Nigerian student, Kevin Lakoju allegedly commits suicide in India | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 January 2013

Nigerian student, Kevin Lakoju allegedly commits suicide in India

According to The Times of India, a 28-year-old Nigerian student allegedly committed suicide after jumping off the second floor of his rented accommodation in Sector 41. Police said preliminary probe suggests that the deceased, Kelvin Lakoju, aka 'Biggie' was in depression.

Kelvin had been living in Noida since 2009 and was pursuing a photography course from an institute in Film City. Cops said he jumped off around 11pm on Wednesday January 2nd.
"We have questioned some people and came to know that he was upset for some reasons," said deputy SP, S Chinappa.
"His friends said Kelvin was good at studies. Some personal problem could be the reason for committing suicide," said a senior police officer.
Some sources do however allege that Kevin was pushed, others say he was killed then pushed. The Nigerian Embassy and the deceased's family have been informed about the incident. It is hoped that Nigerian authorities in India will do some investigation into the alleged suicide, and hopefully corroborate the suicide story, if indeed it was a suicide.

110 comments:

Fiiiiiiine boy!!! F**k up!!! May his soul RIP.... Sooo 1st!! Where dem niggaz @?...don diddy!

So sad, but why on earth would he think suicide is the answer? I suspect remote control.

St.Nomski said...

This fine boy? Depression? That's a possibility tho but the police should probe further. RIP Kelvin

IT said...

Linda he was killed by his landlord, before the incident he had already caLled saying his landlord wants to kill him as @when the father called d landlord didn't pick it was a murder case, but the indians quickly said its sucide to cover it up, so sad that they will cover it up with sucide, d deed had already been done bur in God we leave all to he sees n knows all I am a cousin to kelvin n we are griefed bur we will do noting but pray and say may his gentle soul rest in the bossom of the lord

pushed, killed or sucide, the fact remains he is dead. **pitty** http://trendevolution.blogspot.com

Yhis needs to be thoroughly investigated and not let off easily. this guy was pushed or killed and pushed oo haba! If na suicide he no go drink poison or overdose? second floor dey kill? for india? them kill am abeg

theLASTMAN said...

A NIGERIAN IS GENERALLY THE LEAST LIKELY PERSON TO COMMIT SUICIDE IN THE WORLD. I SUSPECT FOUL PLAY.

RIP KEVIN LAKOJU

nekkyville said...

He looks cute n healthy though.but y wud somone kill himself?

He was pushed n killed. Its dat simple

I suspect foul play here, a promising young man who is over seas just committing suicide over depression? And then of all the suicide methods available he had to choose to jump from a building? I don't believe that story. The Nigerian Embassy really has to come in. R.I.P brother.

segunsd said...

This is awful. Nigerians are not suicidal people. I believe he must have been pushed. Can you imagine the kind of ambition he had that took him to India to learn photography. How will he then commit suicide? It is strange for Nigerian men to commit suicide except na spiritual sturvings. This matter should not be swept under the carpet abeg.

I can bet ds dude was killed! Which kind of suicide?abegi! Like Linda said his death shd be properly investigated o.meanwhile,RIP and may God console his family.

May his soul RIP...Amen.

teemah beent said...

I no trust Indians o,I don notice say dem de violent and heartless. Abeg make dem look into d case well well.

John wizson said...

men the guy will not do such thing, for me i will say that he was killed by his enemy.

teemah beent said...

I no trust Indians o,I don notice say dem de violent and heartless. Abeg make dem look into d case well well.

Hmmmmmmmm.......nigerians no dey commit suicide easily o- Ruthie I izz

Handsome dude. Kevin y did u commit suicide? Wateva it was, is not worth it for u to take ur life. R.I.P dear kevin

RIP Kevin Lakoju but it sounds very suspicious. Depression is common among Nigerian immigrants living in other countries but to commit suicide as result of depression is a bit odd, I would think

Very sad!....suicide???...nahhhhh Nigerians would never commit such, bad as e bad...I smell a rat and a rotten fish!...Zee

This ppl kill our brothers\sisters nd will end up saying that is suicide story fucking liers!

