Oya LIB readers, come and solve this brain test..:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 June 2013

Oya LIB readers, come and solve this brain test..:-)

Know the answer?

582 comments:

1 – 200 of 582   Newer›   Newest»
Lindaikeji's husband said...

For how much naau? Cos me no one crack brain for nothing

BUKOLA said...

Linda, the Calculation Dey Hard One.. My Brain Don Tire.. 49mom + 49dad.. I Can't Owe Myself.. So I will still Have the 1Naira Left. LOL! Gotcha

Date a Millionaire In Nigeria, Sugar Mummy and Daddy, Rich Kids and Meet A Millionaire Friend Today

I use am buy kulikuli noni....put a price on it n pple l ansa strait... U̶̲̥̅̊ stingy sha linda... U̶̲̥̅̊ no giv us tinz afta al d money U̶̲̥̅̊ D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣γ̲̣̣ chop...nawa oº°˚!!..post my comment

Na me u dey ask?hw i go take knw??abegeee na sleep sure pass l8a

why does the one you owe matter! the question is why would you buy a shirt for $100? mcshew.

okay.
first to comment

Part of the money used to buy the shirt.

there is NO 1$ remaining Linda. the 1$ is already on the shirt. add the 1$ you are having to the shirt you bought for 97$, then you have 98$, and remember you already gave you mum and dad 1$ each. do thats make it all 100$ back. Shikena Yowa,

The is no extra dollar. You added the wrong numbers together to get $98 because there are really 2 extra dollars. $97 for the shirt + the $1 you kept = $98 The 2 extra dollars went back to your parents.

Ms Ralphael said...

no missing dollar here,
1) he was suppose to return $1.50 each to his parents as the change
2) meaning at the end he was suppose to give them back $48.50 each but
3)since he decided to keep the dollar, he will be giving them back $49 each, meaning he will be adding additional $1 from his wallet.

Hope I solve the problem

Lool dis one is a bit complicated sha bu d 1 dollar dis 1/2 n 1/2 of d money u paid bck......linda u no well na by 2.o7am u dey trow dis kin maths 4 person nywaiz if I did nt get u people should nt insult me old age plus sleepy eye *wink

THE VALUE;
YOU HAVE THE SHIRT: $97 + THE $1 =$98
Your mom has $1 and your dad has $1; added =$2
So adding up;
$98+$2 =$100
Nothing is missing.
Actually, the "missing dollar" is in the $98 dollars you owe your parents (that is minus the shirt which is $97)

THE VALUE;
YOU HAVE THE SHIRT: $97 + THE $1 =$98
Your mom has $1 and your dad has $1; added =$2
So adding up;
$98+$2 =$100
Nothing is missing.
Actually, the "missing dollar" is in the $98 dollars you owe your parents (that is minus the shirt which is $97)

WHAT SHALL IT PROFIT A MAN IF HE SHALL GAIN THE WHOLE WORLD AND LOSE HIS OWN SOUL?

The missing $1 dey wit the guy wey hin suppose pay to get the total debt of $97

Abeg I don try find am nd I no c am oooo,no b by force.

The dollar you kept for yourself makes u owe 2 extra dollars!

Still thinking of the Ans....
Will come back later to say the Ans

BB said...

It didn't go anywhere.
You spent $97, and gave $1 to each parent and kept $1 which equals $100.
You owed each parent $49 (total $98) and paid each parent $1 (total $2) = $100.
If you paid the $1 you kept for yourself back to your parents, then the reduced amount you would've owed them would be $97.

Dr Dedun said...

Shirt=97. Divide by 2. 48.50. So lets say u owe ur parent 48.50 each since u already got back 3dollars. That way if u multiply 48.50 by 2 plus 3=100. You won't have to keep the $1dollar, .. first time commenting btw, bored :)

Lol!bia linda!dis is stale nau?1k(u kept)+1k(ur mum)+1k(ur dad)=3k nothing mizzing arall

Linda solve am na, you get brain too abi?

oluwa pero said...

D seller of d shirt has d missin 1...oluwa pero 1st to comment

Linda u go answer this one by ur self because ur solution to the answer is WRONG.

lilly said...

its 48.5 + 48.5=97 plus ur 1 dollar makes it 98 and plus the 2 dollars u gave ur mum and dad already makes it 100 dollars thats the real deal as simple as that

The entire logic behind the sum at the end is wrong. What you should be adding is the $49 you owe the mom, the $49 you owe the dad and the $2 you already gave them. The $1 you keep does not matter because you don't owe that.
In the same vein, if you wanted to include the $1 that you kept, you would add that to the $97 for the shirt and the $2 you gave your parents.
First Comment. Yay!

