YNaija Editorial: There's something D'banj needs to know... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 February 2012

YNaija Editorial: There's something D'banj needs to know...

Article culled from Ynaija.com
"There are many examples of high-wattage celebrity that eventually find themselves done in by a misguided sense of their own immortality. The day eventually comes that they find themselves on stage and there are no cheering crowds. Then, it will dawn on them. But by then it will be too late..." 
This is about the SaharaTV interview. Continue to read the full article...

Judging by the fact that the transcript of D’banj interview with SaharaReporters TV is still one of the most-read stories on this platform even one week after it happened, this continues to be a hot button topic for thousands of young Nigerians – as it should be.

(See the interview transcript HERE.)
No one – no matter how many bodyguards he has or how many hit albums to his credit – should be above being interrogated by his or her compatriots over the state of the common enterprise called Nigeria.
Now, there are those who have reacted with visceral, even uncommon, anger over what they refer to as Dbanj’s insensitivity and a seeming discontent with the Nigerian reality. And there is the visibly minority view, which insists that D’banj is only an entertainer and should be left alone.

Yes, it is a bit of a stretch to criticise D’banj for not joining the rallies in Lagos or London, or to insist that he must oppose the fuel subsidy removal policy. It is after all his fundamental right as a citizen to hold an opinion, even if – perhaps especially when – it is not the popular one.

But that is hardly the point. What D’banj did was essentially tell his interviewer that he had no concern on the subjects of poverty, fuel subsidy removal and the way the affairs of the country are managed – and in the most dismissive sense.

This is wrong for many reasons.

For one, the artiste has referred to himself as a youth ambassador. Of course, as people try to position themselves and their careers, titles like this are strategic to that advancement. However, they must also be ready for the responsibility that comes with that priviledge.

Even more to the point, there is an ironic contraction to D’banj’s latest stance that severely undermines his personal credibility. The singer has always been in his legal and moral rights to produce a song for any politician for a fee – as a business person, this is proper practice. However, in D’banj’s case, he has insisted that this was an endorsement based on belief and not a commercial venture.

This is where it gets tricky. How do you endorse a man out of concern for your nation a year ago and then suddenly be too busy to care about the most important matter concerning your nation, and brought about by that man, a year after?

For those who insist that D’banj is an entertainer and thus should not be burdened with these issues, that is the crux of the matter. He put himself out there.

Perhaps more disappointing than this lack of consistency, is the transparent arrogance in a young man whose success is created by the public, disdainful of the issues on the top of that public’s mind. It is impractical to expect Dban’j to have a Seun Kuti-like grasp of the complexities of cost of governance and fuel subsidy removal, but it is by no means out of order to expect him to show an awareness and sensitivity to those issues, at whatever level he understands them.

It is important for the famous and the influential to understand that patriotism and concern for one’s country is intrinsically linked to the entire concept of citizenship – active or not. You cannot be arrogantly disinterested in your country and still hope to profit from its progress.

D’banj is a talented young man with a superior grasp of his business and his musical brand. If anything, this is apparent from the sold out concert in New York immediately following the disastrous interview. But we certainly hope this is not an attitude he intends to keep up, just because the concert crowds are large, the music awards continue to stream in and the bank account is deservedly fat.

If that is in fact the case, then he would be sorely mistaken. There are many examples of high-wattage celebrity that eventually find themselves done in by a misguided sense of their own immortality.
The day eventually comes that they find themselves on stage and there are no cheering crowds. Then, it will dawn on them. But by then it will be too late.

Thoughts?

113 comments:

Thank goodness for this article - Dbanj displayed an arrogance I cannot stand. The obvious contradiction the man made was so annoyingly stupid he should apologise for displaying it.

who even recommended him to the UN self.

he also needs to stop wearing sunglasses inside - the sun does not shine indoors

I tot abt it tu.. It doesn't mke sense in my own opinion claiming he was not aware at all of wht went down in the country as chaotic nd deadly as it was..evn if u were in space. like WTH! Dbanj? Youth ambassador? U shod v known beta...

laolu said...

Dbanj really is proud,we all know that. but I think this time he took it a tad bit too far! Ahan!

Tyra Banks graduates from Harvard said...

Tyra Banks graduates from Harvard’s executive education program.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/celebritology/post/tyra-banks-graduates-from-harvards-executive-education-program/2012/02/24/gIQASv0vXR_blog.html

but this is just very rational. it is far too daft to be this rational when it comes to these issues. so we can say these ones to commented on what happened. there are certainways we react when we know what we want to hear and we dont hear it. this is the case in this situation. Dapo didnt answer just because he had nothing to say about it that wount put him in trouble. we know this but we choose to ignore it because you want to hear him say how much he hates the whole situation and you want him to abuse or renounce the president who he campaigned for all in the name of satisfying foolish rational people like those above. He explained to you how music is playing a good role in changing some people's lives, hence the Wande Caoal example. If he reacted harshly it is because the reporeter or the interviewer was being politely forceful with the questions. why will you call him and interview him and not say a word about the major concert he had the next day but begin to ask questions on his role on politics?If you ask me, they knew he would have nothing say about it so as to protect himself and Don Jazzy so they just pointed it out on purpose to pave way for pessimists like those above.

The article is nonsensical. D'Banj has the right to be as involved or as uninvolved as he desires.

The fact that he was ambushed by the Sahara TV people notwithstanding.

I

Kemikal said...

O.o

Whoever is this fcukin Ynaija.com person and this stupid article deserve to be flogged. How dare you. Keep your feeling and kindergaten article up your arse, b!tch. Mind your fcukin bizness and fcukin leave Dbanj alone, you stupid cow. Dbanj is not the cause of your poverty stricken life. Dbanj is not a politician. Dbanj is not GEJ. Jump on your okada and go challenge President Goodluck Jonathan. You stupid pr!ck wrote and published this trashy and patronising "article" so that fools like you can hate Dbanj. Hate him for what? What crime did he commit? If you have issues with Dbanj, take it to a court of law. You're nothing but a cheap, dirty and desperate character assassin. I'm not a fan of Dbanj, but it's obvious your intention is malicious and devious. Damn you. Go fcukin jump into a freezing lake, you fcukin cheap bastard :)

lol

You average Nigerians expect too much from your celebrities. The man doesn't want to have an opinion. is it by force?

