Whitney Houston's portrait : Artistic or distasteful? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 1 March 2012

Whitney Houston's portrait : Artistic or distasteful?

A mosaic artist named Jason Mecier created a portrait of Whitney Houston made up entirely of pills. He created a similar portrait of Michael Jackson and Amy Winehouse after they died. Distasteful or artistic?

64 comments:

bloglord said...

this is mosaic work..its not bad..

I fink both.........

chy said...

BOTH ARTISTIC AND DISTASTEFUL

Modupsy said...

I think it is artistic. Its nobody's fault that she was a drug addict therefore we shuld not pretend that phase of her life never existed. I'm sure this artwork is not to mock her but to remind people that there consequences for every choice we make.

Just one word "ARTISTIC"

I really wish she lived a drug-free life.RIP Whitney The World will Always Love You

sonna said...

Perfect

Artistic!! Nothn distasteful bout dis.

LOVELY

Okechukwu Grace. said...

It's a constant reminder to us that still have breath in us, the adverse effect of wrong relationships to our future.
She was a paragon, an embodiment of beuty, elegance and courage.
RIP whitney, you will forever live in our hearts.

Modupsy said it all! We as a society try to ignore the obvious and only focus on the good. Sometimes in life there are not so good times (the challenging times). This is a beautiful piece of art. It is a reminder to all that there are choices in life - choose wisely and leave the rest to baba God.

mimi said...

artistic joorr..pple should appreciate da tot time and great wor of art dat went into dis

it is distasteful!but why do you guys ja people like this face?He is only doing it to get his name in the mouths of people

Im stil nt ova her being gone...

Art is subjective and undefined. Effort put into work should always be appreciated, even if the work is below par. This is a beautiful one...

Check out Nokia's 808 PureView with 41-megapixel here.
http://gazalazeez.blogspot.com/2012/03/nokia-808-pureview-41-megapixel-smash.html

Dis dude is really creative even though d motivation 4 doing it may be wrong.
- JesseO

tegel outlet said...

Great blog information Thanks for sharing

Ezems said...

Artistic! Though the teeth, eyes and eyelashes are not made of pills.

It is a piece of lovly art. We all know what killed whitney,so y pretend, its a lesson 4 d nxt generation coming that no matter how beautiful and talented you are, a wrong turn can be your destrection.

makeupafrica said...

ARTISTIC!!!!!!

Croixxx said...

Me thinks its distasteful

chuks okonkwo said...

Linda are u kidding me? Did u say entirely of jez PILLS? Dayuum its vewi vewi artistic maam.

HISS said...

why use pills??? it's symbolic!

VEGO said...

Both

kcee said...

They say truth is bitter. To me it is artistic and at the same time, reminds us of avoidable deaths and how we can lose talents through drug addiction.

Atobatele said...

Perfect Artistic.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

BitterSweet!

It is a reminder to others to stay away from drug. But then its distasteful to me.

I tink ds artistic work is beautiful!

I think its Artistic.. Only thing is use of pills is a bit insensitive.

OnileEre! said...

Artistic

the white enchantress said...

its cool..... idea of using drugs to come up such an idea is worth reflecting on and help passing on a message.......my guess!

Absolutely artistic!

DISGUSTINGLY DISTASTEFUL

winnie said...

Nufin detasteful about this art, its showing the existing generation and the ones to come what drugs can and how many beautiful lives had gone down cos of drugs.just creating α̲̅ warning!

Both actually!

a bit offensive

*ajalahtravel* said...

so im style na to use person cause of death to do mosaic, so if na malaria kill person, na mosquito im go use eh?

Now that wan na mosaic wey i no go fit wait to see

How about distasteful AND artistic?

Style By Bimvic said...

I'm short for words!!!

QueenBee D 'Talkaholic said...

BOTH

Adele said...

As much as I adored Whitney's voice, the sad truth is that ultimately her addictions killed her. I think this work is artistic and also sends out a message - drug addictions are killing some of the most talented people in the world today. It needs to stop.

