Update on Osun school drama: Students come in masquerade attire | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 6 February 2014

Update on Osun school drama: Students come in masquerade attire

The last has not been seen of the drama that has been unfolding at the Baptist High school Iwo, Osun state as some students of the school came to school yesterday in masquerade attires, in protest of the new law that allows Muslim students to wear Hijab to their school, which is a Christian's Mission School. The students said they were also trying to register their own identity with their belief.

Since Monday this week, the school has been thrown into a state of chaos and confusion as students all came in apparrels that they claim are synonymous to their religious beliefs. Christians came in their choir robes and white garments, the Muslim students came in their Hijabs and Jalabias while the traditionalist amongst them came in their fetish looking apparels.

Speaking on the development, the Chairman of the Christian Association of Nigeria CAN, Osun state Chapter, Rev Elisha Ogundiya said the Christians were not responsible for the crisis in the school. Continue...

"We are not responsible for the crisis in the school. The students are just expressing their rights. If Muslim children are allowed to wear Hijab to school, I don't see any reason why Christian children cannot wear their choir robes to school or children of those practicing traditional religion dressed in their regalia. We warned them against this before now. Why Hijab in schools? We saw it coming and we warned the government against it, but they refused to listen. All the pupils are free to dress the way they like to school. It is their right".

Meanwhile men of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corp (NSCDC) have been stationed at all schools in the state, the Baptist High School in particular, to help maintain law and order.

121 comments:

Wahala dey o,

Hehehehehe this is solo funny
Muslims in Hijab
Christians in choir robes
Traditional worshippers dressed like masquerades.
OgbeniRauf has seen what he caused with his don't touch ground trouser

supremacydone said...

Lmao! So true! If you are gonna allow one, then u have to allow all! But coming to school dressed as a babalawo is cray mehn!

I don't copy and paste my gist
And comments are auto comments
No need to wait for approval.

click here supremacydone.blogspot.com

Darling Happy said...

Why hijab? Why don't them go to lslamic school and pratice their beliefs? Rubbish

Lol so masquerades don't wana miss out in the protest abi?lol....choi weird Unity in diversity

Omg HAHAHAH Lwkmd what a serious drama Lolz can u imagine that huh okay look at wat dis state govt is causing in the school dat belongs to Christians, so pagans now cum to school with their masquerade attire wtf dis is uncalled for

OMG, cant believe every post had my name on it, all thanks to Molly and my Almighty #EYE-SAW.
I just said to mahself that am gonna make everyone on this blog talk bout me!!!
And YES they did, thanks ya’all. One Love.. #JENYKING #EYESAW #HEHE
Cant believe no one said something bout Molly.. gosh..
Damn!! Thinking of whot next to do!

IG - @Hairbyniyot_ (08135891923) said...

Lol..dis is serious

y nt? i cn't just hlp it bt laf. evrybdy hv their own belief, so letz kip 2 dat. u cn't go 2 an islamic school wif a choir robe on so y go 2 a missionary school wif a jab or wateva it is cald. if our leaders dn't cum bk 2 their senses n do watz rite, we'll luz it.

I tire for them ohh...
i tot we have rights to religion and our different beliefs..
thats their palava shaa..

Editor said...

but this kind masquerade xmas don finish o > money speaking so drastically > una don hear say Uniuyo direct entry admission list don come out if not check take a look at it here

Igor said...

This 'progressive' governors no go kill person.They have taken their divide and rule politics to our institutions of learning. Of course Lie Mohammed will start blaming the opposition for this actions.

O ma se o. My Alma mata. Adeeke Height! Wish u won't join in ds crazy frenzy. Wish my school peace!

that girl said...

Lwkm.....kids got more balls Dan most youths and adults in d country. Dis is going to cause segregation...I hope not sha

Lmao !!!if every Nigerian can b lyk dz kids dz country will change !!but sadly ,nbdy 1 die...so we use our only means- social media !!!

Yeeeessss even d heavens wil stand solidly behind dem....muslims jez lyk tew course wahala wherever dey r....xtians z time tew fight 4 our right
#MzEmeraldSayso

Igor said...

A word of advice to Aregbesola and his cohorts,"muslims do not have the monopoly of religious fundamentalism". The South-West is a secular geo politicl zone,your actions will only end up inviting religious crisis that are prevalent in the core Northern states.

a religious crises may be looming in that state, God help them

Yvonne nelson accussed her stylish of being a.....

