Stella Damasus & Sen. Yerima tackle child marriage on Al-Jazeera | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 September 2013

Stella Damasus & Sen. Yerima tackle child marriage on Al-Jazeera

Actress Stella Damasus and Senator Ahmed Yerima went toe to toe on the Al-Jazeera show The Stream tackling the Underage Marriage issue in Nigeria. This is a must watch. Senator Yerima talks about how he met and married his 14 year old Egyptian bride...they even have a child together. Wow!

206 comments:

1 – 200 of 206   Newer›   Newest»
That African chic said...

Go Stella!!!
She's the only celeb that is taking this issue seriously
Click my name for personal stories about my new life in the US

Yerima is a Fool!!!

This Yerima of a man is very serious and proud of his quest ooooh

dis senator yerima no get shame. Linda I'm first so make I no see ma comment 4 last placeooo

Disgusting #childnotbride

The real baby oku

Gross man! Wat God will judge sha...

Linda u no. Give time oooo

Parle G said...

Hmmmm..u go fear na

AdorableDee said...

This is serious.

Mich said...

With this,I just concluded Senator Yerima is a douchebag.
I like Stella's passion on this discourse and applaud how she brings to fore her salient points.
Its sad to know that this douche of a senator uses the Koran to back his filthy sexual desires.
Would it then be safe to say that Islam upholds this behavior(s)?
Once again,some waste gash just used religion as a tool for pursuing/achieving his ungodly desires.

Ever since I saw this clip days ago, I was so startled at Yarima and his audacity! Using religion to hide the fact of what you are, a paedophile!! Simple!

Honero said...

Stella and the harvard lawyer were the only sane and intelligent pple in that debate.yerima and that lasu prof should bury their heads in shame!

judith hanrankis said...

Animal in human skin

prince d preacher said...

Yerima, will u give ur 14 yr old dauta for marriage? U ar sayin hu u married, and not hw u gav ur dauta to marriage.

Oby Azike said...

Interesting- Thanks for sharing Linda

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

Daft Yerima.......ode oshi......

does this show that the senators dont argue about important things?

Picconn said...

Truly a must watch.

Work Online And Get Incomes Up To 1500$ weekly. Its free, there is no harm in trying. Follow this link http://megastoon.com/?share=28306. This is just a fingertip away from u.

eje said...

If d quran is truly in support of child marriage,den I'l conclude dat it's a book from d pit of hell.

OMG! short of words! Bunch of peadophiles. God punish dem all. Thank you Stella..I still don't like u though

Elsmama said...

what evil men do hiding under islamic law may God forgive him

Na Wa oo. Child together ke? So you mean yerima fucked that 14yr old girl? With his uncircumcised little thing? God forbid oo.

Stella for once i really see the great one you are, well done.

Well she's articulate but someone should tell her there is no such thing like "the man of my dreams". It is fallacy really. Let her look for a man she likes and marry.

Dear God please make this pedophiles disappear! Senator Yerima it will NEVER BE WELL WITH YOU AND YOUR TYPES, AMEN! This man should be locked and the key thrown away! So he already has a child with the poor 14 years old girl??? AH! Yerima you are WICKED!!!

Bimbo said...

YERIMA AND ISHAQ ARE DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a very controversial topic which as the lawyer, Aminu Gamawa said has taken the focus from the act to religious divide. Fact is that under aged girls are given away in marriage. Fact is that this is dangerous for their health and well being. Fact is that there are far reaching economic and social consequences. Fact is that this is being practiced in Islam, Traditionalism and possibly Christianity. Fact is that the Government and our elected representatives do not care about this and will do nothing about it. Fact is that we have to take it upon ourselves to change this. Thanks to Stella Damasus and Aminu Gamawa for bringing much needed attention to this practice.

Lets keep speaking up against the wrong things so that there can be changes. Lets not worship the people we put in power rather make them accountable.
even if we cant change the past,lets work on creating a better future. I'm looking forward to a better Nigeria.
Well done Stella.

Chris said...

I still can't believe this

This man should be assasinated!
(Yerima)
Shameless goat!
I love stella damasus!

kings said...

Stella!!!!! U won my heart... Issues should be addressed without religious sentiments.

Senator yerima pls come n marry me am 2 yrs old..

Always hiding under religion to cause havoc.

This is appalling. God sees all

Na wa ooooo.. yerima........yeye man

Atobatele said...

God bless Stella. That's all i can say. It takes courage to withstand this devil knowing fully well what is at stake for voicing out your opinion in Nigeria..God bless you Stella and He will be your shield and guide.

ztutulai said...

That Lasu professor did not need to be on the show at all...He is quite shallow and was very petty to suggest the "opposition" was being given extra time to speak that was rude and petty. Education is not just about certificates but mannerisms as well.
The Senator,Stella and Harvard lawyer all came across with some very strong points but it was sad to hear the senator say vvf is a health issue and even 30yr old women have it,this may be true but who does he think is more likely to have a slender waist most of the time.

U can say that again

That professor Akintola is a disgrace! I love the way he was silenced. @stella am proud of you.

Yerima, I dont have issues(cos dont expect much from a Pedo..) but mostly disappointed in the Prof...wondering if he is worthy to be called one..he does not believe in western law, teaching in a University in Nigeria, he should go and be prof in Yerima town in Zamfara..Almajiri tins!!!

Didn't know you People just like creating issues where known seem to exists. Yerima is a Muslim and he said he's following d doctrine of his Religion, Practise d doctrine of ur own religion and let him practice his. If I want to Marry a girl of 15 or 16 years of age and her Parents decline, I didn't think I have any right to forcefully marry her. so what are we saying?

this is disgusting

stella that is forming holy,how many marriages has she had,when did she get disflowered,i dont support her take on the issue neither am supporting yerima,just that every country with thier culture,if yerima marries an eygtian it thier faith and the life of there daughter they are trying to protect from abuse,thank god omo tee is not saying anything on this issue again i would have asked her when she got married to ekeinde and likewise others too.let everybody mind there business there are alot of burning issues than talking about yerima did this or that,everyone has got skeleton in thier wardrobe,from rapist,to serial killers,to aristos.i beg let talk somrthing to better the lives of the poor.