Linda u no dey sleep sef? At 2am u still dey post. Anyways this question is stale and since I have known this joke, if you process to the answer is followed then no one will ans it. In other words ur process to the solution is wrong!!!

There is no missing $1 cus $49 +$49=98, plus d $2 u already gave dem is=$100. D initial $1 u took is of no consequence wen its time to repay d full debt!

@dhollargurl said...

Drz no answer to dt question cos dy kip addin diff variables lyk 'X+Y'in ds case d change u returned is d X yl d change wv u is d Y,nd dy r diff cos u ad no mny wv u initially,so y holdin it back eventually! Hence,d question is a wrong question,der4 no plausible answer. Btw,pls Ms Linda shld post ma comment,tho tis ma 1st tym of commentting buh I check ds Blog every oda day :)

Jackpo Chymes said...

Simple....since d shirt costs $97, dat means u used $48.5 each 4rm d $50 given to u by ur parents. Now removing d $0.5 will make it $96 plus d $3 remaining wich will den add up to $99. Therefore, d $0.5 each will b added to giv $1. N dia goes ur missing $1. Comprehende??

@dhollargurl said...

Drz no answer to dt question cos dy kip addin diff variables lyk 'X+Y'in ds case d change u returned is d X yl d change wv u is d Y,nd dy r diff cos u ad no mny wv u initially,so y holdin it back eventually! Hence,d question is a wrong question,der4 no plausible answer. Btw pls post ma comment tho tis ma 1st tym of commenttin buh I check ds blog everyday :)

staff said...

That's the worth of the shirt

It's a trick question. The question is actually wrong. It should be $49+$49=98 - $1. Because you are owing money and the $1 you have should be be subtracted from the money you owe not added to it. So it should be $98 - $1 = $97, hence the actual amount you paid for the shirt.

There is no 1$ anywhere.......All he owes is 100$ and he paid 2$ out of the 3$ whit him(whc z his money).....So all he owes now is 98$

FEYI EHINDERO said...

Linda biko go slp na!.anywayz I've bin waitin 4 an ansa 2 dis since!

It's a trick question. The question is actually wrong. It should be $49+$49=98 - $1. Because you are owing money and the $1 you have should be subtracted from the money you owe not added to it. So it should be $98 - $1 = $97, hence the actual amount you paid for the shirt.

sabi boy said...

There is no "other" dollar. See, after borrowing $100, you used up $97 for the shirt. You returned a dollar to each of your parents, so you owe $98 total. This $98 should correspond to the $97 (for the shirt) plus the $1 that you have with you.

Am i ryt??

Busola said...

Why add $1 to $98? If anything, you should subtract it.
You owe them $98, you have $1 with you and $97 was spent on the shirt. Nothing is missing.

97/2 = 48.5

48.5 + 1 [both ways) = 49.5

The one dollar in your hand would be divided into two = 50 cent each parent.

First to comment ...hiyaaaa

Who the heck buys a shirt for $97?

Since U̶̲̥̅̊ returnd 1k each, it means U̶̲̥̅̊ only borrowed 49k each and U̶̲̥̅̊ ave 1k, so U̶̲̥̅̊ bought A̶̲̥̅̊ shirt of 97k, so addin †ђξ 98k U̶̲̥̅̊ tuk frm dem to †ђξ 1k U̶̲̥̅̊ carry, it makes it 98k plus †ђξ 2k wey U̶̲̥̅̊ return

It's right here, inside my Kolo.

@dhollargurl said...

Drz no answer to dt question cos dy kip addin diff variables lyk 'X+Y'in ds case d change u returned is d X yl d change wv u is d Y,nd dy r diff cos u ad no mny wv u initially,so y holdin it back eventually! Hence,d question is a wrong question,der4 no plausible answer. Btw pls post ma comment tho tis ma 1st tym of comment

Lolits quite simple... Basically, you have $100 ($50 mom /$50 dad) of debt, you pay back $2 ($1/$1), now you have $98 of debt ($49/$49). So you shouldn't be trying to get to $100. The $1 you kept from the change is included in the $98 you owe your parents. So there's no missing 1 dollar

the missing dollar is the one you kept for urself. your parents deserve one dollar fifty each ole pickin.if you had divided the three dollar change between them at one dollar fifty each then you won't be looking for the extra money. ole release the one dollar you kept for urself and we won't be having problems onyeochi

@dhollargurl said...