Moi Moi said...

Another Young Soul gone....
kinda fishy though even though India have one of the highest suicide rate in the world.

Damie Alabi said...

Seems like the reality of the indian movie \'three idiots\' wat a painful loss.may God console the family.

pee said...

Too sad!..I hope the culprits are caught and purnished if at all it was murder.

Suicide is not our culture! Its very possible dat kelvin was killed.

I smell foul play.

freeangel said...

Wot a painful exit. Rest in peace kelvin

Even when I saw just the post without even reading the story I knew something was fishy. Does Indians are terrible and their cops are the worse they would cover any dirty secert. They don't even care about their fellow Indians let alone a Nigerian. That was surely homocide and not sucide. Some killed him. May he rest in peace. Amen.

Nigerians do not commit suicide period!!!!

I don't believe its suicide, am sure some1 else did it and they tagged it suicide cos he's a nigerian.. That's what they do to our people in most of these foreign countries. They're really wicked to us Nigerians.

princessa said...

Nigerians no dey commit suicide like that, its not in our DNA, am sure he was pushed or he had deep problems, I just hope they investigate. May his soul RIP

Not good, not good at all...anyway life goes on,I've not paid my house rent.

Shouldn't a student have somthing to hope for to stay alife? I smell a rat jor!

NAija guy wise pass that 1,am sure he was killed!Rest in peace..

Tolantino said...

I no trust this story. I definitely smell a fish somewhere. I lived in India for close to 2 years and I know how dem fit be for that side.

I sure hope the truth comes out.

They shud investigate well ooo. Nigerians don't commit suicide no matter what.It's very rear. I have dis feeling he was murdered.

June said...

Hell tins...causing Ūя family pain this new year

charmin girl said...

Its an open lie joor.dem kill d guy.RIP

Its so sad.. Am presently @ his family house now to pay my condolence.

Na lie joor...nigerians don't commit suicide like dat....we aint whites, very hard to c a nigerian killing him/herself unless na ewu awusa...cynthy

Chrisbrizzy said...

'This is impossible, how could a cute guy like this take his own life' a friend screamed...To completely arrogate to yourself that you know what a man is capable of or the intents of their being by mere looking at their faces is like jumping into a river to save your twin (your reflection) you saw at the bottom. It's a huge dose of foolishness. The face is like a festooned prezzie, what's inside you can never tell.
God bless his soul if otherwise is the case.

DownUnder said...

Hmmm get to India ,start school. Then commit suicide? I smell a rat

MAMA WISE said...

This one na remote control invisible bullet from naija.my fellow naijas, Who goes to study in india? issorai, God is watching.

Sucide ke? This boy dose nt looking like one who will get fede of life so easily. He appears to me like a gud fighter. Indian authority has lots of explaination to give. I don't buy that sucide crap!

Nigerians are not known for committing suicide. Dude was pushed. Shikena.

Uduak Dyamond said...

What a way ƫσ end one's life *teary eyez*

Uduak Dyamond said...

Keke said...

Depression? Judgin by that pic and d fact that he is 28 and there for a course (meaning he is in india of his own will unlike most folks who go to new countries after ss3 for Bsc), I serxly doubt suicide. That dude was pushed. I hope the indian police would lay aside their hate for the black race and investigate this case properly.

bitchplis said...

Very sad....may his soul rest in peace

Uduak Dyamond said...

Na wa o. He would likely have survived a fall from a 2nd floor

TiNeX said...

There should be a thorough investigation cos ɪ̣̝̇ smell rat here.

Ms Dee said...

Rip biggie, we went to the same high school:(

Kim said...

