Update on the 14 year old boy locked up in Iyaganku cell in Ibadan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 February 2014

Update on the 14 year old boy locked up in Iyaganku cell in Ibadan

Yesterday you guys read about the 14 year old boy locked up at Iyaganku Police Station in Ibadan. (If you missed it, read it here). Well, DSP. Olabisi Okuwobi-ilobanafor, Police Public Relations Officer, Oyo State Police Command, has written in to set the record straight. See police account below....
It is quite unfortunate that many people have cast aspersions on the Nigeria Police Force without caring to know what actually happened. The boy, Rilwan Olaniyi was not detained on police orders or discretion. He was detained on court order. For the avoidance of doubt, when the unfortunate crime was committed by the boy last year 2013 (not 5 years as erroneously broadcast) the aggrieved parent of the deceased through their lawyer took the case to court without recourse to the police. At the court, the case-murder, was then referred to the police for necessary action while the boy was ordered to be committed and remanded in police custody. Rilwan had on several occasions been taken to court for the hearing of the case and at the end of which there have been adjournments alongside court orders that he should be returned to police custody. There's no juvenile remand Centre at Agodi prison. The only remand home is that which is at Ijokodo and it's not in good condition; and not safe for the protection of this boy's life.

At Iyaganku police station where he is, he is kept at the Children Welfare Cell, where he has access to bed, mattress, toiletries, change of clothes, bath, etc. It is worthy of mention that he has unfettered access to seeing his parents who bring food to him on daily basis and at will. His detention in police custody is also PROTECTIVE of his life. That he is standing trial of murder case, doesnt exempt him from his fundamental rights to life. Some Human Rights groups have been on his case as well. Police at Iyaganku are human beings with milk of kindness flowing thru their veins, taking care of this boy, seeing to his welfare. The attendance of rights groups to his matter is brought about by them. As at the last sitting, the presiding Judge had already taken steps on how he would be transferred to Juvenile Remand home in Ogun State.

It's however disappointing that some pple take delight in judging, abusing and chastising the police when they are bereft of information concerning a matter. By now, they would definitely be ashamed of their folly. To us in the police, God is the ultimate judge and he shall recompense us according to our sacrifice to the Nation. I can only ask God to forgive all those who cast aspersions on us, cos they know what they do. Instead of cursing and blaming the police for even being kind to Rilwan, they should pray along with his parents, also ask God to give the parent of the deceased the fortitude to bear the loss.

Note: There's no other minor apart from Rilwan in Iyaganku, please. I rest my case.
DSP. Olabisi Okuwobi-ilobanafor, Police Public Relations Officer, Oyo State Police Command.

152 comments:

That's very common with Nigeria, a court case will take yrs before a verdict is passed

Classgist said...

power of social media. its nice to hear d other side of d story. we can only hope dat d parents of d deceased forgives d boy and c dat d case settled.

lol

Tnx to d pro that has put in more light on dis matter now

I am still of the opinion that for no reason the boy shouldn't be there.

If you've ever driven pass Iyaganku before, you would know Police is simply not your friend... They are savagers... Useless Police

Very witty and unproffessional reply. Using 'thru' in a public statement. And turning a public statement to a sermon transcript?

Good to know. Still don't blame the guy who reported what he gathered because it at least gave the police an opportunity to tell their own part of the story. God bless us all. S

What more can we say about the Nigerian police other than a congregation of failed citizen pulling the nation backward. Scrap those animals that come out in black and blue when they so wish. Its obvious enough policing isn't the dsp's calling. Open up a church brother. Who knows? You could be getting laid like fatoyinbo or flying high like oyedepo or stunting jesus peice' like oritsejafor. Mbu-nimals

Liars!! I served in ibadan.. Iyaganku Police station is the worst in the state... harassing young boys instead of facing their duties...

alright...we have heard you!!!

~Medusa~ said...

Hmmm thanks for the info,blaming the police is not totally based on only this issue but on lots of past issues where they have shown lack of understanding,wisdom,Experience and that "The Police is (NOT) Your Friend". Not all are bad but there are some that gives the Nigerian police force a bad name and that percentage is high

Yusuf Olowo said...

Who Then is Lying
Taking a back seat wanna watch as the incident unfold
Drama.

Via 0809Ja for life

FDJ said...

Hmmmmmmm we heard U

Dj Gentle said...

Its actually a pity on the young boy but am really delighted on how our social network has been of great help these days to forstering justice in cases like this. And thanks again to the guy that brought it to our notice

police and yeye cover up as if we are blind.plz madam police what will u say abt 8 of us that were taken to area c at iponri Lagos without knowing y we were arrested in the first place at Doyin near orile iganmu.we eventually realised that there was a fight at DAT location the previous day. was the arrest right? not only that ,ur men kept us under an inhuman and cave looking cell for over 24hrs and released us after paying 10k each.I wept helplessly and none of those dare devils cared to listen. even a woman in the human right commission office attached there gave me no listening ear when we were being pushed inside the cell for no fault of ours.madam,wat will be ur defence on this.do u know DAT most of u are not willing to do go after chief culprits through a thorough investigation but are after the poor,innocent and defenceless in the society. We Don't ve Police but enemies.

