Covenant University's very strict dress code: Bans jeans, high heels, face caps etc | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 September 2013

Covenant University's very strict dress code: Bans jeans, high heels, face caps etc

Covenant University, which is a private Christian University owned by Living Faith Church founded by Bishop David Oyedepo, recently released their student handbook (2013/2017) find it HERE. In it, the school listed a number of clothing items not allowed within the school premises. They banned practically everything. Lol. No jeans, no short skirts, no pencil skirt, no sleeveless top, no high heels, no body hugging top/dress, minimal make-up, no face cap, no painting of nails etc.. choi! Hehe

Some students of the university are complaining about the strict dress code but then you had other options and you chose Covenant...so why complain? See the University's dress code for female and male students after the cut

316 comments:

1 – 200 of 316   Newer›   Newest»

Na by dressing? They will still take drugs, prostitute and steal!

No be small thing

Weeekid! Lol! I like it though, anybody wey no like am igbenedion dey. #JayBeyBlu

Hahahahahahahahahaha. Even secondary schools neva put such policy.

u've started again
lindalies

Lol, laff wan kill me die 4 here oh,,, I thougt university z 4 matured minds

Well.......

ezydiva said...

Hehe nw dancing *skelewu* Thank God am outta dat azkaban jail! Buhahahaha! #RenaissanceSet #WeOutchea!!!

DADDYSWIFE said...

U go fear na,hehehehehehe,luv d dress code,let our young youth learn how to dress properly cos wht I see they wear nowadays I tire oo n fear oo!

looooolz what a return to innocence.
I love the idea,soon they'll be forced to have siesta.

A clear case of leaving the substance to chase shadows.
Guess we are going back to old skol christianity cos the pastor is almost old skol now

Mich said...

I don't get this.
So its ok to wear all these listed clothing and accessories to Living Faith Church but it isn't in the school?
I used to go to this Living Faith church back in Nig with my cousins and trust me,people wear worse.
So why the hypocrisy,eh?
"wearing of long sleeves without buttoning the sleeves is not allowed? Really? Lol!

What is life without freedom! I beg their own too much!

Lol, painted nail prohobited in and ouside d university??? Shey dem go follow students go out again nii?

Final Pass said...

Er mmm... Let not forget its a school run by a missionary (Rev. Oyedepo); who was called and anointed by God to follow a cause, and the bible says... the fear of God is the beginning of wisdom. Proverbs 9:10

kahlan said...

Na so na...,they should nt complain...we'll done convent uni!

Na 2day?1st 2comment

This rules ave been there ever since,every1 knws all dis r nt allowed in CU,dey always update d handbook d only new thing z d fixing on nails part

kahlan said...

Na so na...,they should nt complain...we'll done covenant uni!

seun said...

It makes ₪☺ sense banning these things in school and allowing the church members to wear them to church. They should start from the church and it will gradually get into the school system, cos to me its like having double standard for same organisation.

cutee mee said...

Gud 4 them,then wat type is remaining 4 them 2 wear,a maxi gown wit ground length will be fine,all students must be on low cut,nawa o,if all these are their conditions I better chill wit asuu strike,wonder wat heaven will be like.

Turner Emmanuel said...

I have my son in the University and i don,t find any thing wrong with those rules.Our young generation who are future leader must be strictly monitor at all time especially why in the University. Thank you Covenant university Authority

Deeper Life University, Ota

na me talk am said...

Dis one na die na. Imagine if they introduced this in University of first choice,omo na die...correct DLCF tinz

Hhahahaha.. So funny, I rada remain @ home dan di shii!!!

This is a good development. Schooling is not just about knowledge....we must implement morals...kudos to the School Authority

Check out cheap & affordable reasonable dresses HERE

Its nt all dat bad since its a christian skool..!!

Arrant Nonsense....why choose the school though? Oshi ati iranu

Lol, extention of d church! If u can't cope u get urself out as simple as dat! ~Ritty~

am sure soon they wilk ban fixing of weavons n eyelashes.

My secondary school is now better... LMAO!!!!!
Buh I support the move... people like to overdo things so dis strict measures are ok!!!!

