OPC member kills Etisalat employee, Chukwuma Eze, over N10 toll | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 February 2012

OPC member kills Etisalat employee, Chukwuma Eze, over N10 toll

Late Chukwuma Eze
A suspected member of the Odua Peoples Congress known by the pseudonym “Ultimate” on Monday allegedly killed an employee of Etisalat, Chukwuma Eze, in the Ejigbo area of Lagos State during an argument over N10 toll.

PUNCH Metro learnt that N10 toll was collected by the OPC members at a footbridge that links Ejigbo with Ajao Estate.
It was gathered that the deceased told the collectors that he had only N1, 000 denominations with him and offered it to one of the collectors who asked him to come back for his balance.

Eze was said to have agreed but was shocked when on his return a female member of the group insisted that the deceased did not give N1,000 to the collectors.
The telecoms employee was said to have been angered by the denial resulting in a fight between him and the female member of the group.

Sensing that the female member of the group could not match Eze’s strength, “Ultimate,” was said to have brought out an object suspected to be charm and hit the telecoms employee with it on the chest.
Eze, who is to marry in April, reportedly slumped and died on the spot.

It was learnt that immediately words filtered in that Eze had died, his kinsmen in the area carried out a reprisal and attacked some members of the OPC found at the footbridge.

A source told PUNCH Metro that in the ensuing pandemonium, a member of the OPC was also killed, while some motorcycles and a generator belonging to members of the group were vandalised.

The spokesperson for the state police command, Mr. Joseph Jaiyeoba, who spoke to our correspondent on the telephone confirmed the incident but said facts about the incident were still sketchy.

He  said, “One Chukwuma Eze was allegedly killed by some people collecting money at a footbridge but we cannot say for sure if the collectors are members of the OPC or the local government revenue collectors.
“The incident caused a stir as some friends of the deceased confronted and fought with the suspects.

“The details of what exactly transpired are still sketchy because the incident occurred at night but another corpse, identified as one Sumonu, was also found at Ajao Estate later. We (Police) do not know if his death is related to Eze’s killing.”

Culled from Punch

76 comments:

The man died from a heart attack, they say it is a charm that killed him... SMH

Nabzie said...

OMG!!!! i knew him, such a nice guy too. i'm speechless right now

who is that idiot that said he died of heart attack? OPC has started disturbing again.

u are a goat

May his soul rest in peace. I just pray the tyrannt in question is brought to book and should be swept beneath the rug like other cases. Please,let's all take heed because this so called "area boys" don't value human lives.

Pls am ignorant. Wat is footbridge toll?

Actually that area is cornered by OPC members,they do flaunt their charms and weapons within that territory but i believe ajao estate people are educated set of people that does not have to use OPC as their form of security.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

R.I.P..in this situations who always good to take a deep breath and think who has the most to lose...'cos this people are rogues and have f...kall to lose..

Ibo people and their stubborness. Always ready to lose their lives over common 10 naira. Shakes head.
--Gbenga

That is why it is good to be prayerful for the power of God to be upon you at all times. May God help us in these end times

what is this tribal talk up and down....pls if you have nothing to say just keep quite for goodness sake. why bring Ibo matter into this and i'm yoruba by the way.

Get a life dude!!! Someone just died here and ur talking trash. Must u say something?? If u don't have any reasonable thing to say,please shut the hell up and let reasonable people talk.
Haba!! Ka ji shege nan fa!!!

The Great Oracle said...

Pls who gives out N1000 to pay for N10 of anything with intent to collect N9990 change? I am just curious because, come to think of it, no N20, N50, N100 notes on you, as in seriously.

That aspect of the story sounds odd. That however does not justify how the entire story ended.

oscar said...

It is quite unfortunate he had to die this way but sincerely he should not hav engaged the Girl in a fight. Now, OPC members are stupid and heartless. Wy didnt he just separate them.

Ure so dumb for making dis kinda of comment!!!WTF has dis got to do wiv tribe! Nigerians sha! Shows ow timid some pple can b! Dis guy was jst unfortunately to ave lost his life in d process! By d way,I'm a Yoruba lady! U fuckhead!!!

julit said...

Who is this gbenga abeg? He's mad o! Yoruba pple wey dey smell. Very dirty and filthy movement.

so his kinsmen revenged. what if he was a fellow yoruba man killed by OPC. He wasn't killed because he was Ibo, it could have happened to a yoruba man too. We need to stop making everything about our tribes.
And please stop giving Gbenga the time of the day.

I am, the no Sender. said...

Gbenga. You know what? What goes around does come around. Your post is so insensitive and childish. Perhaps and I don't know you just might be a teenager playing with your phone and you likely lack the ability to process serious issues. So on that note, I'd hate to further chastise you. So prove that you will be a good boy henceforth and appologise for reducing a very important incidence to tribal discrimination, ok?

