US Senate panel gives Obama authority to use military force against Syria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 September 2013

US Senate panel gives Obama authority to use military force against Syria

Hmmm...wahala dey for Syria o. A US Senate panel voted today to give President Barack Obama the authority to use military force against Syria in response to a deadly chemical weapons attack in Damacus on August 21 that killed over 1,400 people as they slept in their homes.

The vote in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee was the first in a series as the president's request makes its way through congressional panels before coming before the two chambers of Congress for a final vote.

The full Senate is expected to vote on the measure next week. Obama's top advisers on Wednesday took the argument for action to the Republican-controlled House of Representatives, where the support seen in the Senate will be harder to find.

The resolution would permit Obama to order a limited military mission against Syria, as long as it doesn't exceed 90 days and involves no American troops on the ground for combat operations. (Associated Press)

Meanwhile some Arab countries have offered to pay for US military invasion in Syria.
Secretary of State John Kerry said at Wednesday’s hearing that Arab counties have offered to pay for the entirety of unseating President Bashar al-Assad if the United States took the lead militarily.
“With respect to Arab countries offering to bear costs and to assess, the answer is profoundly yes,” Kerry said. “They have. That offer is on the table.”

Asked by Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.) about how much those countries would contribute, Kerry said they have offered to pay for all of a full invasion.
“In fact, some of them have said that if the United States is prepared to go do the whole thing the way we’ve done it previously in other places, they’ll carry that cost,” Kerry said. “That’s how dedicated they are at this. That’s not in the cards, and nobody’s talking about it, but they’re talking in serious ways about getting this done.

122 comments:

heeeyyy...they shud pliz ohh!! ot looking good. btw..FIRST!!!!!!!!!!

A step furrher at holding an inhuman and wicked administration responsible.

Carry go Mr obama

Girl Next Door - Virus Detected! said...

So?

First to voment! GBAM!!!!!!! I love you all.

Lols Na which one be voment again?

G's said...

Linda is not enough for you to say wahala dey for Syria. Use the voice that God has given to you to oppose this senseless attack that is about to happen. The govt forces are already winning the war against the rebels so there's no justification for them to use any chemical weapon. We've seen these rebels eat raw human heart and also behead a priest. They know the only way Obama will join the war is if they use a chemical weapon. May God save Syria

Me self see say na u b first to ( voment) lol.

This bonario I thought your eyes were open. May God forgive all those in support of this stage managed attack that is about to happen. God please open the eyes of our people so they don't believe everything they see on tv

Comment,check your spellings before u rush to post

Guess next door or next house or wetin be ur name,u be fool..u re always commenting foolishly on different blogs,I guess ur smelling pussy is scratching you..

Vivian Love said...

What do u expect? How can the syrian govt use chemical and deadly gas agaist their people, one man's life cannot be more valuable than thousands of people. So the Americans can't seat down and watch him keep on killin his people! I know he still has Russia & China as his allie but I trust America to do something! I was disappointed when Britain voted agaiant it.

Saro: The Musical Steps Into The Future of Nigerian Drama. http://buff.ly/1cxUf1P

Yes, make Obama carry go. My brothers and sisters let me tell u the truth. If your darling Obama throws a bomb into Syria, it will be the beginning of the end of America as a superpower.Obama will sink America. America will lose its glory soon. Actually, I don't give a shit about America. I am black, female and a christian. Thank you all.

If it were nigerians,GEJ wud have done nothing.

Lo ba tan, watch out Syria!

Awaiting Russia and China's response to this. Same old condemnation.

The G20 is going to be so tetchy.

That's dia own cup of tea, we ain't even through with our own #PDPcrisis

end tym tinz

The consequences is dire hmmm i pray this will not be a start fot world war3. this is exactly what d us did in iraq and killed over 500,000 innocent people under false pretense amd lies years later u say what sorry it was a mistake hmm u think all d souls wasted will go in vain surely there is going to be a repercussion for that damn US and i pray dis becomes the begining of the end of US

We shall be victorious. They should overthrown Assad govt. Do they know what it mean to use chemo weapon, bad signal indeed.
Besides, check out this
Wow soo pathetic. Porn star got infected with HIV despite her monthly medical check up if not weekly. Baba God you are wonderful. What the hell, where does the mistake come from.

God be with us all

I just loves dis obama...first to comment,#eyesrowing#

Mich said...

