FG approves 5-year jail term and N200, 000 fine for exam cheats | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 September 2013

FG approves 5-year jail term and N200, 000 fine for exam cheats

The minister of Education, Prof Ruqayyat Rufai, announced yesterday that students caught from now on cheating during exams will face a five year jail term or N200,000 fine or both.

This decision was reached during the Federal Executive Council weekly meeting that held in Abuja yesterday. The new law states in part...
“(Any candidate caught cheating) shall not take or be allowed to take or continue the examination; in addition, he shall be prohibited from taking any examination held or conducted by or on behalf of the Council for a period of two years immediately following upon such contraventions. If a candidate aforesaid has already taken any papers at the examination, his result therefrom shall be cancelled. In addition, the candidate may be prosecuted and if found guilty, shall be liable on conviction to a fine of N200, 000 or imprisonment for a term of five years or to both such fine and imprisonment.”
The Education Minister said the Ministry of Justice has been directed to take further necessary action on the subject. Students una dey hear? No more exam cheating...read your books!

135 comments:

Someone_special said...

What is the jail term for public fund embezzlement?

Honest Nigeria said...

What of public officials that rig (cheat) to win elections?

Several times, election results have been overturned because of rigging, as far as I know, no one has gone to jail for rigging.

Na the one wey poor pple dey do be offense. THUNDER FIRE ALL THEIR BEHINDS!!

PS: I'm not encouraging cheatin.. Just don't get caught.

and what will a minister get for stealing from the govt purse?

linda abeg help me tell them say dem do well o. but now ask dem what is the prison term for every million naira dem minister dem de steal o..

and what will a minister get for stealing from the govt purse?

And for the law makers and those in political positions that steal, cheat and kill, what's their sentence going to be? Gosh Nigeria

mimi said...

abeg dey shld do sometin abt asuu atrike

Hopefully all these kids will go read their books and leave social networks alone for the time being.

Hehe! Students are gonna start getting real scared from hearing this, well, if that's gonna curb exam malpractice then its welcomed, but then FG, your major headache now is to end this ASUU strike and get students back to school.

SUNAI said...

Fine its a gud tin 2 encourage dem 2 study hard, but d penalty is 2 stiff .. Some parents dt cnt even afford 2 pay #1000 tuition fee, wil b able 2 afford payin #200k ?? Its so unjust nd unright. Besides if som of dis students re just in thr adolescence, wil thy stil bag a 5year jail term.. Dis realy nids 2 b reconsidered oo.. #Personal opinion.

onynye. said...

Prof Ruqyayat rufai,so u won tell us say tru out ur days in sch u no ask question. It not cheating Prof it called team work. You can't know it all.

Are u serious jail term kwa?

Na 2dai, abeg jare

JJ said...

What type of draconian policy is this? The Minister is basically saying to students if you cheat, your life is over. Even armed robbers don't get 5 years for crimes they commit. How about the politicians stealing this country blind. I wish they could make the same laws for themselves. Nonsense.

Da 1 na 4dose of dem still writing waec... Hehe!

stupi set of people, 5 years for people cheating in exam hall while they have no jail term for the ministers and bank CEO's. may God punish them all.AMEM

Mich said...

Way to go.
This should serve as a deterrant cheating students.
Read your books,there's no medecine for knowledge.

How will that help to resolve d ongoing ASUU strike? Why won't they cheat?? When they are always on strike.

Abeg make we hear word jooh..when ppl read to pass dem no go admit them....I don write exam to start masters for Uniport and unn dem no gree admit me. Sighs and walks away.

5years for malpractice.. Zero(0) for looting. Nigeria is moving forward

Thats the way forward. I just pray it works. I dnt trust Naija with justice and implementation of matters like this.

Nigeria is truly amazing. Amazingly stupid. The punishment does not fit the crime at all, but this is the usual here.

Yes! Very good for expo ppl n long neckers!

Oby Azike said...

5 years in jail is too harsh a jail term

Ifeanyi said...

As the saying goes,The thief that is caught is the real thief,not the one that isn't caught

What about the jail term and fine for thieves who get escorted by policemen and sirene?if you know what I mean.make sure you post ma comment oooh Lindewe:)

Oh boy! This brings a whole new meaning to exams. So glad I'm done with school. Lol

Stackman said...