CHARMY said...

If only the look on stella's face could kill senator yarima lmao!way 2 go gurl stella,u made a good points.The lecturer is a pervert!!!! Pervert!!!!perfect!!! Pervert!! Senator yarima u r a bigger pervert!!!

patando said...

Stella no gri 4 am oooo mk dem go marry dai daugta 1 by 1.

Just visited ur blog and love it. I easily identify with you. I am Nigerian living in France. Keep it up. Thanks. Chi

Days ago??!! Thought it happened just yesterday

Visages Parfait said...

Gospel Truth!!!

ejikebiggerdick said...

Abeg pack well...wetin concern us with ur new life in US? U want to tell everyone dat u jst entered flight first tym in ur lyf?

wemimo said...

Nawa ohhhhh

Stella i luv u sooo much God bless

ejikebiggerdick said...

He's a bigger one!

He was asked this same question yesterday and he said he would.

We have a winner, a 2 year old blog reader. U must be very smart. *yinmu*

Days ago??!! Thought it happened just yesterday

the only word is speechless speechless, am just beside ma self in shock, its like an out of body experience. OMG WAT JUST HAPPENED. and the foolish one from lagos says he is a prof, goes to show us dat a pig will forever be a pig if u like wear am prada he prefers trash. if the likes of yerima sit and make decisions for we Nigerians den wat is our hope. hopeless lawmakers. most times i try not to involve in political matters cos nijeria doesnt even knw if i exist or am alive dont benefit noting from them free education, water common gud roads electricity. wat so ever but listening to this quarter to die men talking like dey have coconut water in their brains then i begin to wonder. finally am still speechless and in shock we just kip losing our credibility everyday on international tv

Stella looks like she wants to slap him!! lol this guy is a disgrace!!

ztutulai said...

Annon 5;51.
This is EXACTLY what will better the life of the poor.
Its sad that people like you do not understand that all issues are interrelated.
If you have nothing to say then say nothing.
So yes the Senator,s wife gave birth to a baby boy with no complications but if your precious little girl has vvf from early marriage will you not sharpen cutlass and take someone,s head off?.

the idiot talking abt wen Stella lost her virginity is the 2nd biggest fool after yerima idiot, animal like u its ur type dat rape little girls and finger them wen nobody is in sight. monkey in they market

Ztutulai,you took the words right out of my mouth.

i love you stella.........you see why education is important? that lecturer in unilag???SAD.

i love you stella........you see why education is important???and that man is a lecturer in unilag????SAD.

i love you stella.........you see why education is important? that lecturer in unilag???SAD.

I am very sure u are a muslim and must be from the North, u called that rubbish and abuse a religious practice??? Pls give me a break. U guys are all sick, u will never practice the good side of koran only the bad ones, am not surprise cuz if u can kill in the name of islam and Allah then we shd xpect worst from u lunatics. By the way iam from the north too. Wawa irin yerima.

Welldone Stella. I do understand ur strategy though. Taking on issues that r close 2 our hearts so u can win us over. Mba, I haven't 4gotten abt d Adenimokan. Until u n Daniel explain hw u both coming together, my thoughts of u won't change.

Linda bring dat bovi's comedy skit here na...twas U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊‎​ blog she saw peters proposal pics oo..go n watch it

So we shd kip quiet and allow his type to get away with it abi? Dats why we rapist,serial killers,aristos like U.

I am very sure u are a muslim and must be from the North, u called that rubbish and abuse a religious practice??? Pls give me a break. U guys are all sick, u will never practice the good side of koran only the bad ones, am not surprise cuz if u can kill in the name of islam and Allah then we shd xpect worst from u lunatics. By the way iam from the north too. Wawa irin yerima.

Dis yerima no dey shem ooo

Yerima is just a sexually excited fellow. What.... U actually went to see some other girl and u eventually saw ur 14yrs old wife along d line and decided to go for her wheeeew.I'm sure femi oke and mbilal are dazzled.

Efe pls dnt talk about religion, yerima is just twistin everytin,he lacks wisdom

yerima obviously is a Muslim illiterate, therefore expected of him to have those opinions, Who frightens me is the so called LASU professor, what a disgrace to the institution, the animal claiming to b a professor had no clue of what VVF is. We can only pray for the children involved cos we all knw nothing will b done. the leaders who should change the act enjoy our lil girls. sad but true. God help us and our babies

Most Nigerian men are paedophile

Pls we need to get this straight 18 yrs I think is ripe enough for marriage anon 5:51pm sept 5 . Omotola spoke up on this issue she wasn't in support of child marriage and let me remind you she got married at the age of 18 yrs to a man who was 28 yrs old and not a man who was in his 50 + yrs ,so there is no point for comparison this senator should do something else to help in nation building rather than fucking a 15 yr old and getting her pregnant.

YOU eje, u r from the deepest pít of hell.infact u r d fuel, idiot ignorant fools. Dont go n face ur heedless religion n pervert pastors raping girls ol in d name of deliverance.

@ anonymous num 44; time5:51-YOU ARE JUST DAFT PEOPLE LIKE YOU WITH YOYR MIOPIC SIGHT ARE T
HE PROBLEM WITH NIGERIA?

@ anonymous num 44; time5:51-YOU ARE JUST DAFT PEOPLE LIKE YOU WITH YOYR MIOPIC SIGHT ARE T
HE PROBLEM WITH NIGERIA?

There is a special place in hell for people who harm others and sin in the name of God. However, God does not punish people if they sin out of ignorance/illiteracy. I guess it is purgatory for Yerima and his supporters.

is this chìld marriage more important for our senators than delibrating on how Nigerian graduates should be gainfully employed.instate of delibrating on how to pay graduates some amount of money monthly,our senators are vomiting venoms.God will juge them.Stella thumb up dear

Shut up ur big fat gutter what has her marriage got to do with the cause of child marriage am sure u are a pedophile yourself did Stella get married at 10 or 13? And if she marry more than once how is that any of ur business she is a grown adult that has the right to chose and if she decide to not put up with u Nigeria men and ur stupidity its her business so just shut ur pile hole and let's face the issue of child marriage dumb goat. Linda post my comment o

@anonymous u re a fool in d making

mobolaji said...