ONOME says...........................
I don talk am before,i go repeat am again.GBENGA IS AN INCOSEQUENTIAL 2 BIT SELF SEEKING NINCOMPOOP;ignore the daftie and he will simply disappear like the fart that he really is.In psychology if you want to reinforce a behaviour simply acknowledging it does that.TOTALLY IGNORING HIS INFANTILE RANTS will suffice.
Now to the tory on ground all i have to say is this;i look forward to the day when justice will be metered out to all and those that commit a crime will do the time in my Naija.That day oh Lord that day cannot come soon enough

emerald said...

lagos state, when will bad news end

blunt said...

Pity..wetin anger go do!At times,we just have to evaluate d situation and simply walk away! If na mad man grab d 1k as im d waka for road,e no go leave am run? but 1k for 990 change,na wa oh!

This gbenga is a she goat....am am Yoruba for all u care

GBENGA! GBENGA!! GBENGA!!!
Ukpana okpoko gburu bu nti chiriya.

Gbenga again!!!! Lmaooo

bloglord said...

oh dear...so sad

Modupsy said...

Thank u oh! Great Oracle. Nobody, yoruba o, Ibo o, hausa, wuld give a N1000 to a tout and be told to come back for change. Esp for N10. People sef won't want to break N1000 note coz of ten naira...d tin get as be

Yes I am ibo and proud of it,we will rather die for our change than go rob other innocent citizens for their hard earned money,stupid idiotic,clueless tribal it's!!!!!!!!

Luffy said...

Naija people,na we sabi God pass n @ d same time na we sabi jazz pass. SMH for y'all. RIP to the guy. And please stop this tribal shit, coulda been anybody.

sakara said...

i dont think they killed cause he's Ibo, this could v being hausa or yoruba man, they were just desperate for blood, and sometimes some urchins dont worth ur spit, just move on and forget d stupid change, that wl not remove 1 hair from u anyway, i remember one day i went to buy something n mushin and one of d urchins asked me to pay omo onile whatever and he told me all d gold i v on me if he cuts them ts more than what he's asking for, kpai i paid him d damn money and scampered for safety, this guy shd v known better, even f he wanted his change he shd v done t n d daylight of some other day, moreover losing one's life cause of N1k i swear i no fit

I happen 2 pass dat footbridge weneva i dnt folo ma staffbus and i can confirm dat virtually all d males and females dat collect d toll are opc members and also work for the oba of ejigbo*gbam*can stand ma grounds on dat cos i know on of d guys by name ATIKU,i fink his d leader of d toll collection,cos most times he doesnt collected d 10 from mi*winks*so so sowi for d deceased family<such a fine dude

Amaka's Notepad said...

So sad. So young. God help and direct our ways. Amen

Uche said...

It's a pity. I served in the NYSC with this guy. what a loss!

Uche said...

It's a pity. I served in the NYSC with this guy. what a loss!

Nwachukwu Chimaroke Elvis said...

Get a life dude

Gbenga sth is definitely wrong wit ur head!do u av to be tribalistic?must u even comment self?d poor dude jst died n all u can tink of is him bein ibo!u beta mind wot u say n i'm nt IBO incase u tink i'm angry cos u referred 2 ma tribe....May his soul rest in perfect peace.Airi..

Gbenga ti ya were o,wat is ur prob ehn? Adoju tini omo iranu,mschewww.so so sad,rip Eze

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

@ julit, well done o, so how has ur point raised the dead now!..*smh*, y'all should just get over this tribal ish onthis blog,its getting out of hands!

Ayombo said...

Sad story really but it doesn't make sense how someone would give #1000 to a tout and expect to come back later for his #990 balance. That doesn't sound right, I don't believe that part of the gist.

Jobs in nigeria said...

Yeah, he's such a popular and famous idiot, if i'm asked if i've ever seen any idiot, i'll smile and say yes.
Go look for GBENGA in linda ikeji blog.

Sweet 16 said...

Gbenga I'm sorry but you are a beast! What did Igbo ppl do to you? You are obviously retarded! I guess one, two or three of our Igbo queens have used and dumped your ass! Grow up u ugly BEAST! You will gain nothing from being tribalistic and obviously ignorant!