If I hear ...make dem go rest Jare ...shey dem no cheat during dem time?

Their own good... They shouldn't concentrate on more important issues in the society, like ASUU, Boko Haram, and those of them doing the 'real' cheating and looting of Govt. Funds. Awon oniranu somebody. "Even in china,students still cheat"- Ezekiel Zeevin (2013).

Truthurts said...

All u Libers fond of dubbing from brighter grammer and dictionaries be warned. Prince Charming take note.

Like anyone carries expo to the exam hall these days.
go and sort the exam board instead.

How many people can pass Jamb by heart?(First to comment;Nnamdi)

Hetty said...

first to comment yeey!!! Na wah oo, this na serious issh.. students abeg no cheat again...http://bit.ly/15Dmc2i

God wil punish FG,they wil just sit down and discuss Unnecessary tinz.

THIS NIGERIA GOV IS FUNNY 5YEARS JAIL TERMS FOR EXAMS CHEATA WHAT ABOUT THE CORRUPT POLITICIANS WHO CHEAT WITH THE PUBLIC FUNDS. WE NEED REVOLUTION IN THAT COUNTRY

Like anyone carries expo to the exam hall these days.
go and sort the exam board instead.

Is this the solution to gud edeucation? What about lecturers that does not;( come to class till one week to the exams and lecturers that collects money, sex and gossips to pass students?

Rubbish

mk a alot of sense..hope it will b applicable 2 both d rich n d poor who comit such offence

Nigerian youths don suffer Oo.. We
are the most neglected(ASUU
strike), most abused. Election riggers, corrupt Gov't
officials nko? 21yrs in jail bah? Nonsense!! They don't always pass the right laws.

Is this the solution to gud edeucation? What about lecturers that does not;( come to class till one week to the exams and lecturers that collects money, sex and gossips to pass students?

Pls tell them, no shortcut to life oh!

That's good encouraging. Students can do better than cheating

Annie said...

Crazy people, if they are referring to SSCE, Waec candidates, hope they know they are referring to people below 18yrs old, rubbish government, there are lots of issues in Nigeria for them to face and not go looking for ways of distracting the masses.

I pray dis stop sha.btw ooo dis cheatg don start frm d top since pple!!!

kusby said...

That's good and encouraging. They can do better than cheating

Good! Its time we start cleaning up the mess Nigeria has become and restore its lost glory. Students should study hard and pass their exams!

The next law to be passed should also promote the death penalty for corrupt citizens. Even if it means wiping most of us out, it is better. Something simply has to give in our country.

famonzo said...

As much As I dislike exam malpractices, dis decision is so barbaric. Have the FEC not heard of "root cause analysis"? Why can't they address the cause before suggesting 5yrs imprisonment for minors. They had better build more prisons to accomodate such student and get ready to face their full wrath when. they become hardened criminal in Nigeria prison. Why r they not thinking of rehabilitating d student?
how many years have been given to d corrupt officials who ought to be imprisoned?

Its not a small son tin! But truly shaaa students are so lazyyyyyyy to read these days.

Is that d problem in nigeria now?what about Politicians caught stealing

Minster of education is very stupid.... Wht rubbish is that! With all d crimes been committed by our leaders and nothing is being done to them? I mean is this a joke. Nigeirans re being cheated everyday by our leaders including the foreign minister.. Gosh when re we going to get it!! Bunch of idiots!

Odiegwu!! Ndi ara dey no go go use there time sanitise 9ja

Rubbish!!stupid FG...aint dey d ones dat made d country d way it is..who persecutes dem 4 d theft in d economy?? Stupid people dat hve rendered nigerian citizens poor...dis is were dey won cme pt der whole energy 4, mke dem no go fnd solution 2 der poverty striken country...idiotsss!!

Anyway it will encourage student to face their studies,and also build good reputation for Nigeria education system but my question is this linda .person wey steal govt money hw many yrs jail be that?linco says

Twokin nonsense....nt possible!

totopinto said...

That's good I will jus pay 200k and bring textbook to d exam hall simple

What about election riggers?is it not exam malpractice too?so this is what we pay politicians for?

