Third Mainland crash: ‘I was not speeding’ - rescued driver says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 January 2013

Third Mainland crash: ‘I was not speeding’ - rescued driver says

Culled from Punch
Olusola Oladimeji, the driver of the Toyota Sienna that fell off the Third Mainland Bridge into the lagoon on Saturday, has described his escape as a miracle.
The father of three said contrary to reports by traffic and emergency officials, he was not on high speed when the incident occurred.
Oladimeji, who is a minister of the Mountain of Fire and Miracles Church, said he was on his way home from work.
See more after the cut...

He said, “I work on the island and I left home for a meeting in the early hours of Saturday. After the monthly environmental sanitation, I started driving back home.

“I was driving at the speed of 60km/hr and was on the fast lane because the road was free. At Ebute Meta bypass, I saw two vehicles that had been involved in an accident but I kept on driving. Suddenly, everything went blank, I couldn’t see anything again, and I just found myself in the water.”
Oladimeji said he did not lose consciousness in the water and as such, was able to loosen the seat belt.

He said in the water, he saw a ray of light and swam towards it.
He said, “I was not on high speed. When the car hit the railing of the bridge, the airbag was not released.

“After falling into the water, I unfastened the seat belt and noticed that one of the doors of my car had broken off, so I swam out of the vehicle to the surface of the water even though I don’t know how to swim.

“It was while I was waving my hand that fishermen saw me and quickly came to my aid. They took me away from the scene and took me to a clinic located on the water where they administered the first aid.”

PUNCH Metro learnt that Oladimeji was later taken to the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital where an X-ray scan was conducted on him.

“The doctors said that my leg was not fractured. They, however, cast my leg with Plaster of Paris because I had a sprain,” he said.

Oladimeji said contrary to what is written on his medical report, he is 43 years old not 53.
Our correspondent, who visited the Abule Egba home of the victim, observed members of his church came in droves to felicitate with him.

A pastor at MFM, Berkeley Parish, Mrs. Praise Onanuga, said the incident was an indication of the existence of God.

She said the victim had just bought the car eight days before the accident.

She said, “Brother Oladimeji is the leader of prophetic group and a house fellowship coordinator. He was supposed to have been at a vigil with us the night before but he begged to be excused because of the meeting he was to have on Saturday.

“He bought the car just eight days before the accident and we were supposed to do the dedication today (Sunday) but we thank God that we were not put to shame.
“We will hold a thanksgiving for him soon because this is a miracle.”

106 comments:

Wow God is Gracious.Thank God his life was saved

Eva said...

I thank God for his life

A miracle indeed! Thank God for him o! But what most have happened sef if I may ask? The everything going blank and all, and then just 8 days after buying the car, hope say no be village things? Well, Thank God the devils plans didn't come to pass.

segunsd said...

God is still abundantly able to deliver and to save those who trust in him.

Listen to What multi-billionaire Warren Buffet thinks about making spraying cash at parties on naijaPOSE

Chidozie Mario said...

This is really a miracle. Could he have been sleeping or not very experienced?
Pornography Addiction: My Own Story

Trully a miracle

Blog Whore said...

God is indeed Awesome.......

God is at work,no wonder d bible said dat,i will protect thee,guide thee n continue in d same scripture dat i will bless thee n i will never leave u alone unless dis promise are fulfill.God is great,although dis is nt a surprise so far God is still on throne he will continue to protect us frm evil deed (AMEN)

Thank Hod he is alive ohh!!!

Linda this drivers madical history must be properly evaluated there are several medical reasons why a driver can go blank while driving and we must not in the name of a miracle allow such go unchecked but trust me he is just one lucky fella

Oluwaseun Temitope said...

This is the lord's doing and it is marvelous in our sight. God has proven himself as a wonderful God in his life. May he never leave anyone of us alone. I rejoice with Pastor Oladimeji's Family.

sleeping tinz

God's Miraculous finger at work! Thank you Jesus!!!

Wow! to God be d glory,this is a miracle.
hmmm trust Lagosians,church population doubled already.

Omashe ooo

To G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴͡D̶̲̥̅ be d̶̲̥̅̊ Glory

God of mountain of fire,God of Dr d.k Olukoya,God of Elijah dat answereth by fire set u free....d enemies ave been put to shame

Jejelove said...

Good to know you survive

Cute Mimi said...

waoo! God is indeed faithful! He kips 2 his words.

Praise d lord...miracle is real. Thank u sweet Jesus!

NK said...

Real Miracle!...To God be d glory

****Mufasa Said said...

We praise the God of Daniel Olukoya!!! God You are wwonderful for not putting ur children to shame. May our enemies not mock us even as we serve God deligently!!! Thank God for ur life Sir.