I read the transcript on ynaija and all I have to say is that You guys are all hypocrites. 1st of all, the "My opinion paragraph says: he loves his career more than his country like DUHH.. How many of you guys left your jobs to go and protest(I am not talking of those in Nigeria)... Those in the UK??? those in the US??? how many??? Being in the limelight is a very sensitive. You guyz are never satisfied. You are the same people that voted for the same man that turned his back on you... Why did Chika not focus on the positive side of nigeria???? Why the negative???... If he gave an answer... all you People would have said "OH ISNT HE THE SAME PERSON THAT COLLECTED MONEY FROM JONATHAN" I am not saying what he did was right or wrong... All i am saying is you guyz shouldn't be hyprocrites.. Dbanj is NOT the reason why our country is where it is now.. HOW MANY OF US YOUTHS HAVE GONE BACK TO OUR MOTHER LAND TO AT LEAST TRY AND IMPLEMENT CHANGE????

Why any one will waste half a brain cell over dbanj baffles me, it is impossible to give what u dont have. Asides the occasional need for senseless
lyrics to help me distress, I wouldnt depend on him for more than that

Pleassssssssssss, Dbanj is not our problem in Nigeria. He is just an entertainer. It is not as if he is not interested in what is happening in the country, but he is just careful with what he says. He is not loosed like Idris. As a mater of fact, how many naigerians went for the fuel subsidy protest.

Me, i'm tired of all this Dbanj talk. Its his life and he is entitled to do/say what he likes. He'll probably regret not using the opportunity he has to speak out but thats his business. I've decided to do my best and i hope other nigerians are doing theirs to make a change so that we won't just be arm-chair critiques of others

Chrisilicious said...

God hates the proud, Dbanj has to change his ways, he as a youth ambassador I've not actually witnessed any good thing he has done to warrant that post, & also somee of his performance are just promoting self defilement, his laying of head in a girl's boobs on stage, him touching & gyrating with his private common, well if he says he's an entertainer & doesn't av any business with the way the country is run or people stricken down with poverty he might as well not regard himself as an ambassador beterstill denouce Nigeria & go n seek for citizenship elsewhere,it's not by force

Dbanj totally disappointed in you! I watched the interview and I was disgusted the way he was so quick to push over all matters concerning he's own country and people. These are the same ppl who have uplifted you to where u r today! How daft can u be... Total ignorance.

Good reading,pls tell d tramp.omo o rola ri.he has forgotten the past.

ms cookie said...

well written after seeing that video i have a different opinion of him and it not very favourable, i was very appalled at his lack of sensitivity towards his people, i dont live in nigeria but i was very well aware of what happening so how the hell can he claim he didnt... i would support him monetarily by going to a concert of someone who doesnt give a damn about his country, i know he is trying to court american people but he has a long way to go and his ego is way over blown for someone who sings about nothing significanyt.....and he needs to stop kissing kanye west ass so much it so embarrassing

NaijaScorpio said...

I wasn't impressed by that interview. I was quite put off by his attitude by the time the interview was over. I used to like D'banj's personality (not necessarily his songs) but now, not so much. I don't like arrogant people. His attitude during that interview was just off.

Linda and the so called sahara reporters should mind their business, everyone is entitled to their opinion, I read the interview and I see nothing wrong with it.Dbanj is an adult an has every right to say what ever he feels like saying. If u were in his shoes one year ago, u would do the same Linda ikeji

Yetinde said...

Na dem saka jare,mi i no kuku like am b4,he's nt representing mi,so he can go & hug transformer for all i care.next jare linda omo rè bi iyan.

Whatever. Who else went straight to the comments?

Ant said...

Very well written and absolutely true. I have to admit I only watched the actual interview halfway; I was disgusted at D'banj's comportment. he needs to be more mindful of how he presents himself.

bloglord said...

seriously,am a huge fan of dbanj n d whole mohit crew but i must strongly admit that his attitude n mannerim these days r off limits. i guess he never expected to rise this hign so d magnitude of hs fame n fortune has belittled his sense of reasoning in matters that are of serious concerns.
even d newyork concert...those moves of smooching/touching/sizing a lady on stage was totally off. some might call it entertainment but its so wrong.
he needs to retrace his steps n be more positve in hs dealings on or off stage

Samuel said...

yea right, wish D'banj is reading right now this really killed it...

http://www.gistloaded.com/2012/02/dbanj-in-trouble-see-this-blast.html

Linda you are beefing this guy i think he has a right to live his life the way he wants to,he has a right to sit on the fence on fuel subsidy matter haba this una aproko too much abeg.

right on the money!!!

bloglord said...

just read d interview. he has being bought by jonathan's govt n didnt want to be seen as a two faced hence his insensitive response.
i love dbanj but much as i love to eat meat doent make me a relative to the cow.
much as i love his music, wag n all, am totally displeased by this attitude of his n to think that he is a youth ambasador? come'on!
e no try at all

Payme said...

The article is spot on! Nobody is saying he should become an activist but claiming to be unaware of the protests is ridiculous! & he got asked questions cos he was der during elections, singing for President Jonathan and interviewing him...and now he doesn't ave an opinion? Twud b silly for any1 to blame him for influencing them to vote for Jonathan tho...

Nigerian youths, support my blog pls :)
http://payme-my2cents.blogspot.com

Modupsy said...

I doubt if anyone will disagree wiv this

Chicasa said...

Gbam, gbam gbam. This piece hits the nail on the head! Dbanj hear word o!

adele said...

But this Y!naija people dey speak grammar o

U pple expect tu much from this musicians. D r just mainly dumbass wit little intellectual reasoning. Imagine d lame answers his giving he needs tu lay off wateva his smoking *hiss

I bliv he ws jst trying to evade d ques bt ended up giving answers that made him come across as a compltely unintelligent and callous idiot.
But thn evn my dog hd an opinion on d fuel subsidy issue bcoz i rmbr dat one time i wnt to d filling station to gt fuel for my car and he(my dog)ws in d car with me,he kept on barking in protest whn I hd to pay 10K 4 a full tnk.

I was disappointed when I read d interview.

nkechi said...

This is a writer who has substance [constructive criticism at its best]. Giving credit when it is due but also hitting the nail on the head, lest Dbanj forgets. I hope dbanj reflects on the points raised cos they r really disturbing facts.

