Teenage stowaway's father speaks, I didn't abandon him | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 September 2013

Teenage stowaway's father speaks, I didn't abandon him

Culled from Punch
Two weeks after his son flew from Benin City to Lagos in the wheel compartment of an aircraft belonging to Arik Air, Daniel Ohikhena’s father denies claims that he abandoned his family.
Little is known about Daniel Ohikhena, the 13-year-old stowaway who flew from Benin City to Lagos in the wheel compartment of a plane belonging to Arik Air, by his schoolmates at Ogbe Junior Secondary School in the Edo State capital.
Shortly before his celebrated escapade, Daniel’s mother, Mrs. Evelyn Ohikhena, had withdrawn him from a private secondary school for want of money to pay his tuition fees. She had enrolled him in OJSS, which was about 500 metres from her residence.

Investigation by our correspondent shows that the teenager had spent only a term in his new school before embarking on the dangerous adventure. A source said, on condition of anonymity, that Daniel joined the school, popularly known as ‘Ezoti Junior’ just before the end of the third term.

A youth named Festus, who also resides in the same neighbourhood as the stowaway boy, said the latter was not popular in the area.

“We hardly know him. It was recently that we heard he lives in the neighbourhood. I have not seen much of him. He was very quiet at school. I have not known him for long,” he said.

However, events took a dramatic turn on Tuesday when the boy’s father, Osaigbovo Ohikhena, 44, materialised as if from nowhere. Earlier, his wife (Daniel’s mother) had claimed that they did not live together.

Mr. Ohikhena, who is a driver by profession, said he had been separated from his family for a year because of a misunderstanding between him and Daniel’s mum. But he denied the latter’s claim that he abandoned his family.

“I always pay my children’s school fees and provide money for their feeding regularly, contrary to claims that I abandoned my family. After I lost my job, I decided to move to a cheaper apartment and told my wife that they should move in with me. But she refused and continued to stay in the three-bedroom flat. My new residence is located on Siluko Road. I decided to come here (Government House) to tell the world that I am the father of Daniel.

“Initially, when I heard the news, I thought my son was kidnapped. But my wife said I should calm down and she promised to get back to me when everything is finally okay. I never dreamt of going to America nor am I married to another woman. My wife refused to give the DSS my phone number when they asked for it,” he said.

Giving an insight to what could have been responsible for the teenager’s strange behaviour, an expert and sociologist at the University of Benin, Dr Kingsley Omoyibo, described him as suffering from maladjusted personality, due to inability to mix. Omoyibo did not only warn against labelling the teenager a criminal because of his action; he recommended that the youngster be made to undergo rehabilitation.

Noting that what happened to Daniel could have resulted from his experience in his home, the don urged the boy’s parents to live up to their responsibilities in order to prevent untoward behaviour from their children in the future.

He said, “Like we learnt, the boy is a recluse. He has a withdrawn personality because he does not mix. This is why he acts the way he does. This condition is capable of making him do damage not only to himself, but to his siblings and his immediate environment.

“The boy needs to be rehabilitated. Although we cannot say that his attempt to stowaway in the wheel compartment of an aircraft is criminal behaviour, it is a devious act that must have been propelled by lack of adequate parental care. I do not know the background, but what we can extrapolate from this is that the home is not stable.

“You will find out that there is a lacuna in the upbringing of the boy and consequently, it has affected the way he reasons and appreciates societal issues. The way he sees the complexity of society is different from a child that has complete socialization. The boy is suffering from maladjusted personality.

“Indeed, that child, I still maintain, is not a criminal. In the process of maladjustment, he is exposed to odious things. For a child to keep all night watching films, it tells a lot about his state of mind.”

Now that a group known as De RAUFS has offered the teenage stowaway scholarship up to university level, it is the duty of his parents to seek ways of reshaping his character for a better future. 

44 comments:

Hahahahahahahah... See movie.. *crosses leg and sips hennessey*... So the man's famzing now, ba???

@Bobo_Edo

Hahahahahahahah... See movie.. *crosses leg and sips hennessey*... So the man's famzing now, ba???

@Bobo_Edo

Prodigal daddy! Lol...

Someone_special said...

Everyone is claiming right now because they want to eat his scholarship money.

Enough of this already,they should let the poor boy be.
See how the news took the shine off ASUU strike.

Mich said...

Oh Daniel.
Runaway dad!
I think its too early to state categorically if the kid is suffering from a maladjusted personality or not.
I do agree to the fact that kids from such homes could want to live in solitude and what have you.
Whatever the case is,Daniel is definitely gonna amount to something big eventually.

that Uniben Don just dey blow grammar....Hon. Pat Homie

the Uniben Don just dey blow big Grammar, Hon. Pat lil bro

Uhmmm.....Too much of scarface,Commando...lol

kusby said...

There's no point in beating around the bush, let our Leaders start doing their job. The whole thing happened as a result of poverty.

This boy don become celebrty oooo.go..... Boy.gud 4 him

Oluwabibs said...

This boy don become celebrty oooo.go..... Boy.gud 4 him

Anne K said...

This is a great lesson for parents. It's high time parents settled their marital disagreement/issues in order to avoid separation, if not for anything but for their children.

I wonder why the 'oga on top' decided to so face now. Sign of gross irresponsibilty and a disgrace to fatherhood. That the mum gave him assurance to handle the issue is a lame excuse. Hope big daddy is not coming out thinking there may be cash dole out from the govt or interested individuals. WRONG THINKING!

He is extremely lucky. Maybe this would turn things around for his parents and get him back to his high school which he must miss.

Linda, the boy is 14, not 13

Papa wants to be known now that his son has become popular. He looks so unkept and irresponsible.

