#ThePowerList: Top 10 powerful young people in Nigeria’s new media space! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 February 2012

#ThePowerList: Top 10 powerful young people in Nigeria’s new media space!

Written by YNaija writer, ‘Ifreke Inyang.
Introducing The Power List:

We present the most influential young Nigerians under 35 in Business, Fashion, Media, Entertainment, Technology and Politics! We’re not talking influence or popularity; we’re talking to power to make things happen beyond their immediate space.

Let’s not even argue this – New Media is where the future is at. And in Nigeria, its stranglehold on our social, political, religious and life and the way it constantly drives the conversation is instructive, if not overwhelming. So, who are those we call conveniently call the powerhouses of New Media? We have a list!

Linda Ikeji:
 If you’re looking for the hottest gossip – which guy stabbed a lover to death, which former actress has turned a firebrand evangelist, etc, Linda Ikeji’s blog is where to check. But that’s just half of the story for the lady who worked into the American embassy and got a visa ‘cause they checked out ‘the most influential blog in Nigeria’ and she popped. From #ABSURape to Mercy Johnson, Linda owns the day. You can’t ignore Nigeria’s number one blogger.

Nigeria's No.1 blogger, I love the sound of that. lol. Read the rest after the jump...

Uche Eze:
With elevated language, great pictures and a fantastic site layout, Uche Eze, the woman behind BellaNaija, has set the bar high. She started BN as a blogspot in the late 2000′s but in recent years made it not just a proper fashion site but a profitable business – and she continues to set a standard.

Ogunlesi:
 On Twitter, Tolu Ogunlesi, CNN African Journalist of the Year for 2006, is revered – with about 15, 000 followers with whom he shares thoughts on everything from the House of Representatives hearing on fuel subsidy removal to the latest naked pictures on Twitter. With enough followers who take every word he says seriously, Tolu is on to something.

Japheth Omojuwa:
This is the man who made life intolerable for Reno Omokri, Special Assistant to the President on New Media, and the man who crystallizing much of the opposition to the president’s agenda amongst young people. With the lethal mix of a 20, 000 + strong Twitter account and a popular Omojuwa.com blog, added to his sometimes cringe-worthy candour, Omojuwa is king of the click.

Noble Igwe:
 A lot of folks were shocked when Noble Igwe, a few years ago, decided to leave his day job at 141 Advertising to start-up 360nobs.com. The website has achieved impressive name recognition for its pop culture serving and with all the supporting events brands and Igwe’s “quotable tweets” have made him one of the men to control what you read on the internet.

Cheta Nwanze: 
This is the guy who made 234Next.com into the force it eventually became. Along with a string of other media websites to his credit, Nwanze’s day job as the chief techie at Daily Times has clearly made it clear he has magic at his fingertips. Armed with several on-the-go gadgets and some of the brightest bloggers this technology expert is pushing the media outfit back to its former glory.

Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde:
This Nollywood diva is the president of ‘Osexynation’. The ‘Osexynation’ clarion call has led more than once to cluttered timelines – but has proven very useful when she has a new movie to promote or a new rumour to debunk. With the distinction of being cumulatively the celebrity with the most friends on Facebook and about 50, 000 + on Twitter, Omotola has power in her hands.
Don Jazzy:
We’re not sure he still has that magic anymore, but there are those who will argue that, at least on Twitter, it’s the Mohits CEO’s world and we are all just living in it. It’s not just his handle though, but his capacity to drive the day’s news cycle online, at least in entertainment circles. His mis-statement over rappers and their parents was one such instance, and it’ll take a few more gaffes (thought he is quickly piling them up) before this man will lose relevance online.

Wale Adetula:
‘Tula, as his friends call him, has come a long way from the times when his SistaSista idea didn’t quite get off the ground. With his Take 2 with TheNakedConvos, this young man has clearly cornered a huge section of the sex-and-relationships market online – with the blog, and events of the same name and his popular new The Writer competition. What’s that thing they say about being original?

Ediong Umoh:
You may not know him if you’re on Twitter, but you know his brand, NigeriaNewsDesk, which has been identified severally as Nigeria’s most influential Twitter handle – with enough Retweets and Mentions to last two lifetimes. An aggregator of news from sources across the world, and now interlinked with such websites as Ascology.com, Ediong is officially in charge of the news.

67 comments:

you look pretty in dat pic buh linda you ain't young tho why u on the list of 10 YOUNG powerful people ?? 0_o

Congratulation, u deserve it

Congrats!

Charles said...

Na wah o. Who wrote this article? Who is this that's trying to provoke the interweb? How's skinny Linda Ikeji be powerful? See, if I catch you, you go smell your own yansh.