****Mufasa Said

God be praised.

Hallelujah!!! The lord is good.

He bought the car 8 days before the crash, maybe he's still a learner... Thank God for your life, sir. God is truly alive. Me wey no sabi swim how I wan take escape such.

Devil is a liar! agent of darkness at work. Light will always supercede darkness. i thank God for you

hot girl said...

bless God!

Miracle! Miracle!! Miracle!!! This is an indication of God's existence. Glory be to God in the highest

Praise God!!!

Hmmmm, it is indeed a miracle..am happy for him o. God is great

leo4life said...

Purely the hand of God almighty! God is merciful!!! Glory to HIS name.

lara said...

our GOD IS WORKING.he is a great God

RAPTOR said...

FAULTY AND UNBALANCED SHOCK ABSORBERS

Smh.."He saw a ray of light" mscheeew

Thank God for is life. And we should also thank God that non of the family was inside the vehicle with him. Glory be to God.

Its indeed a miracle.thank God for his life.

For some reasons,I felt this accident was not ordinary...but no matter how much the enemy strikes, God's mighty hand is way way greater. AS CHILDREN OF GOD, WE ARE OVERCOMERS AND MORE THAN CONQUERORS, that's if u believe.

Pls people, don't forget to put God first everyday. Visit and follow my blog, www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com It's a Christian blog which I know you will like. God bless you real good.

debby said...

Its a miracle indeed.thank God

God is great.indeed its God dat could have done this . what a miracle wow wow wow. am glad dat God still shows Himsef as He promised . HE is always with us at all times

i join u an ur family in thanking Almighty God 4 ur lyf.
*Omotoke*

It is a miracle indeed,thank God.Anny

Ots really a miracle, i wanna appreciate God n your behalf.

mala said...

What?????!!!!! He survived??? na wa o. I am going to start going to MFM for real

Goose bumps all over my body,God is so good,he is worthy 2 b praised.

chynwe said...

His God has proved himself faithful.make car go,life is more important

vs quare said...

Bro Oladimeji,y☺ΰr life ȋ̝̊̅§ a living testimony,A̶̲̥̅♏ happy w̶̲̥̅̊ı̣̣̣t̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊ ųя family.Bro hold tight to that ųя GOD.congrats

Thank God,our lord is good.my church is d best church ever.power must change hands.

Fantasyberry said...

ITS A MIRACLE INDEED

Alleluia King Of Glory! Master of the universe. Alagbara ni Olorun. Ko si ohun ti ko le se. To Amighty God be the Glory. Thank you Jesus. Congrats bro Oladimeji.

A Big Miracle...

June said...

Really,This is a Big Miracle..But from what the Driver said, i believe he lost control after he avoided the accident ed Vehicle on the Bridge..Driving isn't as easy as it seems + Wicked hands could be involved , who knows?? I'm very Happy he survived this + i pray God's gonna favour him with a 2012 model!

st said...

GoD is great Oº°˚˚˚°º.

the God of elijah,daniel and Olukoya will never allow any harm to come to members of MFM.thank you Lord!

Really a miracle! God be praised! Satan shame unto u!!!

God i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ a God of signs and wonder he would never put i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ children τ̅☺ shame.He would not allow T̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ world τ̅☺ ask us were i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ our God. T̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ same God dat perform this miracle would continue τ̅☺ protect and Guide U̶̲̥̅̊.indeed oluwa i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ faithful.Thank U̶̲̥̅̊ jesus.Ȋ̝̊̅ rejoice with U̶̲̥̅̊ brother ola.this i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ a great testimony. Lady j

Thank God.

julietta said...

Thank God for your life. Na only God know wetin really happen,maybe na sleep carry you sef..anyway thank God you are alive.

Nutty J. said...

Thank God ooo. God is good

totti said...

could not swim yet he did'nt drown in dt sea(nt swimming pool o).
My people miracle dey exist oo.

My people GOD does exist!take it!he's a miracle

kinky babe said...

miracle indeed, he shud just go 4 thanksgiving,shikena

chi said...

Thank God for his life u shall live to see ur children children no man can kill u keep worshipping ur God ur hands are clean

Ha

Anonymous @ 1.56pm I totally agree with you. The guy needs to have a medical check up and full blood work done. Lots of folks out there with medical conditions they are not even aware of and thus pose a danger to us all on the roads.
Some folks cannot see at night or when it rains and yet insist on driving. They admit this and will not go for an eye test cause "I do not want to use glasses"

Tanx to God....

amazing said...

its so good to know u survived. May God be praised!

juju tings

juju tings

I agree, I'm not medically trained but I've seen too many episodes of House not to know it is not his "village people" at work.