@Bobo_Edo

truthurts said...

Did anyone notice segment "J" on the ladies code? It says clothing made from CONDOMS!!! Lwkmd, pls enlighten me abeg.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha#cnt watch# Ewo!!!! They shld wear caftan instead

Na wa o, I don't understand all this glorified secondary schools, the main reason people go there is to complete their education quickly. See our public Universities they have been on strike for 2 months, so Linda please don't blame students who go to Universities like Covenant.

Good for them..tongue out

The fact still remains that even if all these clothings are banned.C.U students still look hot more than other private universities.

In otherwords, the kids should morph into old men and women. Nothing wrong with a good pair of jeans and t-shirt and a backpack for an undergrad. Nonsense. This is the beginning of ye ye codes for bridal wear. I went to a wedding held at watchman. Chinese le ! The bride was wearing something like a rice sack. Mtcheeeeew. Looking frumpy to see a glorious God

Lmao over do... Na wa see Naija News

LWKMD. K this is serious. Hope they won't protest oooo.

musing of a young Nigerian woman said...

Convenant should just include school sandals and uniform naa... With school badges too.... Too much rules for wat naa? It doesn't guarantee improvement of the quality of students churned out by the skul anyways. Convenant students just port to deeper life atleast we know deir rules ve bin like dat since like forever

Elle said...

Babcock university did it first, and the students still look really nice, even sef, person wey wan wear high heal go class, shey she dey crase ni?

Bleaching of skin in any form, (e.g toning, real colour)by both males and females, strictly prohibited.

No no!! Too stringent!! But then, the reality of the fact that no one forced them to pick such a University slaps you in the face, its privately owned and that's why its authorities deems fit.
The only school where you find two students kissing with their eyes wide open, just because they wanna be vigilant and don't wanna get caught, hehe... What a varsity!!

Eeeeeewwwwh,glorified secondary school,it doesn't stop d students frm bin bad if dey want to.

Nawaaoooo............me I can't go to dis kind of skul

Linda these rules have existed forever and CU students dress well and better than the pictures above.this new handbook just had somethings added to it and nothing new in this ohhh... And besides any CU student Complaining should visit bowen where girls aren't allowed to wear trouser etc..

Not difficult to abide by as a female.

O ga, nd ere I am tinkn my skulz rules re strict, dis one is ghenghen

Dominic said...

Na wa OOº°˚˚˚˚°ÂºO

musing of a young Nigerian woman said...

Convenant should just include school sandals and uniform naa... With school badges too.... Too much rules for wat naa? It doesn't guarantee improvement of the quality of students churned out by the skul anyways. Convenant students just port to deeper life atleast we know deir rules ve bin like dat since like forever

Dats pUre rubbish. Most students will live the schl.

Hahahahahahhahahaha. Roflmao. Lwkmd4h. Hahahahahahahahaha. Lol can't stop laughing. Ndi sister na Ndi brother. Jisi ike ooo.

Elanneka.blogspot.com

Hello...i hope this is posted. I'm a C.U student and hv been here for 3yrs nd the truth is dat this handbook is not new...if u go thru d old one d rules are d same and pple still wear nice stuff. The date was just changed dat's all...leave d ignorant students to complain or leave d skul!

linda..........................nawa for you oooooooooooo, WE ARE NOT COMPLAINING IN CU.GET IT RIGHT MADAM

My gudness wats all dis? Nawao 4 dis school.I pity d student ooooo but dis is nt fair at all.pls post my comment as d first 2 comment

Few restrictions on weaves. No weaves = no female students.

Err..linda, you should know Covenant University students are the best dressed. Posting the entire handbook wouldn't do your gist justice. Try to visit that school on a Tuesday or Sunday.

oginidi?! atleast they dont strike... my father would say, 'do what you were sent there to do and get out'

doll (retired blogger) said...

how long has the asuu strike been again? i will take this strict dresscode anytime anyday to graduate within 4 years

First, this stupid dull brain university has to understand this is a university and not primary school.. Secondly,they are not and can never help a child with such rules.. Thirdly, they need to tell us another story.. Who is fooling who? Meanwhile their G.O is living a life of Luxury as pastor.. Flying round the world in different private jets.. Is that what passes for morals in his school of thought.. Lastly, did his children grow with these rules?