I agree with Ynaija completely, I was also bitterly disappointed in his blatant arrogance & straight up dismissal of the plight of Nigerian masses. Furthermore he could have been much more diplomatic in the way he answered his questions ,I for one has completely gone off him. Omo oju o ri ola ri has all of a sudden forgotten he is where he is today bcos of these same Nigerian people he could now care less About. Very disappointing indeed

I too read the article and was surprised like most, at D'banj's nonchalant attitude towards the plight of Nigerians and ultimately, his fans. Whilst I understand that the issues are "poor man" problems and so, do not have any significant effect on D'banj, majority of us Nigerians are poor, and consequently, majority of D'banj's fans are too!

Celebrities are blessed with a platform and a voice. Only the great ones use these to speak up for the voiceless, to drive change, to help others.

D'banj is an entertainer, but so was Fela! What makes the latter a legendary musician is that he used the platform he had for the good of his people. He was a true patriot and loved Nigeria and Nigerians.

I really like D'banj's music tho. No1 is perfect, and I only hope he learns from this.

#justmy2cents

I think i was also dissapointed with Dbanj i dat interview.What can we say,let him enjoy his moments......

Jez said...

D'banj is a businessman not a 'musician'. I meant that he is secondly a musician and not the other way round.

He is only after money. I just pity Don Jazzy. Look at Lady Gaga. Within the next three years she will no longer be a star. She sacked the woman who was the brain behind her image.

D'banj was JJC's boy now he does not want anything to do with JJC. That is life! One day D'banj will wake up like Lady Gaga and feel like an ordinary human being again.

It is not a curse but the truth that will come to pass. Please quote me. As they say, pride comes before a fall. They will become fallen stars.

insomnena said...

Kai! I've always known this D'banj was an empty shell.....he has proved me right, yet again! See our "stars".....smh
Abeg make una no too vex, I apologize on his behalf, na only "koko" the douche bag sabi. Mssssscheew....youth ambassador ko!

Word!!!!!!! Hope the bastard is listening

Many thoughts. However, the writer is right, he or she argued both sides, albeit one more than the other, but sadly, he will still continue to make money. The fact that we think his responses to the interview was dseverly misguided certainly doesn't mean the masses will ever boycott him. It's sad, but Nigerians don't even hold their leaders accountable, how much more a musician?

Producer$

oscar said...

I wonder why some people want to make decision for others and wish others live their lives the way they want. Money or no money, fame or no fame D banj has a right to make choices and decision provided such decisions are not infringing upon any one else right. Beauty Queens reign for a year , footballers reign for a couple of years, etc.Stardom is not permanent so if by tomorrow D banj looses stardom-ship he still has a life to live. He can retire to his estate. Dbanj is an entertainer and not a politician or social crusader

He can decide to protest or not to protest the recent hike in petrol price. He is not enjoying govt scholarship he was just paid to do his job and like so many of us he supported Mr president. so give him some breathing space.

He is getting too much attention! D reason for his non chalant attitude,sudenly som1 sings a song n bcoms famous, everyone xpects him to be dis perfect shinnin example one shld look up to n celebrate his views, wen d "supposed star himslf is stil tryin to discover himslf. Abegy!

Frenchie said...

The unfortunate truth is that many of these celebs are shallow and so ignorant of the realities of their country
They live the golden life
He just needs to hire a good adviser bc I don't think he will change his ways

Naijabizcom said...

Linda, I have gone through your article and the Dbanj's interview on Shara Tv.
But opinion is,it is not until we all take to the street that shows we have Nigeria at heart.
Some people are working silently to make Nigeria a better place.
Read Dbanj's reply to a question ask by Chika of Shara TV ---I’ll speak from the angle that I know well which is the entertainment, that is what I know we can export, we should invest our talents to escape from poverty. I’ve a concert tomorrow, I need to practice and prepare well so I can represent Africa well.
Please let them leave Dbanj alone

Aida said...

D'banj i had so much respect n love 4 u as a good enertainer....but after reading tru ur interview i am shocked at you and this goes to show one thing you are not intrested in Nigeria as a body of people you r only interested in the money you make from them...
Smh your pathetic

Yesco no ni said...

Look Ynaija and their victimising techniques....Everyman has a right to support or not support a cause and that is human right. Ynaija do you think you are the one packing his hall...It is GOD !....(am not a fan of Dbanj or his music). Una don they see se the boy is going higher and higher and chewing gum boys are expecting him to lie or go against his belief....Did you not also vote for GEJ ....I hate hypocrites trying to stir trouble for the poor boy....The world is hailing one of our own and you are doing PR to pull him down.....WTF is that. My zimbabwe friends call me with excitement to ask me if they have gotten the step called oliver twist ( am not a fan of the song) but i am PROUD of the entreprenuer in DBANJ when i read how he met kanye west i was proud of his hustle...Pls Y naija go and fill up a hall in Alagbado....Fuck your pen!its powerless in its contempt.....He has done 9ja proud and he has nothing to say about politics ...he is a kokomaster ....fi le ...don't toush it. In my opinion you are trying to distract and victimise him....let him be ...sold in New york not Ikeja....you can empty that hall...try as you can...take your fight to Aso rock instead of trying to bend a hardworking boy abi na man....Lets encourage one of us

kcee said...

He should be careful what he says to the public. No matter how you feel, there are some things as a celebrity or politician that you just don't say to the public otherwise it might come back to hunt you.
Am very disappointed he made such a comment.

Nigeria is a nation of commentators and irrelevants. From football to human rights, everyone believes themself an expert, and running your mouth about things you haven't a clue about has nothing to do with patriotism or lack of it thereof.

Its a shock that someones commitment or integrity is put on the line because they do not wish to be tainted by matters they don't care about, yes he's high profile, but rationality would suggest you protect yourself and your family/ interests for the exact fact that you are in the public eye, and in a nation like Nigeria, even more so, because you have small minded, jealous, illiterates gunning for you simply because you have a bit of money in the bank.

