A total of
13 aircraft suddenly vanished off radars for about 25 minutes on two
occasions while flying over Austria, it has been revealed.
In
what is being billed as 'unprecedented' circumstances, the incidents on
June 5 and yesterday saw the flight data disappear from air controller
screens.
Austria's
flight safety organisation admitted that the height, location and other
information for a total of 13 aircraft mysteriously vanished from radars. It is believed that some of the planes were long-haul flights carrying passengers on board. Continue...
Markus
Pohanka, a spokesman for Austro Control, said relevant EU agencies have
been asked to investigate the 'unprecedented' situation.
He
added that other unnamed neighbouring countries had similar incidents
and the EU's Eurocontrol, and European Aviation Safety Agency has been
asked for a probe.
Pohanka
did not identify the other nations that the European flights were flying
over when they disappeared from secondary surveillance radars.
However, a report in the Kurier
newspaper
said as well as in Vienna in Austria, flight controllers in Munich and Karlsruhe in Germany, and in
Prague, the Czech Republic, and Bratislava in Slovakia also reported related problems.
The report said German air traffic control had confirmed the black
outs, adding that the reason there were no collisions was due to the air
traffic controllers.
It
could have had dramatic consequences, as 4,000 planes take to the sky
in Austria every day - with 50 in the air at any one time, according to
the report.
Air traffic was conducted 'blind' - by voice only - during the temporary outage, it claimed.
The
revelations echo the circumstances surrounding missing Malaysia
Airlines flight MH370 from Kuala Lumpur to Beijing which disappeared on
March 8.
The
Boeing 777 - with 239 passengers and crew on board - vanished from
civilian radar screens about an hour into the night flight.
The
search for the flight - which involves countries including the UK, the
US, Australia, China, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand - has so far
recovered nothing.
In relation to the 13 missing flights about Europe, Kurier
cited unnamed experts as saying interference between the aircrafts'
transponders and ground control was apparently to blame.
Pohanka
declined to confirm that or to say which airlines and planes were
involved.
But he suggested that at least some may have been
long-distance passenger aircraft, based on their high altitudes.
There was no danger at any time, he said.
Pohanka
said extra air controllers immediately were called to their posts and
emergency measures, including establishing voice contact with the pilots
and widening flight corridors, were put into effect.
The EU’s Eurocontrol and European Aviation Safety Agency will investigate the incidents.
Pohanka said that safety in the Austrian air space was guaranteed at all times.
He told MailOnline Travel: 'There is no situation in aviation where there is not another procedure that takes place. We
noticed that some of the responder data sent from the plane to the
ground disappeared for a short period of time from the radar screens. That is the reason why the contingency procedures were put into place. Voice
communication guaranteed that we knew everything about the planes in Austrian air space and allowed air traffic controllers to do their jobs. Distance between aircraft was increased.'
When
asked what had caused the black out, Pohanka said no error was
indicated on the operating system, but they would have to wait to hear
the results of the investigation.
58 comments:
Signs of d endtime.
So shall it be when the trumpet sounds.
Be prepared.
On a lighter note, maybe the aliens are here.
Uwa agula
things are juat happening anyhow.... na wa
What is happening? Something needs to be done.
LINDA why is it that u usually like to swallow my comments.
I'm sure this happened the exact time this lady in the bus farted woow! I knew it. Coz my fone 1st off
Hmmm. What exactly is happening ,there must be sometin behind all of this. #cherry
Not again this is bad #bright bravo#
Omg
Na three ppl cause am PDP, APC or alien.
And the bible said he will come like a thief... This world might be ending and we are not aware.....
Wat kind of news is dis.. dis kind of thing appnd late 80s wer planes varnish in d middle of an ocean
Na una wen de fligh I de pity. Me I de ground kamkpe..lol!
#The#end is near!!!! Be warn!!!
Mysterious things will happen just before the Trumpet sounds...
And that's supposed to be cheering news? Really?
Day went 2 wonder land and came bk#iceprincess
What is going on am afraid
I find it a little hard to believe 4,000 planes take off fault from Austria. But I've been wrong in the past.
Malfunction I guess...kelvincarez
The end is near...
Aliens!!! Soon they will connect this to the missing Malaysian flight.
The World is coming to an end!
U just spoke my mind, maybe they are really here....end time
XDON D DON
...That's really strange. Hope the necessary authorities will do something fast
I hope this is not The work of aliens sha.....just like the series 'Event' God help us O
This is mysterious. But why? and how? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥
Don't rule out extra-terrestrial elements. I am sure d malesian airline is in their custody somewhere beyound earth
Nna!! Dis varnishing & disappearing don dey 2much ooh!
Pls wat book of d bible can I find it....nid to read my bible n get myself ready.....fear dey catch me.
In the hands of almighty God we commit ourselves.
God let fyn them
Trumpet. I̶̲̥̅̊â„“â„“ soon sounds
Things are happening!
It provokes me wen ppl use d expression 'sign of d endtime' for evry single occurence...
yea its jst d bigining of such datz my blive..... neva trust d west!
#disturbingABJ
Lolz..... Whaart????? PDP and APC? You guys are funny
Only God knw what's been happening....God save my soul
Cyber-attack?
if na Naija , them go sat na Jazz
Anon 6:20, lolzzzzzzz, Jus try n experience traveling by air, u W̶̲̥̅̊È‹̊ƪƪ never want to b on the ground again.... I swear u r funny. Lol
#GIFTEDhands
Terrorist planning an attack and testing their weapons
Complete End tym. May God hv mercy on d whole world & tamper his justice on d last day wit mercy.Amen
37 sekunde!
He that has an ear let him hear. B
Mst evry news be a cheering news? Mtchewww! Tamotiye.
No one know tomorrow. Be prepared and commitment now.
all this comments no go kill person with laugh...
It goes 2 show dat with all d technology humans feel dey ve God pass man.
cant read, long essay but the headline is clear enough..
linda should make shortcut for this lol
First sensible comment
One word: China
Mai ke faruwa ne?
Oga oooo!!!!
Please one was handmade from the Nato, the natod had a field ecercise, they want to try somethink, Nato is America and all the countries who belong to this group and Austria didnot belong to the Natod, and they want to look if they can put out this, the other one was not only in Austria also in Germany and for this they look but the austrian controll told in the TV that they have no problem to handle this. The biggest problem was that more than 4000 planes cross every 24 hours Austria
Which kind sign of the end time, we dey talk of location unknown, u dey talk of end time.
Hand of Boko Haram,is it.
Ndi anumanu! When your toilet won't flush naw you'll say it's end time mtcheeew