Supermom celebrates Heart of Gold | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 16 June 2013

Supermom celebrates Heart of Gold

Obesere and mum
Supermom is back. Promoters of the reality show that celebrates and rewards mothers have announced the commencement of the fourth edition with tinkered model and focus-Heart of Gold. This year’s edition will not be celebrating biological mothers but women who gave and are still giving their all to children they didn’t ‘mothered’ (give birth to), hence the tagline, Heart of Gold.

Cobhams Asuquo
Supermom which is sponsored  by Procter & Gamble; makers of Safeguard, Ariel, Pampers, Always and  Promasidor; makers of Onga seasoning and Cowbell is in the fourth year running and has consistently celebrated mothers who through dint of rare sacrifices raised their children to enviable positions in the society.

The first and second editions focused on mothers whose stories their children told with emotive conviction. The stories bordered on the sacrifice, pain and sheer hardship that 20 women went through in raising their kids. Some of them had their men watching helplessly beside or behind them as the case may be while for some others the supposed traditional bread winners were nowhere to be found.  Their stories were told with short dramas while the eventual winners were decided via votes from members of the public.
Skales and mum
The first set of winners won brand new houses, the first runner up, brand new cars while the second runner up smiled home with cash prizes.  
The focused shifted last year with mothers of celebrities put on the spot. From KSB to Julius Agwu, mothers of 20 celebrities gave rare personal accounts of how the famous faces were raised. Some stories moved the audience to tears while others invoked pensive mood laced with mild laughter brought about by knowing assurance that the end ‘compensated’  for the torturous and laborious means.
Mrs. Gladys Asuquo [mother of Cohbams] won the first prize and Mrs. Omobonike Anike [mother of Abass Akande PK1] and Mrs. Martinez Sanni [mother of Skales] were first and second runner-up respectively.
They won N2million, N1million and N500,000 respectively. They shared the prize money with motherless babies’ homes of their choices; SOS Village Isolo was chosen by Cohbams and Obesere while Skales chose Red Cross in Makoko.
This year the focused is on mothers who raised children they did not give birth to; mothers with heart of gold. Founders of motherless babies’ homes and various charititable organisations naturally take the front rolls but the stories of mothers with heart of gold did not start and end within the four walls of orphanages. Among the over 120 million Nigerians exist stories of women who nurtured other people’s children without discrimination and the results of their efforts are there for all to see.
Organisers, Digital Interactive Media (DIM) are calling for entries from people who know mothers who have made good success out of other people’s children. Entries can be sent in via SMS or email to 08183593220 OR supermomtvshow@gmail.com.
‘We need to celebrate mothers who without bias raised kids that are not theirs. Ask any mother, raising kids that are not yours is one of the ultimate sacrifices a woman can make. These women with heart of gold have proven that water can be thicker than blood sometimes’ Sola Fajobi, the executive producer said.  

20 comments:

Good!
Last to comment. Yeah!

oladayo said...

wow......nice one...abeg me too no mind o abi who tell you say na silver of wood heart i get

check hot stories here.

May God bless the "Heart of Gold"

dats gud.......yaxx

Nice one!

Pretty diana 1st!!!!

Quite commendable initiative.
Lindiway its unfair,you didn't wish Fathers Happy Fathers Day.

Make dem do papa own too.

Wow! Miss ya alot. Welcome back.

bold 5 said...

Linda abegg,enlighten me on when#amstel malta nxt movie star#form will be out 4 sale,cos I really wan go dis year own.incase anybody in d house knows dey should enlighten me thanks

TheChronicled I believe such programs are a worthy endeavours for the society

Amstel malta ve stopped their movie reality show.It only Next movie Star by DIM owner of supermum&spirited actor by sterling bank dat exist nw.Next movie star sales of form is out.Halyma

kunle said...

This is great and fantastic. Never seen such before. They should continue

Nice work.

May God reward them, its a nice concept, last season was superb...Read entertainment gist like you are watching it live HERE

That's sweet.

Wow! Dis is great nd it wil encourage upcming mothers too

Unical is d only sch that hav nt gotten JAMB regularisatn number for its Post Remedial students. Shame on the VC an Dean of science Unical. May ur children suffer same fate we suffer now directly or indirectly Amen. Linda post my comment na. Unical are failin to act now until d affected ppl protest an close down the school

Its a good initiative

Linda correct the title: is not Supermon, i think you meant supermum. RIGHT???