Syria is Russia's only ally in the Mid-east therefore,if the US carries out any strike on Syria(no matter how surgical it may be),Russia is bound to respond.
Then there's also China and Iran to worry about,possibly NK too.
Its quite a dicey situation for the US as their concern isn't really how to topple Assad but who to replace him with.
On the hand,if the US fails to take any action on Syria,other countries believed to have Chemical weapons(Iran,North Korea,etc)would perceive the US as weak.

2nd

That African chic said...

World Police

abass said...

Obama use the word my military, Syria don't know what they are into. I pity em

The beast at work again , trying to rule the world ? World power right? So America is the God on earth right? They are then Anti Christ these Americans.

Its about that Time...no time for delay...this syrian people don cut chain BIG TIME!!!

freshdude said...

Na wa o.... Syria don hear am

May it not be D 3rd World war in D makng. As assad is also callng.4 Help 4rm his allies.

Hmmm, gobe tins, den russia n china wil strike. Vivacious

Mtcheeeew

*sexy diva*

The grammar too much sef i no undastnd.Linda, Biko summarise the jist,use small oyinbo o.lolz

Well america should think twice,the UN should be responsible for this action since they are the intl peace keeping. No to War

Seriously, this is too much for them.I really hope its not a medium to start an international war.

Really if they don't stop dictatorship then one day some stupid president intoxicated with power will swallow a whole nation. Good vote........nice move.

Seriously i hope this is not the begginning of an international war. God help us all.

That's exactly wat am talkn abt. America, unlike complacent Europe and selfish China, was founded by ppl who fled oppression, tyranny, and wickedness such as is coming frm assad. That's why dey cnt just overlook this atrocity. They and their ancestors had first hand experience of evil like this. So make no mistake, America lives to stop people wit mindset like Assad, and dey can go any extent to do so.

After stage managing the gas attacks this war monger called Obiama want to finally destroy syria like he did to Libya .. Libya is in ruins now and the west are not there to save the Libayan people

Linda Tot Jordan was against dis action??

I knew U were a senseless creature from the way U comment on every blog post . I pity U for this comment .. Ewu

@anon...no offence but I feel you're an illiterate ..you're talking BS..

Well said Mich,I see a lot of ignorant people on here cheering Obama to go on.
Its going to be one of America's biggest mistakes to go in on Syria cos that would only invite Russia,Iran,china and North Korea to all come together and wage a war against America

Its 'love' not 'loves' but since u 'rowed' ur eyes away from its socket like its a boat, I'm not surprised u didnt see ur mistake. Pls row ur eyes back 2 where dey belong.

Chemical weapons hmmmm....now US intervention. T.B JOSHUA prophesied ds ws far from over....apparently dat z d situation in Syria. Der wer wrong to use chenical weapons......even one on one combat has rules....dt Assad guy is guilty of war crimes

Abeggi..... there's no yawa for Syria,rather yawa dey for America when their doubts would be cleared & the world would see. America is the real terrorist in this world Cos they always pokenose & meddle in other countries affairs & would devilishly & cunningly be forming holier-than-thou in front of the world. What's America's military doing in Syria,is it their business? They just want to waste the lives of brave & patriotic American soldiers sending them to a war that isn't their business in anyway while also killing more innocent Syrian civilians that they claim to be helping. God punish America for all the terror dem dey always cause. What the heck?

U see the chain?? Abi them tell u! U just agry? Just as them tell u say osama done die u agry! Pls be abit more rational and think out of ur valve!!

I was believing that assad rilly used chemical weapon but not anymore. Pls can anyone tell me why he would want to use it on his people? It makes no sense. So am no fool.

Hmmmm!WW3 is knocking may God help us all n ope we all no dt dis ar all signs of end times pls brothers n sisters watch an Pray.

I can't advocate for a leader who uses gas to kill his citizens and render millions refugees in different countries. The air strike by the American authority is probably the best way to oust the dictator from office but my problem with the air strike is that some innocent people may be killed too. The church always teaches to respect the sanctity of lives. God help Syria overcome this problematic situation.

May God ve mercy

We refuse you visa?

Same old road, I need not say anymore, but we know the history of such in the past.

The supposed Nobel peace awardee is about to spill some blood in Syria under a false pretence from a self mastered security report. take note it is only the Americans that are reporting over 1000 deaths. Reuters say not more than 400 died in that staged managed attack from the America CIA

Anita said...