Then i will also conclude that u are a big fool.

@anonymous I think u re a big fool in d making

mobolaji said...

God bless you for this comment.

lily said...

eje,there's no better word to describe your comment really...read all other comments made so far,who has made a direct reference to the holy books?whether quran or bible...four people were debating on a topic of which there were different views,irrespective of the religion each belongs,and here you are, dissuading by abusing a book, that you have no absolute clue of what is written in it or not.better if you had directed your grievances at the people involved and not a holy book of GOD.you shouldn't have made a comment truly ...LORD HAVE MERCY ON HUMANS... *now to the topic*stella and aminu made strong points and their message was clear.the others?oh well!!dont know what to say. linda if you like no post.

Akintola u re the biggest fool Eva......Yerima hmmmm u shd be ashamed of yourself.......just see how confused you re....can't even defend ur claim.....

mobolaji said...

20 Gbosa for you on this comment.

I wouldn't have thought he is a Professor with his very shallow arguments. As for Yerima, he is falling those he is meant to be protecting. Such a peadophile. Big ups for Stella and the Lawyer

deede25 said...

Stella really impressed me, very intelligent and brilliant points. I am surprised with Yerima and Ishaq! They sound like they are thinking with their penis!and the thoughts of smashing an underage girl! They are just perverts! The fact that other devoted Islam's are against it, shows that! This is sooo not about religion. May God deliver them! If sin had grades, this would be one of the highest grades of sin, just after murder! Smh..

Dumbest argument from d professor. What a shame. Weldone stella. Very intelligent points from the lawyer too.

I couldn't help but noti e how unitellectual the 'prof' Ishaq Akintola is. He didn't understand most of the questions, argued a lot and gave no intelligent response. Explain what VVF is for the rest of d works to understand, he couldn't! Who dropped hi in front of that computer? How do we expect his products to be. I mean the people he lectures??

Teeteelahyo

U guyz are jst shoutin Yerima,nothing seems 2 av mention the shameless Yoruba Professor 4rm LASU.

Professor Ishaq? That man is not worthy to be called a professor. No wonder LASU produces half baked graduates.

The last comment and the third to the last is very foolish talk, Stella as an adult can marry ten times it doesn't matter. And the fool that said its the parents that should be judge, how would a parent that has 10kids living in poverty think when someone offers him 100,000$ for his baby daughter? That's why there should be a child law act and must be enforced. And they keep saying Europe and America in those countries if u re seen touching the lap of an underage child u re going to jail. So when they say 12yr olds her getting pregnant they meant for there age group not 53yr old men. Stupid fools

mimiliscious mimi said...

Yerima commenting as anon 5:51pm, God is watching u n will soon set u on fire under dis heavy rain. We shall c... banza pedo oshi!!!!

shut your mouth anonymous 5:51 and tell your father yerima to stop raping kids! idiot!

Chinasa said...

Native doctor Isaqh TUFIAKWA . So it is an infringement on your rights for people to question your desire to sample small, small children. As for yerima you took a small child and looked in her face and sexually molested her. Tell me did you do it in the dark or did you actually look her in the face to do it. Not once but several times.

You are a very big idiot for your comment. The issue been addressed here is child marriage not stellas marriages or personal issues.its a national and fundamental issue. Its ignorant people like you that will never allow nigeria move forward. And how did omotola get into this issue. She was 18 when she got married and WITH HER CONSENT.pls mind your business and shut up your foolish comment is not required fool. You talk of the poor are there not many poor girls involved in this too. Is this how you will better their lives?

Anon @ 5:51pm, please give out yours daughter for marriage when they are 10yrs old oe less than. Afterall there are bigger issues on ground and child marriage is not one of them.

Lasu graduates should be ashamed. Olodo school , olodo prof

Please shut the fuck up! who is talking about stella...the issue on ground is about children and she was brave enough to go on national TV to defend them if you have the balls go and talk. I honestly dont know why Nigerians have mastered the art of deviating from the more important things....As the that professor please do not kill innocent children just because you want to gain favour in the eyes of another human because Allah will punish you. You deserve to be beaten.

i must say i respect Stella , she was really on point . shameeeeeeeeeeee to Yarimi . animal in human skin . You are doomed for hell yarima

perverted Yarima . stinky ass hole . may the God you serve reject you amen

This discussion is getting interesting !

But holy Mary mother of Christ got married as a child:(Encyclopedia Catholica)

Also, an American state constitution set the age of marriage to be thirteen, how comes no one is demonstrating in front of American embassy( bunch of hypocrites).

who said child marriage is the cause of VVF? when a nation's medical facilities are well developed, you don't here cases of VVF in "child birth". that is why VVF is mostly associated with poor or underdeveloped countries. Remember the high rate of teenage birth in the US but very little of VVF.

If you don't like Yerima just like me doesn't mean you should ignore the fact.

It is the scalability in Islam that gives room to early marriage, it is not a must. Islam says it is a choice thing.

There is absolutely nothing academic about Sella's argument. This is not film trick.

Maknun said...

I think both sides have very valid points. If child marriage is practised the way Islam stipulates, then we'll all see that it's not a bad thing afterall. First is, for a girl-child who cannot decide independently, her father should give her out in marriage in her own very best interest, not for any financial gain or whatever. Her best interest includes, access to good health, education, her basic needs etc. Please note that Islamically, a man MUST NOT have sex with a girl who is not medically fit to have sex and who consequentially is not fit to bear children. It's a shame the Northerners have abused this privilege granted by Islam. Islam allows child marriage to protect the child and NOT to abuse her. The government should enact laws to protect the girl child whether married or unmarried. If the government sets the age of sex to 18, and also enforce and ensure that all girls be it married or unmarried are made to go to school by their husbands and fathers, then the issue of girl child marriage would have been solved. Most see it from the sexual and education perspective, so the government should come out and BAN underage sex but not underage marriage. Islam enjoins that men should be merciful to their wives. If these are done, a man who wants to hide under religion to sexually abuse a girl would be put under check. Note that in Islam, the bride owns the dowry and NOT the father, so one is not even allowed to sell his daughter.