LOL @ " It is hoped that Nigerian authorities in India will do some investigation"....it is easier for a pig to fly than that happening! Anyways, living in India can push you to commit suicide, it's better to avoid that country at any cost.

Osi-ine Jack said...

so sad.......may ur soul RIP KElvin..never knew my last visit to delhi wud be d last tym i'll see you..i cant beliv u commited suicide!!! God be with David n d rest of d crew.....

Oh wow,remember him 4rm Lasmocol Badore 2004...may his soul RIP

Why travel to India to study photography if Nigerians did not frustrate you because you could not secure admission in a Nigerian university?

India is no longer a good country since women are raped at random. Most of them worship devils with various heads.

I strongly I agree wiv u cos I knew him.

He Was Killed. That's The Truth. Rip.

matylder said...

I knw kelvin veri well.....he cldnt av committed suicide......RIP...May God grant d family fortitude 2 bear ds loss.....

@abdulmalik u resemble don jazzy small n u wan resemble eedris abdulkareem too.lwkmd. U be star look-alike o

MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS, 0% OF NIGERIAN WILL NEVER COMMIT SUICIDE NO MATTER WHAT, THIS GUY IS HEALTHY AND RICH . NIGERIANS DOESN'T FANCY INDIAN WOMEN SO TO SAY HE DID THAT FOR A WOMAN, AND NO WOMAN EVEN NIGERIAN WOMEN CAN MAKE ANY GUY IN NIGERIAN COMMIT SUICIDE BECAUSE NIGERIANS VALUE THEIR LIVES MORE THAN ANYTHING. INDIANS HAVE KILLED HIM AND I WILL KILL ANY INDIAN I SEE AROUND. I THINK HIS LANDLORD HAS BEEN SCAMMED AND HE WISHES TO GET BACK TO NIGERIANS BY KILLING HIS NIGERIAN TENANT , THIS HAPPENS EVERYDAY IN INDIA. LET OUR GOVERNMENT STAND UP FOR THIS IMMEDIATELY RIP KEVIN.... I AM VERY UPSET RIGHT NOW.

Yes nigerians rarely commit suicide "in Nigeria". Even oyinbo no dey commit suicide for Nigeria; Nigeria is not a normal place. However, when a Nigerian lives and blends into another society, then that's a different case. Lots of Nigerians are seriously depressed and suicidal in the UK and I'm sure it's the same in other countries around the world.

Maybe he's dating d girl from dat Sean Kingston's song, "Beautiful". If he truly commited suicide, I do not feel an ounce pity 4 him cuz #SuicideIsNotAnOption. Nontheless, if he didn't RIPeace mhan & hope God overlooks ur (unrecoverable) sin(s) and gives u a place in his bossom...Amen!.

alabama said...

Nigerians are strong people, so i doubt if this dude actually commit suicide as reported. I think this should e further investigated, suicide? not in our character.

he was killed, nigerain can never commit suicide in inaid...

He is my family memeber. he did not commit suicide neither did he suffer from depression! he was killed by his landlord! he had sent a message home earlier saying his landlord was threatening to kill him! very very sad.

Slikkys said...

Can't blv ds! I never met him bt he is frm my village n a frnd was already planning hw to hook us up for dating wen he comes bk! I m shocked!!! Slikky

Hardly will u see a young nigerian committing suicide even in the worst situations except under a devilish spell.
Further probing needed.

Hmm...RIP. God is watching and the day of judgement akwai bala'ee says the hausa man

Why would he go to India to pursue a photography course? Are there no places in Nigeria to pursue photography? I would even think the Nigerian landscape would be better for photography.

Indians are quite possibly the most cunning group of people I have ever come across. I would not trust one even if my life depended on it.

Cool story sis...*yawns*

i pity ignorant comments here that say nigerians do not commit suicide re you kidding me? the ignorance is sad..depression is real here as well

Anonymous @ 4:57,if u don't have wat to say on Linda's blog,kindly shut up. U don't talk bc u wanna make sounds.A young man was rudely murder an on top of it,they claim its sucide n ur here blabbing like a goat u are. Do u not feel pity for his parents @ list? Nigerians are not capable of sucide so deal wt ur mumu attitude n think striaght.