I agree with Mich.. America is in a bit of a pickle. If they do not respond, they would be perceived as weak. Russia is Syria's ally, and there are reports that they are promising retribution on any attack carried out by The United States.

I also feel the need to draw attention to the fact that the Arab countries claim that they would sponsor the attack fully if the United States was to carry out a Military attack. That seems suspicious to me... I feel it seems more like a trap, and the Americans should tread carefully when creating allies.

Many countries bear a secret grudge for America... There could be ulterior motives.

Besides, a military attack on an Islamic nation would only beget more world violence, even from seemingly unrelated countries that have incidences of religious unrest.

Has anyone wondered what Boko Haram's reaction to this would be?

Nigerians have never needed a direct of very personal reason to carry out religious attacks.

Remember that Danish cartoonist that drew Prophet Mohammed with a bomb in his turban in 2006? And how Nigerians in the North started to burn buildings in protest? The reaction made world news.

I am worried about the reaction of all the other countries that perceive America as a bully. North Korea for example.

This is going to get bigger than anyone can imagine, and has the propensity to start another World War.

The US attack would affect too many Nations.

Anita said...

I agree with Mich.. America is in a bit of a pickle. If they do not respond, they would be perceived as weak. Russia is Syria's ally, and there are reports that they are promising retribution on any attack carried out by The United States.

I also feel the need to draw attention to the fact that the Arab countries claim that they would sponsor the attack fully if the United States was to carry out a Military attack. That seems suspicious to me... I feel it seems more like a trap, and the Americans should tread carefully when creating allies.

Many countries bear a secret grudge for America... There could be ulterior motives.

Besides, a military attack on an Islamic nation would only beget more world violence, even from seemingly unrelated countries that have incidences of religious unrest.

Has anyone wondered what Boko Haram's reaction to this would be?

Nigerians have never needed a direct of very personal reason to carry out religious attacks.

Remember that Danish cartoonist that drew Prophet Mohammed with a bomb in his turban in 2006? And how Nigerians in the North started to burn buildings in protest? The reaction made world news.

I am worried about the reaction of all the other countries that perceive America as a bully.

This is going to get bigger than anyone can imagine, and has the propensity to start another World War.

The US attack would affect too many Nations.

Obama is right because if u people understand what it mean to test d use of chemical weapon on innocent people, without immediate checkmating them. It means the whole world is gonna end easily overnight. What they did is just to proof to terrorist how this thing works. Before you know it will be in the reach of all this wicked politicians and u c them wiping out a whole nation because they didn't vote for them, u c one faction of a party wiping out other with chemical weapon, boko haram will go for it (lobatan). It is better take that action now so that people can sleep with d hope of waking the next morning. If you need more enlightenment check it on wikipedia or watch 24hrs film to see how terrorist are looking for it and the effect.

if him like make him vomit hahahahaha.

Well,that was the senate.
Sure the house will vote against it cos Americans are soooooo against this military action

Pls is there oil in Syria?Olat.And Linda pls post my comment this time!!!or how much do we need 2 pay 2 v heared?

annony 11:18pm, l dont blame u for lovn Obama cos ur his member (illuminaty) but one day, one time, God will pay u all a surprise visit, d foolish ones does not know dat all this are political motivation, l pray God to intervene on dis issue of revenge.

No boots on the grounds though. Na so hitler start. Start gassing people in his country and then from there he was not resisted and he moved to neighbouring countries and the world. Children are dying so we can't sit and watch.

Ok it's time to repent

Blackberry said...

When bombing syria, remember to bomb d rebels as well.

these americans are nuisance

So US wants to bomb Syria because Syrians bombed Syria? Hw cn they justify that? I thot the reports said it was the rebels that used the gas not the Government. Afghanistan, Iraq now Syria, I see a trend here SMH

*not ryt*

Nice one, president Obama. We re solidly behind yu.

Hurry hurry go do you something.....can't stop laughing,VOMENT!

People don't understand the syrian situation at all. I. Suggest u all go and google the stuff and understand before putting ignorant comment on here.

Jay said...

My people let's reason b4 talkin. I luv d USA but I don't trust them, Even the evidence they have might be cooked. But again I don't bliv in this "I was born to rule" slogan, Asaad must go.

This is a very critical situation, if US take an action, they're in trouble and if they didn't they're in trouble too, so let's wait and see what's gona happen. @MyOpinion#You can't end war with war.

this is the end @ hand,Obama is the beast & God's word most come 2 pass this is beging of the End,wht ever u do please knw ur left 4rm ur right(who 2 follow the devil Or GOD) the end is hare allready:read revelation 1 to the end and u will c evry thing hapening now is writen!