Chibaby said...

which one be all this big big Grammar, abeggggg!!! The Dr should rehabilitate the young boy after speaking those words ooo. He should stop speaking too much Oyibo for here.

xynth said...

Lmao @d news took the shine off ASUU strike, looool bonario

Wet Pussy said...

yeye man you've let your family down

Jay said...

D father is d bigggest liar on earth I knw d mom,she has always complaind abt dis man...He hs nver showd care to them he abadon them I believed is out of frustration dat made d boy wantin to travel n leave sufferin alone.God punisH dat man well well...Mtchewwwww

This young lad seriously need rehabilitation and close monitoring by a sociologist.

Secretman said...

That is so wrong!
If he was a prodigal why did he come forth now? Or is there a benefit?
Lets say he actually did abscond,now his coming out is his redemption!
I can tell from daniels mum,she is jus a typical benin woman trying to be landlady witout landlord!
University don,you need to study current psychology & understand that daniel only likes what he sees in the video & movies,not parental care. Most of us don't get our parents attention,yet we no stowaway! But like all naija kid, na foreign mentality dey him head!

Able daddy! Ure wellcome sir!na ur face be dis?

Hmmm c ds man Oº°˚˚°o. Jus bcox yur pikin wan c govanor! U kon dey claim lyk sai u b guruguru abi? Whr u dey wen yur pikin dy fly for d tyre of plane come lag? C yur life! It only shows dat yu nd yur wife r irresponsible now u both r seekin for cheap publicity. Benin pple sha Mitcheeeeew!!!!

Didi said...

Lol!!! Bonario do u know that I love u. I kinda feel u think b4 u talk" plz keep it up. That's one tin with Nigerians, see as ds news take chop Asuu strike issue. *smh* Naija 4 life!!!! Ps. I remember when "oga at d top" came, we left Dame and her english 2 rest...now this!!

Mena UkodoisReady said...

The whole thing happened as a result of poverty.

well said!

"an expert and sociologist at the University of Benin, Dr Kingsley Omoyibo"
It seems everyone with a "Dr" to his or her title is eligible to make comments about any and everything?
How can a doctor in sociology be an expert in human behaviour/children's behaviour or qualify to make comments about this child? From reading the jumble of words he used (which by the way anyone can come up with from typing the right words into Google), it seems he knows nothing about what he is talking about.
1) Is he qualified to make these statements?
2) Did he assess this young man (not assess him by listening to what someone else says about the child, but sitting with the child in a series of sessions to determine the condition of care the child have received, if he has been abused and to determine his personality trait)
3) Did he meet with the boys parents?
4) Was this young man medically examined?

In the situation this boy is at the moment, i.e. withheld from the public or his mother by government officials and most likely suffered abuse (knowing the temperament of Nigerians). How is it surprising that he is "withdrawn"?

Nigerians and their titles. All doctors are qualified to give advice on all things provided that there is a "dr" to their name. Errant nonsense!!

pwitie B said...

Famzer of lyf abeg d papa go sidon

Waiting on a Nollywood movie on all of these....the last is yet to be seen/heard.

Jay said...

Linda post ma comment ooooo

Exactly Mich,that professor just rushed into conclusions.
No one can be said to have a maladjusted personality till he or she has been examined carefully over a period of time.I speak as an expert in the field,that little boy is probably having a kind of complex that pushes him to take risks,its a very rare case in people of his age though. His alter ego is probably one built around his super action hero.

gbam, owuya

THE MAN IS TELLING PEOPLE WHAT IS HAPPENING U ARE INSULTING HIM. WHY CAN'T THE WIFE MOVE IN WITH HIM, JUST BECAUSE THE WOMAN DON STAY FOR FLAT SHE DID NOT WANT TO COME DOWN WHEN THE CONDITION TURN DOWN TOO, NA BAD WOMAN AS MONEY NO DEY AGAIN FOR THE MAN HAND THE BENIN WOMAN WAN START TO DEY CONTROL THE MAN OR THE MAN WILL MOVE OUT, SO THAT SHE WILL HAVE CHANCE TO DO WHAT SHE LIKE

All I have to say is dat D boy is suffering from psychological problem. He need a guidance counselor or a psychologist,and I believe it's high time nigeria schools will start appreciating guidance counseling in schools because they usually help with dis type cases.

Like father,like son...http://ThePaidTask.com/?refcode=40078

R.B.OJO said...

I Salute Gov. Aregbesola of Osun State

anita said...

Na wa o, papa famzn big time lol, well sha I believe dis young lad will amount to something great. Big up to osun state governor, I know say dat yeye adams nor fit do nada idiot man 'em no go pay state allowee. Mtcheeeeeeewww

Enough of all these stories, d man just want to reap where he didn't sow, supposing the boy $ d mother has been detained $ arranged to appear in court,dis yeye $ inresponsible man will never show up, don't mind him, he just want to get cheap popularity. Adam, do what u want to do 4 dis boy on time $ let dis boy alone! D earlier d better $ let d poor mother see her Son

Dis woman should be more alive to take care of her children b4 it is too late, wat if d father is dead,she just need to thank God dat d boy is not dead, what wll it be her gain then

grabs popcorn***

The man is a useless father, if it had been that the poor boy would be sentenced to life imprisonment or any other thing worse than that, he would have denied him, but seeing the turn of events, the village man wants to famz with the family he has abandoned. mtcheeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwww. Men and their character, God save us.

I still cab't believe they're offering this boy a scholarship. What a shame.

Anon 6:12 wat wld dey ve done? Wats a shame there? For those saying Benin women and landlady stuff, is he d 1st to ve a broken home? Or is other tribes not having broken home as well?mtcheeeew. And 4 dis useless man, mere looking @ him and reading d irresponsible statement, not a father but a sperm donor. Useless irresponsible fool!