This story always cracks me up...if I hear say one of the teachers didn't put the idea in their head

linda what is it with dis rubbish background na? Abi u no want make we read comment?

haters-slayer said...

muslim are at it again,always cursing a scene.mtcheeeeew.

Farel said...

Hahahaha. Serves them right. Gonna be a good sight to behols.

FDJ said...

D government sud do somtin on tym bfor it get out of hand

Nice one, the students are in order. if other could wear Hijab or watever. wat ll stop them from wearing their own religious clothes to sch as faithfuls

This is #WONDERFUL.......,I hope and pray we all move like this forever in this nation to ensure a common understanding,growth and development....
Shalom....!

The students are right in their action.. I don't see why Muslim students should get preferential treatment when they all pay same fees, go to classes together, etc.. What is good for the goose is good for the gander #Mr Lucky

Aregbesola is taking dis too far.

Equal right and Justice!

Freedom of speech and Expression @ work #Oooops
zimama

Toscan... said...

Hey,I wonder why the Osun state govt is creating unnecessary troubles in the state,

I really need to understand his motive and what he is trying to achieve thru this,why merge all the schools together?why wunt u give people choice?now u are forcing the to take what u give them,

Instead of this why didn't he return the schools that are missionary schools back to the religions that own them?so what happens in those schools why Muslims and Ifa worships want their own prayer sessions?

I think the move is baseless and dead on arrival,why is he trying to secluded Osun State from the Federal govt 6-3-3-4?

Is Osun state the only APC state in Nigeria?they need to call him to order and they need to question his educational qualification coz if he goes on this way,APC becomes infamous on Osun and they will loose out to another party in the next election.

We know people behind this, Gov Aregbesola has a very good plan for osun state students which they ve been enjoy since. not until another election is nearer. Where some group of people are looking for his down fall. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

This is why I love Nigeria;if it were in the UK nobody would have the guts to stand up to them

truth said...

kai i like this hmmm...this is what i expect poly student to do,so that the media will know asup is on strike and youths are suffering with boredom at home...

Gbamest Gbam!!!!! Naffin else is befitting!

Dis is crazy!!! N funny, dis is 9ja anytin can happen. Why hijab in skool?the students hav d right to protest, am loving d choir robes, Lol.

#GIFTEDhands

Mikun said...

Lol... I think the Chairman of CAN is right

Chuxx Obi said...

That's gud... Yea every one has right to express his or her believe,,,, I love dat!! Enough is enough for all dis religious holiness!
(_\
/ \
`== / /\=,_
;--==\\ \\o
/____//__/__\
@=`(0) (0)

rev elisha, u av spoken well

Mystic Falls said...

It is a just a christian schl not a church,so I see nothing wrong wit th hijjab,choir robes,boys brigade,village priest,etc...abg free dem,one by one E go taya dem last last dey will cme back 2 schl authority and beg 4 uniform.

Fø̲̣̣я̅ Ʈђε̲̣̣̣̥ christians wearing choir robe, by Ʈђε̲̣̣̣̥ time heat wire them, ♌☺ be person go tell them †Φ remove it. Cos A̶̲̥̅♏ sure they Ǎ̜̣̍я̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ not use †Φ Ȋ̝̊̅t̶̲̥̅̊ like Ʈђε̲̣̣̣̥ muslims with Hijab.

"...fetish looking apparels" cracked me up real bad. lwkmdooo, what a sight to behold.

Where the masquerade na? Dem no snap am? I for like see am! Hehehehehehe government go soon see wetin pass them

Afolasayo said...

Why should a Christian wear the choir robe to school when they can't wear it to a party. a Muslim is supposed to wear hijab, it's a command from our God, it's our identity. Ur God never told u to wear choir robes around.

Lmao!no be small thing.

So dose muslims wanna tell me dat wen dey were registerin ,dey did not know dat it was a Christain skul? Muslims are just sumfin else ! Dey dnt like peace @all

Irorunola said...

I'm a muslim but don't support second schl students wearing hijabs to schl. There are islamic schls where they can do that. I beg jare pple lyk causing wahala.