British ppl be like all man 4 himself......

Wait Oº°˚˚ !! Dis persons dat r speaking against a Americans decision, did dey see wat dis Syrians Dis at all? R u guys humans abi Amimals, did u see d pple dis chemical tins wiped out, it is a world well knwn knwldg dat using a chemical weapon will surely attract d Americans, so d syrians Called for it, i say let dem have it, see hw it feels wen some one bully u.

Irrespective of how bad the actions in Syria were, I don't think war is the answer. You don't quench fire with fire. Now innocent lives are gonna be lost on both sides for a war that would have best served with negotiations. I don't get America's need to play big brother, no country in the world has invaded more countries than America. Soon their military will be spread so thin they wouldn't be able to protect their own soil! #somethingIsawontwitter: we seeking permission to kill people for killing people. *too much blood has being shed, Obama please do not risk American lives for this.

WE JUST HOPE AND PRAY THAT WE ARE NOT ABOUT TO WITNESS WORLD WAR 3, US HAS RUSSIA, CHINA, NKOREA AND A HOST OF OTHERS TO CONTEND WITH SUD THEY GO AHEAD WITH MILITARY STRIKES ON SYRIA.

US. the bully of the world

Se uu dey madt ni, y cnt pple be allowd to make mistakes wtot been condemned..

Pls america should just strike and finish dt idiot assad,ur people dnt like u again and u use CW on them? Am a muslim but hate estremism and violence of such

Britain na coward naa....moreover dem dey suffer from poverty.

toluwanimi.SLIM said...

This. Is war.

Some people making good comment, some talking otherwise.... Them dey use fight settle fight? America dey use drones kill innocent children for Iraq, Afghanistan, Lebanon and so on, that one no be red line them cross so? If you know how you go fit tell Mumu Obama not to strike Syria, better advice him oooo. If he try am? Na the End of USA be that oooo.

swizz delish said...

Y'all are no diplomat u just beliv all u see on tv

What's american's business in this matter? Abeg.. who make them class captain? Nonsense!!!

Why re y'all saying obama is inviting trouble for his state? I guess u ppl dnt knw about the united nations and the use of force. As an international law student, I'm really in support of obama's action, syria has no right to use chemical weapons to kill people in damascus, it is wrong, the 3world leaders who came together to form the UNO should come2gether and put an end to this, the united states should not be left alone. Itis against intlaw for weaker nations to be suppressed by greater nations as expressed in the proverb "a dwarf is as much a man as a giant". The u.s is used to rendering help, this was seen in the iraqui invasion of kuwait in 1929.the u.s still rendered help to kuwait and restored peace to them. Russia,britain and france shud do sth. @nanasidney

To hell wit russia nd china.Obama ride on.No govt shd be allowed 2use nuclear weapon coz d nxt nuclear syria wil use wil b more brutal dan d 1st.I blv d 1st one ws jst 4 testin,US shd not wait 4d 2nd

May God help us all

Some peeps will come here and be vomittin rubbish. Nobody hv the right to use chemical weapon not even them the USA. After the second world war. Obama carry go joor. U guys did it at IRAQ, Afghanistian, Lybia and Syria is just so little. Need to see the faces of my Syrian colleagues in my company wen it was announced LOL. #savetheworld

Naija babe said...

Confirmento!!!!!!!!!!!!

Outstanding senate debate on this issue... but i fear for Obama and America, cos i hav never seen a case where arabians want to fund an american invasion,,,,, my advice is that America should tread carefully. «10V»

.......All I have to tell u.........SHUT DA FUCK UP!

Russia, China and The UK don't support the strike; France is the only one in congruence.Iran can't wait to ally with anyone fighting the USA, Israel will be targeted.....let the THIRD WORLD WAR BEGIN! THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

3rd world war indeed...some pple shuld learn to read da post well b4 commenting rubbish..US shuld react 2dis tho..#peaches

Shut the fuck up bitch. Americans are willing to fight to protect the innocent people killed in scores everyday and u are here talking about world power. What do u know. Idiot take several seats inside dustbin.

When u open ur heart to help others, u'll get help too..