Yakky said...

Ehen... Where r dose pple dat were tokin rubbish.. Ahbeg pple, make sure ur sure of something before u bring it to public notice or even comment on d matter.. I for say... D police cnt b so heartless

Wait o...so d kindness dt runs thru our vein na milk?? No wonda m so milky lol. I hop dis PRO is sayin d trut sha. D kid shld hav at least gotten bail thou...

spiritworld said...

Linda my friend _hope say u no follow them talk against the police )remember POLICE IS UR FRIEND & SOLDIER IS UR ENEMY_

Lindaaaaaaa, dats a big lie! Iyanganku is a vry deadly zone jst like sm1 said earlier. I served in Ibadan too n they are fond of lieing against ple abt wat they did not do. It happend to 5 of my family members that went for a burial wen I ws servin, they lied against d 1 dt ws driving dat he hit one of d police by d hand (who their boss later told 2 put dis UV stuff there so ple can fl it ws seros)n b4 we knew wt was apening, they wr locked up, and later taken to court(they adjourned for months). And wen ple tried to interfere initially, they denied havin such ple in their custody. Linda plssss, let's be on d watch cos they mit jst take dis boy 2 an unknwn place n we dnt even hear abt him agn. Ple even hate drivin pass there sef. Mscheeeeew! Let's SAVE A SOUL!tanx

please we want a picture of this wonderful room and bathroom this child is using o.

Bissy said...

Pls what age can someone be charge in a court in Nigeria as adult cus in the western world the kid will be charge as a juvenile in a family court judge and remanded in juve centre.

End of discusions, the poor little Boy is not from a wealthy family and that is why both the police and the court left him there.corrupt nation where only the corrupt rules.

That is not the only one o! She also used 'pple' and 'cos'??? Na wa! Madam, u nor go school? This is suppose to be an official statement o!

Hmmmm!! Linda God Bless you for going further to investigate this case.. Remain Blessed.. As for the Police, NA D SAME PEOPLE!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Zenki brown said...

I love the power of social ntwrk. A̶̲̥̅ll †ђξ same, sumtin fast shud be done A̶̲̥̅bou̲̅t the little boys release.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

LMFAO! They actually do not rate us NIGERIANS. WHAT KIND OF WITTY HALF-ARSE STATEMENT IS THIS? WHAT WAS HIS CRIME. THE JUDGE RETURNED HIM TO YOUR CUSTODY FOR HOW LONG? Why? And WHY ON EARTH WOULD THE NIGERIAN POLICE FORCE BRING GOD UP IN AN OFFICIAL STATEMENT?

Now to the parents that lost their child & put this boy behind bars...has that brought your dead child back to life???
This boys life in cell will only make a hardened & vindictive criminal out of him.
Maybelline

Oluwasegunfunmi said...

I definitely agree with u. Although i didn't know nothing about ur case, but i had been in ur shoes couple of time. The NPF are worse than boko haram when it comes to falsely arresting innocent individual. Thank God on my second arresting occasion, i had some1 who knows oga@dtop if not, im quit sure will shed tears more than u that faithful day. Useless police offocers defending their personal pocket income.

Bunmiteone@hotmail.com

Oluwasegunfunmi said...

I definitely agree with u. Although i didn't know nothing about ur case, but i had been in ur shoes couple of time. The NPF are worse than boko haram when it comes to falsely arresting innocent individual. Thank God on my second arresting occasion, i had some1 who knows oga@dtop if not, im quit sure will shed tears more than u that faithful day. Useless police offocers defending their personal pocket income.

Bunmiteone@hotmail.com

Dlapikin said...

So this kid is awaiting trial for over a year without bail, zero educational follow up. So if he is acquitted or granted parole, what will become of him? Now grown without any education because he was behind bars so young?
This is no act of kindness by the police to keep him locked up. The judge should be revoked. This story is simply unacceptable. I refuse to believe the kid is the only child there.

NPF is d most worst force in Nigeria. Jus lik d DsP had said "God is the ultimate judge and he shall recompense (judge) us according to our sacrifice to the Nation"

why the sermon? Police with God? so funny. the worst thieves and sinners in the world are the police, now preaching.. Mr.Policeman, you cant be telling some of us here about police. There are some of us born in the ancient city, work didnt bring us to ibadan. the worst set of police are in iyaganku.

otevee said...