ᶥᵗˢ didi said...

Instead of them to settle the ASUU strike ish they are talking trash.This government wants to jail children for 5yrs for cheating in their exams. What correctional facilities are we talking about? Meanwhile looters roam freely in Nigeria.children don't go to jail, they are sent to correctional facilities,but the idiots making laws here don't really know the difference, do they?

What's she doing about the strike? She should gerrout joor! Is it students that are on strike that will write exams?

Please ask the minister if she has never cheated knowingly or unknowingly?

Oluwadamilola said...

WTF!!! Are these people mad or they are trying to be mad? For cheating? They should call off the strike, they are there talkin about cheating, is it not when they write exam they get to cheat now..

dis our govt only God will judge u pple, is da student at home dat will cheat or what? heartless pple.

Lolz serious wahala dey o

What if after Prof Ruqayyat Rufai left the office and we discovered she misappropriated (stole) some funds.

What shall be your penalty and the measure?

Yet leaders keep looting....nigeria is doomed #thatisall

Na dis one dey c talk,instead make dem do somethin about asuu strike..yeye pple

Idiotic pple. Arrant nonsense

Then politicians should be killed for stealing public funds...jobless lawmakers...

Hmmm,wetin we nor go see or hear for dis country???

I don't have a problem with the new law,but I must say that's a severe punishment for what should be treated as minor offence,atleast when compare to governmental corruption and embezzlement.if one should be sent to jail for 5yrs for examination malpractice,it then stands to reason,that looters of the public treasury should be hanged or sent to prison for life

Don't break the rule and if you do, don't get caught!
I can't wait to hear the jail term for embezzlement of public funds.

thank God am thru wid school!!

Mrs E said...

Would have applauded them if similair jail term or even less was approved iro those politicians that rigged elections. A cheat is a cheat

Ds pple mst b out of dier minds...I personally dnt encourage cheatn durin xams bt wassup wit d jail term et all..instead of dem to implement policies dt ll guard against money laundering nd all..dey r busy dstrbn d lyfs of ds children...pots callin kettle black...mschew..

ok thats harsh

bliss gurl said...

Lol! Dis woman is sick upstairs,u bera talk wif ASUU 2 call off dis God4saken strike b4 Amadioha strike u

Nonsense! Settle important issue lyk ds strike leave us alone *nt encouraging malpractice o*bt let our govt luk into mre demanding issues.dos of dem stealing huge amt of moni hav nt yet bin sentenced o

The problem with Nigeria is that we don't know our problems. What a penalty for exam malpractice....hiss. When our so called politicians and governors squander a huge sum of amount, do they ever go to jail? These silly people that make this law are the law breakers themselves. STUPID LAW!

Good law. But what will happen to Ministers and senators stealing Nigeria money? One sided law I think. Meanwhile those making the law stole the mandate and got there to steal our nations wealth. GOD WILL JUDGE YOU ALL. Ole n p'ole l'ole... (thieves calling others thief)

Kay said...

What have you done to boost the learning abilities of the students?

Barely a month ago, a teacher in edo state that has about 20-years working experience could not read her own affidavit...What have you done to employ quality teachers since then????

Y is it dat 7-pupil will sit in a bench that is meant for just 4-people during classes but during exams d seat arrangement will be 2-people per seat?...Have you considered expanding classrooms and building more schools????

You people know what is right, but you will not do it....And there you are blaming the students when the schools you build gets dilapidated and will be left that way for the next government to maintenance, that is if God touches him...SHAME!!!

I am not an advocate of examination malpractice but I stand against Nigerian Govt./WAEC officials on this.......www.jointarena.com

jobless lawmakers...what about teachers that can't teach proper

Yes, I was gonna ask why the jail term 2 when
Politicians n other culprits that loot n steal from d public treasury usually go free or just get six months in jail when they're prosecuted.
Really some of Naija's laws are just laughable bcos the double standards of those that make those laws just screams on ur face

khadijah said...

what about cheats in the government how many years will they be getting? *hissing*. They should lead by example then we will follow. What is good for the goose should be good for the geese.

Best statement ever! The bastards can jail kids..but then they keep embezzling the nations funds without rumourse.

