EFCC Press Release: Gbenga Daniel Not Discharged and Acquitted; EFCC to Re-file Charges | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 March 2012

EFCC Press Release: Gbenga Daniel Not Discharged and Acquitted; EFCC to Re-file Charges

Contrary to media reports that Otunba Gbenga Daniel has been discharged and acquitted by the ruling of an Abeokuta High Court today, the EFCC wishes to clarify that the ruling of Justice Olanrewaju Mabekoje was not a discharge and acquittal of the former Ogun State Governor.

The trial judge only released Mr. Daniel on the sole technical ground that the Commission failed to seek the consent of court before filing the amended charges against the former governor.

Consequent on the ruling striking out the charges, the Commission will immediately apply to the Chief Judge of Ogun State for leave to re-file the charges against Otunba Daniel.  We consider it prudent and reasonable to re-file the charges immediately as advised by Justice Mabekoje in the said ruling, as against lodging an appeal against the judgment, which action may take several months to decide at the Court of Appeal.

For the avoidance of doubt, the court did not rule on the competence or merit of the charges against Otunba Daniel, therefore, he was not discharged and acquitted by the ruling today.

Una well done.

7 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

Ehen! I would have said..
that guy should be thoroughly investigated, if we are lacking competence here we can beg the court that tried ibori to help.
Corruption has really finished this country. God help us!

BLOGLORD said...

But if i may ask oh! must mago-mago enter issues that are so straightforward in Nigeria?
"he was released on the sole technical ground that commission failed to seek consent of court, they are re-filing charges"
oh they didnt know that before?
am suspecting this people, small time they will say he has been discharged because of one kain story..
Mscheww...they have shared money

jerry4real said...

This is serious!

TruSon said...

For clarification, EFCC, your case is dead on arrival. The date of RIbadu's sack has been engraved on the tombstone of EFCC graveyard. Nigerians have learnt to take your statements on issues like this with a pinch of salt.

is he still on hunger strike?
He has vowed to remain on hunger strike....

Luffy said...

Ogun state people.....call them saviours at the beginning and always end up hating their governors, as was with Osoba, so OGD, lets wait till SIA finishes....

Ayo said...

They should go and shut up in a dark corner.Technical ground my left foot. This is the usual trend, back and forth till no one is bothered any longer. Inefficient bunch of fools!