This is so childish of the adults that put this rubbish into the minds of these children what kind of point are tryn to prove a hijab is not a regalia of uniform worn by d Muslims it is an obligatory dress code for Muslim women and they wear it everywhere outside their house not only the mosque, so I think it's a very dumb move to instigate children wrongly over nothing. And FYI all d pictures and movies that showed Mary mother of Jesus she always covered her hair, ALWAYS. It a shame on u Adults to try and mix politics with religion. Left to me sha I don't c y u should wear your choir gown to school but if I was Aregbesola I would allow the joke go on and we go see who go tire, u wan wear gown or masquerade everyday 5 days a week abi go ahead if I b d governor I'll even make it compulsory for d whole semester mk we see who go tire first rubbish.

olu said...

People are overlooking the big picture here... It is very well within ones rights as a Nigerian to engage in protest (peaceful protest) if one disagrees with the government about a law... That being said, I'd say the kids in higher institutions should learn something from this.
We Nigerians typically fall under two categories, as regards new laws by "the authority"... We're either passive (bulk of Nigerians fall here) or aggressive, neither of which would get us anywhere... Nothing is going to change with "May God help us" as our mantra... God already did His part... He gave us BRAINS!!... And neither is burning and breaking things.
So what these kids have done, I believe, is diplomatic... Getting a message across to the powers that be without inciting violence.
I'm proud of them.

Omotonye said...

wonders shall never end

olu said...

People are overlooking the big picture here... It is very well within ones rights as a Nigerian to engage in protest (peaceful protest) if one disagrees with the government about a law... That being said, I'd say the kids in higher institutions should learn something from this.
We Nigerians typically fall under two categories, as regards new laws by "the authority"... We're either passive (bulk of Nigerians fall here) or aggressive, neither of which would get us anywhere... Nothing is going to change with "May God help us" as our mantra... God already did His part... He gave us BRAINS!!... And neither is burning and breaking things.
So what these kids have done, I believe, is diplomatic... Getting a message across to the powers that be without inciting violence.
I'm proud of them.

I wonder what is really going on. Rather than go to school and learn, our children are now being made to involve themselves in religious bigotry n tribalism. I blame our parents for this rubbish

wetin person no go see for this country

Kudos to the students. Am fully in support. Will a xtian ever go to a Muslim school wearing anything that depicts a Christian believe?

I will supply them with more masquerades from Aro Ndi Izuogu, the home town of Linda Ikeji.

Kudos to the students. Am fully in support. Will a xtian ever go to a Muslim school wearing anything that depicts a Christian believe?

I will supply them with more masquerades from Aro Ndi Izuogu, the home town of Linda Ikeji.

makky said...

Wow! I like this.. Our children are becoming fearless. #These are the real future hopes of Nigeria

famonzo said...

Lolz... wonders shall neva end. APC had better call Gov. rauf Aregbesola to order. Otherwise, I see another religious crisis looming. Cos I believe religious uniforms should be allowed in missionary schools only n not public schools dat r means for every children. The governor must be thinking backwards.

Shokija said...

The policy Osun state govt introduced is a SCHOOL CLASSIFICATION. Although Nigerians are religion heterogeneous but I'm sure Ogbeni Aregbesola is not a fanatic. He introduced the merger of schools for both Muslims and Christians include African indigenous faiths to mix & live together in peace and harmony but because some of the schools in Nigeria are single faith-based. The Christian schools neither admitted Muslim students nor allowed wearing Hijab come to school and the Muslim schools do not want Christians to wear church garment nor wearing Orunmila attire (for Trad-religion) to school. But the bottom line is that if you UNITE, invest, build the youths and younger ones for the future it means you are building and uniting the whole Nation to a greater height. Whereas, "if the young future Nigerians of 3 different religions can not study together, What would it become of a nation that contains more than 220 ethnicities with different languages??"

AnnMarie said...

There's got to be other ways to settle this amicably without involving the students. well welcome to naija

Tricia said...

Yeah.... It's their right

Harnikky said...

They should better solve it on time b4 they turn skull to somefin else!

This Ogbeni Rauf should stop this choas with immediate effect...What is the whole essence of this...

last baby said...