Hyprocrisy is why Nigerians in the year 2012 are on the verge of anarchy. A bunch of pretenders and haters. If we cannot tell ourselves the truth about real issues, then we are we complaining. He doesn't want to jump on the bangwagon of non-entities and suddenly he is not patriotic. How much more of a patriot can he be, when he's already being celebrated across the continents for his ethics as a performer?!! Stop chatting nonsense people. If you aint got nothing good to say, go home and 'shut the front door'

He's an entertainer and should be left alone. If you must criticize him, let it be about his music and not how 'good' or otherwise a Nigerian he is. How many of his critics actually live 'stand-up' Nigerian lives. Abeg, the man is going about his business and representing the country on the world stage of music - we can't ask him to be all in all for Nigeria - top musician, politician, philanthropist...next we'll harass him for not being a church leader of note! Ridiculous.

Business man! I like D'Banj , a lot of the time, these artists think claim positions they think they can handle but when sh*t hits the fan, they don't want to have anything to do with that position.

It was easy for this guy to claim this title and get all sorts of endorsement deals but now that Nigeria has been experiencing series of tragedies, he doesn't want to be a part of it.

In his interviews, he makes so much noise, yet he makes little sense. Makes you like him with charming character however, I have always said this..D'Banj seems very shady. He reminds me of certain people that always have something to say, know how to charm you and make you love them but genuinely don't give a care about you.

Also, I may be wrong but I think he is sneaky too.

ada said...

To whom much Úª given alot Úª expected

Well, apart from the misspelling of 'privilege' in the sixth paragraph, this makes a lot of sense. He's the one who put himself out there and he didn't say he endorsed GEJ for financial reasons. If he said he was only interested in the money, no one would hold him accountable now and even if he's just an entertainer and doesn't really care about Nigeria, he didn't do himself any favours by not having at least diplomatically correct answers.No matter what I don't think he wants to be viewed as a joke in areas outside music but it's starting to look that way.

sakara said...

yes Linda ur write-up is sensible in the sense that this write-up came on sometime last week and dbanj n his usual arrogance and i dont care manner dissed Nigerian youth like he care less, now whatever dbang has acquired today is not without d support of these youth because @ my age i'll not use my money to buy his cd, or leave my children @ home t go watch d nonsense he perform n stage afterall he's not sunny ade, ebenezer obey or dan maraya jos, thats d old school i belong to, and for one his commenter or manager or whatever to come out on Ladun's blog to say 'whether una like am n naija or not his shows n NYC is totally sold out' common we r talking about Nigerians here, remember if they bring u up, they have d power to pull u doen, was this same dbang not in london for years and couldnt carve a niche for himself before moving back to lagos???? let us all trend softly as God only lift people who have humbled themselves. not hating on him o

"It is impractical to expect Dban’j to have a Seun Kuti-like grasp of the complexities of cost of governance and fuel subsidy removal......" Pray tell, why? They are both educated young male musicians, so why should D'banj(UK schooled) be pretty much excused from grasping something that the average Naijan and his fellow entertainers know oh so well. Did y'all see Banky W on the front line way before the protests became glamorous? Kudos son!
D'banj to me, is purely style over substance. Loud but still quite dim. A lot to say but aint saying nothing. You're an entertainer in business yes, but when you sang "scapegoat jonny" during GEJs champagne campaign (you're an idiot for that btw), and when you interviewed GEJ (you reminded me that Yoruba people can suck, kiss and lick the arse of a wealthy leper) and when you made your 60m which you boasted of then and you've now denied you stopped being just a singer. You entered politics. And as a holder of political office you are accountable to Naijans. Diddy, Jigga & co wore "vote or die" t-shirts. They were not, like you, porch monkeys for someone who you probably call omo-ibo.
Do you know how many album sales, sold out concerts were achieved by Fela & Bob Marley? Neither do I. A great legacy is the real prize. Sound Sultan's over 10yr old Bushmeat is what it is. We don't need your koko, thanks.
PS please focus on your boy-boy gig in yankee so that Good Music or infact far better music can reach us from them Choc boys, flavour, Whiz Kid etc
I dash you 2 more years at the most. Whiz kid is the Koko. You're just his silly uncle with eye problems.
...And I'm done!

Miss J

i wouldnt blame him der is a proverb which says dat wot an adult wil c @ d foot of a mountain if child climbs d mountain he can never c.

abeg you guys should leave the guy alone, this is just beef left to me. He has the right to keep his opinions to himself or even have no opinions at all, who are you to judge. I bet even if he was nobody he would still give u the same answer so why must you pick on him just because he's successful.You bloggers need to look for more creative ways of attracting people to your site and not bad mouthing people. I bet he's donated more to charity than all of u combined this year alone. Please squash the beef and get a life.

HOGAN said...

I THINK ONE THING WE SHOULD GET RIGHT,IS THE FACT THAT DBANJ DOES NOT HAVE A CLEAR UNDERSTANDING OF SOME ISSUES GOING ON IN AND AROUND HIS LIFE OR COUNTRY Eg.THE FUEL SUBSIDY. HOW DO WE EXPECT HIM TO FIGHT FOR OR STAND FOR WHAT HE HAS NO CLEAR UNDERSTANDING OF? WHAT DBANJ DOES KNOW RIGHT NOW IS MAKING RECORDS AND MAKING MONEY FOR HIM SELF AS WELL AS GETTING HIS NAME ROUND THE GLOBE.LET ME MAKE DBAJ KNOW ONE THING,EVERY OR MOST AMERICAN STARS, DOES ONE THING NO MATTER WHERE THEY GO OR ACHIEVE IN LIFE. THEY FIGHT AND STAND FOR THIER COUNTRY,THEY SPEAK OUT AND USE THE "MIC" WHICH IS THEIR WEAPON TO SPEAK AGAINST ALL FORMS OF ILLS IN AMERICA. A WORD FOR DBANJ, YOU HAVE TO LEARN ONE THING FROM TUFACE "HUMILITY". YOU ARE A GREAT ACT.(I THINK WE SHOULD GIVE HIM A BREAK, HE MAY NOT HAVE THAT INDEPTH UNDERSTANDING MOST OF YOU HAVE)I BELIEVE HE WILL SOME DAY UNDERSTAND THAT THE DECISIONS OF OUR GOVENMENT WILL AFFECT HIS LIFE AND CARRER ONE DAY AND THEN AND THEN, HE WILL SPEAK UP.

I'm gad this is being discussed; Celebrity Political Endorsements.

