Police declare ex-deputy governor of Lagos state wanted for fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 June 2013

Police declare ex-deputy governor of Lagos state wanted for fraud

According to Punch, the Special Fraud Unit of the Nigeria Police has declared a former Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Alhaja Sinatu Ojikutu, wanted for allegedly defrauding a land buyer of N130m.

The SFU alleged in a statement on Wednesday that the suspect and her son, Samson, obtained money from the victim by false representation.

The Commissioner of Police for the command, Tunde Ogunsakin, said, “The victim alleged that in September 2011, the suspects conspired and sold a parcel of land at Plot 24 Block 4 situated at Admiralty Way, Lekki Phase 1, Lagos for N130m which he paid into the first suspect’s account with the Union Bank of Nigeria Plc. 

He further stated that after payment, he requested title document and Alhaja Ojikutu procured an affidavit of support to back her fraudulent claim, a police crime extract and a publication in a newspaper all purporting to loss of the original documents of title to the land.

The victim believed her because of her personality as the former Deputy Governor of Lagos State.
“The bubble burst when the victim commenced development of the land and was on the verge of completion when the bona fide owner of the land surfaced and indeed it was discovered that the land the suspect sold did not belong to her.  She actually sold Plot 23 Block 4 while Plot 24 Block 4 already has a property on it.”

According to police investigation, the land Ojikutu sold, did not belong to her, but to one Mr. Afolabi.  It was also discovered that the Plot 24 Block 4, which actually belonged to Alhaja Ojikutu’s late husband, Samson Ojikutu (senior), was sold by him in 1995 and the suspect was a life witness and appended her signature to the sale of the land.

Ogunsakin said the suspect further perpetrated the crime by alleging that the original Certificate of Occupancy to the property was missing and swore an affidavit which enabled her to obtain a police report and memorandum of loss.  She also put up an advert in newspapers that the original C of O was lost, whereas the original C of O was with the Hallmark Homes, the buyer of the property.
He said, “The suspect, who is a 67-year-old retiree from Lagos Island, allegedly connived with her son, Samson, who is currently in the United States to commit the fraud.  The suspect and her son were parties to the sale of the land and both signed the agreement given to the complainant and obtained the sum of N130m from him.

“She admitted committing the crime but confessed that it was a genuine mistake of plot identification.  She refunded the sum of N50m to the complainant and promised to refund the balance as soon as she disposed of her two properties she put up for sale.  She also confessed that she had invested the victim’s money in her business.

“She equally made an undertaking and payment plan which was drawn from September, 2012 and was to terminate by November 2012, but she defaulted.”

Ogunsakin stated that the suspect was not willing to abide by the terms of payment and had jumped bail. He added that all attempts to contact her had proved abortive.

“The SFU declares Alhaja Ojikutu wanted. Anybody with useful information regarding her whereabouts should report to the Commissioner of Police, Special Fraud Unit, 13 Milverton Road, Ikoyi,” he said.

Source: Punch

75 comments:

Oboi!

SMH! Greed runs deep in the blood of most of our politicians, both past and present!

I know this is off topic, but I just need to put this out there. Since when did the Nigerian customs officers receive the right to shoot at will? I ask because this will be the fourth time within two weeks that the officers along the idiroko road of Ogun state have killed people with the indiscriminate use of their weapons.
As I type this, there's a riot going on @ Ilase community cos one of the customs officers shot a woman on her way to the market. D woman has two little kids who have been made orphans as a result of their stupidity. I feel so bad... Cos instead of showing remorse, they have invited soldiers to oppress the crowd. I can't snap anything cos I don't want to get beat up. But this has got to stop.

Nah wao! So this people still don't know that a good name is better than money? Hmmm..

Critical Observer said...

there might be some mix up somewhere I bet. this is too much yo!!!

Disgraceful.

ALUTA EMIR said...

