OAU student gives birth & attempts to flush new born baby down the toilet in school hostel | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 June 2013

OAU student gives birth & attempts to flush new born baby down the toilet in school hostel

According to reports I got this morning from students of Obafemi Awolowo University, a female student of the school gave birth in the Moremi Hostel hall toilet and attempted to flush the baby but was caught my the hall cleaners.

They say the girl's name is Oyin (let's leave her surname out for now) and she's a 400l student of Electrical and Electronics Engineering. The incident happened early this morning around 7.

According to a student of the school who sent in the photo, a cleaner heard a baby crying inside one of the toilet stalls and saw blood coming from under the door as she went to clean the toilets. She quickly went to call other cleaners and the hall porters and they forced the door open.

When they entered the toilet they saw the student pouring water inside the closet, the baby turned upside down, with the head inside the closet. They also found bagco sack inside the toile

One of the women dipped her hand inside and removed the baby...a boy, who was still very much alive but bleeding from the nose. The cleaners called school management who rushed both the girl and the new born baby to Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital for treatment. The placenta fell while they were rushing the girl to the hospital. (Rescued baby pictured above)

279 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 279 of 279

Lord have mercy, when so many are crying for a gift like this, the baby shouldn't be given to the girl againoooo after treatment cos she doesn't deserve him @ all they should take the baby to a motherless home where someone in need of a baby can come & adopt him.

when she was enjoying herself having unprotected sex, she did't know abi? if her mum had killed her at child birth, would she be alive to be having unprotected sex all over the place???

All of you saying trash dat probably she felt like pooing, if u haven't given birth before pls don't say what you don't know. So if you wanna poo, does your water break? Or do you have labour pains when you want to poo? Or do you even have babies through your anus or your vagina. With all indication, this was a purposeful act abeg... She had tried several means to abort the baby but to no avail. The baby just refused to be aborted. She was just too naïve and made this mistake.

kyke said...

please don't flush unwanted children into d soakaway, that is murder. Its best u leave them by the door steps of people or motherless baby homes if u r incapable at the moment. Please this is very very wicked, harming a foetus... it shows lack of the fear of God.

Among these critics,80Percent of dem has don worst,what she did was bad,but have u checked ur side

Pls let's not be too quick to judge. First the lady never intended to flush the baby, she had been having contractions since midnight and felt like using the toilet when the baby came alongside. The attention of a female hall porter was called, who ordered the cleaner to help bring the baby out and called the school's health center.
Unfortunately, while trying to get child to clinic, the crowd was steered up with all manners of stories. In order to avert the crowd, the lady was taken through another route which was crowded with people who pushed the man that carried her, they both fell and also did the placenta. She was eventually taken to the clinic. The female porter said that her relatives and her 'husband', claiming that she is married, are already with her.

Lindaaaaaa. Post my commentsss. U sha don read am. That's what matters

Pls let's not be too quick to judge. First the lady never intended to flush the baby, she had been having contractions since midnight and felt like using the toilet when the baby came alongside. The attention of a female hall porter was called, who ordered the cleaner to help bring the baby out and called the school's health center.
Unfortunately, while trying to get child to clinic, the crowd was steered up with all manners of stories. In order to avert the crowd, the lady was taken through another route which was crowded with people who pushed the man that carried her, they both fell and also did the placenta. She was eventually taken to the clinic. The female porter said that her relatives and her 'husband', claiming that she is married, are already with her.
Anyway sha! We thank God that the baby and the baby momma are fine now.

She has mind oh. AH mogbe Baby Boy for that Mater. Yeeaah pah.

God Forgive her.

she would have taken the child to the motherless home

This happened in unical some time back, the girl left the baby in the big container of water in the toilet and the baby drowned, no one got to know who the mother was.

Same thing happened in 2004 in one of the hostels UNILAG. The babe flushed the baby, leaving the babies legs hanging out and ran away. The cleaners found the baby dead and Ofcourse she was caught.

S.H.A.S said...

pple are wicked shaaa

OMG!!! After carrying the baby for nine months? Haba Oyin, with the pain you went through for the baby to be delivered, why can't you just bear the pain and the scorn which is just for a while and put yourself on the feet again. That baby is a bundle of joy...Oyin you acted so hopeless and neva tot deep.