They should solve this problem fast before it will turn to something else. I think a school child should dress only in the school uniform except in tertiary institutions, but some considerations should be made in a rare case

I wish I was a student in that state I'd ve registered my own attire of ogene nti oba tied around my waist jangling aloud while going to school.it will be fun hearing its kokoroko sound while lessons are on.ndi ara

mtcheeew#

a beg okada I dey go the next post yeye they smell for here..

This is what happens when you mix illiteracy, religion and politics together. Aregbesola is a man with no vision or conviction. Even an idiot on the street can tell this would lead to chaos. Thank God 2015 is around the corner, I pray God removes this disgrace of a governor! Bloody moron!

lady kim kim said...

Lmao...Osun state govt sud nt start wot dey can't finish ,I hrd dey ve stopped praying aloud and shoutinh halleluyah in sum govt schs in ibadan too,(dunno ow true do)bt I feel sumtins sud b where dey met it oo n let dem face oda reasonable tins

You are a big fool. All these achievements have they added anytn to your bank account? Take several seats jare. Omo ibo jatijati

Igor said...

He gave the so called opposition the knife which they will use to slaughter him politically.

Igor said...

And that's why meningities and body odour is common in the north.

Igor said...

He gave the so called opposition the knife which they will use to slaughter him politically.

Guess its a secondary school, so why should the student not have uniforms. They should just find a way to change it before it gets out of hand.

y am i scared? this is how bokoharam started in the north.

Ur mother must be so ashamed of u. Get a grip of urself child and make ur parents proud for heaven's sake. Do something meaningful with ur life rather than looking for cheap fame on a blog

Lol. I just love naija! Funny people everywhere!

U r dumb,cn u go to a muslim skool nd nt cover ur head?since its jst a skool crescent uni shuldnt make it compulsory 4 students to tie their head.ode

Shut up. U religious crackhead

Can't stop laughing...am sure d muslim ll come with their( age) and tesbeu. Christians too wit bible while traditional ll come along with opele ifa, ka wa ma difa lo lo ku. Ahahahahaahahahh.*laughing with my ass*

*adefunke*

The governor didn't do anything out of the ordinary, I just think it is the Baptist mission that is throwing the school into chaos. The school was found by the Baptist missionary but it is now funded by the state government with tax payers money and not Baptist mission money. So the school is now a government school which everyone is entitled to.

that comment was inciting. We are one and shuld live in peace and harmony. Leave ur religious opinions out of this.

Admiral said...

Gobe!!! The children aren't doing all that on their own! People wound have pushed them to do it!! Lol!

Cursing or causing? Get your tenses right before you start criticizing.

sunday otuns said...

During campaign the gov will list this hijab wearing as one of his dividend of democracy.

Tell ogbeni rauf 2 stop all dis rubbish

This is a taste of what to come if Nigerians make the mistake of voting for APC. The governor of that state is the most STUPID governor in Nigeria!

Nma said...

Lmao u no serious Bonario!

IG - @Hairbyniyot_ (08135891923) said...

U r jobless..period!

Wat's ur own problem with his don't touch ground trousers

Oga, go back to school o... u can even attend one of their schools in Osun state. Please go back to school.

Shut up! Which God told u 2 b wearin hijab everywer u go? Rubbish,den tell ur Muslims 2 go 2 a Muslim skul! Usin hijab 2 decieve urselves! Bad tinzzzzz

Eye rolling

Wande said...

Why don't them? Abeg go back to ur sec sch and ask 4 refund of all ur tution fees...

Loiz.

@Hajarat jus shut dat tin u call ur mouth! Y won't christain wear choir robes? Is it a muslim skool? Pple dey talk u self wan talk. Wats d diff btw ur God n ours. F**k u

#GIFTEDhands

Its a shame that we allow ideologies to rule over us stupidly. My prediction, the school will stop admitting muslim students.

I think dis ogbeni man needs to be very. Careful. He should not cause any religoin crises

Why bring tribe into dis u retart! Why d omo ibo jatijati? U can just abuse d annoying moron without being tribalistist.

If d muslim student wants wear hijab to school den should go to islamic school and stop causing problems

Anon 1:41, you are a serial fool. The idiotic comments you post here, doesn't add anything to ur acct either. No wonder the bigot aregbesola is treating ur sorry arse's the way he is doing. Unu risie amala na ewedu, unu ana akpo kwili kwili, mpoma.