Drz no answer to dt question cos dy kip addin diff variables lyk 'X+Y'in ds case d change u returned is d X yl d change wv u is d Y,nd dy r diff cos u ad no mny wv u initially,so y holdin it back eventually! Hence,d question is a wrong question,der4 no plausible answer. Btw pls post ma comment tho tis ma 1st tym of commenttin

you can't say 98 plus 1 but 98 minus 1 b,cos you haven't spent the 1 left with you, so you can not use plus but minus , with minus it is balanced.

@dhollargurl said...

Drz no answer to dt question cos dy kip addin diff variables lyk 'X+Y'in ds case d change u returned is d X yl d change wv u is d Y,nd dy r diff cos u ad no mny wv u initially,so y holdin it back eventually! Hence,d question is a wrong question,der4 no plausible answer. Btw pls post ma comment tho tis ma 1st tym of commenttin

D $1 wt u is dsame as d $1 missing cos all u nid is balance ur mum nd dad $49 each cos they alrdy av $1 each @hand...lol

Here is the right calculation, value of the shirt must be considered to get the correct answer.

shirt value: 97
Total debt: 100
Change: 3
total value at hand: 97+3=$100
Debt payed to mum and dad: $2
Balance: 97+3(-2)=$98

to get full amount, just add the $2 to the $98

There is no missing one naira! You are mixing apples and oranges. The net effect of your transactions is a simple exchange of 98 naira of liabilities for 98 naira of assets. You could have made life simpler by borrowing only 98 naira in the first place!

The money borrowed was 100 I.e 50 from mom and 50 from dad. After buying the shirt 97,u have 3 left. You give mum 1 and dad 1 and left with one. The money you owe ur dad and mum is 49+49=98. Now the answer is you add the 1 each you have paid bk not the 1 left in the change so it would be 98+1+1=100 not 98+1(from $3 change)=99. @Iamobi

Duhhh, the one dollar u kept!

@dhollargurl said...

Drz no answer to dt question cos dy kip addin diff variables lyk 'X+Y'in ds case d change u returned is d X yl d change wv u is d Y,nd dy r diff cos u ad no mny wv u initially,so y holdin it back eventually! Hence,d question is a wrong question,der4 no plausible answer. Btw pls post ma comment tho tis ma 1st tym of commentting

He already had a dollar on him .

49+49+1+1+1 =101...... The one dollar is with u

The shirt was $97 not 98 so u r actually paying ur parents more. 50cent extra...I know I'm smart...thank you!!!

Linda this is an EOR case. You are solving the problem using a wrong method. This is not a brain test. I can send you some real brain tests if you want some.

Nene said...

She borrowed 100$ from mom and dad.

She bought something for 97

She paid mom and dad back 2.

Therefore she still owes 98$

What she bought was 97$ plus the dollar she still has = 98$

98$ = 98$

You have it...

Mayowa

okporki said...

linda don't you ever sleep?

Cent said...

The $1 is lost in conversion: in bringing values from minus to plus, there is a common ground(0) that is where the $1 is lost. This is illustrated thus: -3,-2,-1,0,1,2,3. Linda you should do more of these puzzles, I believe there is a, rarely used, part of my brain they excite.

1st Tym said...

The last 1 na be d 1 when dey with u .. if u nor keep am d 100 go complete n 50/50 2 momsi n poposi

@dhollargurl said...

Drz no answer to dt question cos dy kip addin diff variables lyk 'X+Y'in ds case d change u returned is d X yl d change wv u is d Y,nd dy r diff cos u ad no mny wv u initially,so y holdin it back eventually! Hence,d question is a wrong question,der4 no plausible answer. Btw pls post ma comment tho tis ma 1st tym of commentting

the shirt was originally costing 97 but he bought it for 98 .Just add 1 to it (97) Thats when its complete

VAT don collect am

No idea,prince charming ...let's c if u r really smart....its ur boy xavier....and wia is prince jobless?dnt u all miss dat fucking retard?....bonario d dry imbecile...wat wil we do wdt u?and pealy wv her oversized breasts,..love all u libers,una too much...doe some are as dumb as fuck,sm r pretty intelligent...peace

Amount Owed = Amount Spent + "Your" dollar.

If we divide $97 equally among 2(mum and Dad) it means out of $50 each contributed $48.5 to the shirt so if you give $1 back to each and keep $1, the correct equation is $49.50 + $$49.50 +$1= $100 QED

there is no missing $1. By pocketing the $1. The shirt is now $98 dollars. After paying each parent $1 each, you owe each $49.