All d same..am still of d opinion DT d boys case should be done n over with..his future should nt b jeopardize as a result of d unfortunate incident..n hw can being in police custody be of in hs best interest..once a judgement has been passed

Nigeria Police force is just an organized crime.. They protect life and property, which property does a poor man have? Life of a poor nigerian is very worthless to them, they only protect their masters "the rich"...

He isn't totally saying the truth..you can't take a criminal case to court without recourse to the police because a criminal case is said to be against the state and the suspect can only be prosecuted by the state(I.e the police) and not individuals..no court will take up the matter without it bn brought up by the police department....I'm sure there's more to this story....yemi

Whoever the spokes person is, is this how u abbreviate an official press release? Shane on u. Meanwhile, the person who raised the alarm has done nothing wrong. And what he did is what has given us the needed answers that u have now grudgingly supplied. So quit ur sanctimonious rants about God will judge Buahaha...like we should be impressed that u are doing ur job? if the police modus operandi had not been faulty from the onset, no one would be accusing u of malpractices. So go and seat down Mr man.

Exactly what I said. I mean, who uses gutter shorthand to write officially? Like he's gisting his friends on a blog. Rubbish

My dear... It is the quality of the school that Nigerians in Nigeria attend

Nigerians will never change.cos of the story from the police,it turns out that some people are sympathising with the police.*smh*.I hate it wen an important issue in d country is turned into a gospel,anyways they all know us as gulliable and sentimental wenever God is mentioned.

The police is never good , nobody likes them, except when you have been attacked by criminals , armed robbers etc that's when you begin to see the importance of the police , i wonder how many of you clamouring for that kids release know exactly what he has done , his personality and level of sanity . I also wonder who amongst you is /would be willing to take the boy into their custody and care for him ( cos he seems like a cute harmless kid right? ). Also if you hate the police so much next time report your cases of armed robbery, fraud , theft and other social disturbances to thugs or touts or better still confront these issues yourself

Victor said...

And in your mind, you feel you have made sense? It is well with you...

The police is never good , nobody likes them, except when you have been attacked by criminals , armed robbers etc that's when you begin to see the importance of the police , i wonder how many of you clamouring for that kids release know exactly what he has done , his personality and level of sanity . I also wonder who amongst you is /would be willing to take the boy into their custody and care for him ( cos he seems like a cute harmless kid right? ). Also if you hate the police so much next time report your cases of armed robbery, fraud , theft and other social disturbances to thugs or touts or better still confront these issues yourself

Means d incident hapnd wen he wz 13. My guy, 13yrs old no b kid. U won't blame d agrievd parents. If na ur child pushd in2 well n died, wuld u 4giv easily? If its ur only male child ? We pray de 4giv him doh.

Fct Mayor

ANYA IKENGA said...

Why is the juvenile remand home not in good condition? You people have mis appropriated the budget for its renovation over years. Any way I careless if he is a kid. If it is murder and not manslaughter, kill him too. He will only grow up a serial killer.

What is bad is bad, if the juvenile facility is bad you don't have any justification to put him in adult cell with or without amenities. What if he were your son? Besides, a lot of nigerian police are lawless and socially inexposed.

Rubbish!!!! Who is fooling who? Are we dummies? Police go talk something and I go believe, maybe in the next world sha......you guys should do the right thing Biko.

DSP Olabisi you are trying to shift blame. Who persecute an offender if not the police? I beg make una get una act together and release this minor

My mind is @ rest now after hearing from police. Actually, police are working is just like the bad once are more Dan the good once in our society. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Bliss said...

We re nt concern abt d psychological effect on d guys future. In advanced countries he is tried when he is @d adult age wch is 18yrs. We must look @dis discreetly evn our politicians that commit atrocities usually get a bail den y nt a minor.
Frm wht I kw wht children psychology any child kept in dis harsh condition called nigerian cell usually end up committing anoda crime dt will snd dm bk.
Cos Nigerian cell does nt transform pple it mks dem worst

Whoever wrote this should be cautioned writing 'thru n cos' in a publication is so wrong. As regards d 14 year old boy, not having a juvenile prison in d state is no excuse 2 have that child in prison.

Zuriel.

backson inc said...

Bullocks, bullshit and horseshit. I do not believe this crap for a sec. Access to toiletries. Hmmmm

those police are bastard, especially those at iyagaku..harrasing students anyaw...and their DPO collects bribe, i will like the DPO to be checked on...because he is getting richer and even if you did not do anything they will ask you to bail yourself, as long you have entered the station, you have to pay your way out even if you did not commit any offence..i dont know when the police force turned into a profit making organisation,

We truly don't have police in Nigeria.. they are just heartless instead of facing their work, they will be running after young boys, every young boy in Nigeria presently is a yahoo boy in the eyes of the Nigeria police... Madam PRO we never expected anything less from you,that was what we expected you to say gan gan..

if they don't have a juvenile centre, they should waive that child's case. they are abusing human rights and this is not in the best interest of the child according to UN's right of child convention. In the best interests of a CHILD you are supposed to conclude this 'murder' trial SPEEDILY.