There are more efficient ways to dispose the baby,dissolve the little guy in acid,mutilate,or burn..i still prefer the mutilation.

U people should take it easy. Cos no one knows d girls circumstance or condition; perhaps she was raped, or didn't know she was pregnant early enough, has a mental health problem, etc. It could be anything. Though I'm not condoning what she did, I just hope she gets help as opposed to condemnation

Exactly! People are too quick to condemn

What if she was raped? Hav u considered that possibility, moron?

She's not a technology student oo,she's an agric std...engrs aint lyk dat,linda post ma comment oo

LIB readers, please, let us educate ourselves. The girl probably is suffering from post-natal depression . Many pregnant women experience it during labor. It is a psychotic mood which can cause confuse in the brain. She may see the baby as evil or out to kill her so she decided to kill the baby.

Speechless

Its so unbelievable that in this day and age girls would rather kill their babies than give them up for adoption.. The most honourable thing would be to give up the child for adoption, a smile will be put on some faces if that was done instead trying to kill the child but her action is just a reflection of our society. We don't think of how our situation can assist others, we are just consumed with our selfish desires and wishes.
I pray she survives the trauma, and most importantly I pray that baby survives to be great!

My God. May God forgive this girl oh. Tnk God for d lives of those cleaners.

The girl na eleha,this people hide alot under their gament,she is too heartless

God, I hve so much to gve to children but thank God I stll hve one nd I hve bn askin for another .. See how some pple just get pregnant nd throw away babies!like notthin matters! If only some pple understand wat some womengo tru to get pregnant! It is well

Good people do bad things. Never judge.. So you've never tried to kill a baby.. but have you gossiped, cheated, lied.. SIN IS SIN ..no big or small sin.

I wish we can get details of the girl to help her emotionally and financially.. Only God knows why she made such a decision. Linda please follow this story. Thank You

Well,i will like to let u know that it is very possible for her to get preg and not know,am not going to argue why,u can watch d series on tlc (i didnt know i was pregnant ) on dstv
2) most times u can go into labour and pass excrete first b4 having d baby almost immediately happened to me
3) also not many apple have big tummies making it easy to disguise
4)i won't want to believe she delivered in d toilet with d placenter still in here nd would be able to go carry a bucket of water.
Still i think she needs urgent therapy and yes pple do give birth i d closet unknowingly,even nurses don't allow u to sit and wee in one,once u re in labour and not all deliveries takes time,am an example of that.

Greatest Ife!!!Great!!!

U are a bastard 4 dat utterance

Hmmm.. That is very serious!

Oyin I don't even know what to say to u, ARU

wemimo said...

Shut ur dirty gutter mouth.ode oshi ...using ur cursed fingers to type rubbish..and madame oyin...weyrey ni e oh...Eleribu.

Abeg ask her o. Heard she's even a hijab moslem. Her pregnancy was concealed wiv d ijab. I hope d baby is fine

if she was killed lyk dis in her mother,s womb will she be able to do dis nw.reason

Pls tell dem o

Senera said...

And she will get married one day and expect to have a child. Y nt give the baby to the motherless babies or for adoption instead of killing him. Haba

Joshua Emeka K. said...

Thank God for saving this baby. He is unique. His destiny shall be fulfilled.

Joshua Emeka K. said...

Thank God for saving this baby. He is unique. His destiny shall be fulfilled.

Haba, wat was she thinking, an innocent baby dat cannot fight back. My hrt is tearing apart thinking about dis. I really thank God dat she didnt succeed. Its so sad.

Shola Adebuga said...

NPlease can you provide me Oyin's phone number or any means you know i can.reach her?
I would have love to visit her where she is receiving treatment but am not close enough to take the trip but am about to make arrangement for someone to visit the school.
Contact me nmpi@usa.com
Thank you.

speechless!

kunle said...