No missing $1. Pocketing the $1 made the shirt cost $98. by paying ur parents $1 dollar each you now owe them $49 dollar each

tobi said...

Easy, there is no missing dollar, you gave your parents two dollars, so you owe them 98 (49+49), the other dollar is whats left from the change of the 97 dollar shirt. Basically the addition being done is wrong

Shirt=$97
Mums contribution out of $50=$48.50
Dads contribution out of $50=$48.50
Change $3
$48.50+$1+$48.50+$1+$1=$100

Hardenyke Alausa said...

The missing $1 is with u :)

We don't knw jor abeg leave us+amma dah first to comment ye Ppi

Nothing happened to the missing dollar. I borrowed $100, paid back $2, that's $98. If I keep $1 and the shirt costs $97, that balances everything.

Dr Blakky said...

The shirt costs $97,which means he owes each parent $48.50 each ..total-$97
$97+ $3 change=$100

Where d hell dld d $1 enter omoo l no flt scatter my head

Ơ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡ ur debt is 98k den u mak use of 97 nd u kip 1k 4 urself no 1k missin(97k spent)+2k returnd+d 1k wit u dts 100k......praaaah

Dey shud ask d mum,dad or go 2 d place dey bot d shirt,i'm very sure d remainin $1 wil b wit 1 of dem...lol,na my head una twist wit dis twisted questn abi!una try

Funny question. The calculation is just a gimmick. The $1 will surely resurface after he had paid his dad n mum.

There is no missing $1
You borrowed two times $49 pound = $98, and spend $97 pound, and now have an extra dollar to keep for yourself.
You are adding up what you owe, plus what you have which doesnt work, as there is no $100. Once you give them the $1 back if you are adding up what you spent you should either add up 49 +49 = shirt + 1 change or if you are adding up what you borrowed originally that is 50+50 = shirt +3 change

They are two difference equations cleverly put together to make it look like there is a missing pound

I gave it to Linda Ikeji!!

okay.. you're doing it wrong.

So you borrow 50 from your Mom and 50 from your dad

50 MOM
50 DAD

100 total
97 SHIRT

3 Dollars LEFT OVER

1 returned to MOM So you owe MOM 49 100-1 = 99
1 Returned to DAD So you owe Dad 49 99 - 1 = 98
1 Kept for you 98- 1 = 97

So you are still in debt of 97 dollars.. the one dollar didn't go anywhere you just kept it.

It does not make sense. Its like comparing apoles to oranges. Your total should add up to 98 not 100.

Aymii said...

Linda oooo! Lols insomnia cash me, so i did a lot of thinking on it.....the shirt sellers must be his parents, ......If he bought d shirt for 97$ and they gave him change of 3$, then he has just been borrowed 100$ ....If @ that point he pays back 2$,then he still owes the 97$ shirt and has 1$ with him........97$ shirt + 2$ paid back to parents + 1$ left with him=100$....... complete! No " owo" is missing!...........lol clap for me!.....this argument has to be re framed else lai lai solution cant ever come out!

Split $97 into two gives $48.5 returning $1 to each, equals $49.5 to each plus 1$ he hold backs, equation balance! Chikena!!!

it should not be 98+1, it should be -98+1, cos $98 is still owed, and he's got the $1 in his hand.
-Wale.

it should not be 98+1, it should be -98+1, cos $98 is still owed, and he's got the $1 in his hand.
-Wale.

Yours doesn't count, you owe your mom and dad N49 each das all! Your remaining N1 is yours. You've already given em N1 each, so you just owe them 49 don't count yours

Ok let me try. Since I returned $2 to them,it means i spent $99 cos the shirt is $97+ the $2 so the $1 is still with me

STALE

Right in your pocket.The dollar you kept for yourself.I arrived at this by subtracting from the initial 100bucks, a dollar each for myself, my mom and my dad which left me with the 97 bucks i used to buy the shirt....bingo

I m sure even linda doesnt know d ansa 2 dis 1.oya giv us incentive 4 motivation because dis 1 hard o!

Kelvin said...

Well, its very simple, when you bought the shirt for $97, it means you spent $48.5 each from the both parties where you initially borrowed the money, with the remaining $3 being with you, if you return $1 each to both parties, it means the total amount you've spent so far from each party is $49.5, and if you then decide to split the balance $1 with you in 2, it means you've spent $50 each, there's no one dollar hidden anywhere except you decide to confuse yourself from the onset.