My goodness, prohibiting all dis things wud nt stop a child from being bad and can neva imbibe in them wat they ΔΦŋ't want Ï„̅☺ learn. Its a university for crying out loud. Our parents wud cage us and say, wen you get Ï„̅☺ the unversity, you are free, but my pple where is the freedom here nah. There are some items listed that yes, I agree they sud be prohibited but not pencil skirt, makeup, heels, colarless shirt etc. Not wearing all this things does nt mean a child is moralled or dignified. God help us.

Dis is non-sence(straigt face),what's the matter with dis uni by d way?why can't they let dem be?are they in nursary school confused tho

Bloomandgrownaija said...

I hear covenant students starch their clothes to show effizy! The more the starch on your clothes, the bigger a boy ( or girl) you are.

I can't even read all, I can only laugh to it all..lol

biko which one is material made out of condom lol

C gbege.....I tire for all diz kind holier dan dou ppl.**mtchww** since d want natural things they wud have told dem 2bi naked the way GOd created dem. Yeye school, datz jst wey too much

All for what bsc..thank God I left dere

Emmanuel said...

na wa oh....I no understand this skool again...I pity d students dere...

Nonsense! nigerians should wise up when oyedepo son got married last year his wife wore makeup, oyedepo himself wore a cap, oyedepo wife wore makeup and ring even when his daughter got married dis year also she also wore makeup. People should preach what they do.

Linda dis is stale gist na.....dis has bin goin on since 2003

Emmanuel said...

d male students look hopeless @d pix

Thank God, am outta shit hole...*wtf

where was it stated that there should be minimal makeup? cos I can't see it here. I finished in 2010 from CU and there is no change in d handbook except for d painting of nails. abeg let the school be ,people!

Its a welcm development. Our bodies is d temple of God..

Lol.....thank God I'm out of school.

gabon said...

Rubbishhhhhhh. Same should apply to the church.

This has to be a slow news day for u Linda, dis has always been d dress code dere is nothing do and pls get actual pictures of d girls in d skool and see how they lOok.

3faya said...

Omg!!!! *lipsealed*

lil miss sunshyn said...

xcuse moi meanin wat

Na wa o, d rules too much biko

jane said...

I think its good. Sumfin has to be sane about dis country abeg. Nt all dose public skuls dat students in lecture rooms be looking like stripers nd cultists! When they get to their various homes they can wear wat they like, buh in skul you know wat to wear. No sacrifice is too much for education.

Wet Pussy said...

why are they turning this guys to dummy?

click HERE for more gist

Toscan... said...

If u ask me,that still doesn't change their mind set,most of them will still wear the so called "bad cloth" when they leave school,

The Dress code doesn't stop them from Partying,Having Sex,doing drugs,doing Yahoo and Partying 1s they leave school.

Why not teach them the lessons of life,in some cases let them make mistakes while u watch so u can correct them...

U need to see what these kids do when they are without supervision...and that is the time they should be bothered about,Teach them well and go to rest,knowing that with or without u they can make the right choices in LIFE.

rossie said...

Ladies just go to a convent, guys go to a monastery straight!

chyko said...

Charity begins at home,dey should cotail the dress code in their church b4 the school. Dey are listing impossible tins.living faith church is come as you are.

3faya said...

I would appreciate if dis rules is included in d Church also....can't wait to watch d drastic loss of members to oda churches if dat happens *evilsmile*

Lo ba tan. Is same as babcock. Cos initialy ppl wear jean skirt bt is been baned. No earring in babcock

That's good. They will learn how to dress decently n if any one is not comfortable with that ,the person should look for another school period. First to comment .

Mr Chukx said...