IF LOCATED, WHAT WILL BE DONE TO HER ABI NO BE 9JA WEY WE DEY. WHATS THE OUTCOME OF BANKOLE'S ISH

wow! cant believe she did that. Nigerians Sha.. O ga oo.. Stealing Millions.. Date a Millionaire In Nigeria, Sugar Mummy and Daddy, Rich Kids and Meet A Millionaire Friend Today

Shameless Grandma! @ 67 u r such a disgrace...linda u beta post ma comment b4 I vex 4 u...lolz

KIKIS said...

Since she has admitted, they should just seize her properties and sell. Honest mistake

The love of money#

1st to comment trash#eyes rolling

Na wa o, a whole ex deputy gov. O dikwa risky

What have they done with ones that are already in their net????.....

fly guy said...

we don't like retirement in dis naija, chasing money till we are a 100yrs, dats why someone like bamaga tukur is PDP chairman, Buhari still wants 2 be president, Annenih, Obasanjo,d list is endless

Na wa ooo, which kin honest mistake be this, mama, eleyi oo da a, someone's hard earned money, e beru olorun mama..

likita said...

"Oruko rere san ju wura lo"( a good reputation is worth more dan gold)...see wat greed has caused!if dis story is as narrated,toh.....Allah kiyaye!

Ah Know wia she is....saw Her Yestady selling pure water @ agege bus-stop...mtchewwwww!!!

Y d woman dey look like MFM member looking for husband

a no 4 me!!!.... rich man/woman rich thief, where she dey!!! mak una kach ham ooo.

What has happened to all the politicians who have been arrested for fraud at one time or the other? The cases always die a natural death. fashion and style @ raqueldaily.blogspot.com

Ladies, I just made a post about amazing and interesting nail arts. Do drop by, thanks.

GREEN said...

hw will she not know her own property. infact they shuld arrest her. she is one of the criminals in Nigeria. Wahala dey shaaaa, FIRST TO COMMENT

Is there are reward for revealing her whereabouts? I saw her at a wedding 2 wks ago praying (Islamic style) for the new couple :-) #notjokibg

sasha bone said...

women remain the most honest criminals. The men wldnt admit to the crime how much more refund a dime...

they should drag her ass to court and jail her.....thief

Hahahahahaha..... No ransom? We re still looking 4 Boko harram chairman wit a good ransom, so.. Mr what again?...ok CP, cry ur own Cry #toungeout#

How times changes.

OLE AJI BOOOLE....But come o who is the complainant, i am sure it's a well known person because i know if it was a regular citizen this thief would have gone scot-free.

lol

Agama said...

Na wa 4 9ja. That's how a serving custom officer scammed my uncle of 13 Million naira and the case was reported to this same SFU in Ikoyi and nothing has been done Cuz the custom officer has sorted them. It's either this woman didn't do the right things or she did the right thing with the wrong people

Her Excellency said...

Dis is disgraceful for such personality #cofa face# I hope d victim get justice sha. BTW for ur Internet configuratns, laptop repair n applicatns. Call eNvSn Tech for cheap services on 08034985934. Lili awayu 2day? E b lik say dis rain wan start 2day o

e bonto said...

My Country people,wonders will never end."The rich also cry"so all d money she made as a Deputy Governor is not enough 4 her?Its just greed and 419.

Aunty Deroju!!! O ga o. Na real wa.

Bloomandgrownaija said...

What a shame!

So former gov can go broke?

Una go thief during una stay for power, una go still dey thief thief after. Haba! U go provide the money o. Nor be all bone eba they push down, some stubborn bone dey!!!!

this is serious; and she's my mum's friend and ex school mate! hope she can clear herself o, cos its not funny.

As usual! Next...

Folarin Akin said...

Gobe

Naija babe said...

Odi egwu............... When a mother is a thief, what do u expect d son to be? Amu robber. Lmao....... Mama 67, God have mercy on you.

This her picture na wa o!
Am so disappointed in her!
thieves! she is out of government and has entered into 419 abi?
mshew!

Stealing dey ur blood ni?????

Lol..livescam

na wa o! madam polithiefcian,you no steal enough when u dey for power?