Omg ur funny, @ u don't lyk stella tho

Prof of a Nigerian University and a Senator for a state in Nigeria; shows people dont get those positions by merit in Nigeria.. See the way they spoke with no sense, missing the point all the point..

Did anyone listen to the Lawyer from Havard…

Stella you spoke well.. and you represented women well who ever thinks different and she is that she is this, my question is are u without sin???

God please help Nigeria and the children turned wife by force, hope u find happiness in your children when they grown up.

At the age of 9, 10 or 14 tel me how you will say no to your parents when they ask you to do something you know nothing about.

Attention seeking bitch!you already got the worlds attention by snatching and marrying another wonans husband so pls take several seats back pulizz *bbm talk to d hand smiley *u

linda i think Ishq should be arrested i think he is boko haram lool but the mans mouth ehen lol

I watched and I must say Stella is a champion, a true amazon. Women have a warrior in her, a true voice for all things women. She utterly floored him and the other Ishaq dude. Congrats to her.

I hate u yerima bastard.linda if u like dnt pose my comment I know yerima is ur uncle

The major point in this argument is the right of a child to education. Based on the obvious, no child can have a smooth or successful education if she is subjected to child bearing. The expected conclusion is; every child should be allowed to complete primary, secondary education and "may or may not go further for tertiary education" based on her choice (not her parents' choice).

There are several ways to look at this issue.
the camp of Stella is not objective in my opinion, and these are my reasons for stating that they are not objective.

1. why exactly are people against child marriage?
is it that the girl is too young or because of the so called VVF or because she cant take decisions herself? if that girl that was married out to the old man isn't complaining please everyone else should go to bed.
Everyone is saying that girls or even boys at that age (13) should be in school!!! if you must not force a child into marriage, why must you force him/her to go to school all for the sake that you feel school is good. that an adult thinks school is good doesnt make it right for the child.

Did C.Ronaldo or Messi go to school? if they were forced to go to school, think of what that would mean to the world.

is Stella the one to tell the girls family what is good for them? hell no!!!

Senator yerima and dat Prof ishaq are two stupid and disgusting animalistic Paedophiles... They'll rot in hell soon!!!

@Bobo_Edo

Love stella's point... others were just blabbing. Its high time to address the constitution of Nigeria before isalmic law becomes the constitution

I get d comparison d senator was trying to make with d U.S nd european countries, dey shld v let him speak, did any1 else notice how dey attacked him @ dat point when he mentioned d big players on d world scene a debate comprising only africans or ppl of african decent. If d swiss made condoms for 14year olds and Ameriacan mothers take their 14year old daughters to OBGYNs for birthcontrols nd all y is marrying a 14 yearold(makiNg an honest woman as dey call it) cos for even international depbate y didn't any1 make a huge debate abt those 1ns. Am a woman am christian am against the Child bride act but jst think abt it who r the real monsters here.

What is the choilds opinion on that so called marriage? This is not a religion thing, is the right of the girls we re talking about here.

gloria said...

Am not sure dis yerima of a man is normal.

WOW!!!! WOW!!! WOW!!! That's the difference between a havard trained professor and and a lasuite. The professor from LASU...smh. As for Yerima.... Please stop dragging the islamic religion in the mud naw, haba!!! As long as we keep electing the likes of yerima, we will always get this kind of leadership (garbage in, garbage out). Kudos to Stella and the Havard guy. God bless you and your household.

STELLA DID A GREAT JOB! WISH THEY WER GIVN MORE TIME..STUPID UNEDUCATED FOOLS! YERIMA AND WHOEVR DAT FEMI PROFESSOR MAN IS! LORD HAVE MERCY..THIS IS ALL SO PAINFUL TO WATCH! WER R D ODA NOLLYWOOD "STARS" THAT WONT GO FIGHT FOR NIGERIA, BT ARE BUSY MAKN NOISE WEN DEY HAVNT DONE ANYTHING? WER ARE THEY?! ABEG STELLA CARRY GO! WE ALL SUPPORT YOU!

Didn't u watch d interview?didn't u jst hear from an islamic scholar the truth of the whole matter and islamic point of view,people like u re jst ignorant fools dat still say shit even afta u can see the truth,I pity naija cos of youths like u

Thank you,u jst stated all d fact and God bless aminu gamawa for pointing out the facts,now u knw dis isn't bout islam,its bout yerima and his own ignorance

Didn't u watch d interview?didn't u jst hear from an islamic scholar the truth of the whole matter and islamic point of view,people like u re jst ignorant fools dat still say shit even afta u can see the truth,I pity naija cos of youths like u

@anon 5:51 don't u proof read?...pls,ℓ̊τ̅ gives people headache †Φ read comments like yours...btw,this child marriage thing Ȋ̝̊̅§ nt only a national but international thing.....

Well said! You are logical. I like your deductive reasoning.

I would like to know whether our Constitution supports what Senator yerima did? I would also like to know whether the girl Yerima married has completed her secondary education? Peter

Ode. Off point tinz

U a®ε̲̣̣̣̥ jst A̶̲̥̅̊ big fooooool!goat like u!animal!imbecile!

DAWGIEPIMP said...

stupid man comparing America and Europe to Nigeria....he should come to america now and sleep with a 15yr old girl now..