Those police officers are a total disgrace and they should be imprisoned.

taif said...

what do u expect frm her.she will surely defend there pple.my pple just pray u dnt hav anything to do with police,they are devel incanate

Sabrına agu said...

And we the publıc are supposed to belıeve thıs???!!!mr DSP..ı dont belıeve a sıngle word you say....because everyone knows polıce aınt your frıend.!!!

OMG!WOMAN said...

I don't believe this story!!!

To all d lawyers, if u like throw Tantrum the nigeria judicial system is a joke. "The failure of d judiciary" d jugde av probably forgotten abt d kid, anytime a case is to be treated it looks like a fresh case in his ears, xo d case tends to spend yrs.

Amarachukwu said...

Police men can tell lies so I don't believe what that DPO said.

Arrant Nonsense,it all lies madam abi na Oga Police u guys re evil and have dark hrt as ur uniform are,I dnt believe ur cook and bull story,just put ur self oin the little boy shoe u re doing more harm than good because when he come out of that stinking cell he might turn 2 somtin else!release the guy it wasn't intentional.stupid set of ppl like u ain't worth living.

AnnMarie said...

naija policemen are very wicked people, so many innocent people are in prison today becos of them

The Nig police indeed. I am sure they have lots they are covering on the case very silly liars. I dont trust them at all. Linda pls post my comment

He said his "parents bring food at will" I think he should also confirm how much his parents has bribed the police for the little boy to eat the food. We are not babies dear.

And u wnt us2drink this BOBO? D guy d@ was locked said he saw more than1 child dere, is he blind or mayb d oda 'child' is a grown man with stunted growth. Mr pro which day u go d@ prison last? Ur side of d story myt hv sm element of truth bt so does d LIBer who brought d story plus dis is nt only bt d@ boy bt many oda children n adults who r bn mistreated by d BLUE/BLACK men

Liars!!! police can never have milk in their veins, have they finished collecting bribe from people outside. I am sure the little dude sleeps on the floor in a terrible condition. With no care and love from his parents. They wont allow his parents see him because they dont have money for bribe. The so-called police that should protect us are killing us. TERRIBLE LIARS!!!

Lie Lie people. He said there are lots of NGO's in the case to push NGO's out. Please NGO'S IN NIGERIA CAN U PICK THIS CASE. There are no NGO anywhere pls.
Regards,

A CONCERNED READER!!!

I'm not surprised this is happening at iyaganku police station. I av bein harassed by the policemen from dat station b4. I wen to ibadan for my introdution wif two of my friends, one is a banker and d other works wif an insurance company. We didnt know anywhere in ibaban so we had to tell a bike man to lead us to where we were going to. Wen we got there, my people coming from ekiti were not yet there so we had to wait for them. (Not too far from iyaganku police station) we were there for like 5 mins wen 4 guy in a private numbered car blocked my car. I tot dey were robbers cos of the way dey drove and dressed. D guys just came to my car and ordered 2 of his colleagues to enter my car and dat we r goin to d station. I asked for wot. He said we are robbers. I asked how and dat her should show me his id card. He was angry dat i asked for his identification card. Later he showed me one old laminated paper. We showed him ours too. He den said 1 very annoying thing dat wot is a banker, an insurance man n a federal govt worker doin in d same car. We got into a serious argument. He called his office for more policemen 4 other guys came. And were all shouting. By den we had no choice dan to follow dem to d station to c d dpo. I called my dad who was already close to meet me at d station. My people and I met at d station and dey sorted it out. I dont knw how cos I was not ready to talk to anyone aside d dpo.

Miz_WenDy said...

Stil.... D boy is nt suppose to be thr... For cryn out loud he's a minor!!!

Amen bro,,,mtcheew! Sounds more like a sermon.

I'm not suprised to see this about this so called iyaganku or whatever stattion! Ur wicked ways will continue to disgrace u!

Are you people alright? Or should I say what sort of hypocrites are you? This so-called 14 year old MURDERED someone oo, someone said may be it was a mistake in the original post, shows how biased and daft some people are. I'm sure most of you's tunes would have been different, if it were your family member he killed. For goodness sake, justice has to be served. Some mumu up there even said he should have been bailed, it's not your fault, when a hardened 12 year old points a weapon at u, robs u or kills someone u know then advocate for his freedom u hear. Talking like these 14 year old actually behaved like a child by taking a life in the first place. I hope they take him to a juvenile home then re-charge him to court when he's 18. Justice!!!! Period

Linda you are beginning to wield so much power, I fear it's only a matter of time before the government think you a credible threat. Good job though.

Liar! Liar! Pants on fire! Don't believe a word of what she said biko

LINDA said...