Nigerians and our innate ability to religionise everything. This man simply slept off on the steering wheel and he is only lucky to be alive. plain and simple

HMM..The devil is a liar. the man must obviously be a prayer warrior. the devil couldnt finish his job sef. shame on the devil. MFM for life

Bisola said...

God is awesome mehn! Jesus is alive! U better believe it! I thank God for him oooo!

I am guessing that this guy is kinda confused. I saw the accident on Saturday and it was on the Mainland to Island side of the road. So, I don't get how he could have been heading home from the Island. All the same, he has been given a second chance in life that many in his position aren't so lucky to have. He should praise and give thanks to the Lord.

@sunshine,shey u be mumu ni?y u dey tlk lik fool nah?

June said...

@ Bonario, Na u sabi dat one, General Overseer...

confessor said...

Abi ooooo,dats sleeping tinz na @everytin went blank...thank God he lived 2 tell d story

Maya said...

Wow,father Lord thank u for this great miracle *dancing*

Stop buying American 4th hand CARs ooooooo. They are accident repair cars been sold! Some of these cars have higher mileage whiwere fradulently reduced!

I thank God for ur life.God is truly worthy of our Praise!

GLORY BE TO THE HEAVENLY FATHER
THANK YOU LORD AMEN.

U r a fool, so u don't believe there is God. U better think abt hw u sleep and wake up evday and ask ur self who is behind it. God is more than able

Really thank God for his safety but this is wonderful beyond thinking. Does he mean, he doesn't know how the car plunge over the bridge and fell into the lagoon. The devil is a liar and shall always Fail in his mission.
Discover the Secret to losing weight and burning tummy fat

To God be the glory. He has done great thing. If the Lord be for His annointed, WHO can be against him. Thank you Jesus. Indeed u are a miraculous God.

praise the Lord!!!!!!! Halleluyah!!!!!.

Touch not my anointed and do my Prophet no harm. The driver walked through the valley of death triumphantly and miraculously, no evil befell him. I worship ur supremacy Lord.

Sam Oracle said...

We thank God he's even alive to explain whether or not he was speeding.

Ever loving God,merciful God, U r too much,may U alone be praised and worshipped. Thank U for watching over Your own..Love U loads

Glory be to the name of the Lord!

abimbola Dare

Last month, a car ahead of me suddenly spun out of control and headed into the bush. The driver couldn't tell what happened, all she knew was that the car suddenly veered right, it was a brand new car. On further checks we found out that the rear camber which holds the tire had snapped into two leaving the tire bent. It could be that the Sienna was an accidented tokunbo car, repaired in Nigeria.

Thank God for his life, but I still think he needs a thorough med check.Blanking out like that could be an indication of an underlying condition.

Thers sure stl a GOD dat rules in d affairs of men.evn in or unfaithfulness he remains faithful. For those who doubt,may God open d eyes of their heart so dey can experience U

*Linda. Here's the Naija factor again. When this happens in the developped world, certain questions are asked. He is tested for drunk driving/ the car is examined for defects to see the brand need to be recalled./ the roads are examined to see a possible cause. In my country, they blame it on the devil and attempt to test God.

We thank GOD for his life, but how can a car of such, the Airbag did not release, A car he just bought 8days old ,For those who think of buying American Brands, please watch out when buying one, for converted cars from right to left,Accidents vehicles, which are re branded Nigeria and sold to Nigerian at affordable price. Never u trust car dealers. please your safety is very important.

To God be d glory

what a mighty man we serve

GOD IS GOD..HE WILL NEVER FAIL.

I THANK GOD FOR PROVING HIMSELF AS GOD IN THIS ACCIDENT.HE HAS SHOWN THAT HE IS STILL ON THE THRONE.CONGRATS SIR FOR THE ESCAPE,HIS PROMISE HAS COME TO PAST IN YOUR LIVE.HE SAID with long live will i SATISFY THEE.I WANT TO APPEAL TO AS MANY WHO ARE YET TO ACCEPT GOD AS THEIR SAVIOUR TO DO THAT BEFORE ITS TOO LATE.ONLY GOD WOULD HAS DONE THIS.NO god CAN DO IT BUT GOD,SO ACCEPT HIM TODAY AS HE KNOCKS AT YOUR DOOR TO COME IN.

Lare said...

All we have to say is thank u Jesus.The race is not to the best of cars, it's not to the experienced drivers.May God shield us 4rm danger,it's then u'd understand

OMO NA GOD OH

OLUWATOBILOBA!!! IYANULOLUWA!!!

Is there anything God cannot do? LK1:37;MATT19:26

God really exist!

naija people and jazz .... no be jazz oh .. so many toyota recalls in the US. But sha, the escape from death was a miracle. For that, we thank God.