Italian designers Dolce&Gabbana sentenced to prison for tax evasion | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 June 2013

Italian designers Dolce&Gabbana sentenced to prison for tax evasion

Italian fashion designers Domenico Dolce and Stefano Gabbana, the men behind fashion power house, Dolce & Gabbana were today June 19th sentenced to one year and eight months in prison by an Italian court after being found guilty of tax evasion. They were also fined €500,000.

The multimillionaire designers were accused of hiding millions of euros from Italian tax authorities, charges they deny and have said they intend to appeal against any conviction.

Italian authorities are accusing them of moving their brand to a Luxembourg-based holding company Gado - in 2004, so they could avoid declaring taxes on royalties of about 1 billion euros.

The Italian authorities have been investigating the designers for about six years now and they were actually cleared of tax evasion/fraud charges at a previous trial in April 2011 but Italy's highest court overturned that ruling, ordering that the case be sent back to trial.

Their sentences have been suspended pending their appeal.

55 comments:

I doubt they will go to prison though, after the appeal its gonna be a different story all together.

Opens eyes...shakes my head and sighs...hmm na wa o

okorodudu said...

You see... even in a country that reeks of deeper levels of corruption than Nigeria justice still retains its value. It is pertinent to note that despite several judges having been murdered in Italy for refusing to corrupt the path of justice, the profession still boasts of men of integrity, men who place value on stuff greater than money. One day one day maybe we shall witness same in Nigeria. Amen.

wemimo said...

ghenghen..

All ds exploitative govt sef. Monkey de wrk, baboon de chop. Mschew. #bitesSugarcane#

na wa o, wit all d money

orela said...

that's justice bin served.....
magna carter. .none is above the law not even the rich.*laying back sipping ma vodka waiting for the final judgement*

Culled from where....Lindodo u b professional blogger now oh. Acknowledge the writer.

Meanwhile, Italians with evasion even the former president sef

Linda are u sure???? Cos as at dis morn on aljazeera, they said dey mite likely be sent to two nd a half years. Linda u sabi twist gist oh!!! First to comment yipppppeeeeee

Five Star Bakeshop said...

Why are the rich and famous notorious for tax evasion whereas the common man diligently pays his dues to the government ?

they all do it...first

Hooray d UK government need to take note and stop aiding economic theft by d ruling class n den accusing poor people of exploiting the benefits system. One rule for all

Sweetest Honey said...

Na wa ooo! Oyinbo dey smile ooo wen ÈŠ̝̊†̥ comes to tax payment! Na for ds country we escape som certain tins as Ï„̲̅Ñ’is!

Buh these men sef na wa for una...upon all the billions u pple are making yet u guys dnt wanna pay tax!

Buh i pray dey'r pardoned in d end sha and pay wateva dey'r owing the Italian govt!

hmmm this is serious.

ANYA IKENGA said...

This Bad belle government is everywhere o. Are they the ones that made Italy broke? They have not been in government and make most of their money abroad.

See how the mighty has fallen. But these guys are hard working. The niggurs that runs the Italian judiciary should not even try to hold em back. I love their brand.

Oyibo man dey shine eye for money too?

Naija politicians and businessmen get properties scatter all over europe too o?

Tax Evasion? SMH.....dem no dey recognise star ni? O ma ga o, who go try dat nonsense for lagos with terry G or Modella...Read Juicy Gist HERE

Wat rich pple or rather some rich pple for money. Nw yawa don gas

OH BOY.. Thats Serious ooo Date a Millionaire In Nigeria, Sugar Mummy and Daddy, Rich Kids and Meet A Millionaire Friend Today

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Aww so sad, I hope dey will learn their lesson frm dis

gistyinka blog said...

this man is naija ooooo,because that is how many nigeria politicians and business men and women usually do...

na wao,

what a pety

How in d world u gonna be making dat type of money and not pay tax??? They shld go to jail!!!

Tee

With all the money they are making, just to set part of it aside to pay their taxes they no fit! Their yansh dey tighten up when they hear is time to pay tax, now that yansh go losen up by force in jail! The tax collectors too, they should take it easy na? 1 billion euros...kilode??? Na wa oooo

Would u really blame them when dey tax d life outta dia coy!

Oops! E no easy to pay tax Õoooº°˚ ˚°Âº.. Pls don't put dem away. Linda if i no see my comment eh. We go fight.

Oh boy no be only for naija dis kind tin d happen oh.

DR.WHO said...

Marry me please???? Dolce? Or gabbana???.

If they go to jail, it will not be for tax evasion, if will be a divine punishment for their homosexuality.

Eve said...

Waiting for the appeal o, cos don't wanna believe they're actually guilty, just guess they're too big (moneywise) for that.

God with all the millions they have,jesus human beings are just....God and come to think of the amount they put on their product.
If snipes could get 2years why should is greedy asses get a year?5years would be fine plssssss not a year and 8mnths.

Don't you find it funny that sometimes your name is longer than your comment?

****Twizzy****

Hahahaha! I'm looking at Lionel Messi's cellmates if he's found guilty in spain.

***Twizzy****

Rough Diamond said...

My favourite designers! Have almost all their perfume collections. But y una no pay tax na? Nobody is above d law!

Married But Lonely said...

Europeans no dey carry tax play.

Bt they gat dis dough mehn,Y dnt they wana pay tax,jail is good 4 'em jooohr

Dlapikin said...

With all that money they make, they can't pay taxes to support their country... GREED!

Lil miss sunshine said...

Omo una stingy ooo... Wif ol d cash wey una get...una still no wan pay tax....anyway #jstpassin

I believe justice gonna take over IJMB Application Form And Program Into 200 Level

missy said...

I'm sure inmates be prayin dey go to jail!!so dey can make 'designer jail unfiorms' 4 dem..lolz

Sambagist said...

In a country where the law is respected and no one is above the law, Nigeria have a thing to learn form this

As them dey hold hands sef dey very suspicious. U sure sey apart from business partners, nothing else dey between them. Abeg police do thorough investigation about this angle.

LEARNER!!!

Becos the rich is made to pay about half of his income as tax and to dem dats a lot of money....for eg, the normal tax is about 10-20% but wen ur income is over a certain amount den ur tax becomes 50%...

U love dia brand can u afford it? See ur mouth like I love dia brand, *forcing posing*

Shut up! Hav u ever paid a single tax in ur life? Cos if u are told to pay 50% of ur income to d govt as tax u sef go find loophole to evade am

Who is talking abt sexual orientation here? U are jus a stupid dumb fool

Kai! Look at this idiot dat can't even afford a 3 square meal, wats the alarming information for? U are so disgusting *yawns and walks away*

Pity*tozo!

Troubled fellow anon. 6:59! Wats ur issh wit her comment?! Continue walking away from ur destiny. Ewu blog!

Or fuck em' in the ass

Lmao