Wat a paradox All these are nut allowed in school buh u can wear it to thier church.. SMH

Glorified secondary school!!! Welll like u said-they had other options but chose convenant.. Its a xtian sch,so dey shud acept d xtian extreme rules!!! How can u b more concerned bout ur students morals dan church members morals??? Dis holier dan thou atitude wunt make dem go 2 heaven!!! Are u tryna say d guys even d girls dnt MASTURBATE?or even SEX??? mtchwww!!!! Looking for a pin while ur house is on fire!!! #yimu

soft diamond said...

wellcome idea,no sexy things.

Kpekus master said...

I dey craze.. For wetin nah? Mtchww!

fantastic! it is great.

No body shuld comment rubbish here or insult any1 no body put gun 4 ya head 2 apply 2 d skul If u can't kip 2 der rules der are oda Options chose odA skulsss

Babcock is worse.....I survived it. Its no big deal. They sure will survive.

Pls I graduated from dat university..and d dress code is not bad...girls wear heels but only for services on sunday..who wears high heels to week classes anyways...n belive me wearing coporate dresses the right way is badass...so linda ikeji leave private universities alone already and u had better post ma comment(I dey beg)...

Linda this handbook has been the same ever since, just a few things were added. so i see no reason why this is news.. crawford is worse dan CU buh i dont see u carrying gist bout them everyday...

Those things have always been prohibited. (Except the nails part tho). If you don't like the rules in CU. don't apply in the first place.

Te rest of you making noise on here, how does it affect you

They are very foolish..... Little wonder they breed only gays and lesbians. They should have developed a school uniform since they have decided to treat their students like prisoners. Stupid school , what matters is the level of education and not the dress code. Seeing stuffs like this, just makes me wonder if the directors of the school still live in a Stone Age . Very backward and lacking any sense of exposure.

WTF!!Is It Living Faith?I thought Twuz Deeper Life...

Power intoxicates

Hmmmmmmm dis madness

Imagine!!! It still doesn't make the students any better. Interfering with people's personal lifestyle over one man's over godly ambition.

ec said...

But these ppl who create these rules....steal funds,falsify accounts,sleep with students,alter results,lie,gossip. Yet the greatest sin to them is what cloth they dim as appropraite, God must be having a good laugh up thr. Bloody hypocrites! Btw if u still school there ur mentally retarded u just dont know it yet

decency must start from the house of God. al is wel

the earlier u understand that CU is a Missionary school, the better..it is not a 'very strict code' ts a code thats now a lifestyle...yes students might complain intially buh after a short while get use to it cos thats what u signed up for.. so ts not an issue or a gist!!! Raising a new generation of leaders..meaning u have to do sometin out of the norm..

Why complaining?they see unilag before choosing covenant university...

For wat na..I just pity all dis private university students...no freedom at all

DEM DON BRING LIGHT !! said...

Third World deceit

This people are really funny. So they no longer have freedom to dress d way they want. I pity for d students of dat school.

DEM DON BRING LIGHT !! said...

Third World deceit.....

linda...male no get a-f for the dress code rule ni?

anonymous said...

Cool story sis..we still wear heels so dont lie :)...nd d jeans story is quite old -__-

anonymous said...

Smh

What all these private schools don't realize is that, denying these students most of the basic necessities of their developmental years makes them crave them more aside from the fact that it practically ruins their childhood, it makes miscreants of some of them. You should see how some their students are eager to jump the bones of anything that walks because they have being locked in captivity for long. How does these items of clothing improve or distort education? A person who wants to learn will learn. You wear what you want to wear in America, UK and even Ghana and their universities are ranked higher than ours. So what gives? It's definitely not the dress.

na wah for school oh

Rubbish! Even the Jewish laws are not this strict. University my foot!

ibto said...

O ga oooooo ......na wa for cu oo

Somfin I don't understand is how on earth will there be dress code in higher institute. I mean isn't it awkward? Anyway it's thier rules n regulation so I think it's their right. My child deserves liberty so to me HELL NO to private owned university

I so much love ma Uni..., U.N.N rocks n obviously convenant SUCKS! Linda u must post it oo unless u go get wet dReAm this nyt"smokingFace"

Funny church

Dis is wickedness even deeper life won't do dis dis is dispeccable

But Linda! If I may ask with permission to invoke my civil rights to speak, where on earth, only if you've been shuffling between Lagos and Mars of late did you get this piece of INFORMATION?. Well I don't have much to say....