It is not a good thing for artists to mix their careers with politics if they are not sincere and transparent about it.

As was pointed out in this post, D'banj showed enough 'interest' to sit down with the President a year ago. Yet now, because of public opinion against the President, he doesn't want to marginalise himself be commenting on the topic.

Entertainers cannot Have their Cake and Eat it too.

I think D'banj and many entertainers have to except that if they 'endorse' a political figure, they WILL be criticised at some point, especially if there are shortcomings with the politician they support.

Once you start to endorse political figures, be it for money or not - this is the point you cease to be just an Entertainer. You have now made your actions open to all Nigerians to scrutinise and deliberate over.

Manasseh anaba king said...

Well I guess dbanj gets easily carried away by vaniterial stuff and forgets the immortal effects of his words and deeds.
I saw him peeking into a lady's shirt and imagined what he'll tell his son he was looking for in her shirt.
WHAT WILL U BE REMEMBERED FOR

Well written!!

Nigerian’s in UK , know that DBANJ IS A HYPOCRITE and has no morals whatsoever , besides talking about bum and pple shaking thier ass!
U like rhianna
U like nicki minaj,and even beyonce.
But you have nothing to say about a country that made you a super star over night and fetched you millions.
Heard u lived in d UK for years before relocating to nigeria and now u complain of cold….. GIVE ME A BREAK ! did u actually think that your 1 minute of silence is enough for all the life’s that were lost or thier families. U HAVE MISLEAD several vunerable youths of nigeria.
Its about time, we all stand up to save our GREAT Nation Nigeria,relentlessly and stop wasting time and space on this talentless , fame hungry, money grabbing, so called artists of today!

C leave dbanj of dis issue,even though he join d rally dat wil not stop d fuel subsidy removal,wen EL RUFAI was d minister @ FCT wat did he do right.free dbanj n let him b.

Oroo lo so men... Dbanj had better be careful

Supu(speak it)!!!!!!! Grammer!!.. Well I do oppose his contribution to d matter but almost or I should rather be subjective and say that most Nigerians are strangers to sanity.abeg I don't have time for grammer jor .. Evrybody has one or two mental issues and it strikes unexpectedly and I notice this in nigeria but ohhh welllll...............wetin concine me karma go com tear in yansh soon .. May we siddon dey look..

A said...

This is beautifully written, I still haven't seen the interview in question so I cant judge. but if D'banj was truly so dismissive of the issues that have been so crucial to Nigeria, then he should be ashamed of himself. I know people who were on either side of the fuel subsidy debate and still respect all of them. Whatever side D'banj was on, as a self proclaimed 'youth ambassador' he should have declared himself or at least, shown concern.

www.lgrs-alwaysyours.blogspot.com

I think he just wants to be left alone. He is tired of hearing the same thing. Can we let him focus on his music? Goodness. Same thing with Chris Brown. Can we leave these people alone. Most of you guys voted for Jonathan too and praised him during the elections, why must Dbanj own be different. He may need help to politely decline a question, same as Chris Brown sef, but we should leave them alone. Ah, ah. How would you guys like it if each time you go somewhere you keep getting badgered about stuff you would rather not discuss. Before you judge him, judge youself. Shikena. Happy Sunday all.

Fantastic Piece! Nothing to add really. . They covered everything. . he who has ears, let him hear!

With d kinda crap he sings,we shldnt expect much frm him.its so obvious he knws vry lil n d lil he knws is of no relivance.he is jst plain dumb.let's  wat he does wen peeps r no longer intrested in d crap he has 2 offer.I av always said dat dbanj is a sorry excuse.he has no talent wat so ever.jst mks noise

i know this is cliche but he hit the nail on the head....somebody had to say it as it is.....else he and other celebrities begin to think they are untouchable and the best thing that happened to us...we made them rich afterall!

hehhehe..........who is this writer,there are one thousand and one people that their success is created by the public,speaking from a view of an ETHICS SCHOLAR,its a thing of choice to do what you want,i do not accept your ethical justification because it is ethically wrong, let the man do what he thinks is right from his point of view.joining the movement wouldn't change anything,because it is political .Those that did what was the outcome.OPRAH WINFREY endorsed OBAMA,when his government is being criticized did you hear from her........have an open mind and leave DBANJ.

Vicsoendowed said...

Who is D'banj? He is a Nigerian Entertainer,undoubtablely the best performer out of Africa.Signed unto Kanye West's G.O.O.D.Music,was featured on Vibe Magazine late last year,had a successful New york Debut,Which was on the Headline of New York times,and Mtv Uk,Mtv Rapfix,Mtviggy all reported it,No Nigerian singer has been reported by all these Magazines and Music Stations,First Nigerian based Artiste to appear on Billboard,Shared the Stage with Kanye West,Ciara,kelly Rowland,beyonce,Wyclef and Co,Did a remix with Snoop Dogg, next album to feature to feature Rihanna,bigsean,kanye west,pusha T,kid cudi and Co,putting Nigeria on the Music World map,UN ambassador for youth.D'banj has the right to or not support #Occupy Nigeria. D'banj Campaigned for Gej so did other A list Artistes. We all Voted Gej.Tell any International Act that have been interviewed about his govermemt policies? D'banj is an Entertainer and not a politician.Cut him some slack.
Dbanj (Dapo Daniel Oyebanji) is
an international artiste who is
using his talent to export our
cultural values positively to
other countries of the world.
Having said that i believe being
a public figure should not rob
him of his right to
ideas,opinions and affiliations.
We should not cast him into a
mould of our prescription. The
united nations (UN) recognized
the positivity from Dbanj (Dapo
Daniel Oyebanji) and therefore
made him the youth
ambassador to the rest of the
world. He, in all his interviews
always makes known the fact
that he represents Africa. He in
all his videos,ways tries to
portray Nigeria even Africa as
a good country/continent and
also co-equal to any in the
world.
Dbanj is a celebrity and public
figure criticism both negative
and positive trail them every
moment. But in order not to
destroy the wave making
figure,let’s cut down on the
rate at which we criticize him
and support him even when he
makes mistakes so at make him
create the bridge from africa to
the world in the entertainment
industry perfectly. Even though
the interview went wrong as he
was under much pressure,we
should show that we care and
support him. The interviewer
asked about Fuel subsidy, a
topic that he (Dbanj) has
always taken a neutral ground
on,the interviewer also asked
about the poverty rate in
Nigeria,Dbanj jas many
foundations that supports
people with varying challenges.
He fights poverty in Nigeria
within his own ability. Dbanj is
a brilliant and a worthy
ambassador. So File! Let him
be! He is the KOKO!
@YNaija What is
Wrong with you?
Trying to make a
name for your site by
publishing crap bout
d'banj.@YNaija What bout
Adams Oshomole and
Other Governor that
Supported removal of
subsidy? 2face,Banky
and Co also
Campaigned for Gej!@YNaija All i see is
that you are Hating
on D'banj and that
won't take u
anywhere atleast give
him a lil space. @YNaija D'banj is
performing at BBC
Hackney Weekend,had
a successful New York
Debut,to perform at
wireless festival with alot of internationak artistes and no other african on the line up,u
didnt report these.Y ?