I think the answer is glaring to all of us. If your religion does not stipulate a particular age for marriage just like christianity and islam do not, then it makes sense to act in the best interest of humanity. What will it cost a 53 year old man with 4 wives to wait four more years for a 12 year old that he claims he loves to attain maturity before marrying her? maturity in this case talks about reducing the likelihood of having pregnancy and birth complications, not the presence of nipples or breast tissue as the case may be. By the way I have seen a 6 year old with breasts (precocious puberty). Please, lets leave religion aside and talk about the impact of early marriage.

@ 9.17 why bring in any other country to the matter? Do we have same government? Granted he mentioned them, pls how is CONSENSUAL sex by 14 year olds(teenagers) related to marrying 9-12 year old (kids) to their fathers/grand fathers mate? He was straying from d issue, hence he was cut off #JayBeyBlu

Solo said...

Anon@859. Why do you think children are not allowed to run for example senate office. Why can't a 13 year old apply for a mortgage , or even a bank account. The reason is ovibious isn't it. At the age of 13 I wanted to marry Michael Jackson, ask me the same question now at 18. Maturity should include mental development , physical development is no indicator of maturity. Now think are these men not taking advantage of children that don't even know their own minds. Yep the legal age for sex in some countries are 13. These countries also advocate safe sex. And sexual relations between a 13, 14 year old with a 56 year old man is statutory rape. It is sex with a minor. I feel sorry for any mind that can see reason with why an old man will actively seek out a child to have sex with. The name for such a man is Pedophile. Lets call a spade a spade. Yerima was attracted to the 14 year old because she was a child. Period.

Pls help me like this page http://MegaStoon.Com/?share=27802

Princee Dee said...

Stella n Aminu spoke well.Thanks to u guys for letting the world know how Nigerians feel about this issue.
As for Yerima n Prof.Ishaq....its shameful u guys are hiding under religion to fulfil ur erotic desires with little girls...its so unfair.

*headache*
This is coming from the former governor of Zamfara and a current senator? How do you expect Zamfara to progress when you have lunatics like this in power? So sad!

N7 said...

Linda this is one of ur besssssst Post! I like it! Senator doesn't ve a point! The Isaq guy to think he is a lecturer in LASU...smhs! Both of dem re an ASS wit no brain! God bless d oda Doctor....He n Stella rocked d debate with good points....The rest of d debaters shud go sit dem ass in HELL! To those pretty presenters...Love u loads!

Yerima is a greedy fool, and i wish i could see him in person, I have a lot to tell his disgusting ass.

N7 said...

This goes to say dat Yerima is so useless in the house,,,,,cos if he is useful, he ll not be having thought of marrying lil girls.... Oga ode ther re more serious things to tackle in Zamfara n not U mr Ode oshi to be thinking abt hw to marry a 13yr old.

He /she sed if... una no understand english... if it supports child marriage! nd since d book doesnt support it... so its not a book from d pit of hell... u dont need to insult... dats y Nigeria is like dis... simple english...

N7 said...

Did i hear Yerima say d lil girl gave birth at d age of 15....Guy u wicked o. U mean U forced u BIG DICK into dat lil girl's VIRGINA?
#dON'T WANNA IMAGINE HOW SHE WILL BE CRYING SEF COS I BET D GIRL WASN'T SMILING THAT FATEFUL NIGHT....#RAT of a senetor.

That prof ishaq is dumb. What a shame! Imagine the kind of professors nigeria institutions produce.

He said "if". Why are you guys mad at him...

Patalex said...

Supported

N7 said...

U dat tried mentioning Omotala's marriage on a case like this.....quote me "U RE A RAT".
Animal!

jewel said...

@anon 5:50pm...u shuld hide ur self in shame for sayin dat...wat satisfaction wuld u get frm forcefully insertin ur dick in2 a teenage girl while she is cryin and beggin?...u rily shuld hide ur head in shame.

That bein said...fact is most often than not these lil girls are given out in marriage becus their parents r desperately in need of financial assistance which these men offer and more. #no one will ever give out an underage girl in marriage with his senses intact and facin no peculiar situation#

N7 said...

Some people here na goat embellished with idiotic crown....what's ur point with Stella n her personal issue wit her fighting an issue like this?......See if u don't ve anything to say go jump inside 3rd mainland water.

Selfish old men will of course use the garbs of religion to satisfy their evil desires.

Constitutional Clause or not, The fact remains that child marriage is a violation of a child's right:
Right to personal liberty and education
Right to discrimination on the grounds of sex
Right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion, and fairhearing

Visit leyejisola.blogspot.com
A Rights, Health and Beauty blog

The guy who said this'Didn't know you People just like creating issues where known seem to exists. Yerima is a Muslim and he said he's following d doctrine of his Religion, Practise d doctrine of ur own religion and let him practice his. If I want to Marry a girl of 15 or 16 years of age and her Parents decline, I didn't think I have any right to forcefully marry her. so what are we saying?" is A DUMB FUCK U ARE FINISHED OSHI!!!....PEOPLE LIKE YOU SHOUKD NOT B ANONYMOUS AND THE GIRL? SHE HAS NO SAY? DUMB FUCK MA U DIE IN YOUR SLEEP

Paedophiles hiding under the guise of religion,as for the ignorant fool from LASU you make me ashamed to be a Yoruba person! How can you justify this barbaric act? SMh God have mercy on the Nigerian girl child,amen.
This debate is too upsetting,how are we to protect our children in this lawless land? The likes of Yerima & Akintola hate educated women like Stella because they have the knowledge to question them on issues they would normally hide under Islam,etc

I think it is a shame that someone like that Akintola is a lecturer. He is a religious bigot and I don't think he is fit to be impacting knowledge to young minds. I fear for the message he preaches

I like what Anon 9:17 said its sth we shld think abt.

I weep for this comment you just made. So so sad.

@anon5-51,who on earth asked for your ignorant opinion? you sound perverted from your write up! stupid ignoramus. what concerns omotola here? she married at 18 and had finished second sch so she was matured enough to have a say. and stella's personal life is of no consequence here. if yerima had kept his pedophile activities private and not want to legalise it,it would have been a different ball game. but how dare he rub his perversion in our faces?! if you have nothing meaningful to say dont comment! stupid fool! give out your daughters at 6yrs,ewu hausa,n nama!