I can never believe most of theses policemen! They r liars! And very wicked! Theyv got no human feelings.

Laviv said...

Criminal cases, esp capital offences needs a lot of time inorder for justice to be dispenced rightly

Topebrass said...

Iyaganku unscripted version....... All ℓ̊ knw į̸̸̨§ dat DO NOT WASTE TIME cos dat place į̸̸̨§ not good for d boy n thy Lord will give a deceased parents fortitude τ̲̅ȍ bear their loss

irrespective of what the crime may be, he is way to young to be detained...Nigerians learn.....

Let us thank the pRO for the explanation. The judiciarythat kept the boy the need to explain. Justice delayed is justice denied. May God save us

Yes. We are here to report to the international bodies that can sanctions those in authority and stop whatever privilege they enjoy without your knowledge. It is your right for your voice to be heard. Dont be excited.

I fully agree with you. That place is a hell hole and the part that he is provided with all necessary thing is a big JOKE cos I'm certain the boy wld say otherwise if interviews are taken.

Lol!the "police have milk of kindness flowing through their veins".this man won't finish me with laugh.the police are the most wicked set of people I've ever had the misfortune to encounter in my life...for all we know,this man might be lying his ass off

Oreti said...

I think the boy should be made to go tru the necessary disciplinary measures rather than keeping him with adults who will introduce him to crimes and tricks he neva knew existed.

The Nigerian Police Force still remains one of the most corrupt and useless in the world!One time when one of my lodgmates had a problem with some guys and who came to our lodge to harass her,we called the Police and he started asking us if we had like 3k to give him if he came.smh.He ended up coming,collected our money,made no arrests because the guys in question bribed him.

We r always so sentimental n awa reasonin n Nigeria,if d boi comitd dis crime abroad,he wld ave been n d juvenile home also,but here n 9geria,we dnt run a juvenile home,so dey av 2 kip him away 4rm comiitn oda crimes,so y'all shld kip ur fingers crossd nd watch out fƠ̴̴̴̴͡я̲̅ d season3..hahaha

Julietta said...

If not dat we are in a country of anything goes, why wud a full blown state not av a juvenile home? Whr on earth do dey plan 2 kip minors dat commits a crime? Mcheeeeeeew, yeye country wey no dey plan 4 d future.

Dt boy shldnt stil b der cos he's stil a minor who may av committed d crime unintentnally.dt first guy dt reported d case knew d conditn he met d boy was deplorable.presiding judge shld round up dis case if he's got a heart or he's bin bribed.and as for d police,dt kid go don suffer for una hand welwel I don't trust u guyz atall

Lol Na waoooo sme pple comment go long like say Na novel Dem dey write

Sharap mumu, get into dia trap n u will have ur own share of dia milk heart

It is very dehumanizing for adults to lose there freedom for one day,let alone a teenager. The crime might be capital in nature,it doesn't exempt the fact that,it might not be deliberate as there are possibly no motive for committing the crime.That aside,should the arbitration unit of the judiciary be strengthened, must we wait for endless adjournment, do we realise we are endangering that kids life,with his frequent access to criminal element.The family who took the case to court are probably seeking justice to ease there pains,which is quite under stable,but to forgive is divine,if there where in the other parent s shoe they do desire mercy too.Anyway I expect that case to either have accelerated hearing or someone would be held responsible.

Hmmnnn... But can't they let the boy stay at home.. And he wld be going to court from home! I don't buy the idea of him staying at that useless police station!

Did I just heard u say Sacrifice to the nation??? With all dew respect sir you are a liar and a big one @ dat(because u and I know your cooked-up story isn't true), and if care is not taken God will soon visit you...don't forget he has d address of ur house

#That happy sister!

Murder is murder even in Yankees self na the same thing them go do .. I'm sure they will round the case up when he turns 18!

Oga DSP sounds so pained...Nigerian Police are very Useless and corrupt, this is a known fact so let's not even go there... If that Lil boy was from a rich home or maybe a senator' s child or one of this top politicians would he be in the police cell since last year? You idiots would've collected bribe and released him since as far as the parents agree to produce him whenever there's need so please, spare us this sermon...And who is preaching sef? Do you people know God? Lol take a seat abeg with your very unconstructive/unprofessional public statement. Am however glad to learn that he' s not been in the cell for 5years, that's a bit relieving...Hope the court hastens the judgement and that this boy gets the help that he needs Asap

PRETTY GIRL

Yakky u r obviously a big fool

Thanks PRO for shading more light in dis story

Proverds 18:17 says "The first to present his case seems right, till another comes forward and questions him." So my fellow Nigerians who are in a haste to judge, learn to analyse and question reality before you criticize if not, you'll end up be disgraced/shamed.
TheOjukwu - Just Saying.

Ufuoma Asamaigor said...