Oh Laaawddd, please forgive Linda Ikeji, not because she thinks she's powerful, (and looking down on the rest of us), but for her erroneous belief that she's still YOUNG. Amen.

Hey, I'm kidding oooo. You're still young :)

Bey said...

Nice but this is subjective! They left out some names e.g Ayeni the Great of TheNetNg.com, Bola Aduwo of Nollywooduncut,Uduak Oduok of Ladybrille.com and many others? Congrats to you Linda tho!

good job girlfriend!!!!!XOXOXO♥♥

yoo why is the gidilounge guy not here ?
He's doing a great job to me
and congrats linda, we should meet someday

Lol at people being left out, go and do your own list lol

How are Omotola and Linda Ikeji young? These 2 are past 40! Or is 40 the new 20?

Amen! I know ur not kidding...tell aunty linda

Good for u o,hmh so how was ur stay in Yankee.so ur sister too has a blog site.na where u dey copy some of ur news from abi.and u shopped enof in Yankee,datz one tin u will never get tired of.just make sure u halla ur fans wen next u come..ok...post my comment,if not Na u sabi

cute cute cute,u look lovely

I don't wanna sound like dem haters, buh I think you love this attention don't you. For the past few weeks now, you've been sending us to sites where you are praised, appreciated and the likes, not bad though I think, but if it's getting too much, it begins to get boring (which I think it is, to me anyways). Yeah, you are Nigeria's no 1 blogger, I don't think anyone doubts that, but 1) it'll be nice to go soft of pasting such news as it becomes sooooo boring. 2) be humble enough to let others do the praise, not you.
Just ma take anyways, and I guess I shouldn't be telling you how to run your blog, it's YOURS for God's sake!!!!!

KU said...

IMO..noble igwe is so overrated...I can't even remember the last time I entered 360nobs

lol @ this list. truly.

Nice work by all mention here but it seems you are omitting Emmanuel mabogunje name, the man behind Trends.com.ng. He is a computer networking guru and a blogger.

Atobatele said...

What about d guy that own nairaland? He's to be reckon with naah

You do well young lady. Kip it up. Meanwhile wats ur secret to looking so trim. Tell us, no be only gossip, gossip. :-)

Celebrity news said...

You sef try no be small. abi who suppose be no1.

It is for under 35

ckice said...

Yh linda I guess this supports my fact abt u being the best blogger in west africa not niaja jor! So on d 9ice's concert tickects! What's d deal mami?? *smile*

Where's Seun Osewa of Nairaland? Congrats Linda.

Linda,see as u dry like bonga fish. Abeg eat more jor! Wetin be dis? I no like dos gutter 4 ur neck at all.

waxy said...

Nigerian Huffinton post in the making. Go girl! more grease to ur elbow.

Can linda tell us how old she is? Enough with the speculations, we need real info!

People like u do say any thing positive...aslong as she is under 28 she is young. Are u d one that wants To make her old? Anuofia gambia

Duhhh, under 35. So definitely Linda qualifies. Congrats Linda and others.

Ayo said...

Linda you know say you be my girl anytime(still waiting for you to accept to marry my broda!) but I am not feeling this article at all. You did not write it so no blame there,but you posted it!!.
1) Of all the people mentioned, who is actually under 35.
2)Are bloggers popular(your good self included)? most definitely.But do they make things happen?...I do not think so as they mostly report what has already happened. They do have some influence, but not as much as the writer makes out.
Before the haters descend on me, this is my OPINION which as you are all aware of, I am still entitled to, so you can disagree with me but hating will be pointless.

kcee said...

Linda i hope your head is not swelling. But if your name is in the list along with the owner of bellanaija then Oluwaseun Osewa, owner of nairaland should also be there. Though i don't know his exact age, but he is still young. He should even be ahead of the two of you.

wao tumbs up for you guys but 234next does not work any longer can he clarify why as he is on this list???

But that’s just half of the story for the lady who "worked" into the American embassy and got a visa...Articles shd be prove read bfor posting. congrats Linda.

I see a lot of ibos on the list. Yay! My people, always repping tight!

Congrats Linda,you are really our no 1

Bioye said...

Linda, do u work as a team or na only u dey chop all d money????
me dey avalaible sha, if u wan make i work for ya.
Am so appy dat u re making it!!
Go Linda!! Spain loves u:)

Taiwo said...

..the list is shit..(no hard feeling for linda)..how can a list of of that nature come up without Seun Osewa (of naiaraland.com) on it.the guy to me has done far more than anyone on that list!!

You guys that are going on about Aeun and Nairaland. Do you know if he is not over 35? At least he has not lied about his age. That is more than i can say about some of the people on that list.

ONYEDIKING said...