Dumb professor

Femi Oke is holding on to a preconclussive one side view of the debate.Hence it makes the debate illogical and unfare to Sen. Yerima side of the story. I wish Nigerians could have understood Sen.Yerima's side of the story and beliefs,then Nigeria could have evolve a good governance capability that would have unite the nation. But Nigeria been whom we are, we always like to stay on the views of the western world countries.Which is bad.

U ar a fool. Comedy skit wgen serious issues are being discussed? U need help

It is equally important.

Do u think if that 14yr old child had a choice she would marry Yerima? If she was meant to speak her mind and the truth do u think she will say she happy with the dirty old fool? She never had a choice as far as am concerned.In all this is sad n extremely crazy.

Nike said...

Well said . There are stages in development. Neonatal,infant, toddler stage, young child, teenager, adult. These labels are put there for a reason. It tells us of the mental maturity of the person. Dirty devil will look at a the breast coming out in a small child, will hungrily go and find out if she has seen her period and then go out to take advantage of the family and child. How selfish, evil,vile and wicked. There are so many mentally and physically matured women in Nigeria. This idiot has the appetite of a peodophile. Imagin him talking about his right to fuck small children. It felt like a joke! But the horrific truth is that it is for real. May the God these girls serve save them from this dark faith,.

H S C said...

If I was ever unfortunate enough to meet the prof, I would ask him if he thinks the typical hausa northern Muslim considers him a fellow one. He should go to Zamfara state and live a fruitful Islamic life, the come back and argue the same dumb argument that I just saw.

He should also bury his head in shame that he could not manage an intellectual discussion where he was supposed to be the intellectually superior of the lot.

Yerima couldn't even answer his questions intelligently - its such a shame.

Inspite of his unacceptable stance on child-marriage, Senator Yerima is a matured, cool, calm and collected man. He handled the conversation well. Not-with-standing, child marriage is criminal...

idunno how the senator and a professor can talk with so much stupidity. i get the professors point on muslim girls being oppressed cause they wear their ijabs or whatever its called. besides that all he said was rubbish. im not sirprised by yerima doe. his stupidity is very obvious. i like the way stella spoke doe i feel if she talked with less passion she would have brought more valid points out. i love the lawyers point of vie. im offended that no one asked how this law would protect the poor. after all the law is suppose to be a the will of the ruling class that protects the poor. and yerima is suppose to be a law maker. anyways lets see how things go. may God help us. to all those supporting it. i feel its your ignorance thats making u support it. cause there is no way u have the same level of maturity and the same perspective on things u had when u were between 13 - 16 and when u were between 17 and above. the mind grows people grow intellectually and mature. a girl should be able to reach mental maturity before going into marriage. child marriage is arranged marriage without the childs consent cause there is no way u can make a valid decision at a tender age. that is why children are not allowed to vote or drive or become senators and all of that

im sorry but the person who says if it is done right and that the fatehr gives the girl out to someone in her own best interest. what if what he feels is her best interest isnt her own best interest. what if she decides to marry him becasue she wants to please her family and all of that. or because she doesnt know him well enough and she thinks hes a good man. do u realise how easy it is to deceive a 14 year old. i mean at 14 i thought i was in love with a boy who now i look at as a fool. if my parents had married me off to him then wouldnt i be so unhappy now. as since i have grow intellectually i have come to realise that he is irresponisible amongst many other things . no child should be married off at any age before 18. as your mind isnt formed yet.child marriage allows for the man to always think for the woman. and that is gender inequality

pls can the senator tell us how many of his daughters he married out @ 13 or 14? why are these child brides always married to old men? I am sure it would not really be such an issue if they were married to their peers but the mere fact that they are married to such old men casts doubt on the intention of the whole arrangement.

Una dey open una dirty mouth dey say, child not bride, wat about rapist dat spoil children an live anyhow on d streets with d trauma 4 d rest of their lives, yerima got married to d girl dats his biz not urs, d girl dey enjoy for him house now,yl una dey shout, yl children re been raped every day on the street nobody is talkin, n she sabi open mouth dey say nonsense. Wey get plenty matter for hand jor.

Stella

TRUTH BE TOLD, THE PROBLEM OF THE WORLD AND NIGERIA TODAY IS RELIGION BUT NIGERIAS CASE IS WORSE BECAUSE OF CRUDE , GULLIBLE AND HYPOCRITICAL MIND SET...NIGERIA CAN NOT COPY THE 'WEST' IN LEGALIZING GAY MARRIAGE BUT THEY ARE WILLING TO COPY THE 'WEST' AT PEGGING MARRIAGE AGE AT 13YEARS...WE ALWAYS FAIL TO SEE FUNDAMENTAL POINTS IN ARGUMENTS, I DONT BLAME YERIMA BECAUSE IN HIS SHOES I WILL DO AND SAY THE SAME THING...WE NEED TO WAKE UP IN THIS COUNTRY!!!

Very disappointing display by all the parties talking over each other, we still have a lot to learn in Nigeria about decorum and respect for individual. the speakers just kept on repeating the same points over and over again, at the end of the day nothing was resolved and nothing was gained by this debate. to me it was no different from www.nscdc dassall. That being said, the issue here is the child. No one made mention of verifiable statistics on the incidence of VVF among child mothers. No one made mention of how many reported cases exist in Nigeria, this should have been the basis of discussion so that more people are enlightened. It can go either way, the reported cases of VVF may be significant enough or otherwise to allow for an informed decision by the government on the issue. Personally, i think it is a health care problem. In as much as i do not support child marriage in any form whatsoever, i strongly believe that adequate health facilities can eliminate VVF. the reported cases are usually in rural areas, if a 13 year old child in labour is taken to the hospital, the doctors can determine if her cervix is not properly developed and opt for a c-section. i actually think its a shame that vvf still exists in this country.

