Delta Airlines Lagos to Atlanta flight makes unscheduled stop in Senegal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 June 2014

Delta Airlines Lagos to Atlanta flight makes unscheduled stop in Senegal

A Delta Airlines flight going from Lagos to Atlanta yesterday June 9th was diverted to Dakar Senegal after a threat was detected on board the flight. A passenger who tweeted about the incident said another passenger on board seemed to have smuggled a bag of dynamite on the plane.

Speaking about the diversion, Delta Airlines Director Corporate Communications, Europe, Middle East and Africa, Olivia Cullis, said the flight was diverted to Dakar for “precautionary reasons”...
"Delta flight DL55 from Lagos to Atlanta diverted to Dakar, Senegal for precautionary reasons. After a short stop, the flight resumed to the United States. The safety and security of our passengers and crew is our number one priority.” She explained.
Continue to see more tweets from the passenger...

81 comments:

Thank God for the lives of the passengers on board

Congrats...thank God

Thank God nothing bad happen

Peejay said...

What?! Dynamites???
Anyway, let's wait for a more detailed press release to understand what really happened.

pretty mum said...

God pls be my guide on my way home no evil eye will see my flight. Holy ghost fire begin to blind them even before the day comes

wow God help us all..
thank God oo

Ok nah...... Thank ur God no BH member on board. God is wit us

WOW! THAT WAS BRAVE OF THEM! STUPID NIGERIAN POLICE NEED TO LEARN SOMETHING..NO NEED FOR NOISE..SILENCE CATCHES THE MOST CRIMINALS! THANK GOD EVERYONE IS SAFE!

My cousin was in that flight.... so happy he got to his destination safely..... to think I drove him to d airport..

aviation sector needs a lot of scrutiny.

Discover how to make legal and cool income from your phone daily here. click

Thank God for saving the passengers life. Olamide

QUEEN said...

Glory be to God

ThnkGod for his mercies. I'm a regular on Los to Atl so I understand the situation n can relate to y'all.God is faithful

Thank God the idiot didn't succeed or it would have being a different story. These guys are everywhere, we are in hot soup!

Shyla said...

God abeg oh! All these diplomatic ish. They use it to commit atrocities. Corruption in this country, I never see. Someone actually was paid to smuggle such stuff. I hope heads will definitely roll on this.

Hmmmm this is serious, thank God it ended well.

Nawaoooooo........God dey.....

XDON D DON

I was on this flight.. crazy stuff. we could'nt figure out what was going on in the back. but i knew the crew was too calm for it not to be something crazy!

Dis ppl will not succeed in Jesus name. Amen. God help us in dis country. Everywhere is so porous. Jeez. Im booked 2 livv dis country with my daughter n join hubby 1st week of August with delta airline. God bless remove all evil ppl with bad intentions

Na wa o.. thnk God he was finally cut

U can smuggle a Nuclear bomb on a plane in Nigeria as long as u r willing to settle

Thank God for your lives .

Thank GOD for his protection

Jesus! I take that flight so many times that am freaking out as I read this......omg omg omg

Lady kim kim said...

Thank God....

DOBY DOBY said...

Thank God nothing apnd to dem..

thank God for safety

ZeeZee said...

Thank you Lord for each of their lives and for preserving them. May the perpetrator be duly delt with.

Blackberry said...

How did the fool go past security in mma?

All iz well!

Thank God oooo

We need to be more vigilant

This goes a long way to show that even after 9/11 anything is still possible in nigeria... While obj was prez I warned politicians at their rate of corruption but they gave deaf ear...now nigeria doesn't even know her population talk more of the accurate data of everyone here even for the sake of security, emergencies and economic planning....I just kp praying for my country not bcos I expect answers from above cos I know even God is tied of this deaf blind cripled country.

Nigerian security system is too porous because of corruption. Those security @MMA are just there to beg 4 money. Nothing special abt thorough check. Imagine what would have happened to these passengers. Thank God ooooo

Thank God u guys are safe

Delta is denying an attack, calling it electrical faults. me and my seat partner were asked by one of the flight attendants if we were going to be able to assist in the event of an emergency. Electrical faults huh? all the passengers deplaned, our luggage brought out and rechecked, and a complete plane sweep done for an electrical fault? oh besides we continued on the same plane to San Juan and the Atl, and that plane headed to Houston afterwards. That same plane is heading back to lagos tonight! electrical faults huh? only God can save us unsuspecting individuals. These companies are about their business and making their money! thats all

Ralph Nnanna said...

I pity de poor security network in our dear country Nigeria...how could he had beat all the security in MMA...The govt of GEJ really needs to wake up.

Wtf?? This is scary!!

GOD will help us in JESUS NAME!!! thank GOD for d life of all the people

to God be the glory. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

How on earth did he manage to go thru d airport security personnels? Nigeria sha. We thank God o

Ma best friend is on that flight,jt got her chat today that I shld help her mail d person that is suppose to pick her at d airport in canada(Babe, our flight an to do an emergency landing at Dakar,Senegal ooo due to security threath,a Naija wit explosives kind off. Pls wen u get this info biko help me relay same to Aina via her fbk msg box

U r d onli 1 in hot soup, mayb plus ur family.

The "we are in hot soup" Make me laugh fall for ground but e really no be funny tin to take laugh sha oo.

I don't get you, so you want them to tell you there is a psychopath with dynamites on the plane, a plane thousands off feet off ground, Aba now that was the best they could v done In order to avoid chaos, imagine what wld v happened if they had announced someone was abt to blow up the plane

Who come ask you, eh?

ah said...