Loudmouthed said...

Well, he needs the controversy to get popular.

Distasteless

Wunmi said...

Artistic...

HORRIFIC...

We all know that doing drugs is bad and Ms Whitney died from it,but using pills to form her potrait is distasteful to me.Why didn't the artist write something on the potrait about drugs or pass the message through another means.That's being too hard on the dead.

I like it, Art is al about passing messages through passion, that portrait says alot without speaking and it says the effect of so much drugs, if U̶̲̥̅̊  her hair its full of coloured drugs signifies how the brain becomes unstable due to too much of it. Beautiful work artistic and distressful, I love whitney , I also love the creativity. Kudos from Chukwuemeka

I think its artistic

It's quite artistic but what baffles me is that he made this art work on artists that died because of substance abuse.

Jobs in Nigeria said...

I dont believe in being a hypocrite so in my opinion this is not only distasteful but also insultive,for crying out loud we all have imperfections in our lives,terrible habits that could cost us our lives,relationships and Career but we are safe from the world knowing cos we are not celebrities and live in our small world,So a celebrity who happens to 1st be a human being created as we all makes a costly mistake and we go gaga,we condemn,we judge or support those who judge,Worst still when they die,we want let them rest,we keep tormenting their families with horrible stuffs an example being this piece of trash and we say we are educating the living,By spiting d dead?Please tell these attention seekers to leave Whitney alone she was someone's daughter,sister and mum,Leave M.J alone he was someone's Son,Brother and Dad,their families already have to deal with alot,Food for thot:I borrow a line from one of MJ'S songs "Before u judge anyone or make carricature of any one try hard very hard to love them"Capish.

@Azeez plz i dont get, is that 41 mega pixel? how? the persons face will not show in the picture na...or is it 4.1? i shock oh

I think it's artistic but why didn't the artist use jelly beans instead of the pills. I think it was disrespectful

Cassandra Hill said...

O.k. whether it's artistic depends on these two variables, if he took a drawing of Whitney already done by someone else and just glued pills to the image, then no it's not. If he placed these pills on a canvas and the end result was Whitney, then its mind-blowing! One more thing, he could have made her hair a solid color 'cause those colors used made her look like a clown.

i think the ingenuity of whoever did this should be commended.
Rest well Whitney!!!!!!!!

ChiChiluv said...

The point is to be controversial, draw attention to the issue at hand which is that prescription pills are being abused and people think they are not addicts because after all the doctor prescribed it for them. I think it is on point...distasteful is debateable. One might argue that he should have waiting a while for the dust to settle so to speak but another might say this is exactly the time to speak out while it's still fresh on people's mind.

I believe that the message should be put out there, they hid it when Elvis and Marilyn Monroe died and all of them where pill poppers, if this saves a life, I say go for it.

Cynthia said...

Such a beautiful masterpiece. Its quite artistic. I believe the use of drugs is meaninful in the sense that other celebrities towing the part of Whitney and others would consider stopping the use of drugs so they won't have a portrait made of pills later.

distasteful

i think its a combination of both

hahahaha, WTH is that?
They trying to make her look crazy, they need to redo it.

YES said...

If you didn't mention it, I was thinking that was jellybeans sha... hehe!
It's definitely artistic tho, idk if I take offense to it.

~~www.youreliteshoppers.com. @YEShoppers~~
personal shoppers toh bahd ;)

Y.Tee said...

Cool.

very ARTISTIC

angel by fifi said...

It is artistic and i believe all stars should be given a copy to hang in their livin room to caution them. No matter hw talented, beautiful ure,drug destroys. Especially upcomin artist. I loved whitney&cried@ her death&MJ but i dont want to keep crying on my loved stars death so if this will help in d fight against drugs, i support it big time. No need to be over sentimental abt it.

That's so not artistic. It looks like yellow cheetos with green M & M all in her hair. That ain't cute, he/she can do better.