Linda, got this info from a forum. Don't know how perfectly true but it is near.
[Vessel4christ reporting:
It is a confirm news. It happened this
morning. The girl in part 4 elect-elect
went inside d toilet, gave herself self-
delivery and threw the babt inside the
water closet. She stuffed the baby's
mouth with a cloth in order not to
attract attention from co-students. She
flushed the baby but the baby wouldn't
flush. The she used a stick to push the
baby down the pipe. As this was going
on, a cleaner entered and saw the
drama. She begged the woman not to
raise her voice. The woman who could
not contain such a horrible sight
screamed, but before people could
hear, the lady in her penultimate year
ran away with placenta still inside her.
The baby was recovered and the lady
was also seen hiding behind one of the
buildings in pain. The baby who had
sustained series of injuries from the hits
of the stick was rushed to the health
centre in an ambulance and later d
mother who is almost dying. It was
reported that the placenta came out as
the lady was on her way to the health
centre. I also hear that the ambulance
climbed on one of the on-looker's leg
and is also currently receiving
treatment in the health centre.
This happened when OAU students are
busy writing their first semester exam,
and it is believed the girl, in an attempt
2 finish exam with her mates carry out
this criminal act. Room mates were left
mouth-ajared because they all
marvelled at how an occupant in the
room will be pregnant for months and
nobody among them could suspect.
Am sorry i have an exam tomorrow
morning... That is why i will not be able
to proof-read what i have posted.
Thanks. Bye!]

What has Yoruba got to do with this issue now? I wonder why some people like to bring tribalism into every issue. Oga o.

OLORI said...

Abortion is still beta dan dis

me am jux happy it ddnt happen late @ 9t.. she myt have gotten away wit it. cos i heard she went 2 have d child in anoda block's toilet. God knws best.

Sorry bitch,.u cannot flush God creation!!

Linda ,this happened in Command Ibadan in 2001 by a girl called Ene .she gave birth her self and used cutlass to cut the cord and buried the baby behind the hostel so when people came to the hostel during break time the ground behind d hostel kept vibrating 'cos the baby was crying ...they had to dig and bring the baby out...

GLAM ME PRO said...

exactly my thoughts too. she saw that article of d china woman and decided to try it out. some articles that ppl read here poison there mind while some make use of the good ones to do good. its quite sad though!

Shola Adebuga said...

My people never cease to amaze me/ You all read what you guys know are full of make up, dem say dem say and you took to raining curses and condemning Oyin.

Only one or two people asked questions and some of you rain curses on one of them.

YES, it is possible for her to have gone to the bathroom cos she was pressed and alas, a baby was born. I am a mother of 3, so I know the feeling from my first experience.

Secondly, aren't we suppose to be asking the right questions? Do Nigeria govt have social services in place for its citizens? I firmly believe that if Oyin had the opportunity of living in western world, you would have seen her celebrating and sharing pictures of her new baby on bbm, fb, twitter, instagram, you name it.

Here is a 400L student. Only God knows the circumstances she got pregnant. We have quite an alarming rate of students in Nigeria institutions solely catering for themselves and families they live behind. In 2013, is any politician or citizens talking about having some kind of student loans and repayments? Or they they taking measures to make education convenient for citizens.

I am 100% positive that this lady didn't plan of murdering the child cos if she had that in mind, she wouldn't have carried his pregnancy to full term.

In a country where there are no proper amenities/services, how do you expect her to cope with finishing school, going for service and looking for never ending employment search with a baby without support from any one, social agencies or the govt?

We need to be asking the right questions. As the Yoruba say "Yara gbo oro, lora fesi" Until you know the facts, be diligent in involving in cases like this.

Also, as Oyin has been condemned by most, are you guys REALLY thinking about the baby and REALLY CARE? cos if you truly do, I didn't read anywhere about how you are planning on reaching out to the baby. No be food the child go chop?

PS: If anyone know Oyin, study in OAU or have any means to enable me reach out to her, pls let me know. I will really appreciate your effort.

Thank you all.

where some people are seriously seeking to have their own children,even though it meant having just one.God blessed Oyin with one and she almost killed the baby.Life is such an irony.why did she get herself involved in unprotected sex in the first place, when she knew the outcome will be a baby?

You ever thought of poetry?

***Twizzy***

Shut up am sure u can do the same.... Wicked people

Pls be sure of info before posting as the girl is not a student of the prestigious department of Elect/Elect department of OAU but of Agric.

Admin said...

NOT ELECT/ELECT Pls. always get the real and accurate information before you post.
We have good Girls in My Class and Dept. Pls and Pls, facts matters no matter how minute in news of this nature, @LindIkeji Pls, Take note and We'd really love to see your action to that effect.
Great Ife.