Throughly unprofessional reply by the NPF!!! Using "cos" instead of "because", "ppl" in place of "people" and "thru" in place of "through". This reply to the allegation smacks of incompetence

Look @ dz yeye police pple trying 2 cover up 4 one of d several nonsensities they do. Is the boy suppose 2 b there in d first place? And by the way, the Iyaganku prison is abt d worst in d state. U need 2 see hw pple r treated there like animals. Now here they come trying 2 justify wht they did as if we Nigerians don't kno d BS dy r up to. Kiss My Teeth
Eesah 26E90A24

taif said...

linda wey my comment now.dnt tell me u don chop am lik bfor

unique Lady said...

I don't seem to believe this police man. No no no

Clearly the social media can be a force for good! Yet government wants to stifle it. Though we all agree there are some excesses but do we throw away the baby with the bath water? Good job Linda

Y I'm I findin dis story untrue. U give d boi food, bed, clothes to change. Liars!! Not all police re bad tho but abeg I don't believe dis 1 story.

Tam said...

Yakky u obviously have not experienced police brutality, that's why you can say 'police is not that heartless'. They are bunch of heartless criminals! Evil people that should all be sentenced to death, the hardest way! This one is coming here to talk rubbish.... Milk ko, pap ni!

LIARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

See d dump reply he shldnt b in a cell, he shld b in a correction center so it can change his orientation of lyf even before trial....

Good write up by the dsp sounds educated some of our police men do their work so let's stop generalizing dem o

lovlyivon said...

I belive the guy and. Not the police explanations police are turly not ur frid

And Who Approves Linda

I thank the man that 1st brought this case to public notice.As for the Nigrian police,hardly any person with full Nigerian origin and identity see the police as their friend,and that's because of there natural colonial mentality with imperialistic tendency to dominate and cage your right to freedom.Whatever the reason may be there must be juvenile home in oyo state or even any of the neighbouring states.That boy has no reason whatsoever to be in that cell with other hard-hearted criminals(if they realy are).Mr abi Mrs.PRO,thank you for covering and protecting your people well,its what you are taught to do but please next time try and ask your humble governor about security votes or if need be,beg.................ALIWAHAB is here.

This has nothing to do with the police. The boy in question committed murder therefore, should be remanded in custody. Now should Nigeria have a juvenile centre? Yes. But we don't that's why he is there. Police is only acting on the orders of the court on the case of a murderer.

macdonald Peter-Anyangbe said...

Its very easy for everyone of u to say rubbish about d police, I'm a media practitioner like linda, u guys should also consider the parents of d boy thrown into d well by dat Rilwan, how do u tink dey feel losing their son, by some brat who was not brought up well by his parents. Think about it, if Rilwan pushed ur broda or son to his death, would u talk like dis, let's call a spade a spade. His parents should be held liable, the next thing, u guys wud blame d government. Charity begins at home. The late boy's family is grieving, but I'm not saying they should not try Rilwan in d courts, but should be an accelerated hearing, dan kip the kid on awaiting trial for too long. Do u knw how many juveniles are in jail in America? We need more prisons built. The police is only acting on court orders. I'm not their Fan, but they r meant to protect us, WHO PROTECTS THEM? Think before u talk.

Lies lies lies and lies. Police are trained liars I witnessed this myself by the so called ogunstate police pro and his boys. Linda ff this up abeg. Don't beleive a single statement from the police.

Nigeria police is not blood that runs in your veins oh..I remember when my last brother was murdered they rushed and carried his corpse and asked for bribe b4 releasing it..Not just bribe 50k bribe.Not minding the trauma..If everybody start writing their experience in this blog it will b the highest comment ever. Since this blog starts.I still don't believe your statement oga sir..Linda try n reach the parents of the boy to get the real story..

Another important issue ignored by the jonathan administration no good juvenile home, now kids are being locked up in a cell... talk about misplaced priority.... Nigerian government has failed us.

henrietta4gwin said...

I pray that the parents of the deceased find a place in their heart to forgive this young boy & let go of the case and for the boy to usefull in life.

Lyk say de mata concern ASUP strike

Yakky like the hair sold you shld be swinging around like a pendulum....you just have a garri infested brain, so becuz u read this crap u believe his bullshit anyone can speak english in his favour its like debating pple had reasons to say they wanna married a 12yr old girl those it make it right the nigerian police are bastards they pick people up at will without any offence lock them up for days, this police station should not be where a minor is kept....the fact that our president come out in pen and paper to talk about giving us light does not increase police supply, we all know this writing is total rubbish....Nigerian police ehhhh....if am asked to choice between the police and a thief I will frenchkiss the thief

mimi said...