AM HAPPY 4 YOU MA WWW.GIDEBLOG.COM

Huffingtonpost ke, ARE YOU SERIOUS?. Ogogoro is your drink this AM.

okay.. do they not proof read their post. I'm ashamed for them! Who "worked" v. walked.

That aside. Congrats dear! you deserve it.

Lollie said...

Congrats!

OnileEre! said...

''the lady who worked into the American embassy". Who edits these articles for heaven's sake

nairaland is not a blog, it's a forum. educate yourselves people
sassycassie

This is the most ridiculous list ever! How are all the people on this list powerful? The only names i even recognize are Cheta, Ogunlesi and Omojuwa. Since when is Gossip, power? Since when is blogging about relationships, power? more than half of the people on this list are doing nothing to help better our nation. They are not providing jobs. They are not fighting for human rights. They are throwing stupid parties and using twitter and blogs to make noise!

What happened to Chimamanda Adichie? Asa? The Sahara Reporters guy? Whoever wrote this list is high , possibly on lemongrass!

At leas, Linda still have perky breasts.
--Gbenga

Its 141 worldwide not 141 advertising and we all wondered what Noble was doing here by the way.Thumbs up to you all you deserve it, running your own dig in this town takes a lot of BALLS and ya'll have proven yourselves.More guguru to your ekpa.

if linda is still yung then i must b a baby

Shitty List. Congrats Linda anyway

Download Opera 7.0 said...

Lol linda you are getting more attention this days! Love it love it love it

wini syno is speaking said...

Linda i've not seen this yesterday afternoon before i sang shekenah shekenah, shekenah o for u. yes 10/10 levels don change. An honour well deserved. Haters believe it or not my Linda rocks both home and abroad, love u Linda

Uniben matriculation! said...

Yeah linda your blog happens to be the first blog i never missed. Uniben matriculation date for 2012 has been fixed!

Tasued matriculation! said...

This list is not complete without making me the No.1

Badbelle oshi, they r both in dis early 30's. Old cargo like u

ada denco said...

Big congrats! Happy for you!
www.somewhereinmoscow.blogspot.com

Blcompère said...

What of @TWEETORACLE #OkBye

Yemisi said...

For the people all twisted with the meaning of young.

As soon as a child is born, 2mins later, 'old' is added in description. A day old baby, 10min old baby.

A 99 year old person is younger than a 110yrs ols person.

Age and the definitions around what is young and old is limiting people from reaching their potentials and they carry such mentality to the grave...

Grow up passive dreamers or non dreamers as the case may be!

When Nairaland stops being so tribalistic, they will take notice of them. It's a crap blog with crap topics and badly typed English.

itsekiri's finest said...

Linda dear, I have a brilliant suggestion for your blog. I am not sure how other websites/blogs do it - but have a 'related topics/posts' option to all your posts. I believe there are algorithms/codes that can enable it automatically. You have been blogging for a long time and some of us new readers like back story to the gists and that way we can retrieve posts from your archive better.
Hope you understand what I am saying. I am sure any internet/tech savvy individual can help you do this! Just a suggestion to maximize your potential! Keep up the good work

Lola said...

I agree but some people are underrated, what happened to Ayeni of netng or Ladunliadi though she likes to dis. One blog I particularly like is omoyeni-disu.blogspot.com, she tries. Kudos to every other person on thñ

Frenchie said...

lol @ "the lady who worked into the American embassy..." omg ok o
wow Linda congrats now you go girl it is only the beginning
I like to see a woman in the st position

mtn free browsing said...

Wow, i really love that, has anyone mention Mr paul of entertainmentgistme.com ? That blog is loaded.

Nairaland isn't a blog for heaven's sake, it's a forum. Seun has no power outside of the poorly managed site that is Nairaland. Most people don't even know who he is to begin with.
And to the person going on and on about Chimamanda and Asa, next time read properly before you go on a meaningless rant. The list is titled Top 10 Powerful Young People in Nigeria's New Media Space. Educate yourself.

Freesmszone.com said...

Linda, you forgot to add the owner and creator of Naijaporntube.com
Its got 22000 members (pervs) on the site,maybe someday he'll show you,some of his scandal videos!

Ronny said...

Congrats Linda! Haters,get a life or eat shit!

truth said...

Congrat Linda.

On the other hand this article is soooo poorly written sorry :(

Linda, this self-praise is getting too much. You have not reached anywhere and it's already getting to your head madly. Be humble and God will even lift you higher than this!
That said, the list is rubbish without the likes of Saharareporters and Nairaland.

I wan be like una when I grow up....

#Queeny!

a little advice for you miss Linda i think you have done well in life just as you said people will always hate but please you should focus more on your business and things that matters in life stop responding to fans harshly remember they are your supporters be wise because poverty will not be good for you again anything is possible.