Yet, (dis)Honourable Members and other government officials steal and cheat with impunity.

Pls help me ask dem o.mbok linda
.Whats d punishment for embezzlement? Asuu dey para una dey form stupid laws. Na so dem jail una for una time abi.mtcheew. thank God i dont cheat.

What is the jail term for public fund embezzlement? What has she done in d education system? Biro armdruber like her. Jail term for wht? Wht sence did she think is in this? N our foolish FG approves cos they r birth of same fda.

Good, which one is for public fund embezzlement? Rukaya answer me.

They re idiot and fools,the 200,000 is for their kids if they cheat but the jail time is for the poor gbam

Mtcheew.Nonsekable!Those guilty of rape,murder,are grated bail wit 50k & sureties,no jail term.Even abroad,there is no jail term for exam malpractice.
In my sch Unizik,if u r caught,u'l b suspended for 2yrs after facing d panel.Is it not enof punishment?. All these iti bolibo at d top wan put person pikin 4 jail.Nonsense

IN WHAT COUNTRY DO PPL GO TO JAIL FOR CHEATING..

5 wetin, nawah o, must of all this Government officials do runz for their children.

Read Juicy Gist HERE

DADDYSWIFE said...

These fools think they can play wit us(d masses)politics!a way to cheer d teachers/lectures up n calm them on d issue of increament in their salaries,tru dis they wil make a hell of mony n will melow down wit government,must we d citizens always b d one to suffer for ur wrong doings,embezzlement,rubbish!!!!!

9ja una own don finish ooo..

Imagine dis woman, for ur mind u dey make law.... ASSU keep us 4 house, u never settle an na to decree. !!! Huuu.... So far say U do any of dis. Graph, team work, bullet, package, man pickin must survive.. If u na no do any thing to our education level. Nonsense. Una know say some guyz dey do am for income. U wan jail dem. Una betta provide job oooo.

Help me ask the bitch.

You're happy for yourself,so you no get relatives or friends that it may affect,what of your unborn children??

Dear Sunai, are you alright at all?

Mich u obviously did nt read ur book cs if u did u'd knw its medicine nt medecine.

Their pocket! My own b say I don finish skool alredy,get certificate with beta degree, sorry students dat tins changed in Ūя̲̅ tym...in my tym we got away wid it..hehehehe

omoba said...

We are talkig of strike nd de are talking of exam cheats...we're are we going 2 cheat d tin Kwan, in our house bah.....useless FG

this is what they always giv quick action 2....balderdash,animals our leaders in this country

Lol, @professor. Hardly visit dis blog but whenever I visit, I am always happy. Pls does d prof hav children? If yes were r dey schooling, niaja or jand. D kind laws dis hausa ppl bring to dis country ehh. D other said 13yr old gurl marriage is gud, dis one 5yrs jail for students, guess even nursery n primary (lwkmd) prof I went to uni port (Spe member 2006) its nt easy to cheat n pass give us reward nt jail treat. No fear oo its a treat. Nwakaibeya.

God will pusnish dis woman,stupid tadpole.Asuu has bin on strike for d past three months now notin has bin done about it,nd dis stinking brat makes a stupid law to be effected on d poor masses?how did she write her own exams nd d rest of doz bunch of fools called politicianz.like seriously wat do dis politicians call d masses?SMH,,, too too bad nd painful

pwitie B said...

Wat hapend 2 el-rufai,atiku,cecelia ibru ad d rest dat ws accused ov 1 form of embezelment or d oda ar d nt walkin freely?lyk notin eva hapend.misplaced priorities

Very funny.............realy

JAIL TERM ALSO TO BE APPROVED FOR RAPISTS.
Linda, please use this means to help solicit for help for Nigerian women and female children that are being raped everyday. The rate of occurrence of this ugly incidence is alarming and govt is keeping quiet about it. Everyday, cases of this is being reported in the newspaper. Personally, i feel so sad that we are in a country where we are so helpless. Jail term should also be approved for rapists to curb this evil menace. Even if it means contacting Hon Abike Dabiri Erewa. As a lady it grieves my heart whenever i read reports of rape. May God protect us. Amen

U took dt question ryt out of my mouth???...smh jobless FEC.