on a global level, and yes, it should be discussed globally because a child is a child, the cause against child slavery is global and not just restricted to nigeria, for pete's sake, america airs a show called teen pregnancy, my teen is pregnant and so am i, pls tell me what propagates child labour more than that? the mormon community supports child marriage and even incest where fathers can sleep with thier own children, how come none of them has been arrested or why isnt the government kicking against it? why is the spotlight on nigeria now and senator yerima in particular. men sleep with toddlers everyday so who should be held accountable here. again, i do not support child marriage but i would rather a man takes the girl under his care, provides for her, gives her adequate medical care, than a man raping the young girl when her parents are not home and leaving her to her fate. i would rather the government provides adequate medical aid to all citizens, rural and urban alike so children who are unfortunate to find themselves in this situation do not have to suffer irreversible consequences. if yerima impreganates a 13 yr old girl and it turns out she has vvf, he has married her so he is stuck with her and will be the one to suffer in the end.

most importantly, i would rather the male gender in totality gets the screws right in their head to see children as they are, and not sex objects. i still cannot comprehend how a grown man will see a little girl, no breast no yansh and be turned on. it is not just yerima, it happens everyday right under our noses. mothers worry everyday that either driver or houseboy is molesting thier daughter, what really is the attraction to these children? i leave the MEN to answer this question.

That ishaq na tirogo master, he wan go beg money for yerima hand na why he dey side all this mumu mumu thing . God punish dem

Everybody has their own opinion.Stella's said nigeria is nt an islamic state,accepted.bt she forgot dat d same constitution said dere is freedom of religion.And every religion has deir own constitution ,dere for everyone is free to practice wat is within de religionnd i blive d gurl yerima married is neither a christain nor traditionalist,she is amuslim so is yerims.if rill stella wnts to protect d ryt of children dere re oda ways ofprotectin it eg,tellin d govment to eradicate povertycuz it also leads to so many ida evil lyk rapin gurls dat hawck about which cld lead to unwntd pregnancy nd also d vvf she tlkd about or even damage of d womb thru abortion.My pount is dat wether married or skullin sex still takes placeso so marraige is nt sex nd sex is nt marraige.frm d above dat i hv written any sensible person will knw dat early marraige is nt bad dependin on d people involved in it.nd to tink of it y d egyptains no complain se we cme carry dere child voilet am.c se stella no even de defend nigerian sef na egyptain pikin she de defend wen dem no even complain.APROKO!!!!!

Foolish you, are u married @all? Do u have a clue of how to stay in marriage? And if ur marriage isn't working out will u die in it? Or u'll get a life smwhere else. And silly U who told you omotola got married at 14? She was 18 and didn't give birth immediately, I pray u have stella's kinda life then u will know what it takes to be her *gbam* Amen

@ 9:17 the swiss n americans hv diff governance compared to 9ja, so if deir citizens feel ok wit d idea, we here in 9ja don't wnt to marry our babies to old men...by d way d 14yr old in dis foreign countries mostly hv sex wit deir mates n nt olda men xcpt dos dt wey raped, trust me u hv no idea of wt it means to be molestated by a man old enuf to be ur fada.... We say NO to childbride#

wow a PROF can't tell me meaning of VVF.SHAME to Lagos State University,and HE SHULD B SACKED.

i am a christain,but i seriously think we should let the muslims do whatever they wanna do with their children,as long as they(the muslims)don't come for the hands of christain girls(children)at that age,then i think we should let them be because no matter ow much people try t change this,its still gonna happen.

Nana said...

Anon@ 11:22 I would rather we don't tackle evil with a greater evil. Children will experiment, at a stage in their life they will become sexually curious and sometimes will act on this. What the Common sense Nations do is realise this scientific fact. They then try and minimise the damage sexual curiously brings . For example condom use, oral contraception. Yes some teenagers will get pregnant, there is a network of support available for them. Now in Nigeria we frown at the biological callings of sexual curiosity. Instead of guiding these children, people are suggesting that old peodophiles take advantage of this and legally have sex with children, reasoning been it is in the best interest of the child . It is atrocious to even suggest this, barbaric. I would rather a child experiments, learns lessons, moves on with life, than punish the child and force into a marriage with a randy old peadophile. That is taking that child's rights away. It's a disgusting logic. It seems to me that people are trying to justify peodopilia. It's a crying SHAME. Consensual sex between minors in developed countries is not illegal, the logic been, no one is influencing the other. However sex between a minor and an adult is seen as statutory Rape. In England at present some prominent men are been investigated for historical claims of child abuse with minors. These men had sex with girls of 15, 14,13 as young as 9.
I thank God that majority of Nigerians see reason and don't justify the cause of peodophiles. I pray for the day when these crimes against children in Nigeria will be punishable under a recognised Act.

Does it mean that in islam,man has no other way to help a woman become somthing in life aside sleeping with her? Check d life of muhammad n aisha,but is rather unfortunate that the senetor is talking of protecting the child by this early marriage.must of islam women in nigeria are one bazaura to the other,when they get into early marriage it will lwter ends with divorce 3.

U're a big FOOL.....Ewu like you.

That is what these demons are saying. The only way to help girls is to marry them off to highest bidder. Tufiakwa . Seems like a curse to be born female in some families in Nigeria today.

OneHawtNaijaChick said...

Thoroughly disappointed with the professor's utterances, he couldn't even define VVF!!! As for the Senator (am not surprised). The lawyer and Stella were the only ones with clear cut logical points. Stella is passionate...on fire!!!

yerima and the so called LASU prof are really nuts...

Twingle Tangle said...

Go Yerima go Yerima Go Yerima. Let all those who think the Western way of life and interpretation of things is the only one that exist pack up and go and live with them. And as I learn from this interview they may just find out that girl marriage is also possible in some western countries too.

Anony 10:25pm...u re even a bigger fool u jst saw d truth nd refused to accept it ....Kudos to anony 2:09 u make sense no b small oooo

Hate trolls said...