Let us all be carefull, as the world is changing. We can no longer be looking at things from an African World view or perspective where anything goes. This is a test for him and I believe his advisers and managers and everybody in the entertainment world in Nigeria would take a cue from this. God bless D'banj.

I've read everyfin there is to read and all i can do is 'smh',personally i fink it is quite sad that Dbanj wud show such level of 'i dont care' attitude, it's a blatant disrespect for the Nigerian situation, he endorsed GEJ and as such he shud av a stand even if its to support him, if yu dont stand for sumfin,yu will fall for everyfin. Miss Bee

D'banj is an over-hyped entertainer. What is he singing "self" ? I would not rank him top-20 in Nigeria!

Nice article.‎​I particularly like D̶̲̥̅̊ last paragraph..D̶̲̥̅̊ most annoyin tin abt D̶̲̥̅̊ interview ws dt he sd he dint knw dre ws any protest in Nigeria cos he ws in london @the time n dt he dsn't like goin out in D̶̲̥̅̊ cold..WTF!!aw stupid can a so called celebrity get?‎​I wndr wat D̶̲̥̅̊ criteria was for making him UN youth ambassador.he shd b removed with immediate effect cos he hs just demonstrated that he does not know how to shoulder the responsiblity dt comes with bearin such title..Ode nla.

http://www.unep.org/yeja/ a Nigerian journalist wins UN award. we shud celebrate this. havn't u seen it Linda?

Uche said...

Dbanj is not a politician and should not be burdened by issues that require a lot of tact, dexterity , intelligence and academic prowress. Something is wrong with sahara reporters. The removal of fuel subsidy would inadvertently happen if Nigeria continues to be hugely unproductive and unattractive to every kind of intelligent investor, hence the poverty.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Probs with Dbanj and Mohit is they never have had any good PR..after the first slip..the GEJ interview he didn't learn...
Then the Subsidy ques..same thing..until he was cornered by Sahara..which has now taken a life of its own..
If you not savvy with words and thoughts leave it to the experts..u wouldn't be the first artist to say no comment..

The prob with him and others is their endorsements were rewarded from Govt funding which in itself is a criminal act anywhere else..compare that to the US.. where artists not only endorse the Candidate but give from their OWN money!!

A well written piece and for those that would say otherwise,it isnt as nigerians call it "bad belle".no matter how good we are,success should be measured by what we left in this world than what we take from it.let those that have ears listen.

my guy,i can rightly tell you that dbanj does not understand half of all you have said,and rightly so,because he lacks any sense of decorum,poor understanding of the issues at hand,he might have sold out consert halls and made millions around the world,but issues like this are way beyond his interlectual capacity,he is only in it for the money,fame and women,but be rest assured that nigerians are all watching and we know what to do when the time comes

naijazobiadotcom said...

some one wrote an intriguing article about this same thing on the above link, click on the naijazobiadotcom link in this comment above

naijazobiadotcom said...

http://naijazobia.com/2012/02/21/dbanjs-ignorance-occupy-nigeria-protests-affect-fan-base/

Miss Pepeye said...

Anonymous 7.17am, i went straaght to the comments too. I love my LIB family. Everyone of you. I love your koko. lol

Twaizee Chernie said...

i really think D'banj isn't worth the stress Omojuwa went through to write the article.b He's just one of the many that the country has given a lot to and doesnt give a sh** about us.

Any one who depends on Nigerian Celebrities for opinions, decisions, advice, policies or philosophies, is a MORON!!! If you have an intention for a music career, D'Banj is certainly the one to go to. But you want to coerce him to give his view on the state of the nation? You must have tadpole-sized brains. HYPOCRITES all of you, including D' Banj! And by the way, the journalist who wrote this is truely a huge disgrace. Their writing in Nigeria disgusts me. Dimwits.

rubbish!!!

i loved his response, it was rather diplomatic. He obviously doesnt believe in fuel subsidy and he cant be compelled to be engaged in what he doesnt believe in. Everyone is entitled to his/her opinions, i dont see any reason why he must have something to say about it. Moreover, he isnt just a UN youth ambassador, he is an ambassador for peace, so i think involving in protests would even be contradictory to the office.

Is Dbanj so daft that he doesn't know sahara reporters. They will definitely ambush you to go against govt and talk politics. It is like going on Oprah to talk about your new album and not realising at one point you will talk about your abusive childhood. As long as you are a self appointed youth UN ambassador, you should have opinions on matters that affect the youth. Whether pro or against removal of fuel subsidy, you should be brave to say your opinion.

Abeg, D'banj is an entertainer and he entertains well. If you want a political commentator, go and look up El Rufai...

Drugs kill.....

@kemikal...e be like say u dey fuck dbanj,this one the F word is so freely dropping from ur mouth

Miss J (February 26, 2012 1:15 PM) your comment is the best thing on this post...well said!

Ifeanyi Dibia

Chidiebere said...