Foolish ppl,let dem nt go and resolve asuu strike.olooshi's

Prof Rufai weldone oo...we talk'n about asuu and you are here blabing. Lets see you send the kids to jail or will they rob to pay you the 200k? Arrant nonsense! Judgement day is coming 4 all of you in power.

cheatn koo, cheatn nee, mr minister, they said charity begins at home, so d FG should start with cheaters on top to lay gud example to our children n live us alone.

My dear ask me oo...c hw daft dey re...wot if d student was juvenile? As in unda d ages of 15-17yrs. Wud dey go to jail? Dese pipo re jux bloody hypocrites. Most of dem in those offices bought deir certificates. Awon ole oshi.mtchew

Stupid Government.. They only prey on the weak and sell out their fatherland..
Have you provided quality education, or basic social amenities?? Yet you want ruin young lives.. Your kids are studying abroad and you want to destroy the lives of the poor kids.. You will never know peace and your generations will suffer in pain and poverty.. BASTARDS Do you really think about the things you do at all? BASTARD sell out. When will Nigerians rise and stop all these nonsense?? Is this the solution to poor education standard??

Adaora said...

Anon 3:42:lol. But don't people make mistakes where u come from ehn?he was probably in a hurry to type,biko leave my Mich alone

Who be jail them when dey cheat n stole our money. They will all fall into their trap

Rich man wey still money we no dey c their face for crime fighter...Poor man wey still maggi dem go show him face for crime fighter....Rubbish people

Education standard in Nigeria is very poor. The government should also upgrade education to standard.

Am sorry to say my country Nigeria is just a big joke , we tend to leave out the most important things that can thrust our society to greater heights , and pass stupid laws that dont make sense , i begin to imagine if this so called people in power tend to understand the laws they are passing and see the implications of this kind of laws .if there were good schools and good learning conditions ,there would be no reason to cheat, and given a student 5 years jail term and 200,000 fine for cheating is the smartest way to solve the problem , that is to show the people in power cheated to get to where they are now .BULLSHIT

Thunder fire τ̲̅hǻτ̲̅ professor and eliminate his generation..even if his children α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ not I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ D̶̲̥̅̊ĭ§ country.he must be mad. D̶̲̥̅̊ĭ§ ɪ̣̝̇ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ same person whom 2ruout his time I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ skool sorted all his courses to graduate.becos he don grow small white beards A̶̲̥̅̊ηd. E brains d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥. Fail A̶̲̥̅♏ want d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥. Misbehave..G̶̲̥̅d̶̲̥̅ purnish all D̶̲̥̅̊ĭ§ politicians and lawmakers even jonathan himself ..idiots

Professor Rufai and the federal executive council are glaringly hopeless. Prescribing such a punishment for examination malpractice only exposes our leaders as proper barbarians!! The repercussions are simple; their children will face the blow-back of using a sledge hammer against tomorrow's leaders.

Anoda way for invigilators to make money...if som1 gets caught & can bribe dem on d spot, dey won't report

This I̶̲̥̅̊S̤̥̈̊ definately end-time sign, Ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ọ̥ I'm not surprise. G♡̷̬̩̃̊D̲̅ 4giv ♍ε̲̣̣̣̥ for my sins Ąπϑ let ♍ε̲̣̣̣̥ be raptured.

Word Abroad said...

Idiots approving idiotic rule. Let them examine themselves first and stop freaking us out

Y♡Ʊ neva settle Asuu Ω̴̩̩̩̥a to impose nonsense policy stupid

Why dont they do it for politicians

Foolish that's what she will think of and not calling off the ASUU strike who knows whether the project that gave her Professorship wasn't out of Plagiarism

Na wal o poor people just dey suffer 4 dis our monkey country o

Nawa o! it appears our lazy law makers just dish out jail terms as a short cut to addressing fundamental issues in this country...well ofcos how many of dia children will be caught , its still the poor people that will still suffer it...God bless Nigeria o!

D1 heritage said...

Misplace of priority,what happens to politicians that steals?....

Lady G said...

This is a wonderful law that will go a long way in Re-branding the country. It will teach the young ones that there are consiquences for cheating the system and hopefully it will instill reponsible behaviour in them that they will grow up with.