Oga police nobody is judging, just as u said the Police in ur area have 'milk of kindness flowing in thier veins' so is the person who reported what he 'SAW'. Bearing in mind what we know about the Nigerian Police, im sure if he had asked he would not have gotten any/adequate explanation, so stop the pity party. Meanwhile i do not see any reason why the so called 'court case' shoud bé tking so long, 4 christ's sakes this is a child we are talking about, lets not decieve ourselves the Nigerian Police cells are not as safe as u claim, and the longer he stays there the more REAL criminals therein would start getting ideas into their head, i just pray he is not molested there. Why on earth should a Boys remand home not bé in good condition? The fact still remains that there is a huge problem in this country nd we need God's intervention, because no matter how long the letter u write is MR PRÒ i believe that is the proper measures had been taken, the person dat reported this would not have seen the boy in the police cell and reported it. God help the Boy and Nigeria.

In nigeria anytin goes

Ohhh....Iyaganku Station in Ibadan..Very foolish police station,All they know is go around looking for boiz to pickup for lil change...bastards.....

I have see the reason that make many police and their family die like fawil. I also see a dream of a battles within the nig police and the nig citizens. Pls dont ask me why. A world is only enough for the wise.police have poluted this country enough,kiling innocent peoples,harasing peoples,and also kiling innocent peoples to replace armrober just for money.

Hi Linda,I'm very happy to read this story,I had opportunity to meet the boy personally also when I was also detained around mid-january for some silly offence all what the DSP said were pure lies......the boy was locked up in the cell not the Children welfare Cell like she said..they are liars..Linda pls go to the iyaganku police station personally urself to investigate..pls safe the boy

Niqeria judiacry a very biq fat joke na time bomb waitinq 2 xplode

baby said...

Tnx jare, tell me a 14 yrs old boy does not know well is not good..let's face the truth,he shud be taken to remand for yrs or he will cause more havoc

last baby said...

Pls police can do more that. Pls something. Should be done about the boy

Story story. I dnt care abt u stories just release the boy

I agree, they are like vampires, they like harassing pple anyhow!

Toilet what. Did he just say toiletries? if i hear that again, i will be very angry. i paid a visit to this prison a year ago, unless i was blind at that time, me i no see one bed talk less of change of clothes. liar liar, pants on fire.

We don't just sit here and talk about what we don't know anything abt,d police may not be doing what they are supposed to do sometimes but I tell u they r trying, I had a chance of being in SARS for 2 weeks and I was shocked at thenumber of horrible robbers d police apprehend everyday, infact u get to see wicked and horrible people being brought in without the police getting them we won't be safe to an extent on our roads and in our homes, dis police men die in some of dis operations, they travel to far places in dis country just to make arrest, do u even know what it means to give an angry and underpaid man an AK 47? Dis pple live in harsh conditions go to d police command in ABJ and see dis men living under d staircase for months and taking their bath outside, I used to think badly of the police buh that changed when I had to see things myself, they are trying, we have bad people in every profession, am a journalist who covers the judiciary I can say there are innocent people languishing in prisons but we r in a country where not everything works, d police cannot act alone,they need d judiciary to act fast to make their work easy in this case, and what if it was ur brother or ur son that was killed by this little boy, how would u feel,and for the court to remand him for this long he must have shown no sense of remorse or he did it intentionally,the court grants bail to people everyday why not him, this is how murderers are made,no matter how young he is,he should bear d consequences for his actions,let's be rational people.

It can be so painful that one will wake up so early to type a comment and Linda will not post it..what nonsence.

2007, a police officer at Iyaganku ibadan called "Oluaye" arrested me for carrying a laptop and showing a receipt that doesn't look like original when he requested for the receipt. I plead if he will follow me to Cocoa house where I bought the laptop some weeks before then to confirm the receipt wasn't fake but he refused, he requested for a 80k bribe that day (the cost of the laptop) else I will be locked up. I remember him asking how a university graduate like me who has served and not yet working can afford to buy a 80k laptop if not that I am into Financial crimes (Yahoo yahoo). I spent 3hrs at his (Oluaye) private detention close to the rear car park in iyaganku station before my bro came to pay him some money and I was released that day.

Iyaganku police are thieves!

Yakky u be original mumu.

Weytin u dey yarn now? 14 yr old boy is cell. Is dat right?

Mumu Na ur first name

Aces said...

Every Nigerian has had a bitter experience with the police that's y nobody belives the statement released by this woman, my Bro was stopped on the bike and arrest for having a BlackBerry phone, how crazy is that, my friend driving jeje on his own was stopped by the police and they put a big nylon of indian hemp on this bonnet, took plenty pictures of it and arrested him for possession of weed, and many more, I know murder is a capital crime, nobody knws how the murder was committed, it could have been a mistake or just a dangerous game the kids played nobody knows but the law is the law, it demands justice and also demands under age should be in juvenile homes and not police cells with hardened criminals as neighbours

A.A.O said...

