Nigerian girl left disfigured after acid was thrown in her face as she walked home | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 1 February 2013

Nigerian girl left disfigured after acid was thrown in her face as she walked home

20 year old Naomi Oni was disfigured for life when a unknown person wearing a niqab threw acid in her face as she walked home from work on Sunday December 30th in Lodge Avenue Dagenham, east London.

Naomi told The Evening Standard that she was on her way back from work when  she heard someone behind her. She explains:

'I’d been working a late shift and was talking to my boyfriend about what we were going to do for New Year when I saw this Muslim woman wearing a niqab covering her face. I thought it was a bit strange at that time of night, but she didn’t say anything and I kept on walking.
'Then I felt a splash on my face. It burned and I screamed out. I started running and screaming, holding my face, all the way home. I didn’t look back. I got home and I was screaming and banging on the door. I was hysterical. Luckily my godmother, who is a pharmacist, was at home with my mum and she helped me and kept dipping my face in water and trying to calm me down until the police and ambulance got there.
'I was in shock. Saying: "Who would do that? Who would do that?" How could anyone do this?'.
Naomi recently released photos of her disfigured face after police failed to find the person who did this to her. She's now appealing to the public to help her catch her attacker. She said she would never feel safe with her attacker still at large. She also said the attack has destroyed her life 
'I look in the mirror and it just isn’t me. I’ll never look the same again. I’ve always been outgoing and confident in my job and in my personal life, used to getting attention for the way I dress or my hair, but now I don’t want anyone looking at me. I don’t want people to see me in public. I don’t want to get the Tube or the bus. If I have to go to the hospital I take a taxi.
'I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to go back to my job. I was planning to go to college in September to study media and fashion, but I don’t even know if I’ll be able to do that.
Even with the support of my family and friends and boyfriend I feel very alone,' she said. 'Nothing is going to be same anymore.'
Naomi faces years of skin grafts and plastic surgery 

220 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 220 of 220
lary said...

To describe this in one word WICKEDNESS, I wish her quick recovery, thank God she didn't gone blind. Their is always a clue in this type of incident and the best thing for her is to think very well to avoid the worst. Get well soon Pretty.

no matter what u hv done u dont deserve this,having said that think properly its uk na u may have been bitchy to someone at work or skl or even at d station and u knw they r psychologically deranged over here,so u gotta b careful.

And u are a miserable fellow!

Dats a big. Fat lie.just shout up ur mouth

no matter what u hv done u dont deserve this,having said that think properly its uk na u may have been bitchy to someone at work or skl or even at d station and u knw they r psychologically deranged over here,so u gotta b careful.

Thunder fire ur mouth....I wish u a full acid bath,atleast wen u luk ursef in d mirror u wl be able to see d difference...ekwensu

See this unsuccessful one so u tho k Britain giving me paper is an achievement your a bug fool I'm sure your one of those poor people struggling there I'm in Lagos I leave in magodo I'm 28 yrs old nd I own 5 houses there nd my money is legally earned so stop talking crap been to the uk more than enough times and seen most of the struggles abeg

Only an insecure Nigerian living in insecure Nigeria will chat thrash like this.

dnt worry...God wuld c yhu tru

@p5 u sound like u da one who did it

Is not everyone who wears hijab that is a muslim. The person might just use this as a disguise to carry out his or her act. Beware islam is peace.

Tunsweet said...

omg, people are wicked (ayele).

@ anonymous 9:37 you want to kill all Muslims if you had your way yeah. Is that what your religion teaches you?????

Lare said...

Wicked world! I pray God gives Naomi Oni total transformation with all d necessary aid and make u beautiful,gorgeous n self confident than ever.The wicked shall never see peace

THIS IS SO SAD I PRAY gOD HEALS HER SOUL AND SPIRIT COS SHE'S SO BROKEN

nkem.I.P said...

Yes of cos she is one of those miserable wives

Na waooo,so sorry.Thank God only the skin was affected.It will heal and scale off and blend. But a law has to be passed,any one that pours acid on some one else should bag a death sentence.I see such act as an assassination,I will write to the house of assemble concerning this.By the way,hear palm oil is helpful for lessening an instant acid bath.

Some friends are terrible...trust no1. sum peeps re juz so dumb.....God av mercy, juz bcoz dey said Niqqab doesnt mean d person dat did it is a muslim.

Hope u feel really brainless now following thw sequel to this story.. God gave us all brains to be able t think.. not just read a story from the media and run with it...

I hope this person with low I.Q reads the latest news about this girl's story. Instead of showing pity to the affected girl, you are busy hating Muslims. I ask you, if you hate Muslims to the point of willing to kill all of them aren't you worse than Mary Konye, Naomi' friend who bathed her with acid?. People like you display ignorance because of your low I.Q and level of exposure. With this kind of hatred in your heart, you are worse than the perpetrator of the evil act. Mind you, I'm a Christian and my Bible did not teach me to hate but love others. How do you even preach to others? God have mercy on you.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 220 of 220   Newer› Newest»