D situation @ dis paticular spot is beyond what meets d eye,d wooden footbridge was actually constructed by an ibo man 2 ease movement & connect ejigbo to ajao estate,dis particular man was chased away by d king(Ojon of Ejigbo) when he realised dat d money coming from d tolling is huge,this particular king is known 4 his notoriety,he takes over pple's land @ will,after much prevailing he allowed d Original innovator 2 b collecting toll @ d other end while he collects @ one end,d king deployed OPC members(touts) 2 work 4 him at his own end,thus one has to pay N10 to climb d bridge & another N10 to disembark @ d other end,making N20,the touts deployed by d king operate wit so much impunity,though Lagos state govt is already constructing d road,it would still take som time,D king is d problem of dat area,u can't build without him collecting settlement,he closes main rd @ will 4 parties(thank God dis has reduced)..Gists abound dt he's involved in bunkering(pipeline vandalisation)...he owns all d arrays of SUVs u can think of(range sport,prado,land ruiser,armada,CRV,honda evil spirit)...All dis touts make hardwork unattractive & touting desirable..its so unfortunate 4 som1 2 loose his life over N10,ow I hope somthing drastic wud b done 2 avoid a reccurence.

God have mercy, all because of Ten Naira (pure water fees), it is work of devil, ki Olorun ma fi iso re so waaaaaaa.

D situation @ dis paticular spot is beyond what meets d eye,d wooden footbridge was actually constructed by an ibo man 2 ease movement & connect ejigbo to ajao estate,dis particular man was chased away by d king(Ojon of Ejigbo) when he realised dat d money coming from d tolling is huge,this particular king is known 4 his notoriety,he takes over pple's land @ will,after much prevailing he allowed d Original innovator 2 b collecting toll @ d other end while he collects @ one end,d king deployed OPC members(touts) 2 work 4 him at his own end,thus one has to pay N10 to climb d bridge & another N10 to disembark @ d other end,making N20,the touts deployed by d king operate wit so much impunity,though Lagos state govt is already constructing d road,it would still take som time,D king is d problem of dat area,u can't build without him collecting settlement,he closes main rd @ will 4 parties(thank God dis has reduced)..Gists abound dt he's involved in bunkering(pipeline vandalisation)...he owns all d arrays of SUVs u can think of(range sport,prado,land ruiser,armada,CRV,honda evil spirit)...All dis touts make hardwork unattractive & touting desirable..its so unfortunate 4 som1 2 loose his life over N10,ow I hope somthing drastic wud b done 2 avoid a reccurence.

You guys shld leave Gbenga o.his strategy for all those comments is to win something 4rm Linda.all is negative comment has brot him fame on LIB... LMFAO

Oh Lord i knew this guy back in Mtn.We worked together for a while.This is so sad and a great lose to his family.When will all this killing stop?Why should you kill a human being all because of money or you have a fetish power over him?Its really sad and i pray that God avenges his death.

Your an idiot for this comment. Fool!

Linda, it's high time u stop approving Gbenga's comments. He has nothing to add to this forum. He is such a coward who's Gbenga? Stop trivalizing serious issues and stop being tribal. our fore fathers had inter tribal marriages so check ur lineage I bet u insult ur self......u may be related to the ibis or iMacs or fulanis or edos....
Life's short stop this tribal hatred!!!!
Bosa

emma said...

Who is really responsible for the welfare of OPC?
follow link

@ Julit, LWKMD....na true talk o. be like say them dey born yoruba pple with BO....them wan smell die...chai! Tufiakwa!!

May his soul rest in peace. But the story is actually rather sketchy. I don't understand why with all the tax and toll government collects from us they fail to avail us with good security. Why should we still have to resort to using OPC and the likes? Its usually difficult to even differentiate them from the armed robbers they're supposed to be protecting people against. Hell! I'm sure they live, eat, sleep with these armed robbers sef. Smh. Fashola, u increased school fees, u imposed toll, do something! Ur still in government and ur term isn't over yet! Valerie.

uSaveOne said...

Very Very Sad!

Its a fine/toll u pay for crossing a pedestrian bridge on foot... U r meant to use a canoe to cross it :)

Shaddy said...

Hummmm may His Soul Rest in Peaceful perfect peace....
Thats all I can say coz the deed has been done

U r no different from Gbenga. Pot calling d Kettle Black. Some pple r so ignorant...*shakes head*

Γφυ dat said yoruba use to smell u must be mad Α̲̅πϑ u r such a motherfucker i pity ur mama oh bastard without name or family asshole.

It is quite unfortunate that the young man lost his life during d fracas, it should not be individial thing to build a bridge n start collecting money from people. So, d government should wake up to their responsibilities. And we should stop pointing acussing fingers and tribal sentiments. May d soul of d guy rest in perfect peace.

Freesmszone.com said...

Do that to anyone close to me and i'll bring the group down to their kneels.
Its sad everyone in Lagos claims to be the owner of a street or a small footbridge.
They got charms,i got some RPG from my Libyan friends.
I got only 3 words for such group "Meet your maker!"