So the PPRO realy wants us to believe every thing he wrote? I will rather believe the devil himself than to believe a police man.

i was duped..went to d police to file a report with tears and pain...d first thing sey said his for me to bring 5k and arrange three white envelopes well packaged for dem to start processing the case.... a year later we caught the thief and handed him over to the same police..d thief gave d police money and dey turned d case on us..d thief turn boss...i dont feel any pity wen i hear say armed robbers kill police..they are mean and wicked..we started spending money to bail ourselves!!!!...police is not your friend at all oo...be wise...they are glorified thieves....

Very true..... Very useless people.... Most of this police pple r illiterates... Police in bodija, challenge, iwo road, have men in golf cars chasing innocent people, they block u on the road like they want to snatch ur car, if you are a young guy, u r in trouble, if this police people come frm stupid backgrounds, it doesn't mean a young guy of today can't afford to buy himself a car or Av his parents buy him one.... Dumb ass police.... Full of lies and crap.... No heaven for naija police

onye nsogbu said...

Taaaaaaaaa! Police in iyaganku are terrible!! Which kind dirty milk flowing thru their veins. Na dere dem dey breed all dese weed smoking policemen pass for Ibadan pass sef!

cool

The Court should run a sanity test for the boy and should then pass judgement after the hearings and as for the police,this is just a mere formality in Nigerian written in good English as Linda.Police are just as black as their uniform

I'm a relative to the deceased as well as d boy in detention. It happened that sometimes last year, Rilwan pushed Hamed, his 5 year old cousin into the compound well when they were both playing. When he was asked after a while about Hamed's whereabout, he denied seeing him. A search for Hamed was launched and hours later, he was discovered in the well. Then Rilwan was confronted as he was last seen with Hamed around the well. He then defiantly said that " hen sebi Iya e ma nbu mi nigbogbo igba ni" meaning "yes, I think the mother is fond of abusing me always". When a mini family meeting was convened, he revealed that his mother and Hamed's mother were always fighting in the compound and anything he did was always criticized by Hamed's mother hence he decided to teach her a lesson. When we discovered that the police was foot dragging in charging him to court, a lawyer was contacted to open the case for us in court, after which we were referred to the police again. The scenario is a painful one to the family as we could not imagine Rilwan could be so callous. We do visit him occasionally. We can only beg govt to tamper justice with mercy so that we won't lose two sons. Please and please, the police have been fair in this particular case oh. Rilwan's next day in court is 13/02/14. Please join us in prayers for him.

Good work Linda,pls you must pursue this case to the very last. I really don't understand where our country is steering to.

The Nigerian Police Force don't have any atom of milk of kindness flowing in them. Rather, what they have is blood of wickedness in their system that needs to be washed off. Otherwise, hell await them.

ade said...

am so distraught, i hope justice will prevail

Serena willams takes it off again.....

Aby said...

Linda, i thought that was supposed to be an official letter? this is preposterous...

"it's however disappointing that some pple take delight in judging, abusing and chastising the police when they are bereft of information concerning a matter. By now, they would definitely be ashamed of their folly. To us in the police, God is the ultimate judge and he shall recompense us according to our sacrifice to the Nation. I can only ask God to forgive all those who cast aspersions on us, cos they know what they do. Instead of cursing and blaming the police for even being kind to Rilwan, they should pray along with his parents, also ask God to give the parent of the deceased the fortitude to bear the loss. "

The above paragraph (copied and pasted here) is just ridiculous. Why cant Police do anything right?

Omase ooooo

Miss Whemy said...

Must you disgrace yourself?

All I see are grammatical errors and typos...kai...where do I start from now?

Most of you complaining about typing errors as well as grammatical errors are not only ignoramus bt blind hypocrites. The submission of the police PRO is grammatically flawless. The abbreviations used like 'cos', 'thru' are acceptable words known to stand for 'because and through' respectively. Even in the English dictionaries, words abbreviations are recognized and indicated. You should bury your ignorance and learn grammar from those who are gifted to command it. Besides, she never said it is an official report, it was police response to a social media posting. Haven't you heard of police twitting or blogging? Mtseeeewww. Ignorant ones go and learn social media style of communication. Is ds medium a PhD platform? Answer and be buried in your shame

Most of you complaining about typing errors as well as grammatical errors are not only ignoramus bt blind hypocrites. The submission of the police PRO is grammatically flawless. The abbreviations used like 'cos', 'thru' are acceptable words known to stand for 'because and through' respectively. Even in the English dictionaries, words abbreviations are recognized and indicated. You should bury your ignorance and learn grammar from those who are gifted to command it. Besides, she never said it is an official report, it was police response to a social media posting. Haven't you heard of police twitting or blogging? Mtseeeewww. Ignorant ones! go and learn social media style of communication. Is ds medium a PhD platform? Answer and be buried in your shame