Airnorh said...

Don't complain, Nobody forced u to go there. If u can't live by there rules don't attend the school.

Wow that's very nice this will help reduce side attraction

Bankers in skull

Mtchew.......this wan don pass deeper life!

Nawa oooooh!

Its a pity!

Na wa o

Not new.....aside the high heels.

o yes covenant university is raising a responsible generation

You are sad... that picture was 2003 this is 2013.. come and see how students dress.. you bloody fool

all hail my alma mater!! im just here laughing. it is well with their souls oooo.

judith hanrankis said...

Hahahhahahahahahahaha,can't help it,buh laugh out loud,G̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Æ ̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅ f̶̲̥̅̊O̶̷̩̥̊͡r them

that picture was 2003... this is 2013.. come and see how students dress you bloody fool

Is any of doze laws amongst d ten commandments? Y can pple wear doze tins to church n students can't wear dem to lecture rooms? Convenant nursery and primary sch.

Dis is serious, u must not guy if u knw say na convenant uni u won go. Just turn pastor nw.

Beshy said...

Yepa... Lobatan!

Lol..pity does students ooo dis one is more dan d ten commandments o.winners shld pass dat law too in d church nau if dis is their stand nd wt dey believe in.

yemi said...

Linda try make dem see my comment ooh

Chaiiiiii d student don hear nweeeeeeee *headshaking*

Wow.....Almost every known attire is prohibited!!! BTW what's indecent about wearing chinos and jeans??All CU students should jst spend the rest of their Summer hols shopping for a new wardrobe(before Sales and discounts are off)
Rahman

That why i found it cool skolling abroad. No time for Thèse dhit

Linda, wats ur P wif dem.....wen u start seeing peeps dressed up half Naked u wud start your complains again...is it nt better its prevented now?!

Chei! This na Bondage. they should kuku give dem school uniform.

That why i found it cool schooling abroad. No time för Thèse Shit

That's very nice but they should also stop it in church service

To an extent d rules are not strict, I mean it's high time our children learn how to dress properly.

What will they now wear?,that azubuike guy is just useless,that's how they did that narah ozim girl strong thing

Lmaoooo...E clear!

They really did ban everything! How's a student supposed to look stylish with all this rules? Na wa o!

nawa ooo! Well na em good sha, to reduce temtation..

Linda am a student of babcock uni..we also hv diz typ of rules but u knw student will allways hv der ways...in BU no makeup no earings..oly wristwatch is allowed..n we all lukin beautiful n handsome..so its not a big deal, day can cope if day hv der way...

This is absolute nonsense!!!

Jean was never allowed hun! You stupid liar linda oloshi

Dis is crazy!!!!i go kukuma commit for the skul.no fun,no nofin......#SUCKS#

Wow its lyk dey neva have to enter 21st century and having deir own trend except nobody is going to copy them,looks fine to me'for them'am sure dey knew b4 dey entered. I do hope they rememba wat 21st century looks lyk wen dey re done with dem there.

Elm linda, I think you should read it again. Its not difficult 2 abide by. I mean what is difficult there? Most persons wud do anything to put there kids there, considering the educational standard in Nigeria now.have you even heard about d rules in babcock? So just cut them some slacks abeg.

AY said...

Linda, seems you are just seeing the CU handbook. None of these is new now! Maybe just the nail painting. The rules were like that right from my days in CU from 05-09. No need for the ....

Even his wife and other pastor's wives under LFC don't dress according to all this their kiniko ah ah, na sec school? Will it make the students any more brighter? Nigerians n making silly rules...kmt!

blog troll said...

Hian!!! hypocrisy at its best! And they wanna teach it to a new generation of Nigerians.

realikechukwu said...

lol. at least it is better than this 2months and counting strike one is experiencing!!

kidodo said...

Good! Infact I bet wit my life dat 90% of d students complaining re the female folks.