How in heavens name did he go past security? and those bastards will seize my crayfish and palmoil. Bastards

I cant thank God enough for their lives. God wanted to use someone on that plane as a testimony and He gave them a second chance

For whatever device that wicked soul had to have flickered the lights of the plane, then it would have been quite strong. Someone was indeed lucky. Go and give thanksgiving

MELLOW said...

I have never had problems with muslims and islam until the last two years. Now I dont even want to have anything to do with them. So EVIL

MAMA BEAU said...

OYA AVIATION MINISTER. THIS IS THE TIME TO ACT. NAIJAS NAME IS GETTING SO HORRIDLY SOILED, YOU NEED TO REDEEM US SOMEHOW. INVESTIGATE, PLANT DETECTIVES AT AIRPORTS AND START FIRING PEOPLE WHO TAKE BRIBES. HIRE COLLEGE GRADUATES WITH CRIMINAL JUSTICE BACKGROUND. PAY WELL. TAKE ACTION NOW

mo ba yin yo o(i rejoice with all who were on the flight)

Where u sitting next to an exit? And my question is how did he the explosive into the plane in the first place?

HMMMM, VISA TO USA GO BECOME HARDER NOW!

Why won't one be able to smuggle such device onboard when virtually every one attending to passengers at the airport ask for money. #say no to tips in Nigerian airports.

Bbg Eze said...

Tnk God d story has a happy ending

Amen.

Na wa oo, this country has turned into something else. I pray that God continue to guide us. Amen.

I thank God for pple in that flight as well bt I am worried for this nation. We blame the government for everything but we are the corrupt ones. I don't understand how a person will take in dynamites into an aeroplane when he was supposed to be checked properly. Somebody allowed that guy in with the explosives and that person should be fished out and disciplined. God help Nigeria.

You just nailed my point bro. This country's level of corruption is high.

You see dt now is the point .In Nigeria some pple feel they are above the Law too big to go tru security checks nd this and many more is what is setting nigeria back! I work in Heathrow nd i see security checks nd how it is done. I hve bn to at least 10 states in the USA nd it's the same in fact USA steps up every now nd then on their security Checks.
Those guys at MMIA are most of the time looking for how to get tips nd make money .and are not really doing their jobs. If d's story is true I just hope it won't set Nigeria back !

Thank God..

Thank God..

d security at mm airport is so useless..all they do is beg for money..right from when you get in. till you check in hand luggage..its so sad

This is serious o. THANK GOD FOR THEIR LIVES.

CoolDiva speaks!

thank God there were no casualty.

via official intercom

Diane said...

Thank God for them. They should go for thanksgiving..

Bad news everywhere everywhere I tire oooo

So true

C.E.O

Pple just make up stories when smthing goes wrong in a plane either on ground or midair. Nobody can hide anything like that. By now the name and face of the suicide bomber will be everywhere on cnn. Lights going off and on could be eletrical problems. I dnt see hw that is connected to smeone holdng dynamites.

It's only in Nigeria, that you can smuggle an Armoured Personnel Carrier (APC)...lol into a plane as long as you bribe airport officials. It's truly sad. The Airport staff are so poorly paid that they are literally living on bribes and tips. Military men fighting boko haram are paid about 40k monthly after medical insurance deduction...of which they still buy drugs in military hospitals due to corruption at NIS. Meanwhile, stupid politicians are milking this country dry from presidency to local councils...the pension law for ex governors is Akwa Ibom is wonderful compared to what we have here in Lagos and other states. There's total anarchy and impunity in this country, no accountability whatsoever. EFCC is non existent, the judiciary is for the highest bidder...but yet, I believe in this country

Ur English na die!! "My best friend is on d flight" mumu!!

Pple with diplomatic passports are usually given VIP treatment n don't get searchedn so It was easy for him †Î¦ get 2ru.

danger averted tnk God ooo

Thank God for their lives....God pls help us in ds country.We need ur help.

All freaking customs do is ask for money at that airport how could they have missed that diplomatic passport or not.... Thank you Lord for divine safety of that plane...

HEATHROW said...

Wow!!!! Thank God !!!! What in heaven's name was he doing with dynamites onboard a flight?I know editi effiong,briliant man with a very beautiful wife.I've been opportuned to plan several trips for him and workesd with him too.thank God for safety.

Etsako Pearl said...

ThankGod 4 journey mercies.but usa visa go add now ooo!

Thank god for his protection over us, i was in that plain, two people was arrested the first one was caught in the act using a device in the that plain which affected the electrical of that plain, nothing functioning right. Crews on the plain were runing back and fought. announcement was made, that for security reason that plain will will be diverted to senegal. on landing, our plain entrance was line up of securities, whereby a young man tall, light skin, wear short and a shirt handcuffed and excorted out by a plane cloth security on the plain, and handed over to the awaitting police on on the ground. after that, we were told not to touch any of our over head lugages, just to come out of the plain with the only stuff in our hands. we were in holding for four hours, while they have our plain searched, after that we were other to go back into that same plain, and the plain took us to puerto rico intead of Atlanta Georgia our original destination, while our plain landed in San wan, Puerto rico, we went through hell where police Dog sniving every passangers coming out of that plain. we went through immigration and customs, our luggages checked and plain rechecked and clean up, after couples of hours we were later onboard to Atlanta Georgia, on getting to Atlanta six police were at the entrance of our plain asking us to show our ID and another man was arested older than the first one that was arested in senegal. To my suprise nothing was in the news abot this issue, delta just gave us a letter of appology. Pls to Nigerians who may have heard about this news, if you have a brother or sister that works at muritala airport to tell them to stop taken bribe and do their job as designated, if not the bribe he or she will take will end of killing his love ones. YV