Well i stay around that area. The bridge actually links Ajao Estate and Okeafa and not Ejigbo.Its actually that stretch of muddy swampy water that people died on 27 January bomb blast.
However from there you get bike kaka transport to Ejigbo, jakande gate NNPC and all those environs.Its actually faster and cheaper way to get home for most of us leaving around there.
The first man that started using canoe to cross people ( at N20 per trip )was not an IBO man, the man actually is one of the heroes that saved lives during that 27 Jan bomb blast.Business boomed for him with more people moving into the environs and the resultant hold up made many people park their cars and preferred to cross by canoe.However the man became very rude and fought other people that wanted to compete against him. These people went and teamed up with Ajao Estate people.They proposed a joint venture to him and he refused. They once counted the number of people that cross that place in a day and counted over 8000 people. so they Ajao group fenced their land area off and the man was out of business because he didnt have a landing point at the Ajoa end.
The Landlords of the area with that of the Ajao now built a bridge and cut the price to N10. Everything was moving fine until it rained heavily on evening and the bridge collapsed.
The Oba of Ejigbo refused them to rebuild the bridge unless he is part of the equation,the Ajao guys refused the Oba's partnership.That was the genesis of the 10 at ajao point and N10 at okeafa point. The Oba's men took over the collection of the Okeafa End.
It is soo sad that Chucks died because of the N10 toll.

this is so sad my goodness so life is now only worth 10 naira abi

femmyeddie said...

what a great loss.RIP

gbenga you are an idiot

the white enchantress said...

na all this small girls way de sell paraga,peppered meat,agbo n dry gin i go blame bc na part time school of prostitution dem do way produce certificate of urchins all over Lagos.these touts have no worth for life because they don't have one,they are just drifting anywhere the wind blows dem. its really sad that a times d rest literate us throw cautions to the wind and engage them in brawls. BRF,you sure do need to do something to your local illiterate thieves....oops, chiefs i mean.

FortySeven said...

Oh dear! What a waste of potential!! It is irrelevant that this guy was an ibo guy. Its also shocking the way we trivialize issues like this! The sooner we stand up and raise our voices and say "enough is enough" the sooner we will be able to change some of this terrible things. God help us all!

mogjee said...

May his soul RIP.he's my friends colleague. Very sad

Why do u pple bother urself abt Gbenga ? U don't knw if he's just a five year boy dat luckly has a fone . Mtchewwwww .I really pity da poor guy and his family ,may his soul rest in peace . Niffy

Yes Gbenga abuses Ibo people. Ibo people then turn around to say all the negative things inside them. Difference between the abuser and the abused is that one voiced his/her sentiments first. But in actuality, both are tribalists.

Linda's post showed d guy engaged a female OPC member in a fight, d ? Is why wud an educated young man with bright future wrestle wif a hoodlum? woman 4dat matter, o ga ooo

Cynthia said...

Gbenga u are such a toad and complete idiot for sayin that trash. How can you be so insensitive. If u don't know wat to say, then stfu! Anuofia.

Cynthia said...

There touts, area boys, agberos etc should be avoided poison. During the period i lived in Lagos, i was extremely careful to avoid them cos they are always "high" on one thing or the other and they have no regard for any one or human life for that matter. I really feel bad for the fiancee and family of the deceased, imagine wat his fiancee will be going through now. Well God knows best, i pray his soul rip.

Ronny said...

So sad,may he RIP! Gbenga or whatever ur name is,y are u so insensitive?get a life pls or STFU!no be by force to comment on this blog,abeg

But I use to think lagos has over grown this type of thing.area boys controlling territorys.may his soul rest in peace.lagos u fall my hand

My dearest colleague,sleep on so painful chuKky boi!RIP still can't believe u re gone.

Ebere said...

First, gbenga this is for u, you re the most stupid person to have uttered such statement.some yoruba people are known for juju, most especially all these touts,wearing charms and what have u,i dont just know what to write anymore,we went to same school though he was my senior,but seeing this now has made me so sad.God will visit u for making such statement gbenga or whatever u call urself,oloshi, olori buruku, omo ale thats what u re.arsehole.RIP CHUKS

Maybe this is the first time the so-called Gbenga is using internet. Mr. Eze is an ex student of Government college umuahia and he grew in umuahia and he is from nimo anambra state. Since Gbenga is making sure stupid comments.Yoruba are leaving freely in Ibo land without problems or being killed but the yourbas have problem accomodatin Ibo. The best thing is for Ibos to kill a yourba man in Ibo land to revenge the death,and I pray it Ghenga family member so that Gbenga will know how painful it is to loss a great person to stupid yoruba idiots. my brother Chukwu Eze don't rest in peace until you kill those that sent you to early grave.

may your gentle soul rest in peace brother.

andrew kalu