º°˚˚˚°Âº‎​k o , dis one na glorified secondary school. But seriously, dis is jst too much, d schl shld jst make uniform 4 dem 2 make tinz easier ( lol). Covenant student sorry o

Even my secondary school was not this harsh. Mehn! Thank God I'm in a Federal School.

u ban doz cloths bt church members cn put em on 2 chrch abi? weldon! #Hux#

Hmnnnn... Shey holiness na by force.. You can only change the outside look but the inner man nko??? If there is real teaching in the church there should not be any need for another deuteronomy....

The poor English terminology and grammar used in an official document issued by a university is a testament to the quality of education in that university. Everything else is a smokescreen. What the hell is nickers?

I always knew this school is an advanced secondary!! WTF

Secondary school reloaded!

Modern day slavery...... in dis 21st century

Flavour said...

Lol..am done and I am out..BTW most of those stuffs hv been there n peeps still wear what they want
www.flavour360.blogspot.com

meen if im in this type of university i wuld feel lyke a zombie dis dres code is too strict for my liking joor.

LMAOOO, can't stop laughing...even my secondary school didn't give such rules,they shld introduce uniforms alredy!

Na wa o!!!! Please is this suppose to be a university or what? First it was all the rules of no phones and all, the only thing covenant students have which is fashion is now been taken away. If covenant was the last university in Nigeria or the world I'll rather not get a degree.

Rose Diamond said...

Seems like dey re converting them into Deeper life church members.It's gud to luk decent but Ds is to d extreme, smh! Some of private skls treat adults like kids,Anywayz tnk God for d skl I graduated frm..am

Make dem introduce school uniform make d matter sweet.*bbm straight face*

Hmmm! End tym tinz

HahahahahahAhahahahahaha...

Lmao....seriously this is crazy..I can't even imagine all these rules..sounds like secondary school rules to me

LMFAO... See gobe... Na secondary school b this na. Haba...

this is just ridiculous, dese rules hv always bn dere n where did d heels story come 4rm... abeg dere's nufin lyk dat...

derez nutin new in dis dressing ...the rules av bin lyk dis so y make a fuss abt it...just looking for news...mtcheew

dnt pity us abeg... if u hv fashion sense, you can make anything work.. i've bn here 2 yrs n C.U guys are among d best dressed anywhere...

u r stale sha... jeans hv nvr bn allowed, n wat is dis rubbish about heels... dat one is a lie...

That is why there will be continous hypocrisy in Christaindom. They should look for ways 2 imbibe values into ths students and it's not goin 2 be by dressing. It's until when you have worked on the psychology and personality of a person that is when the an individual will dress appropriately. So if you restrict their dress codes in school and it's not reflected when they get home, what has the school achieved?

THE KAREN KING said...

thats why covenant university students always get jobs because they dress smartly coporately and gorgeously at the same time....who wouldnt want to employ them.... they are fresh for life.... they mean serious business not wearn clothes dat r short and ski,py which makes u look like a prostitute lyk most federal schools....abeg they get mouth jare

Lmao!!....na wa o! University is meant for matured minds who shld decide for demselves wat to wear.....goodluck to d babies @ CU!
--ex OSUITE

Abegi make I hear word jare. Will dis change their inborn and inbuilt chartacters?

u can say wat u lyk, but C.U is ranked no.1 private uni in Africa n still climbing... lol, d skol has it's wahala but we ain't complaining..

Fine;for Jehovah witness though

Baba 'musing of a nigerian undergraduate', the word is spelt COVENANT not CONVENANT! Ode!

Lol! They haven't seen nothing yet. They should come and learn about dresscode from the Nigerian Law School. They're extremely strict! Even down to your choice of jewelry.

Anita said...

Mich I tire oh,I'm a member of LFC and I see a lot of improper dressing in church.they should correct the church dressing before going to do so in school.afterall the church is supposed to be. Holy place and the school basically for learning

eje said...

So make dem come buy 'reasonable' dresses from u abi? Ole

lool, abeg C.U babes are hot die...

guys wey enta skol wit me nvr finish 1oo lvl, n here i am rocking 300.. abegi, make una go sleep...

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 316   Newer› Newest»