Merlos said...

The answer is there, $100 - $97 = $3. U gave ur parents $1 each, u ve $1 with u. There is no missing money. First to comment... Yeah

i am a genius. With the 97, you owed one parent 49, and the other 48. When you give them 1 dollar each = 50(49+1) + 49(48+1) + 1(in your hand)= 100.

Oya, wey my prize before i disgbangba you.

Interesting brain challenge. Since U̶̲̥̅̊'ve given both yur parents a dollar each, I don't think there's any dollar missing cos 49 + 49 = 98 while 100 - 98 = 2. Which simply means U̶̲̥̅̊'ve shared the 2 btw them.
Hope A̶̲̥̅♏ on point

Total Cost of shirt=97
Father`s share out of cost=97/2=$48.5
Mother`s share out of cost=97/2=$48.5
Change=$3
48.5+48.5+3=100
QED!

*crying* someone help.. I dnt

Bakare Moshood said...

U dint owe ur parents S49 since the cloth was S97 with S3 change. U actually owe them S49.5 and u gave them S1 back each bringing ur new debt 2 S48,5
NB: 48.5x2 gives 97

Diz is difficult o linda. I think the #1 does nt exist, cuz its no where to be found.

It is still with me cos I didn't ve any cash initially...

blessonbaby said...

$1 is still with me

It is still with me cos I didn't ve any cash initially...

...you owe ur dad and mum $49 each, both = $98
If u add the $1 with u to what u owe them, u now owe $97 which went into the purchase of the shirt and you haven't got it yet.
In maths, what u owe, (-$98) and what u have at hand +($1)= Shirt (-$97), which u haven't got.

Dad 50cent and mom 50cent

If you already gave them $1 each. That's $2 accounted for. $49+$49 is $98+$2= $100. Disregard the price øf the shirt and the change....

Add the $1 to the $97 n that's $98. 49+49 =$98+ the $2 you gave them already!!!!! Smart girl Nini

wume said...

The item cost $97 which when split in two is $48.50.So, he actually owes his parents $1.50 each.

the 1$ added to the 98$ has nothing to do with the debt owed to his parents. just because he got the 1$ from the money he borrowed from them doesn't mean he has to pay that exact note/coin back.
so 49+49 = 98. he already settled 2$ of his debt meaning he has 98$ of debt left. he could always add the 1$ which would mean he has a debt of 97$ to pay. the question "where is the missing 1$" is only there to confuse. :) there is no missing 1$ because if you add 1$(his own) 98$(remaining debt) and 2$(debt he already paid) you would have a total of 101$ and he only ever borrowed a total of 100$

jedo4me said...

hahaha the remaining dollar went to taxes love

joe9 said...

u practically owe $98 since u returned ($1 +$1=) $2 to ur parents.....so $98 -$97(cost of shirt) equals $1...anf thats d exact amount left with you. gorrit!

joe9 said...

u practically owe $98 since u returned ($1 +$1=) $2 to ur parents.....so $98 -$97(cost of shirt) equals $1...anf thats d exact amount left with you. gorrit!

kehinde said...

The calc shld be the sum of change used and money owed.which is:
Paid mum&dad=$1(each)
Held=$1
Owes=$98
98+1+1+1=$101....d result is $1 extra
Nw the logic is †o make u assume the $1 kept,is 4 him,dts wrng,he hs †o split it,$0.5 each..finally:
Paid mum&dad=$1(each)
Later paid mum&dad=$0.5(each)
Nw owes=$97
97+1+1+0.5+0.5=$100..exact amnt
N.B=he borrowed all d money,so he shld keep none and pay all....ANY QUESTION??

There is no missing $1. The real maths is $49 + $49 = $98, then minus the $1 you still have = $97.

So na dat small rain of yday u warn d whole lagos 4 linda .. U no de fear init ? Mr phillip e get y sha !

Smartest one said...

Simple. Shirt costs 97
Money borrowed 50. From each parent totaling 100

Change 3

He gave each parent 1 each and kept 1

In other words, monies from each patent is 97/2 = 48.5
+ 1 (each)

Therefore, 48.5 * 2 = 97
97+2= 99
Plus his own 1 =100

U've got to count your dollar twice

There's no answer linda. That's a mathematical error. We use that question during logistics

Darkkong said...

The $1 he kept subtracts from his debt, and does not add to it. You subtract it, not add it. He still owes his parents $49 * 2 = $98, subtract the $1 and you get $97, the price of the item

the one isn't missing. the money with you and the store is $+98 the money owed to your parents is $-98.