I have come to conclusion a lot of you are delusional and some are just haters. Seriously??? taking DBanj seriously on political matters? this man is an entertainer. He owns no fucking body any explanation on the choices he took regarding whaw was going on in the country and how he handled it. If he wants he could have been on cruise while naija was burning, it is his choice. Go and fight your politicans who have robbed naija blind. Starting from Abacha's family members. Its so easy for you all to run your mouths and attack people who cant do squat but if it is to openly condemn islam and all the animals it has raised that are currently blowing up naija or to attack former dictators and their families, I dont see any of you Ynaija and Sahara reporters doing that. Why not write articles calling out those you know who are supporting BH...Fucking bastards

The article was very well written and not in anyway "hating" as some members of the mo hits(all the blind supportes leaving comments).The writer does recognise his right not to have an opinion on the matter. The issue is the dismissive attitude of the Nigerian fuel subsidy episode. we all listened to dbanj nod his head and telepathically communicated with GEJ on national television, so its not too far fetched if we ask him what his opinions are on the matter. This is why you need management. If he(dbanj) managed this matter well and quick it would have passed. You are having an interview with sahara reporters and you expect to ONLY promote your concert and your music. that thought process is daft. He should just continue to make hits if not.... you will need this same people when you are no longer the 'entertainer'..

loven5letters said...

@ Twaizee Chernie..what did you ever give to Dbanj as a person why not let him be...haters..we all reserve our rights to things we want to do or not to do...
@ Anonymous February 26, 2012 3:02 PM..you are a dumb fool.what meaningful thing have you done with your life be it noise or quietness?
@Everybody..I think its high time we face the truth and let sleeping dogs lie..Dbanj or me and you have done our part..we voted him in and its suppose to be our prerogative either to comment or not on whatever is going on in the society..all we do is make people scapegoats and dont forget they are Celebrities as far as Nigeria is concerned so they can easily be located and their livelihood targeted unlike me and you...Eedris Abdulkareem spoke the truth when he said Nigeria Jaga Jaga..but look at the penury is lavishing in today compared to other artiste in the industry..So that should give you an insight about why Dbanj might be protecting his ass because when all is done, you and i wont be there to help them back on their feet..
Dbanj has always promised his fans loads of fun while on stage and he has never been found wanting, those that we voted in power should be made to answer if they had ever fulfilled any promise made??I cant remember reading any article that states that Ruben Abatti, Adams Oshiomole, Okonjo Iweala,and Co have been told that there is something they ned to know! Gbam!!!

Isn't this the problem with Nigerians, judgmental and over righteous. My question is why did the interviewer decide to ask an entertainer political question. She and Sahara Reporters are messed up. I will ignore such questions myself. They were not appropriate. I am sure the same interviewer will ask someone like El-Rufai his favorite song or his favourite soccer team. Bloody Amateur. And someone please tell YNaija everyone is entitled to their opinion and rights to support whosoever. These opinions and rights do not have to be revealed nor agree with yours.

Nigerians can never get it. Is D'Banj your House of Reps., or Senate member? He does not represent you in any way, shape, or form politically. In case you didn't know, Rihanna is also a UN youth ambassador. Clearly, they are nomintaed based on popularity. Now compare Rihanna's ways with D'Banj's. D'Banj didn't ace the interview (agreed), but I think the interviewer was a tad unprofessional too.

SHIT! THE TRUTH HURTS

I Read the so called interview D'banj had with the saharatv reporter.If you are smart and follow this reporter's line of questioning, you will notice that she just wants to rope D'banj in with all her Gotcha questions,but D'banj was also smart enough not to fall for if.He did not potray himself as arrogant or uncarerinng, if anything, he seemed more irritated with the line of questioning than anything else.Look, people just get off his case. The guy did or said nothing wrong, he chose to keep his opinion to himself, thats his undenialable right.Do not start with "Pull Him Down"syndrom(PHD).If we need to ask those Gotcha questions, it should go to our so called politicians.D'banj is an entertainer, so allow him to sing and dance for our pleasurable enjoyment.

so let me get this straight.

According to many of you, entertainers do not have any kind of responsibility towards the very people that feed them?

If the people of Nigeria did not make DBanj famous, he would not have been "chosen" by GEJ to support his election bid.

And yet, we are supposed to continue to support an artist, who could not even offer any intelligible response to the question of Nigeria's current political climate or the poverty that is ravaging most of the population.

But he expects to continue to make money off the people of Nigeria. ANd he expects to act as our cultural ambassador, an exporter of Nigerian culture to the world?

Even the Ignorant Kanye West is very aware of the sufferings of African Americans. And actually took on President Bush on national television for his blatant disregard of Black people's sufferings.

Perhaps Dapo should learn from his boss.

I cant say I am surprised. If one should examine the composition of LInda's readers, it would probably either be Nigerians in diaspora or the privileged few who have access to internet in Nigeria.

Why wont you fools, make the argument you are making.

Many of you are not experiencing the poverty, that DBanj seems to carelessly dismiss.

Oh please, cut this guy some slack. is it a crime not to speak abt issues he had no idea abt. i think it ws best 2 ve played save by not contributing to wot he doesnt knw. it same u dat'll crucify him if he says sth he cnt defend so please free dis guy. meanwhile as to him bin d ambassador, he attained dat height as a musician nt a politician & he intends 2 keep it dat way.

Arab Fame said...

Some Nigerians sha, they talk about how they made dbanj who he is...like re u serious???
The young man wasnt made by any damned public, he worked his ass off with his limited talent and abundant Don Jazzy's beats...
Do u know how many upcoming artist we have in Nigeria who re more talented than Dbanj, why havent d public supported them to fame and stardom...
who has more ideal lyrics and personality than sound sultan in the industry? nobody, so why haven't the star creating Nigeria people turned him into some Micheal Jackson???
And all of u criticizing Dapo, how many of his shows have u been to??
how many of his Albums do u have on ur shelf?
Abeg leave my guy alone, he made his own luck, go figure out ur own...#word

Arab Fame said...

Some Nigerians sha, they talk about how they made dbanj who he is...like re u serious???
The young man wasnt made by any damned public, he worked his ass off with his limited talent and abundant Don Jazzy's beats...
Do u know how many upcoming artist we have in Nigeria who re more talented than Dbanj, why havent d public supported them to fame and stardom...
who has more ideal lyrics and personality than sound sultan in the industry? nobody, so why haven't the star creating Nigeria people turned him into some Micheal Jackson???
And all of u criticizing Dapo, how many of his shows have u been to??
how many of his Albums do u have on ur shelf?
Abeg leave my guy alone, he made his own luck, go figure out ur own...#word

D Banj is an entertainer, i hope Nigerians can just respect that, he is far from politics. People should just let him be, abeg. We will always love him.