Who are these peodophiles on this blog. Who told you about western laws. Fucking idiots. That is how you even take the holy book and look to exploit it to your Evil nature. If yerima was a westerner he would be charged for statutory rape. Age of consent or sex is different from statutory rape. Sex between two consenting minors is not a crime. In the sense that non has a direct influence , be it financial,mental over the other. They are seen as equal. However sex between a minor( child) and an adult is illegal. The reason for this is obvious. You have got to be a fucktards not to get it or a peodophile. So twinkle tangle, what exactly are you. With a name like that you sound like one of those peodophiles stalking children on the Internet. One of these days you will touch the wrong child and that day your demons will desert you.

Nike said...

Gbam!. Preach @ hate trolls.

So the child is old enough to fuck , so how come she is not old enough to have a bank account, drive a car or even decide who to vote for. Animals see the barbaric logic of a few idiots. Fuckable but not sensible. Bastards that see a girl child as a piece of ass to scratch their dicks. You all make me sick. I don't care if it is religious or not . It's a crime. I don't want to breathe the same air as peodophiles, I don't want them in government. They are not normal. They should be dealt with as criminals. They should not have equal rights with normal people. I spit on them and say no to child fuckery. I hope your genitals drop off.

A wicked religion dat subjects womanhood to a mere baby machine, not worth anything else. Anyway by the time they have fuck all their female children and make females extinct they will start to fuck their assess . That's the since of evolution. The weakest link which in this case is their females will one day become extinct .

Chinasa said...

So the only way to save the little children is to marry them off to old papa. It would be a good idea if you peodophiles up in here start thinking with your minds instead of your penis. Now here's a suggestion, how about if we are all so concerned about the plight of these bchildren, how about adopting them and sending them to school. At the same time be a role model and advise them against the dangers of premarital sex. And because you are such a religious scholar , you happily let her marry who she ants at the end of her education and bless the couple with a tidy sum of money . The only reason this is not an option is that the only reason an old papa will mount a child is because he is a peodophile. He has no interest in her future at all. So please please stop deceiving yourself with this nonsense of saving the children by making them honest women. We are all not idiots in Nigeria. We know what yerima and his followers are about

Spade na spade no be big spoon. This yerima can not give a genuine reason for sexing a child. He blames it on religion. No sensible man will look at a child and decide to marry her. My own father, will never imagin such an Aluu. I have no respect for this anuofia. The fact that he is in government is a shame to my country Nigeria..

See the sick people ruling Nigeria. How can this country move forward. A senator that fucks children and a so called university professor who can't define vvf. Sick man!

Take that girl out of that situation she is in. Give her education free, get her a job. Infact make her economically independent after all that ask her if she is happy with her marriage to yerima. Right now she is in spiritual, economic, emotional, mental bondage. She stays with him to survive that's all. It is a shame.

Knight Ola-lanky said...

Ah pls ooooo,islam never legalise child marriage ooo bt what islam specifically hints on is that therez no particular age for marriage in as much as we have different genetic composture so 14 might might posses the qualities of 21.

Lemme ask you this,how old was virgin mary when he gave birth to jesus christ.....ehennnnnn you see

So marriage in islam is based on sound health and mental state of individual in correspondence with the subject decisions nd knowledge of the parents!!! Dnt blame my religion Oº°˚˚°º! Seek its intent knowledge first

Please can we not remove these idiots from Nigeria. They are genetically flawed. Backward in thinking and essentially retarded. They are just drawing the nation back. Imagin what foreigners will think of our country now, in addition to corruption , a nation of legalised peodopilia. There is no reasoning with a genetically flawed people. People that welcome darkness and backwardness. I am not a tribalist, but I draw the line on issues of child sexpliotation.

Solo said...

Me thinks your Islam has thrown some of you into a state of confusion and not by intent. Just a few minority of you who cannot use your common sense to understand a basic principal in life, that has not been specified in your religion based on the fact that human beings are not inherently evil. And there in lies a mistake because some human beings are evil and would actively seek out loop holes in the law or religious text to satisfy there evil nature. Now here are some basic facts. A child is a child. Age is not just a number . It signifies mental, development. It is not okay for an adult to equate themselves with a child and have sex with them. I have never seen a dog trying to have sex with a puppy. You don't need any text in the world to differentiate right from wrong. It is a basic requirement of a good person.

msa said...

I don't know when a Muslims will b free to practice what their religion permit them in this country, when the issue of interest free banking came up it was blindly condemned even though Allah prohibits interest on loan for us we are not permitted to refuse it.
Now a Muslim family engaged themselves in marital affairs it is rebuked again, the worst part of it is that it is a harlort who do not appreciate or respect the marriage institution that she said she lost her husband in a mysterious and suspicious manner and break loose jumping from one man to the other, that is leading the campaign. Every body should realized that while they are trying to propagate fornication which both bible and Quran frowns at they are directly discouraging marriage which humanity rely upon for continuity. Please leave Muslims alone stop these intimidation.

Chinas said...

Hummmm. Fornication versus peadophilia. Living in sin chance of repentance and forgiveness or living hell on earth till the intervention of death. I know which one i will choose.

Knight Ola-lanky said...

Am priviledge to say that i grew up with my xtains grandparents nd i attented a xtain school as well but imma born muslim so you shouldn't expect me to talk bad of xtains,yo knw nothing bawt islam but yo choose to conclude ignorantly and irrelevantly.

i think its time the FG impose islamic teaching in our schools so as every citizen will have a summary knowledge cuz i see that idiot fellow up there has neva been or can neva learn frm his so called scripture(bible).
i repeat,,,islam does not specify the actual age of marriage be it 30,40,20 or whatever but bestows the choices onn the bride if been approached.

Knight Ola-lanky said...

The foreigners yo talkin off legalise abortin for 14 year olds,if your bible teaches you to abstain frm furnication and abortion tell me what's the way out???olodo..dondee for life

Some idiots here normally associates nigeria with the outside world bt when it comes to achievement they get lost...leave ma religion for me and face yours abi wetin we dey do affect you.

See talk"what wud d outside world think of us"when they can't help theirself.smh

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 206   Newer› Newest»