Funmi Iyanda joins UN Africa Unite on Kilimanjaro Climb to End Violence Against Women and Girls | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 February 2012

Funmi Iyanda joins UN Africa Unite on Kilimanjaro Climb to End Violence Against Women and Girls

March 5, 2012, Nigeria’s award winning producer and broadcast journalist Funmi Iyanda will join climbers from more than 32 African countries in a historic advocacy climb up Mount Kilimanjaro. Africa UNiTE campaign is organizing this climb as part of its campaign to End Violence Against Women and Girls. Climbers are expected to arrive at Africa’s highest summit on International Women’s Day –March 8, 2012, when all African national flags will be displayed and the Africa commitments will be read out.

Funmi Iyanda joins South African rock band the Parlotones, South African actress Rosie Motene, human rights lawyer, Ann Njogu, Congolese singer Barbara Kanam, and many African women and men who play an active role in their countries. For three days, they will hike up the Kilimanjaro in freezing temperatures, sleeping outdoors in sleeping bags without taking showers, and hike back down on the fourth day. Through this climb, Africa Unite plans to raise global awareness on ending violence against Women and Girls in Africa as well as secure concrete national commitments from African governments to be implemented by 2015 to end violence against women and girls. 

An outspoken advocate for women and children, Funmi has championed the cause of vulnerable members of the Nigerian society, working with organizations and concerned individuals to facilitate timely interventions for indigent families through the “Change-A-Life” project. Climbing Mount Kilimanjaro in solidarity with the rest of Africa is an expression of her enduring commitment to continue raising awareness on violence against women and girls. 

Funmi Iyanda has won tremendous recognition for her work in the media and for her philanthropic and humanitarian interventions. She is an African Leadership Institute Tutu Fellow and an Aspen Institute African Leadership Initiative fellow. She has been honoured as a Young Global Leader (YGL) 2011 by the World Economic Forum and was recently named one of Forbes 20 Youngest Power Women in Africa.

Africa UNiTE on Kilimanjaro is championed by Tim Challen, a victim of gun-crime in Nairobi who now climbs Kilimanjaro to raise awareness on issues that affect youth in Kenyan and Tanzanian slums. Africa UNiTE is the regional component of the United Nations Secretary General’s Global Campaign and a continent-wide partnership to end all violence against women and girls. Africa UNiTE speaks out in order to prevent violence against women, provide services to survivors and promote justice and end impunity.

27 comments:

ONOME says.......................
brave woman,welldone!!!
WE SAY NO TO VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN AND CHILDREN

How does climbing Kilimanjaro mountain stop violence against women and girls?

My husband just beat me, climb Kilimanjaro.
My husband threw me out cos i don't have a boy, climb Kilimanjaro.

SMH.

funmi, u don try, we have calibal of people like u that don't do any thing to the society.

u don try, we have calibal of people like u,they don't remember the need.

teddy said...

WELCOME TO TANZANIA...

Not one comment about a worthy cause but if na gossip you'll see 1million comments.Funmi remains the No 1 woman worthy of emulation.I always call her the Funmilayo Ransome Kuti of our time.God bless you Funmi, you are fearless, confident and determined to change the face of Nigeria in whatever little way you can.More guguru to your ekpa and honey in your garri.

is dis pr for funmi or wot? me too i go do blog biz o. so dat peeps can do pr on my blog and pay me.
anyway, afta d climbing wot next? will it stop men from beating deir wives? or will it provide food for little david whose parents are xtremely poor and cant afford to send him to school but dey are struggling and leaving unda d bridge?

Jobs in nigeria said...

I like Funmi,she is always involved in productive things.

Doing good things

Good for Her!she's def doing us proud.

uSaveOne said...

Good Luck to My sister in the struggle Funmi. I wish her the best as she climb up and down kilimanjaro.

Plz let save life.. http://usaveone.blogspot.com/

HISS said...

By the time them climb am finish come down nko? wetin go happen next huh? i tire for all this nonsensical NGO propagandists. They would spend almost all the money for this, and spend the little remaining money on an issue and make noise about it, then that is the end! YOU WANT TO END VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN AND GIRLS HUH? Then have PRACTICAL APPROACH BY GIVING OUT FREE LECTURES IN PUBLIC PLACES, THEN HAVE AN OFFICE IN COMMON AREAS THAT PEOPLE CAN WALK IN TO COMPLAIN AND HAVE A GOOD RAPPORT WITH THE POLICE SO THAT THEY CAN SWING INTO ACTION ANYTIME THEY ARE CALLED ON THEIR EMERGENCY LINE, RATHER THAN ALL THIS NOISE ABOUT CLIMBING KILIMANJARO MOUNTAIN! Wetin concern Ekatte or iya rashida? and e no affect the cost of garri for market abegggyyyy! #a very long hiss#

That is very good. I pray the Lord allows me to to someday make a difference too in the lives of African children.

Linda, James Iroha aka 'Gringory' has passed on. Put that up.

Lollie said...

Wow. Inspirational!

Proper medical check - up before the adventure! Mountain climbiing is not bread and butter!.... Just an advise shaa

This is great news! Wonderful role model.

Abi ooo....Pls help me tell her oooo...no be say she go kpeme for mountain top..

Bee said...

It's mostly naija folks that don't understand the significance....

A lot of times, it is to raise money. They say something like in order to climb you have to raise like $1000. The money raised is donated towards the cause....

In yankee there are bike tours for Multiple sclerosis, walks for cancer,bungee jumping for leukamia.

Another angle is to do something extra (like climbing mountains)usually by celebrities, it will get air time everywhere, pple will follow them, in the process they gain an audience to spread the actual message to.

Kudos to her

My dear,u have sense...something very rare on this blog...Me

I remember comic relief in the uk where you see celebs dancing or doing something awkward all in a bid to raise money for charity. Or for breast cancer people run marathons just to raise money. I am happy funmi is doing this because a lot of women suffer domestic violence in silence. And most women are wish they can escape it but where do they run too? I hope they can use whatever money raised to build help centres and homes where women who suffer from domestic violence can run to. Women need to unite with one voice and day no to domestic violence..

LOL! This is funny!

ACE!! I was beginning to wonder if every visitor of this site was dense!

Make una no crucify me on my spelling mistakes. The message is what counts.. I meant say no instead of day no(lol). And there should be no are before wish. Anyway domestic violence sucks..

Chaunncy said...

People should comment on issues like this not only on naked and gossip issues. If na naked picture each person for don comment 10 times. It's incredible that naija don't promote good deeds instead they are waiting and looking for negative deeds to comment on. The way you address issues doesn't affect them but shows what you are made of. Erwil69@yahoo.com

rebecca eyes said...

if the mountain wont come to funmi let funmi go to the mountain.that said,funmi(said in mama nothing spoil"s voice),go back to the studio and continue ur talk show.thats where u belong.if u like visit stone henge,hanging gardens of babylon,red sea,dead sea too and taj maha...u re making less impact than what u did on tv.nigerians can never be consistent.if larry king,oprah,letterman etc took off from tv after only 10yrs to ride on early fame in the name of ngo and yeye yeye schemes,they would be extinct by now.not every platform is a spring board to other stuff.

I love what уou guуѕ are usuallу
up toο. This kind of clever work аnd rеpoгting!
Κeep up the eхcellent wοrkѕ guуs
I've included you guys to blogroll.

my weblog raspberry ketone pills