Baroness Valerie Amos visits Kogi State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 June 2013

Baroness Valerie Amos visits Kogi State

The United Nations Under Secretary-General (USG) for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator, Baroness Valerie Amos, who was the former British Leader of the House of Lords, visited Kogi State on Friday, June 14, 2013 on a fact finding mission to ascertain the level of devastation caused by the flood of 2012 in the State, in order to see how the UN, through the OCHA, can be of help.

The Special Adviser, Environment and Physical Development, Barr. Ladi Ahmed Jatto, who has been liaising with the UN OCHA on behalf of the state, disclosed  that the USG, on arrival, visited the Lokoja Water Works which was badly affected by the flood of 2012. She added that the USG was also taken on a ride through other areas such as Ganaja and Gadumo, which were equally devastated by the flood.

In order to get a feel of the people who were affected by the flood, the USG met with traditional rulers of affected areas, internally displaced persons (IDPs), and other stakeholders in Kogi State. During the meeting, she (the USG) expressed her concern over the devastating effects of the flood on the people of Kogi State; she therefore stressed the need for quick response to flood victims, and indicated her readiness to partner with the State Government on flood management and other environmental issues, as well as her readiness to support the State Government in strengthening flood/disaster preparedness activities, whilst looking for ways to assist with technical support.
It would be recalled that following the 2012 flood disaster in Kogi State, the State Governor, Capt. Idris Ichalla Wada undertook several proactive measures to alleviate and redress the gruesome situation. Some of the measures were:
  -  The setting up of a Flood Relief Committee, headed by the Deputy Governor, Arc. Yomi Awoniyi
  -  Embarking on dry season farming to avert a looming food shortage due to the submergence of farmlands in the flood
  -  The identification of flood plains with a view to resettling the people whilst discouraging them from building on flood plains.
  -  Awareness campaign on the possibility of floods in the State, following the prediction of NIMET during the Agency’s last Seasonal Rainfall Prediction (SRP) in Abuja.

While thanking the Baroness and her team for their visit, the Governor of Kogi State, Capt. Idris Ichalla Wada, who was represented by the Deputy Governor, and Chairman, Flood Relief Committee, Arc. Yomi Awoniyi, advised the people of the State to be patient; he also admonished those living on flood plains to relocate to higher ground, as the Government of Kogi State has not forgotten about their plight, adding that it was in order to get adequate support and assistance that Baroness Valerie and her team from the UN-OCHA were invited to the State.

Delivering her parting speech, the USG said she is “… aware of the funds required to rebuild infrastructure, but that is not within my powers in the United Nations, but I have UNDERTAKEN to work with the State to see if we can identify areas where funding may be made available.

20 comments:

Nice one, but I pray the funding that the Baroness say may be made available should not be misappropriated due to our leaders unquenchable greed!

This would be good to the affected people so that they can come back to life again since some of them loosed their belongings to the flood.

gud one, though there might not any benefit 4rm the meeting. . ..first to comment sha.

Mz MNB said...

mtcheeeeeeew. wateva doh!

orela said...

hope these people in power wont end up pilfering the funds?

Good job Governor Wada, only foreign aid can help out with that level of damage. The entire state was almost submerged during that flood!

Na wah ooo

e bonto said...

Abeg make d USG help d Kogi state people b4 anoda rain go come.

lol at prince charming;s unqueenchable greed.

This is GOOD NEWS

EMmm Linda u nd NEMA pipu don dey chop from dsame plate baa?

Kogi state is coming up! Good effort Wadawoniyi!

It must be said that the visit of Baroness Valerie Amos is unprecedented in the history of the State. However, kogites should not conclude that the USG has promised to give any form of financial assistance; after all, I do not necessarily think assistance must be in the form of CASH. Nevertheless, I think the government of Kogi State should lobby the USG very well, in order to get the much needed TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE she talked about; such (technical) assistance would go a long way in helping staff of the SEMA, Red Cross and other well meaning NGOs in the State in the area of capacity building.
Finally, kudos must be given to Barr. Ladi Ahmed Jatto, Special Adviser on Environment and Physical Development, Ms. Choice Okoro of the UN-OCHA, AVM Gabriel Abdul, and all those whose effort contributed to making the USG's visit a reality!
As for you, Linda, you are doing a good job! Well done!

Long live the UN!
Long live Nigeria!!
Long live Kogi State!!!

Martha J said...

Ladi weldone!

Aha, now Wada is making a progressive effort, foreign aid is of great importance in local govt where the whole residents leave in flood plains, the first day i climb mount patti,and i saw d ariel view i cried for lokoja, they need an urgent help, the town will def be consumed by water someday

Men wake up! Valerie Amos the UN USG a woman, Ms Choice UNOCHA woman and another woman ladi Jatto can some one tell the women will not take over the world very soon! Wait a minute i saw an Abdul =D kudos to the women in the world

Ah which kind prayer be this? abeg we no wan water consume us oh.flood plain nee flood plain ko, na today? Make them reclaim land nnah

Barr Ladi you are going places, kudos to your effort in briging development to your state.

kogi desperately needs foreign aid.Hope the town doesnt get submerged by heavy rains cos of river niger and benue

Inn shaa Allah Wada and Awoniyi will take kogi to the desaerve promise land, I urge the gOod pple of kogi state to be a little patient, pray and keep faith, things gonna be alright.