Oyin why? did U̶̲̥̅̊ do D̶̲̥̅̊Ĭ§,U̶̲̥̅̊ will be in jail of god.

I pray this baby survives. And since she decided to flush this living being down a toilet, I pray this is the last baby she has. She is evil. I have friends spending millions to do IVF all in the hope of getting pregnant, if she didn't want the baby, what stopped her from going to a hospital in Gbongan or wherever, deliver it and leave it there? That would have been much better than this diabolical act

Now u all should stop trashing dis gal!did she get herself pregnant ???where d f**k is d guy,he should probably be somewhere having fun...this gal might be in a state where she is not different from a mad roaming d street...God have mercy on us.

Reading through all these comments, I just pity the girl and all the curses people are reining on her. Linda posted a wrong story are people are just being judge mental. The baby was 7months old and not 9months, the girl wasn't attempting to flush the baby but locked herself inside the toilet because she was ashamed as people had already gathered round the toilet. She lost a lot of blood and its a miracle she's even alive. It all happened on my floor. I pray mother and child are doing well.

Behold baby,this is my prayer for u. u shall be great in life.All those who strive with you( including your parents)shall perish, u shall seek them and not find them,those who contended with u shall perish.so BABY,fear not,THE LORD WHO CREATED YOU SAYS HE WILL UPHOLD U WITH HIS RIGHTEOUS RIGHT HAND, YOUR REDEEMER, THE HOLY ONE OF ISRAEL.FEAR NOT BABY, HE IS YOUR RIGHTEOUS,FAITHFUL GOD. EMMAUEL ,GOD IS WITH YOU. SHINE ON

Sam said...

@linda, i am a student of OAU, and a friend to one of d lady's roommate, the said lady is a student of Agricultural Extension and Rural Soiology. Also,to people commenting, don't forget,"For all have sinned..."...What we do in our closet, only God knows.--Probably abortion, masturbation, and the likes.. I pray God will grant us the grace to follow him to the end...Let's not judge her...it could be you, it could be me. It takes God's grace

@ynaija, mind what u write i am a student of OAU, and a friend to one of d lady's roommate, the said lady is a student of Agricultural Extension and Rural Soiology. Also,to people commenting, don't forget,"For all have sinned..."...What we do in our closet, only God knows.--Probably abortion, masturbation, and the likes.. I pray God will grant us the grace to follow him to the end...Let's not judge her...it could be you, it could be me. It takes God's grace

god go purnish her, idiot

so na u no wicked ,idiot see mouth

abi nw

May God 4gv us

concerned citizen said...

For all have sinned and fallen short of His glory.....I rest my case....

Couldn't she use a condom initially?.....Ok.....let's assume that failed;let's say the AHF Condom dispensers are not yet in OAU.....An abortion nko?...........She's just a stupid girl jor!......400 level for that matter.......Na wa o!

Nobody rili knwz d true st0ry oh

Baby said...

Oyin! Why why why?

So why did she go thru 9 months of carrying the baby in her womb, only to get rid of it after birth? God pls have mercy on the world!!!!

Dis is vry disapointin y didn't u abort d baby? u kwn u are nt ready 2 catter 4 a child y did u open ur legs 4 a man at d 1st place? I kw nobody is not perfect but u are hrtless

@dose of you asking her to have aborted the baby before now, i suggest you think again. are you supporting abortion
it is sin...

Linda, you make up lots of lies against people! Karma will for sure get to you! useless old fool like you. You should have come to our school to ask! copy and paste fool like you. fuck off and I think old age is for sure getting to you

This is tragic! But oh how Nigerians can be such hypocrites!

How mnay of the women expressing outrage have secretely aborted babies?

How many of the men have impregnated girsl and, when faced with the consequences, said; 'Will you keep it'? What is the difference. Such disgusting behavior is MURDER!

Wake up! And stop fooling yourselves!

lol linda your story isn't true. i used to think people just diss you when they say you spread lies,but with this story,i dont think i'l ever find credible any gossip of yours. I must admit i am so disappointed in you.

Vaughn said...

This is cool!

Namige Kayondo said...

How very sad!Unfortunately even in this day and age when you expect a university student to know about contraception, this sort of event still happens, and not only in Nigeria. This books about Africa says a lot where we are headed.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 279 of 279   Newer› Newest»