You are just a big fool. Mr mohammed commanded you to wear that in a christian missionary school? This is why you pple don't have sense. And sure you are thhe 4th wife of one old alhaji otherwise your comment would have sounded coherent.

They shld stop making problems.

THIS IS REALLY CRAZY

seriosly this issue is not an issue to joke about we talking about an issue that could divide a state...but anyways revolution start from somewhere #revolution2014 #supportstudentsofosunstate

muhammed muhammed said...

e no go beta 4 una wey dey insult dat lady errybdy gat his/her opinion on dis matter nw y d insult???na joblessness dey wory una if not u wunt hav tym 2 reply bastards...every muslim girl/woman is commanded by Allah(swt) to cover her head or any sensitive part of her body...

Linda dnt post my comment, *ideyvex*

*adefunke*

Nigeria!they should scatter this country make every body go their way.confusion everywhere

Zenki brown said...

Muslims shud stop tinking A̶̲̥̅bou̲̅t themselves alone for once. Will muslims allow ​A̶̲̅ christian dress with Religious attire in ​A̶̲̅ musim skol???

Nneka said...

Jennyking I tire for ur post. Childish.
#justsaying.

Bissy said...

I cry for this country called Nigeria, and highly disappointed with my generation,spewing out this hatred and wallowing themselves to be used as a pawn in the political game. I will like to ask all those that are trading blames on this blog this. Is the school in question is been funded by the govt or religious organisation? If is the govt that's funding the school no religious body can lay claim to it just because of the school name / founders because it's been funded by tax payer money, therefore every citizen of that state has the right to attend the school irrespective of the religious inclination. If any religious group want a school that's will be for its followers only such organisation can either establish a school to that effect or request the govt to handover back some of the missionary school so that it can be funded by them not the govt. As for the hijab issue I don't know why ppl are making issue out of it because even here in UK which is a country that brought Christianity to Nigeria, allows the Muslim, Jewish and Sikh student to put on their religion head covers in public school. I don't know when are we gonna stop all these nonsense and stop being use as a pawn by the political class

It is important we understand that a school is a place of learning and uniforms are used to identify who is a member or student of that particular school. It is not a place to show off your religious belief or leaning.
The Unification policy is not a bad thing but there should be standards; favouring a particular set of people will be seen as categorization which in turn leads to a free for us which is what is seen right now.

This is the best news I hve heard in a While about Ogun state govnors school take over. Let's see. How the drama ends
Genie

fola Ahmadu said...

OMG Wande bikoo dnt burst my belly na.

paket liburan ke bali said...

I tire for them ohh...
i tot we have rights to religion and our different beliefs..
thats their palava shaa..

@anon2:06, that is why Govt should hand off missionary schools. Nobody asked them to bring the tax payer's money to fund them in the first place...

FunmiD said...

why are we always working on egg shells around muslims,is it not magnanimous enough that a christian missionary school allows muslims to attend their school,how can you make a law that allow them wear their hijab to a christian school? Next, they will insist they say their prayers on the assembly ground.
Let them wear their hijab to their own school, nonsense and rubbish.

Hmmm, na wa ooooo< well the school authorities got what they wanted, why will a christian school, Baptist school for that matter compromise their standard by allowing muslims to wear Hijab to school. Infact i am strongly not in support of secondary school students in the name of religion to not conform with their formal and authorized school dressing. A school uniform is supposed to be strictly school uniform no attachment.

lwkmd oooo hahahaha

SamGH said...

This is a problem in Nigeria. Instead of focusing on their education @ this young age they are protesting. Some parents are inciting these children which is wrong. If the Muslims are wearing Hijab to school, how is it the problem of the other kids? Is the Hijab distracting you or bothering you? Do the right thing and focus on becoming better leaders and patheons rather than being distracted by what others are wearing to school.

'Abori ma bodi' = They cover their heads but they dont cover their p***y

People don't seem the understand the Osun state issue. He has made education for these children very difficult. In the past Osun state students went to schools closest to their homes but with uncle aregbesolas new idea they have to walk miles because they want to go to school. Emphasis on walk!! All in the name of religion. like that is the solution to osun states problem. oga sir pls pay ur law school graduates their busary and stop bringing up unnecessary issues. Why should u put children through that kind of hardship. Is it fair.

Amen...its my alma mata too