I think it is in her character because after 'making' money (that is what it is as almost all naija politicians do not go for service) as deputy governor; and her direct/indirect connection with a distressed bank in those years gone by (you know what I mean), she was not satisfied but to turned to a fraudster, then you will have no choice than to see reason that she is a serial thief. SFU will do good to give her 'tally number in their 'banking hall' to enable some mosquitoes seek 'redress'.

See her ugly face this case should nt end here ooh it should be seen to the last

Madam, pls try show face make u do anoda settlement plan wt man. Abi u no dey shame?
Tayz

Really??? That was what your pea sized brain got out of this story.

Skay said...

Ole gbe...Ole gba. Where did d personself get all that money from? State pension! Eh. They r all theives. N130M for parcel of land in a country where millions r starving. Lord have mercy

My thoughts exactly. If it were an ordinary citizen no one would bother

I was at the wedding too oh!!!! I must collect out of the reward too. She prayed and sang Islamic style. How much is the reward? Lets talk!

Who ask u? Notice me!!

In Nigeria being a politician is a full time job and that is what is killing these people because after their tenure they are jobless like every other Nigerian.. And start shady deals just to keep up the fake lives they live.

Hehehehehehehehe!

Ben said...

she must vomit all d money cos she has no self pride.........

Ben said...

she must vomit all d money cos she has no self pride.........

She defrauded a man with her son, what a shame. Seriously I can't imagine my body patting my back while I do summin illegal.

--Teeteelahyo--

So u think she will still be at the wedding venue....or what point are u driving at with this meaningless post?

An honorable like her.Better come out and clear this mess.

Lmao@polithiefcian

Α̲̅πϑ so?

Mama o!respect urself come out from ur hiding place and pay up d man.

Queen Bee said...

If U are too broke to comprehend then pass
Pple buy properties worth billions of naira!
And some pple are blessed not every wealthy person is a thief.

Dis is very very disappointing!

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Nawa o. Ex deputy

Honest mistake indeed, she n her son shld be prosecuted.ole!

Help me ask dem oh..by d way what has hapnd to politicians caught in d past..abegi same old story..give it weeks now nd it will die down ! @xclucivexter

If some1 can pay 130million naira into anoda person's acct to acquire a piece of land..u fink he's jst an average nigerian? Person wey neva chop finish dey c money buy land? Hmmmm..I comment ma reserve ! @xclucivexter

Well if U knew anything abt the wedding or the venue U'd understand why the comment was phrased that way it was. So carry go with your smart Alec comments #rudepeoplewhocanttakeajoke. In the name of being civil I keep it moving. Cheers.
And yes I made the original comment

There is nothing like mix up my brother. This is a display of high level of greed. If at 67 she is still doing this imagine what happens to her younger generation. I pity this nation. This is also to show you that a thief is always a thief whether corporate, political or common. Imagine having this type in leadership position when she hasn't led herself and her home properly. Linda, plz publish Val

LoL. U guys are mean. Allow the babe have her 1 sec of na me know am nau. Haba.

@ Queen Bee, I think the person's comment had more to do with the morality of spending that much on a property in a country where a majority of the ppl can't imagine that kinda wealth. Legit money or not, I think Nigerians have become desensitized to the poverty ard them #my2kobo

Linda who paid U to put this story up?? The person being owed 130 mil?? Just asking o cos its seems like "someone" is trying to shame this lady into paying

This story was on the front page of punch newspaper as at thursday. Anonymous June 21 @4:49pm, she wasn't paid to put it up. It's really obvious that you don't read well
Anyway, the old lady is tooooo greedy. She should be the one begging her son to stop such things instead of asking him to join her in the scam
I reject such for my family and all LIBers so I would type God forbid in five languages
Yoruba: Olorun maje
Igbo: Tufi akwa
Chinese: 上帝保佑
Danish: Gud forbyde
French: Dieu ne plaise

Linda, post my comment o. I'm your faithful boo of life

omg Sam's mum? :O