Can't belief my sch school bunk mate iz gone..his bed waz next to mine..kelvin will never kill his self..he still taked abt ow cool the w**d in india iz nd ow life iz cool with my bro.....anoder badorian iz gone again....f**king indians

RIP kelvin... We all Miss u!!!family nd Friends.... May God Rest ur Soul....

miz rhayor said...

RIP kelvin,investigation haS 2 be done

JANETPRETTY said...

Pls accept my condolences guy. May his soul rest in peace.

Lol. Dead## I dunno u. Bt whoever d fuck u are. I'm in love wit u. Soulmate tins#

If fit b tru shal

^^^^I LOVE this ur comment die!!!!!....lwkm......rofl @ not a Normal place

MYRAYA SPEAKS said...

Dis story iz completely fabricated... I bliv itx murder...Nigerians luv life no matter how tough it gets...Hez such a good-looking young man...MYRAYA SAYS SO

Blesoul said...

Hmmm, what on earth will make dis fine guy to jump down. Anyway R.I.P.

fungi said...

may his soul RIP Amin
YCFOnline.com

Danex said...

A NIGERIAN IS GENERALLY THE LEAST LIKELY PERSON TO COMMIT SUICIDE IN THE WORLD......THIS GUY WAS KILLED....

I luv ur patriotism dear, but dnt let d hate get u so bad. No matter wat naija person dey weather d storms of lyf. Poverty related deaths in relation 2 suicide deaths 4 naija go fit be 100000000:1

My guy depression is real or even more real here due to tangible unmet needs however if ever there was a race known 4 being resilient n hopeful, its d nigerian spirit. Nigeria wit all our problems dnt hav alarming suicide rates.

I luv ur patriotism dear, but dnt let d hate get u so bad. No matter wat naija person dey weather d storms of lyf. Poverty related deaths in relation 2 suicide deaths 4 naija go fit be 100000000:1

Krpt inc said...

im a nigerian living and schooling in india aswell, i for one can say the police here wont do much, the deceased's family have to put more pressure or nothing will be done about it, i cant see any reason why he would want to commit suicide in india,indians are generally scared of us, it just doesnt sound right, and the school he goes to (if its in film city - Whistling woods) is well reputed, the story doesnt sound right but who am i to say? RIP man> God knows best

Krpt inc said...

i've been living and school in india(mumbai) for 3 years aswell (2013 being my 4th) and i for one can say suicide is common with indian students but not a nigerian who's in such a reputed school, the story doesnt sound right to me as its just something that doesnt happen, i would suggest the deceased's family to look into as the indian police are as lazy compared to the police in nigeria. RIP ... again there's definitely more to the story than is being told, its typical india.

Ben said...

it's a sad lost for the entire family and we d friends...... His a gentle n a nice guy i hope Delhi police will look into d issue deeply because his leaving very ok over there in Noida which i have been there severeal occasion's so he has no reason 2 komit such catastrophe 2 cause d family such pain.... R.I.P my Hommie

BEN said...

i have been to his house in Noida like 2wice in a very reserve area those landlords are mad idiot am not suprising.... give me ur contact so i can give u highlight

He was d love of my life at a time,and i was d 1st person he told wat was goin on.There was a fight nd i was communicatin wit both d landlord at a time.So i smell sometin fishy cos i spoke to him 3days b4 xmas eve.Kelly loved attention nd life so i dnt believe he took his own life.Jenny

Him na fool to me

Pls can u send ur act no Rich

Jonpinjeff said...