It is with me!:)

the one isn't missing. the money with you and the store is $+98 the money owed to your parents is $-98.

El Clarividente said...

Question is fundamentally wrong. at the last line 49+49=98
now 98 + 2 = 100
it cannot be 98+ your 1 because that $1 is included in the 98 already.

Mum and dad have $1 ...that's where the missing $1 is.
I think the trick is that the parents both have $1.

Its invalid, u owe 98k no doubt, but there is no 1k missing!

Edoboy said...

Linda y u dey do like dt.... D cost of d shirt is $97, returned $1 to mum nd dad respectively kept $1 4 ursef add em ol up u ve $100 so there4 no missing money. Linda no dey find wetin no lost.

Jinee said...

Hey Aunty Linda na so you dey solve your maths .notin dey miss .97+1+ 2 he paid his parents

clem said...

Linda u're supposed to give ur mum and dad 1 and half dollar each, by so doing, your account will balance

Hehehe, The missing 1$ was used to pay tax *lol*

Mamie said...

Linda d money is complete now,bt wen addin up where did u kip d oda $1?mind urself ohh!

The missing one (1) can either be the one you gave to your mom or dad

She gave her folks back $2 ($1 each)+ $97 (for the shirt) = $99 plus the $1 left it should be $100. This person didn't do the math right. There is no missing money! You can't just try to subtract from you expenses, you ALWAYS add up your expenses first then subtract them all.

FOA said...

97 divided by 2=48.5 + 1 dollar=49.5,the son better gives back the $1 he didn't put any money in so he can't keep the change,so $1 divided by 2= •5 ,so 49.5+•5=$50

Separate your debt from you purchase.

There is no missing $1. The $1 you kept yourself is still a debt so you don't add it to the $98, you subtract it to get to the $97 you paid for the shirt.

OR

You could have returned the whole $3 but you kept $1 of the change, so now you have hypothetically borrowed an "extra" $1...

I love dis.linda I ave forgiven u ur sin for not uploading some of my comment.bring brain test up all the time.not bikini body.my answer 'll come later.una wen sabi correct person english for here make una answer .olodo

There is no missing dollar though, This is just a fallacy riddle to mess with your brain, its a fallacy riddle based on the pricing of the shirt.
The price is $97, leaving him with $3, he gave out $1 to both parents, leaving him with just $1, so $97(shirt)+$1(mom)+$1(dad)+$1(the remaining dollar with him)=$100
So no missing dollar!

Just as d name implies,it is missing.

jimi said...

There is no "other" dollar. See, after borrowing $100, you used up $97 for the shirt. You returned a dollar to each of your parents, so you owe $98 total. This $98 should correspond to the $97 (for the shirt) plus the $1 that you have with you. Kindly visit my blog @ weirdgme.blogspot.com for Latest Tech info.

bold 5 said...

Linda,sorry but I hate maths

The last equation is supposed to be 49 + 49 -1 = 97(price of d shirt) u can't add back $1 wen uve deducted d $1 each from d debt

Divide 97 by 2 = 48.50 then add 1 dollar it makes it 49.50 , multiply by 2 = 99 plus the 1 dollar he kept for himself = 100 dollars. Thank me later.

he owes the remaining $1... he looses a dollar more than he borrowed

splendidsolo said...

the remaining $1 is in the hands of the cloth seller! lol

Centroide said...

the one that was kept

LINDA you no do spell check today o ...sew dress no equal saw o!

In my ass of course

Lai said...

Linda I Freaking Hate you!
Ever since I read this I can't stop thinking about it.....And it's making me ANGRY!
There is a MISSING DOLLAR!!!!
PLEASE e-mail me when you get the answer! It's ruining my life!!!!LOL

Linda, na for night you do maths abi? Anyway the whole question is a misrepresentation of facts, first of all when you returned $1, it meant you burrowed $49 not $50. $49+$49=$98
Shirt = $97 and you had $1 change wich you kept. .....T.K.S

Olodo girl. if the shirt cost $97, then it means that each parent has contributed $48.50. with the additional dollar to each parent that comes to $49.50 which equates to $99. The thief of a daughter is then left with the outstanding one dollar that she should return to her parents. By the way, are you not too old and too loaded to be borrowing money?hehehehehehe

There is no dilenma...This is the classic Bodmas trick. Since you returned $1 to your mum and $1 to your dad from the $100, you're left with $98bucks...then you buy a $97 shirt leaving you $1 spare change! Everything balances out..0r for those maths savy individuals ($49 +$49)=($97+$1).. Everything balances out. You technically borrowed $98 bucks..bought a $97 shirt n have $1 left over....Ngozi says so via my agbalumoberry

the 1 dollar is suppose to be the profit if u were to re-sell the shirt

Tanaka said...