Are u blonde? U talk stupid aswear

Every dictator has an expiry date. People who do not support Obama on this strike don't follow the news. It's all these BBA and Afmag people. Watch CNN and see what Assad is doing to innocent syrians

SexyAmaka said...

the world at war. the sign of end time
CLICK FOR HOT GIST

Mordi said...

It was prophesied in the book of Isaiah #17. So let's not worry ourselves about it.

Mordi said...

It was prophesied in the book of Isaiah #17. So let's not worry ourselves about it.

What dyu mean by nothing? When there's amnesty?

@G&#39s, just shut up abeg,you sound very stupid..Wetin do your own voice? Shift Jor,MUMU!!!

PRETTY GIRL

Nigeria should expect me very soon if UK get involve!

AmeriKKA always have to wage a war every 1-3 years how do you think they sustain their economy??
The competition is now fierce with Russia..China..India..Brazil..big nations all competing for the same resources..however unlike the USA they can get by without resorting to war...because they produce and manufacture things that people really need!!
Remember the opposition are Islamic terrorists...but they don't care..as long as they get the fat contracts from arms and rebuilding...Libya..Egypt..Iraq..come to mind!!

Lol, omo this LIB na comedy club....I have bin laffing since I saw this post, abeg which one be 'eyes rowing'? Hahahahahhahah. Anon 11:18pm, u re damn so funny.

Why are u abusing him that's not nice

Does nigeria evn av allies? If we av, wich countries abeg.

Looll...abi oo...the end of d world is near

The signs are here for the coming of the end...let us watch and pray!

I'm telling you. D debate was on point.was impressed Even as old as some of those senators are dey were Still debating smartly;asking asking reasonable n appropriate questions and talking wif sense. But if it was naija..I reserve my comment....infact I can't....dey r pressing issues In country wich our senators shud sit down n talk about smartly n with wisdom. Its to talk abt marrying a year old child dat dey know aw to do. Sometimes I wonder if dey r evn literate enuf to hold dat position..

IGNORANT PPLE COMMENTING BLINDLY...ALL I SEE IS WORLD WAR 3 IN THE MAKING.I THINKS HE NEEDS TO THINK PROPERLY BEFORE PROCEEDING,DOES HE THINK RUSSIA,CHINA AND IRAN WOULD BE MUTE TO THIS?GUESS NOT...

I definitely love ur assessment Mich,it shows uv been following the news. I get so lazy to type sometimes but ur so on point. Also I might add that in the eyes of Anerica, if Syria isn't "punished"other countries who have chemical weapons will now have an implied authority to use it . After all "nothing happened to Syria"

at first i was in support but after i saw last night's news and how the Syrians have carried placards saying they DON'T want to be saved i wonder what the point is. People are killing and kidnapping in Africa why hasn't America come to our aid? WAR is big business and America is only going for their own selfish interests.

Hmmm ...u think america is goin fightn for dd innocent people tht died in syria...hell no..1st isreal is a huge factor in dis war..dey doing it cos of isreal.. Also america is afarid of assard gtn too strong I mean if syria can use a chemical weapon any arab country can too so dats d fear so dey strike to prove their self proclaimed Big brother of d world..anywy dis is what happend in lybia ..dey gained d oil.mschew I tink dere is more to dis war (isreal is behind this) I wonder if china will back yankee if not I dnt think dey wud lend yankee money again o..na so so war america go dey fight wiv borrowed money frm china..the bible is bin fufiled tho

Ghana,Senegal,liberia,sierra Leone, Benin republic, ivory coast ur allies ur "untrusted friends" are cameroun,south Africa,and most of east Africa. As far as I know sha. I may be wrong

i'm not surprised, the us are fucking war mongers

U must be a brain wash fool and a terrorist to reference osama and arguing abt his death. The attack may have been stage manage but we cannot denial the fact that chemical weapon was used.

Great guy, a good student of history.

Can u stand for ur words. Pls be careful.

â„“̊ don't see reasons y people can't think straight and use thr reasoning faculty........do u think America is goin to wage war against war if they are not havin thr personal motive! America is d No1 enemy of peace.....they brainwashed Libya people and get them destroyed......now they are sittin on thr resources.......America is d Devil......Watch out 4 WW3....God will safe Syria....

america and russia are already on terms..its isreal nw,are they going to agree to what america s about doing?as d world's most powerful,what do u xpect america to do?stand and watch?hmmm if u ar a syrian,u'd be calling for help as their citizens r doing nw.so free obama jor make him act..just as bush