SOJI OSENI said...

the truth of the matter is that, haters, opportunists and writers like the writer of this article will not just rest. they are soo jobless and will hungrily latch on a celebrity like D'banj to score cheap points...why cant U beefers and enemies of progress let D'banj rest? he campaigned for GEJ, so wat? was he the only one? how did GEJ win d election? by D'banjs only vote...abeg abeg abeg...egt something else to write about and leave dis dude alone...upon all ur beefs, the guy keeps soaring higher....cant u see? fools.. as for all of U saying D'banj is proud...pls remove d speck in ur dirty eyes first.....watch the interview and see the unprofessional way the interviewer was in asking the questions...it was like a freaky set up....fuck u all joor.....LEAVE D'BANJ ALONE

people are missing the point of the article! No one is saying dbanj isnt entitled to his opinions, or his right to not speak about the topic, its his attitude we are more concerned about. He was trying to be diplomatic and he failed woefully. He could have avoided the questions without bringing all this on himself. And the blatant lies....*smh* how can you claim to not know anything about the issue? Does he even know what a youth ambassador does? it's his job to know what's going on in his country!

Nigerians are just stupid! Especially the person that wrote this article and the chika! Clearly you don't know how to do your job! Work on your questions more and stop asking same questions you know theyv asked dbanj a million times and you already know the answer! Wtf? Who is still asking him about genevive in 2012???? Asking him about politics and poverty in Nigeria? Is he God? Or is he the Nigerian government? If people are so poor in nigeria, why can't they use their talents or whatever they are good @ to get out of poverty eh? Hes running a foundation and that's his way of giving back! He is an entertainer and that's what he's good @! He also worked hard and hustled to get to where he is! He's not going to SAVE Nigeria from poverty! This questions are so lame! And negative! And very unprofessional and I love loveddddd how he answered all the questions! Just because he's dbanj doesn't mean he doesn't have his own problems too! You don't know what he's going through! People have more problems than run around in the cold protesting for subsidy! Just because you support it doesn't mean everyone else should! Plzz this is just plain stupid!

Nessurr said...

Dbanj obliged to the Presidents invitation. Who turns down the Presidents invitation?? That incident bruised him cuz it wasn't well calculated. Now with the current issue, of cause he was scared as fuck! After they threatened his life, dude fell back!

Whoever wrote this article was made a few points fair enough, but u can't judge sum1 if you're not well informed of the entire situation. Im not making excuses 4 him, but give the man a chance 2 explain himself b4 u come 2 a conclusion.

Quite frankly, i think whoever wrote this editorial emits from a very bitter place. who the hell seats their ashy behind down, critiquing a man that doesn't even know u exist, like thats gonna solve ur personal problems.

Dbanj did not ignore the situation; he shied away from it as a result of the Jonathan situation. He's not perfect, and if its an apology u want, well then SORRY! Now go sit the fuck down! shiiidd

Go plank on'a hot stove. Nonsense! when ppl r dying of no food & water. There more to worry about if u didn't know.

Hu is dis d'banj sef that people want to kill demselves?lol...well I think dat he has a ryt to an opinion but the problem is he had NO opinions and as much as dats his business I think it just tells me how much of a dullard d young man actually is....I guess dats d difference between a fela and a d'banj,d fact dat my unborn children will one day be able to answer questions abt hu fela was and what he stood for and won't have any idea hu d'banj is....it's abt depth people,it's abt soul....dats what music shld be abt,depth and soul and d'banj apparently lacks dem both.heh!but I like Oliver twist beat sha.

cynthia said...

I wanna ask a question.. Who or which people make up YNaija? What is their contributuion to the Nigerian socio-economic landscape? I'l ans it,, YNaija is a group of opportunist Nigerians (they used to be 3, but out of greed, they are now 2). All they do is plan and present a cocophony, non representative, no economic, non benefitial annual award called Future Awards, in which they "dash" award to their friends, loyalists, and supporters,,and refer to them as future of Nigeria. Nigerians are not fools, all becos they wanna be celebrities by force and make money. Of what benefits I'd their award ceremony? What empowerement comes out of the rubbish "future awards"?
Now, they put their ugly pen to their foolish paper and out of petty jealousy, and in d name of being relevant write a blackmailing, pull him down editorial against, D'banj. What moral justification do they have? D'banj is an entertainer cum entrepreneur. Not a government official or politician. His offence has remained that he interviewed GEJ and sang for him during the presidential campaign. Now let me ask Bola and Chudi (or wateva his name is, de are d 2 custodians of YNaija)..if GEJ ad invited U to play d role D'banj played, would U av turned it down? I can't hear U,,fools..did U say no?
Check ur history very well. Whethet U like it or not, D'banj is Africa's biggest representative of music to d outside world.,anythin he does, oda musicians follow suit..I don't wanna give instances. D dude is busy fly Nigeria's color in Europe and America and U dummies are here back stabbing him. If U don't stop, U will crash.
Like it or not, D'banj and Don Jazzy brot glamour and swag to Nigeria's music, d only real enterpreneur in Naija music, d 1st African to win MTV base African artiste of d year; back 2 back, d only Naija artiste to av a mobile fone, d only one to av a successful reality show,,etc ect he is a core professional in entertainment not a politician. GEJ saw dis and tapped into it..so wats d fuss,,even Linda Ikeji wil gladly honor such invite with just 10% of wat koko master collected.
Abeg, YNaija, stop d beef, stop d jealousy, stop hating who Jah has blessed becos No one can curse.look for better things to write about and not an unprofessional interview.
I rest my case Fools...

as a matter of fact...who the heck is YNaija? dose bunch of formerly 3, now 2 foolish opportunist that give awards to their friends and cronies in the name of future awards? who do de represent? who do de empower? abeg som1 should tell Bola and Chude that they are ordainary haters and beefer who cannot catch up with D'banj becos the are not real....and have no defined profession>>>idiots

we remember the Beatles of the 60s Today they have become part of history. Am sure you know their story and arrogance and can marry that with D'banji's fame and braggadocio would never be compared to hottest group singers of all time .every Thing IN LIFE IS LUCK , TIME AND GRACE .I THINK HIS WOULD SOON COME TO AN END AND GO NO MATTER HO HE TRY AND THEN LEARNING MIGHT TOO LATE.