The question is a trick question and would catch most readers out by mixing assets and liabilities.

Here's the "solution". Once he's borrowed the money, bought the shirts and paid back $1 to each of his parents, his "balance sheet" looks like this:

Assets
Shirt - $97
Cash - $1
Total - $98

Liabilities
Debt to parents - $98 (original $100 minus the $2 he already paid back).

Adding the $98 he owes his parents to the $1 he's holding is a fake equation.

The missing one was a victim of bokoharam lol

Linda its with you!

Anne said...

the missin one was the one you kept..I guess

-$49-$49+$1=-$97. or -$100+$3=-$97 you are owing $97. you cant add the remaining $1 to the deficit.

You didn't put into consideration what he bought, I think what he owe should be a sum of what he bought plus what he has left that is †ђξ figure no longer has to be $100 but $98 because he already paid back $2.

So instead of having $49 + $49 + $1, we should have $97 + $1+$1+$1 which is †ђξ item he bought plus †ђξ amount he returned plus †ђξ amount he kept back.

DADDYSWIFE said...

99 minus 98 u get d missin $1. LIB check dis one out.tell me what devil has seen,human beign has seen it,but God has not seen it.

PeGio said...

Simple,simply assume that $49 was the amount u lent from each parent as u returned the excess on the 97 dols shirt bought. $49+$49=$98(total money collected) u bought $97 shirt,u av $1 left (QED)

For u to have returned $1 each out of d money your parents gave u, means that they actually lent u $49 each. Which makes $98. You spent $97 and u still have $1 of your parents money with you. So there is no missing $1.

Subtract 97 from 99,that's 2 which is the two dollars you gave back to your mum and dad. There is no missing dollar.

ok i don dey crack my head like crazz person for d pst 20mins cant solve this. i asked my husband and he said the $1 is not missing cos its in the sentence "where is d missing $"
lmao am sure dats not the right ans

As at the time you returned $1 each to both parents, you did not owe $100 anymore, You owe $98 then. So, the two $49 adds up to $98 which you owe and the $1 left from the change. There is no $1 left anymore as at the point in time when you returned $1 each.
Mathematics Department, Greensprings school.

D $1 is wit you bcos u didnt return it back u just replace wit d change 4rm d shirt

Linda, it is like this: You owed $100 and paid back $2. Your new owing is now $98 out of which you spent $97 to buy shirt and spent remaining $1 for yourself.
The $100 owed has reduced to $98 because of the $2 paid back. So talk about $98 and not $100. $98 = $97 shirt + $1 personal use.

he gave his mum $49 and his dad $49 that means he actually has $2 with him

The $1 is yours. U shouldn't double count it. Just the $98 + $2 you've returned to your parents.

Whoever came up with this puzzle did not pass elementary mathematics. Giving 1 dollar each back means you borrowed 98 dollars. So instead of adding the 1 dollar you kept to yourself from the money borrowed (senseless), you subtract the money you kept to reflect what you spent.

D $1 is wit me cos i didnt return d $1 i just replace it wit d change 4rm d shirt

zubby said...

Simple: dad =50-49 =1, mom =50-49 =1 + ur 1 =3. Its wit u..

M.E.D said...

Its in my pocket!.........btw why are u trying to add up the whole 100 dollars and u didn't include the 2 dollars he gave back to he's parents! #confused#

KabanHouse said...

Indeed. But it all makes sense until the end :confused:
That's why it successfully confuses people. Everything up until the last addition is perfectly valid, and therefore you're pre-conditioned to assume that the last addition will also be valid. It isn't.

There are two valid ways of adding sums together; the $97 you paid for the shirt, the pound you gave to each parent, and the pound you still have: 97+1+1+1=100.

Or, the two lots of $49 you still owe, plus the two pounds you already paid back: 49+1+49+1=100.

Adding together two sums you still owe to a sum you still have left gives a meaningless total, but one which - thanks to the design of the riddle - is close enough to 100 to make you think it should actually be 100. In fact it could be absolutely anything. Write out the riddle with a shirt price of $83 and borrowing two fifties, and see what you get.

