The founding fathers envisioned a university that would produce ALL the professionals needed to develop the state. The university trained students at little cost to make it affordable for everyone. It was expected that subsequent governments would increase investments in the university in order to maintain high standards. They felt that training civil engineers to construct our roads was better than utilising foreign companies. They felt training medical doctors was better than travelling abroad for medicals. After intense agitations by staff/students of the university in 2010, a visition panel was constituted. The visitation panel was to look into how the quality of education offered at LASU could be improved. The panel as part of its findings decried the poor state of infrastructures at the university.The panel recommended an increase in budgetary allocation to the UNESCO recommended 26% Followed by an increase in tuition fees in order to meet up with funding required at the university. The LASG responded by increasing subventions by 33% and tuition fees between 700%-1200%. The actions of the government negates the idea of the founders of the university. If LASG wants a university for the rich, They should establish one. LASU was established for the poor! #SaveLASU #bringlasufeesdownnow

cmii said...

Ojebi! Wah was he tinkin before??? Tshewwwww

cmii said...

Ojebi! Wah was he tinkin before??? Tshewwwww

Mikkybrizz said...

Stop spreading rumours what u just said about the benue state govt is a Big fat lie

Abby said...

A good leader with a good heart....he has really done well by giving a listening ears to the cries of the students.He might have choose to let it slip without doing anyfin....but he just proved himself that he has compassion for the masses.You have done well Sir,God will continue to uphold you.i just wish he can adopt me as one of his children.

oilprince said...

Thanx @ anon 11:04am, finally some1 with grey matter.

Admin said...

no mind these jobless peooples dt call themselves libers they always make this blog sucks sometimes

VICTOR INNOCENT said...

In any developed society that want d progress of youths and the country growth, this is what supposed to be done. by given
listening ear to the people like what His EXCELLENCE GOVERNOR babatunde Fashola did.we are happy to return back to class, more power to his elbow

Finally. .. thnk u baba oo

zibaintl said...

listening ear my foot.....linda state d exact amount b4 we can discuss dis issue....hypocrites,,,,,n u Linda u are quick to praise anytin dat happens wit dis APC hypocrites,,,election is by d corner,,politicians no fit fool me..

Face Reality! Is it sensible to set fee above the earning of a government worker? Please give an excuse! How many staff under LASG can pay such fee for his children from his salaries lest you talk of common Nigerian artisan? Please create another school for the RICH KIDs to fund, let Tax payer fund LASU.

Bull shit, we should be talking of free education and not school fees hike. Nonsense, BRF remove every increment.