This clearly a case of police cover up. The landlord is a Prime Suspect. This case should be taken up by the National Assembly! I say let's Occupy India Embassy! India Must Go! Operation #Justice4Kevin#

He was murdered there is no doubt about that it is the indians life style...suicide, murder, rape etc. they definately concile the act. I was in India for my MA and i saw and heard a lot of stuff before i came back few months ago a guy was also murdered in Mumbai after which he was dumbed at a train station so people will think he was killed by a train. the unfortunate thing is that our nigeria embassy in india hardly do anything to protect there citizens leaving legally in India (students). It is sad though. Uncle Lakoju may God comfort you and the rest of the family.

It is unfortunate! Indians when will you stop killing our students? you are free to commit suicide, rape your girls to death but stop killing our students. (stop the racism) Nigeria pay millions of dollars for treatment every year to the government of India and busy impporting manpower from india to receive the money they will NEVER get in their entire life time in India yet we are paid back with killings of our young men and women. I was a student in Mumbai shortly before i left few months ago a guy was also murdered after which he was dumped at a train station. The Indian police in there usual way will definately conceal the truth behind the death of Kelvin, our embassy also is not helping the situation either... I pray to God to grant the Lakojus the grace to accept this loss. It is well with the family.

chiGOD said...

it is not sucide because we nigerians don't do that. Probably he must have been killed and thrown down but all the same we nigerians say to you biggie 'RIP'!........

Ben said...

I guesss u d girl that drove that ladies bike wen i came 2 his house @ Noida then from Merauli..... i left india back 2 9ja is a pity 2 lost my homeboy 2 this devilish indians..

Just like the last time we spoke, you said the nest time we will see we will see in a bigger form, I came to naija and all to no you could not make it, coming home for the celebration season, Now you gone, with tears and pains in my heart I beg you to say its not true that you are gone,,,Big Daddy K..why!!!!

Big Daddy K, I no your heart and no you can never commit sucide, I no you were murdered and I no God will not rest till your death is avenged!! Fuck all bloody Indians..you all puss..

Nigerians are tough people, can survive any conditions under this planet earth. We could be depressed sometimes but not to the point of committing suicide and above all we love life.
I strongly believe there is a foul play. Let the matter be properly investigated by the nigerian embassy in india if they will...RIP kevin

Kevin didn't do it, I know him not to be that insane. Mother fucking indians

ERMM SORRY TO SAY BUT MOST OF YOU ARE JUST SAYING RUBBISH!!! @THE PERSON THAT SAID NIGERIANS ARE SUICIDAL IN THE UK, HAS NEVER BEEN TO THE UK. NIGERIANS ARE THE TOUGHEST PEOPLE IN THE WORLD. WE ARE NOT STUPID. NO MATTER WHAT WE ARE FACED WITH, WE FIGHT! WE LOOK FOR SOLUTION! THE LAST THING IN THE WORLD WE THINK ABOUT IS SUICIDE! WHETHER YOUR IN CHINA OR JUPITER WE LOVE TO LIVE! PLUS WE ARE A RELIGIOUS NATION! MOSTLY DIVIDED INTO ISLAM AND CHRISTIANITY. AND NONE OF OUR RELIGIONS SUPPORT SUICIDE!!! WE KNOW THAT SUICIDE IS A CERTIFICATE TO HELL! I KNOW THE LAKOJU'S VERY WELL, KEVIN WAS A STRONG BOY WITH BIG DREAMS! HE WAS NOT DEPRESSED! HE WAS HEALTHY AND HAPPY! AND HE WAS KILLED BY INDIANS! IN INDIA! AND GOD WILL FIGHT FOR HIM! NOTHING GOOD WILL HAPPEN TO HIS KILLERS! THEY WILL DIE BY THEIR OWN HAND! GOD BLESS YOUR SOUL KEVIN LAKOJU! MAY YOU REST IN PERFECT PEACE! AMEN!

Cud be a true story... I dnt see dis kinda guy as a suicider.... He doesnt look like sum1 dt is living in depression atall...

Indians are very good in covering.