The $1 is still part of the money u owe, so it shud b subtracted.....giving u $97, the exact money u owed.

there is no missing dollar. you gave your dad and your mum a dollar each thats $2+$98=$100, or you can look at it this way the shirt cost $97, you gave your mum $1, dad $1, yourself $1; therefore $97+1+1+1=$100. its the many words that lets one lose track. deekay

You're owing dem 98 so U̶̲̥̅̊ already have $1, its now remaining the $97 that you are owing. That is 97+1 which balances the amount you are owing dem. Simple logic

There's no missing $1. Its very trickish. Rather he will add the $1 left on him to the $97 he use in buying the shirt, that's equal to $98 and that's what he will split to into to that will produce the $49 each he owes his both parents. Clap for me

Soft kid said...

After buying the shirt he owes his mum and dad $48.5, sum that up and get $97, give them each $1 and keep the remaining $1, which sums up back to $100

Soft kid said...

After buying the shirt he owes his mum and dad $48.5, sum that up and get $97, give them each $1 and keep the remaining $1, which sums up back to $100

gbenga adewuyi said...

The last line in this puzzle is wrong from an accounting point of view. Using the concept of Debit & Credit. Every money you receive is a credit while money you give out is a debit to you.

Receive $50 from Dad - 50Cr
Receive $50 from Mum - 50Cr
Total - 100Cr

Bought Shirt $97 - 97Dr
Gave Dad $1 - 1Dr
Gave Mum $1 - 1Dr
Total - 99Dr

Balance b/d - 1Cr
Which you still have with you.

its with ME

Xcorf said...

Money no dey miss ooo..na ur calculation no balance

You owe your mum 48.5 and your dad 48.5............... There is no MISSING dollar

MsM said...

Is wit yourself #coversface#

The $1 you kept for yourself of course. Who makes a profit buying a T-shirt?

gbenga adewuyi said...

The conclusion in this puzzle is wrong accounting-wise.

See analysis below:

Using account concepts of Debit and Credit. Whatever you receive is a Credit (Cr) and whatever you give a out is a Debit (Dr) to you.

Receive $50 from Dad - 50Cr
Receive $50 from Mum - 50Cr
Total Credit - 100Cr

Bought Shirt $97 - 97Dr
Gave $1 to Dad - 1Dr
Gave $1 to Mum - 1Dr
Total Debit - 99Dr

Balance b/d - 1Cr
Which is the money with you.

There is no missing $1

i owe my parents 49.5k bcoz d shirt cost only 97 divided by 2 of them plus 1 that i save

Hemby said...

Linda that's your own method...
$100-$97 =$3(balance for both dad & mum)
$97 ÷ 2 = $48 .5(collective contribution. Each to buy shirt )
$3÷2 = $1.5(balance each for mum & dad)
$48.5 + $1.5 = $50...
You put both monies to buy shirt,so why do you now have to share the change with you inclusive?
If you have a balance of $3,then you owe each of them $48.5..48.5 +48.5=97 + 3(balance) = 100
This was the best I could do after cracking my head for 5minutes...

Stivin nwaekwe said...

It didn't go anywhere.
You spent $97, and gave $1 to each parent and kept $1 which equals $100.
You owed each parent $49 (total $98) and paid each parent $1 (total $2) = $100. If you paid the $1 you kept for yourself back to your parents, then the reduced amount you would've owed them would be $97.

Divide the 97 into 2 to get 48.5k. So that from each 50k u've used 48.5k. U have 1.5k left from each bundle. If u return 1k each, u've used 48.5k + 1k =49.5k. So u owe each parent .5k (which u've kept for urself)

Raji Hakeem said...

There is no missing $1.
Its d way u arranged d maths.
If u borrowed $50 each from ur mum & dad making $100. U bought a cloth of $97, got a change of $3 and returned a $1 each to ur parents and kept d remaining $1.
the maths is this:
$49 + $49 + $2(d $1 each u returned)=$100
Not
$49 + $49 + $1(d one u kept)=$99.
see, its d way u arranged d MATHS.

Linda, haba, I said none is missing. U can't eat ur cake & hv it. He is having de reminder.

Raji Hakeem said...

There is no missing $1.
Its d way u arranged d maths.
If u borrowed $50 each from ur mum & dad making $100. U bought a cloth of $97, got a change of $3 and returned a $1 each to ur parents and kept d remaining $1.
the maths is this:
$49 + $49 + $2(d $1 each u returned)=$100
Not
$49 + $49 + $1(d one u kept)=$99.
see, its d way u arranged d MATHS.

Niyi Daramola said...

Whoops

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 582   Newer› Newest»